Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-09 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been five years since I did the 3-year review. Now at 8 years, my 2005 DL650 V-Strom still looks great, runs great and rides great. I'm ready for some new tires again, that got me searching the web, and prompted me to do this review. I'm ready to order some road-oriented tires this time, maybe Pirelli Scorpion Trails. I have never had this bike off of the pavement. I'm long over with those thoughts. I also replaced the battery about two years ago, just as a precaution. I've ridden less in the last five years than I did in the first three years. I work from home most of the time now, so I don't have my long daily commute anymore. Also, I'm getting older (54), heavier, and am on the way to shorter. While the bike is still very comfortable, it's getting harder to swing a leg over the Givi bags and high seat. But once there, it's still very comfortable. The seat is still like new, it's held up very well. The Givi bags still look and work like new even though I kick them just about every time I mount the bike. No other new accessories, haven't thought of anything to add in years. This is the longest I've ever kept a bike. I've thought about trading for something new, but there's really nothing available that I like better. Cost of ownership has been, and continues to be very low. I carry only liability insurance anymore. I change the oil every summer now, since I don't accumulate 2,000 miles per year anymore. The last couple of years I've only added a couple hundred miles each. This spring though, I've burned through two tanks of fuel so far. that's about 300 miles per tank. Maybe I'll ride more this year.
- Gary Anderson, Butler, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-10 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding all types of motorcycles, I am really enjoying this one. I like the riding attitude and the feeling that you are up higher than normal. It has plenty of power and is very smooth for a v-twin. Wifey likes it too, she says it's as comfortable as my previous BMW. It gets outstanding fuel mileage, I average 55 mpg. The insurance is less than $200 per year full coverage. It's easy to maintain as well as easy to find parts. I think this one's a keeper and for me, that says a lot. I would highly recommend one for anyone wanting something different. Some call it the SUV or pick-up truck of the motorcycle world. It doesn't do any one thing great, it just does it all pretty darn good. Love it!!
- Ken, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-18 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started commuting to work for the third year (mostly summers). 21,500 miles and no trouble. During the winter I was considering trading in on something else, but today's commute reminded me what I like about the VStrom 650. Comfort, reliability, economy. I get at least 60 mpg. High of 64 mpg so far. I took one week-long trip through New England. Very comfortable, even at extended interstate speeds. I've had no trouble. Over the winter I replaced the air cleaner. Kind of a pain, but it's the last one I'll need. After 21,000 miles the original looked like new. I just changed the sprockets and chain to 16 tooth front (up 1) and 45 tooth rear (down 2 it lowers the highway RPM significantly. First gear is now as high as I'd like. Any further adjustment would be too far. I am trying to increase fuel mileage even more and have sacrificed some acceleration. The SW Motec center stand I put on right away still works great. Never a trouble. Also added Givi 30 liter black bags. They're great. They take abuse and always clean up nice. I've changed the oil every 2,000 miles because it's simple. And the chain drive is really no trouble, just messy. I am on my 2nd set of tires and expect to replace them this summer. Paint, hardware, looks all holding up very well. Even the windshield still looks good. The mirrors are starting to corrode in spots behind the glass. I think that is because the bike sits outside in the rain while I'm at work. Otherwise the bike still looks new. I hope to review again in 3 more years!
- Gary Anderson, Butler, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-09 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15,000 miles in 2 riding seasons I have yet to find anything but good things to say about this bike. Superslab or twisties - it's great. Cruise easily at 80mph all day. Very comfortable. The longest day was 850 miles. While it does very well on gravel roads I have not done any trail riding as I think it's rather large for that. It's not a dirt bike. The seat height could be a bit high for shorter riders but is fine for me with a 31 inch inseam. Mileage at 70mph is about 50mpg. You can't find a better all around bike for the price... it's a steal.
- Buz13, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-07 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my bike for more than two years now and keep trying to find something that would justify buying a more expensive bike. So far no luck. No matter what I want to do with the Strom, it always meets the challenge. The only complaint I had was how it handled long sweepers. I never felt comfortable in them until I added some bar risers. Now I think I've become too comfortable because the bike seems like an extension of me. The only other minor thing is that I wouldn't plan on doing any serious off-roading with it. Overall the bike is bulletproof, versatile and tons of fun.
- leftfield123, Mount Shasta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this DL650 for 2 1/2 years. With 13000 miles consisting of mostly 100 to 300 mile weekend rides, as well as some short commuting. All of this time the bike has been 100% reliable, with absolutely no mechanical flaws. I'm very pleased with this, the only glitch I've found was cosmetic; the little plastic cones at the top of the mirror stalks have cracked a bit. The engine is peppy from about 4K rpms and up to about 9K rpm, with plenty of power for me, a quick downshift and a twist of the wrist is all that's needed to pass most cars traveling at normal highway speeds. It will run out of steam at about 110 to 115 mph. I gave this bike a 4 star rating for comfort since the seat will start punishing your rear after about 2 hours, and there is quite a bit of wind noise and some helmet buffeting for the rider. Both of these issues have been addressed by the aftermarket, many options are available. The upright seating position is very comfortable and natural, although I sometimes find my knees getting crampy, I don't think it's the bike's fault. Handling is excellent, and this bike really shines on twisty roads with rough pavement. There is ample lean clearance to use up all of the available tread on the tires; if you grind down the peg feelers on this bike, you are either good, crazy or both! Fuel mileage hovers in 50ish range, and the large tank will allow you to travel well over 250 miles between fill ups.
- Dave, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I come from a dirt bike background, having owned mainly big bore 4 stroke singles. Several XR's, all sizes from 250 to 650, XTZ's, DR's and TT's. This is first 'road' bike I've owned, though I hesitate to call it that because the V-Strom is so many things wrapped up in one convenient package. I do everything on this bike, it's my sole means of transport. I commute to work, I go long distance touring on it, take it on leisurely Sunday rides, attack the twisties aggressively like a madman on it, and I even take it dirt riding and have left many an XR or WR rider in shock when they see me round a bend with the back wheel stepped out on some remote track somewhere. The v-twin engine is an absolute gem. The upright riding position is as comfortable as, just like being on a dirt bike to me, except with a fatload more grunt. The fuel economy is unbelievable, the best I have done is 441 km's from one tank, before I refilled, and there was still a litre or so in it. Top marks for Suzuki on this one.
- Gary Lewis, Edmonton, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-01 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes for almost 40 years, and have owned everything from a 250cc Ducati to a 1520cc Honda Valk. Not one of them come close to being a total package of power, comfort, handling and looks, not to mention price. This is the first bike that after I bought it and rode it, I never looked back. In addition, it will out perform many bigger bikes - it must be Love.
- Larry Brown, Charlotte, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-10 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The DL-650 is roomy enough to be comfortable for hours, much faster that I'll ever go, and big enough to keep me from looking like a clown on a mini bike (think Savage or 250 Nighthawk). I really don't have the experience to say how good or bad it rides except to say that when I ride it, the only time I come close to paying as much attention to the bike as the other traffic has been on the interstate, going 80-ish, with strong cross-winds and 18 wheelers. Other than that, the DL-650 lets me watch the road, the other cars, and for other bikers so I can wave at them, like the newbie rider I am.
- Fred Lewis, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-26 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is superb all around. I picked mine up new in July and have logged about 2500 miles doing mainly commuting and ~100 mile canyon rides. I have previously owned a 1978 KZ1000, 1985 Yamaha Maxim, and a 2002 V-star. The riding position of the V-Strom is very comfortable compared to my other bikes, and wind protection is also pretty good (although the Laminar Touring Lip was worth while). For commuting the bike is great. It puts you in a position that gives a commanding view of the road and has more than enough braking and engine power to negotiate traffic. Steering is very light and forgiving, allowing mid-corner line corrections without any problems. The seat can get a little hard after a couple hours of riding, but I haven't met a motorcycle seat that doesn't have that problem. The fuel injection is a great feature (especially if you ride at altitude). Gas mileage has been averaging around 50 mpg (48-54mpg). I highly recommend this bike. It is a bargain for the money.
- Chukchi, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading motorcycle mags about the V-Strom, I was just too curious about this little adventure bike so I decided to buy one. Having owned an FJR1300, VFR800, VTX1800, and various touring-only bikes, I can say that this is the most comfortable bike I've ever driven. Even the touring bikes I had can't hold a candle to this one. It helps to have 50+mpg with the gas prices the way they are, plus solid build quality, this is one inexpensive, lightweight, fun little bike that is at home in a straight line or in the twisties.
- Craig, Bluffton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a stable of bikes. But I needed to replace my KLR650 as my daily rider bike. The Wee-strom is fantastic. 120mph top end. Corners well enough to scuff the rear tire out to the edge. 50mpg if you ride it sensibly. And a huge fun factor. I am an older guy who rides about 25,000 miles per year. This bike is bolt up-right sitting, very comfortable, sort of quick(only 65hp), handles well, and so far is bullet-proof. Great ride, I am really pleased.
- Tom Shuman, Holtwood, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Do everything and do it well on this machine. Able to ride pain free for the first time in 3 seasons. This bike is a daily rider as well as a long distance touring machine for me. I haven't taken it offroad, but that isn't what I purchased it for anyway. Would highly recommend this bike!
- Night_Wolf, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Terrific all-around bike. Great commuter, fun weekend rider and capable touring. Plus trail capable. Engine purrs and has good power. Good seating position for longer rides. Bike is tall and not as easy to manage at slow speeds but a non-issue for experienced riders.
- Craig, West Bend, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like it better than my 1150RT. Can go off road on moderatly difficult terrain, yet it still is a great highway cycle. The 650 is more fun than the 1000.
- Frank, Hopkins, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-05 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my DL650 for almost 4 weeks now. I bought it for it's utility, standard seating position, no chrome, good gas mileage, easy to clean after sitting in a dusty parking lot all week. I intend to ride it to work every day, and have done so for three weeks. The bike is comfortable for my commute which includes 76 miles of back roads and interstate every day. The bike cruises at 80 as simply as anything I've owned. The only thing I notice about the small motor is the lack of low RPM power. It just doesn't accelerate like my other larger bikes until you get the RPM's up above 4,000. Once there, I think it's as fast as I need. Other than that this bike is golden!!!
- Gary Anderson, Butler, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-11 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is kind of my first motorcycle. I did own a Honda CM400T and a Kawasaki KZ750, and several scooters of Vespa type, but that was 20 years ago. I was looking for a "normal" midsize (600-800cc) that was not a crotch rocket or old-man bike. Absolutely not a cruiser! Since very few where available, I waited and searched. Then in a Buyers Guide I saw the 650 V Strom. Right price, right size, right purpose with added benefits. I bought it within a week and I LOVE IT! Enough power (0-60 in 3.8 sec.) and torque (my 190lb son and I rode it 500 miles for over 2 days). I ride it to and from work daily (7 miles) and put about 200 miles on every weekend. Great bike
- Bo Wedsmark, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-03 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This being my first bike I must say I am very pleased with it. It handles very well in every situation, don't think you can bring this baby off road or you'll be in for a surprise. The bike is too heavy and the stock tire won't do the job. For a nice trail yes no problems. Performance wise I think the bike did a good job, I mean 0-60 in 3.7 sec and top speed 125 mph. Again great bike I drove 500 miles in 1 day and I wasn't tired or anything, even with the stock seat it was confortable.
- Lo�c, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-11 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took delivery on a red 650 on Saturday morning. This bike is just beautiful in red, everyone who has seen it and was able to speak has the same comment: "Great looking bike". Smooth as silk, comfortable seat, comfortable ride. Lowered the bike by 2 3/4" to fit and I have found I can handle this bike with no problems. Bike is a little more weight than I am used to and is more top heavy. I've also got to chop 3/4" off the side stand. Got 47 mpg on the first tank of gas.
- TERRY WILSON, LEESBURG, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-06 2005 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a touring bike with SuperMoto/Trailie styling. don't look at this as a dirt bike of any kind. Yeah, you could take it on dirt roads, fire roads, etc. but anything more virgin and you will be 'stunting' with this bike. Accept it for what it is - a tall standard motorcyle, and it is just superb. The riding position is pretty upright. Leg room expansive. Very comfy indeed. First the nicks on this bike - I replaced my seat with the Gel seat up front. The stock seat is a hammock type, which I do not like on any motorcycle. I like to be able to move back and forth some. The Gel is better, but I would still like more. The windscreen is a problem for many, some more than others. I did get some buffeting at speed on all settings, more as the screen went higher. So I drilled some holes in the screen to lower it another 2 inches. It is pretty good here up to 80mph. I replaced the stock can with a Staintune. The sound coming from the stocker is pitiful. But we know why, with regulations as they are in many locales. The Staintune is a clean install, which can easily be reversed to stock. Sounds good and fruity. I love the looks too. Adds a lot of class to this bike. The 650 engine is just amazing. Hard to believe this is only a 650. Good power and torque which is made all the more reachable by the outstanding 6 speed transmission. This bike has all the performance that anybody but a power-nut could want. And they will never have enough. The fit and finish is quite good. The suspension is fairly firm, which is good by me. On a curvey road this bike is like a scalpel on rails. Very confident feedback. Since the bike is tall, you have a very good view of command. The mirrors are good too. After much research I picked this bike as my all arounder. The bike is mucho fun and mucho practical. Take a test ride and see if you can walk away from it. For me, "resistance was futile".
- Chris S., San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: