Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-24 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can absolutely say I love this bike, got it brand new in 2005 and put 7000 + miles on it already. Never driven any inline 4 bikes but I am really satisfied with the power the bike has. It wheelies no problem 1st or 2nd gear and is awesome in the twisties. I'm so curious as to how it will perform and sound once I get it back from the shop after the upgrades. I think after the performance upgrades I will do the lower fairing. If anyone has already had a K&N, power commander, and freer flowing exhaust or similiar performance upgrades I'm dying to know if you got a noticeable amount of more power and snap out of it. e-mail if youd like to share dblockwillo@yahoo.com
- WILLOWNY, wallkill, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-24 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a used Suzuki 2003 SV650. I couldn't be happier. It is without a doubt the best bang-for-the-buck out there in the sport naked/standard catagory, bar-none. The combination of its light stout chassis and its torquey motor that still manages to rev like a banshee is just wonderful. The handling is so well sorted for the "7-8/10ths" canyon carver that the bike seems to ride itself through the twisties! The brakes are the only thing that I feel like I want to "warn" anyone about. The brakes are in a word AWESOME, this means you had better be VERY judicious when coming to a complete stop at intersections, etc. You can lock the front wheel with light pressure from two fingers on the lever if you aren't careful. I have started using 1 finger under 20 mph! (this is more just an FYI for newbies). I give two thumbs-up on the SV650, it is a killer deal for a bike this price. I will probably never sell this one. Read the comparos and reviews online, I am only repeating the experts, this bike consistently beats out the competition. Nice work Suzuki!
- Chris, Broomfield , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all I'd like to point out that I am rating this bike as a middleweight sport touring, and not a sport bike. The V-twin offers a very quick response and I admit always pushes the rider to go faster as it feels better in the high rpm. Torque very strong in low revs and surprisingly great response from 7000 to 10000. Braking is inpecable and offers confidence in those riskiy situations. Cornering feels like you are riding your good old 10 speed mountain bike, easy, turns on a dime, and responds to the slightest push on the handlebars. Ideal for beginners that want a little something more from a beginner bike, not surprising, you find these sv650s on the race track. I strongly do not suggest riding this bike with a passenger the feel is all wrong. Seat comfort is horrible. You have to buy a corbin seat.
- Mike, montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I reviewed this bike in the spring (2005). I was new to the riding community but since then have put 8,300 thrilling miles on her. This bike has performed flawlessly for 7 months now. I have pushed this bike to its limits and it begs for more. The power band is phenomenal, the acceleration is a rush, and the top-end can still get you into plenty trouble. I would make only minor changes to this already stellar performer. At 72 horsepower, it is a bit anemic when riding with inline-4's. I would love to see an 80hp 650cc. My only other complaint is the large side-mounted exhaust can is a bit outdated. I am seeing a trend towards under tail and Moto-GP inspired exhaust. I hope the SV will follow suit. Overall, a great bike: fast, forgiving, aesthetically pleasing and loads of fun.
- Rick, Youngstown, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my new '04 SVS this March. I got a great deal with '05's rolling out. I've been riding with other GSXRs, Ninjas, Harleys and everything in between. I am always complimented on the great looks of my yellow friend. It is a great bike for those that want to enjoy the local twisties. It is not the most comfortable of rides on trips exceeding 100 miles. I did 500+ this Independence Day on a run from Sacramento to Hollister (I got quite sore), but had a blast getting there and back in one piece. My cruiser buddies are now talking about a second bike... mine!
- T. Wilson, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far it's been a fun experience riding my 05 Blue SV650S and also a learning experience. Based on the positive reviews on this SV650S was one of the main reasons I went with this bike and with no regrets.
- Arnold G, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
ride comfort appears to be the only thing that lets it down. a change of seat may be the answer. other than that it performs superbly. a decent rider would stick with the inline 4s on the bends but obviously not on the straights. very good bike before stepping up to the real quicks.
- Z, Cape Town, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-03 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking at getting a bike for my daily commute ( mainly because of gas prices, wear and tear on my 1993 truck) and after talking to my brother he convinced me to start with the SV650S. He has owned busa's, and 3 GSXR's and said that he would rather RIDE an SV650 any day when it comes to comfort! He races a 2004 Sv650S at the track because with it he waxes the inline 4 cyl's with it (gets them in the twisties every time!). So I bought a 2005 SV650S a month ago and being my first bike this thing is a blast. Plenty of power for a newbie yet plenty to have fun with too, easily does wheelies in 1st and 2nd gear! The V-twin torque is awesome to say the least and if you are keeping it legal, it will hang with all your friends until you guys get past the 130's (mph). So if you are looking for a first bike or just want a good riding, fun sport bike, try this on eout!!!!!
- Shawn J, Rockledge, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I began looking into 600's as soon as I got the sportbike bug. I looked at the Gixers and the CBR's, the Ninja's and the R6's. They were so much money and had the reputation of widow-makers. Just by chance I was browsing the Suzuki site in the sportbike category and happened upon the SV650S. It looked awseome so I read up on it. It said it had it all - power, maneuverability, and comfort. So I went to my local dealer and sat on it. I fell in love with it. So, I finally bought it. I got on it not expecting too much, after all it was a V-twin only making around 73 horse. I did a roll on in 2nd gear and the minute it got above 7000rpm I thought I was being pulled off the bike. The speedometer began displaying numbers faster and faster and before I knew it I was shifting into 3rd at 69mph. I'm no stranger to speed, I drive a Subaru WRX STi with 320 horsepower, but now, the Subaru feels like a Kia, and if I feel the need for speed, only the SV650S will do.
- Nicholas Mumford, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike from so many outstanding reviews and recommendations. Boy, was everyone right. There isn't anything about this bike I don't like. Looks great with the Suzuki fairing on it as well. I recommend this bike to everyone!!!
- Jack, South Riding, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-12 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purhchased this bike during July 2005. This is a fun bike and it is quick. I purchased this bike based on several reviews that I read. This is my first bike and I was looking for a comfortable commuter bike and all the reviews pointed to this model. After having this bike for a while I have to admit that I ride it more for fun than for the commute to work. If you're going to purchase your first bike this is the one for you. It is very nimble and very easy to flick through the corners.
- Will, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I bought my sv650s last month, I underestimated its power. I have already taken it to 141 mph which is plenty enough. The bikes acceleration is amazing and can take corners like nothing. This is a great bike for under 6k brand new, I suggest everyone in town get one.
- 2005 sv650s, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been two weeks since I've bought the sv650s as a first bike. Everything about it is great except for the riding position which is a little extreme but not a big problem. I really have to thank my MSF instructor for this recommendation. I'm having way too much fun with this bike, and I would recommend it to everyone with or without experience.
- wes, hyde park, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-11 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about 3 weeks ago, and I've already put 1230 miles on it. I simply love this bike, and it's my first bike. The bike is wicked quick acceleration wise. Can hit 100mph in a matter of seconds, but top speed is about 133mph. Can't hang with my friends top end but i can stay right with them until they take off to 140+mph. I also noticed that I can take em in the twistys though. Seriously if you want a great wicked fast bike that you wanna keep legal on, look no further this is one sweet deal of a ride. The seat is a lil stiff though, I'd suggest investin in the Suzuki Gel seat ASAP. Also whats with the all the SV haters? I don't get it, they expect a 6k bike to be as good as a 8k bike? Sounds pretty stupid to me. For what I paid I got more than I expected for sure!
- Justin, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-30 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bang for the buck on the market. I have the 03 and it is basically the same bike. There is nothing in the market at this price that can compete. Great fun!!! I have added many great features to the bike and it has become a great performer.
- Michael Brant, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-27 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this 2005 yellow SV650S in FEB of 05. Just started a new job with too much travel for me to really enjoy this thing, but now that it's broken in, it is the most fun I've had on a bike for a long time. The seat is only good for about 20-30 mins for a guy my size. GEL SEAT ORDERED, this is really nice I had a chance to try it, big difference. I have nothing bad to say about this bike although it does not get the stated gas milage. After you break it in, keep it up in rpm'a during more aggressive rides. I had to fill it up more than my last 1982 Yamaha 750, just an observation, I keep meaning to use that neat 2 trip computer but I just never remember as I am always having too much fun. RIDE ON SV RIDERS
- BIKER BOB, PHILADELPHIA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-21 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sport bike after 2 cruisers so my perspective may be off. I don't know if anything handles as well as this bike. I read some reviews saying it lacks power and I agree in some ways. On a straightaway you'll get rundown once you really get flying. But I don't think there are many bikes who can hang with me through the twisties. I just ordered a K-N Air filter and plan on a new exhaust. I think a few more HP will give me the power I want.
- The Slawman, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-06 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far my 05' 650s have been great. I rode Ninjas and other bikes before, but I love this bike. Something about the V-Twin is different than an I-4. I get about 5 comments a day (from customers) at work. All my co-workers are jealous and I just about like everything about it. My biggest complaint is the seat, though that can be fixed with a gel seat. Other than that, for the 275 miles I've put on her going to work down the twisty roads, I can't really gripe about much.
- Joe D, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '05 SV650S is the first bike I've ever owned and I wouldn't trade it for any other Jap V-Twin. The bike has plenty of power where you need it, good handling and durability. With the 'S' series+lower fairing it looks like a legit supersport, only about $2-4,000 cheaper. It is such a versatile bike, I use it as a commuter during the week, and a great toy on the weekends. It's a fun bike and a real head-turner. People are always asking me "What is that?" They've never seen a Sportbike this sharp with the V-Twin growl coming out of the exhaust.
- Rick Phelps, Youngstown, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an amazing bike. I've been on several 600's in the race replica class and I have to say, this is right there with them. This won't take those I4's in a straight, but catch one in the twisties, and watch the smile grow as you're staring at them in your mirrors! Great handling, brakes are good (touchy), throttle is great for a noob or a seasoned rider. I would recommend this to EVERYONE!!! Might be a little much for a brand new rider, but I wouldn't stick by that. Oh, the Mods are LIMITLESS on this bike.
- Dallas, Starkville, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I've owned so far, and I'm seriously impressed. The performance is more than I could have asked for, while the machine is still forgiving enough to not hate me for my newbie mistakes. A month of riding and I'm already conisdering a more powerful bike, but I'm so impressed by the SV650 that I'm considering getting the SV1000 within a few months. For a great starter bike, or just fun around town and on the open road, performance to cost, the SV650 is the way to go.
- jason, west linn, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an excellent starter bike. I rode a GSXR 600 and this bike is much easier to handle, more enjoyable and less intimidating to ride. There is less stress on my back. The seat can get uncomfortable after a while, but it's worth the ride! I love it. I am a female rider and this bike is light enough and handles the way I like. I would highly recommend this to any beginner. The brakes were a bit sensitive until I got used to them. I am happy with my new toy!
- S. Jenkins, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking around for a good V-Twin sport bike, I came across the SV650S. I really like everything about the bike. I just installed a Scorpion Slip-on exhaust and the V-Twin sounds great! The bike handles very well, it has lots of guts, and the brakes are excellent. I would recommend this bike to beginners and experienced riders a like.
- Edwin B., Hawthorne, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-13 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years of riding touring, sport touring, and retro bikes, I decided to see what all the buzz was about sport bikes. I was not sure about this type of riding so I decided to make an inexpensive test of the waters: I bought a new 2003 Suzuki SV-650. From those I talked to and the reviews I read, the SV-650 was a reasonable performer at a reasonable cost. I've ridden it now for two years and have several comments. The first is that it delivers exceptional sport performance for the cost. It handles well and the front will lift in first and second if you push it. Maintenance costs have been next to nothing, and when not hot-footing, it gets great gas-mileage for a naked (consistently over 55 mpg). Overall it lived up to its reputation: high-fun at low-cost. With that said, my second comment is, given that I bring some baggage (touring baggage) with me, that in the end it wasn't the bike for me. The riding position was too aggressive, though not as aggressive as other sport bikes, and the seat was a butt numb-er. I enjoyed the exhilaration of winding roads and hole-shots, but found these were not the pleasures I was really seeking in the long run. So I've returned to the sport touring end of the pool, relinquishing the smell of burning rubber to others while I repay myself with more subtle enjoyment of comfortable hours on the open road.
- Vet Rider, Merrimack, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2005 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The SV650s is a great sport bike for anyone. If you are considering a middle weight sport bike for the street then I would go with this one. The handling is very neutral and light as well as very stable. It's got plenty of power to lift the front wheel in first or second gear, but it can also be as very docile. The power is very linear and it's very smooth. The only down side to some people would be the seating position because it is a little extreme, but to me it is perfect. The seating position allows very good handling at higher speeds. I would say that it is the best purchase I have ever made and I highly recommend it.
- Jesse Berwick, Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: