Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-02-20 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Speedmaster for just over a year now and I absolutely love this motorcycle. This is my first bike and I think I made the right choice. My friends who have rode my bike that have had Harley's and Honda's tell me that mine is the most comfortable riding bike they have ever rode. The only problem I have had is the computer went out a few months ago, but other than that, it's a wonderful bike that I am very proud to say is mine.
- Alan, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-29 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a real sweetheart. I love the looks, the performance, the quality in every detail. Slab rides or twisties, my Speedmaster takes it all in stride. I've ridden in all conditions, including wet snow, and it handles great. I like the extra stopping power with the dual front discs. I experimented with several other bikes before deciding on this one. None seemed to feel right for my size and weight, but the Speedmaster fits like a glove. I recommend: a beaded seat for long trips (rolling back and forth gives you a massage a louder horn (Stebel is good). OEM shorty pipes allow easier access to rear wheel, and they sound great without being obnoxiously loud or Harley-hey-lissen-to-my-rolling-thunder. Kudos to Triumph and the Hinckley plant for reinventing classic biking!
- John H., Long Valley, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree with the upgrade of the sprocket. The 2005 865cc Speedmaster stock is a 16 tooth. I upgraded mine with an 18 tooth. I also had a 904 big bore, fcr 39mm carbuerators, nology hot wires, air box installed and changed out my pipes. My Speedmaster still has great low end and with the sprocket change it balances out the low and high end.
- Larry Wilson, Lakewood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles off and on since I was a kid, I'm 56 now. It's been about 15 years since the last one. I looked at several HD, Yamaha, Victory and a few others then I looked at Triumph. Right away I fell in love with the looks and feel of a 2005 Speedmaster 900 (865cc). I demoed several other motorcycles and none gave me the ride this Triumph did for a mid size cruiser. I've got just over 10,000 miles and it's been nothing but fun. As others mentioned, I ride with a mixed group mostly HD's and get nothing but compliments and I never have a problem keeping up with them. The performance is excellent. I changed out the pipes, added an air box and high performance spark plug with a noticable difference in sound and performance. I was looking for another motorcycle, something larger, but decided to keep this one and go with a 904cc big bore kit. It has plenty of power but I want a little more. I don't see any down side to this Speedmaster.
- Larry, Lakewood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-17 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this motorcycle. I bought it used two weeks ago and I have fallen in love with it. The bike is already to go just change the front sprocket to a 19 tooth so you don't keep trying to put it in 6th gear (there is no 6th gear).
- Peter Chryst, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first review I wrote was at the end of my initial long ride of 500 kilometres. Since then I have done a couple of short hops of 100 Kilometres and a ride of 760 Kilometres in 2 days to get the bike its first service. My thoughts on the comfort and handling of this bike has not changed. It is comfrotable for long runs and if needed you can do a lot of kilometres in a day. The bike handles well in corners at speed and at the lower end of the speed spectrum. I noticed the first reviewer in this section stated that the bike is dangerous in the front end with it "diving" during operation. I have encountered this but only on sharp braking at low speeds. I think this is to be expected as the brakes at 120 kph are good slowing the bike quickly and smoothly. If the brakes are good at stopping the bike/rider combination of 300 kilograms at this speed, it makes sense that a sharp application of the brakes at low speed would see the bike dive. At higher speed the inertia of the bike is enough to prevent the brakes locking the tire so as forward momentum is maintained it allows the bike to slow quickly with the suspension slightly compressed. Go to low speed with less momentum and grab the brakes and the bike wants to stop suddenly due to the force of the brakes and lack of forward inertia. In this case the forward momentum is absorbed by the only part that can give and this is the front shocks. If you apply front and rear brakes sparingly, the bike will handle as well at low speeds as at the higher end. As for other accessories I will probably look at boards with a heel toe shifter as I think it would relax riding a bit more. There's my 10 cents worth!
- Lloyd, Clermont, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-24 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Speedmaster is my first motorcycle of any kind and it has been absolutely perfect in every way. <br /> I intended to get a Harley and looked at many other bikes but the Triumph simply looks and feels more natural. <br /> The bike fits me like a glove, has plenty of power even for my size and looks like a million bucks without having to spend a lot of money. It's fun to ride and has very distinctive styling. You will get many compliments and be very satisfied with the Speedmaster.
- Kevin, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-26 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a Bonnie in the 70's and I thought that was the ultimate bike, how wrong I was. The Speedmaster is true to its Triumph name giving you all the nostalgia of the old days coupled with all the modern technologies available. It's a sheer pleasure to get on and just ride. I love the low-end power it has - just open that throttle and you get the deep roar as it just starts pulling away. You need to, however, change your pipes to hear the roar as it is locked away with the standard pipes. The looks - well, what can I say? You cannot park it without coming back to find some one just standing drooling all over it. It also has a great sitting position giving you a long slender feel without feeling huge. As for the handling, I'm not sure how they get it to stick to the road the way they do, but it sure does - it just sits and follows the line you have given it. I have owned many different bikes, but only now do I know what I have been missing all these years.
- Roadwasher, Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-06 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I gave it 4/5 for quality only because I think they could have added better looking small hardware parts in many places. Some chrome washers and bolts, etc. Not a big deal but just a niggle of mine, and I've done much of that myself. Nevertheless, the bike is just about perfection as my tastes go. Engine is nice and torque-y, though could use a few more HP, which by the way was very easy to acquire by changing pipes to open the airflow more and re-jetting. Now it's as strong as I'd ever need. It's very smooth and as rock solid and stable as anything I've ever ridden all the way up to the ton mark, which is as fast as I'll go. Comfort is perfection, at least to my butt. The seat is as comfortable as a living room chair. And it's the same in that just like your living room chair you gotta get up now and then and stretch. But more than any bike I've ridden, I can stay on it for many miles without discomfort. But the look is what I just can't get over. If you haven't seen one in person, go to a dealer and look. But bring your checkbook because if your taste in bikes is anything like mine you will NOT want to leave without it ! Overall, it's a fabulous bike that turns heads and gets comments all the time. Pull up to a pack of Harleys and watch them do double takes. Then ride away with pride knowing you're unique as you wave goodbye to the lemmings!
- Triumph freak, fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a big v-twin(modified just right)which needed work and the dealer let me have a basic Bonny for a weekend. Hated it at first(my wife had to talk me into taking it)and after "10-15 gettin' used to it miles" I had more fun than I'd had on a m/c in a long time. Dealer also had a SM demo with Trimuph off road pipes and they had ported and polished the heads. Runs so smooth. I couldn't resist and although I did miss the V-T initially, I know if I had both bikes,the V-T would be a hangout for spiders. 3400 trouble free miles in about 6 weeks. Been in the twisties, on the interstate, and use it to commute. No problems. It accelerates like a two stroke compared to the V-T so passing is much more fun and it handles great in the curves. I don't even mind having a chain again(it's been 15 years). Two things.. waiting on a new counter- sprocket for higher gearing(which having a chain allows easily) and am swapping out for cruiser type handlebars although I've gotten use to the drag bars and they do look nice. It's nice to have a light weight, great handling, quick scooter again. Great stopping power, I usually get 47 mpg and have gotten as much as 50. I get stopped everywhere, mostly by the older generation who "owned a Triumph" and have got stories they want to tell. The bike feels rock solid, shifts super-smooth with no false neutrals, and just plain runs. I love the blacked out motor and don't spend much time polishing. I also like having mags again, also much easier to clean not to mention tubeless tires. If you prefer the more standard cruiser, the America hits the spot too. I would recommend the SM to anyone looking for a solid, dependable and fun,fun bike to ride.
- saxman, mt. carmel, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike's strengths are as follows: Very very good handling. Someone else mentioned feeling like it's on rails. Absolutly right. Inspires confidence due to how solid it feels and handles. Smooth. No vibration to speak of anywere in the powerband. Torque from way down low to high RPM's. The power is available wherever you happen to be in the RMP or speed range. Twist the throttle and it pulls with authority always. Freeway cruising is effortless at 70-80. Comfort. Sitting on a bike, ANY bike, for hours on end isn't going to be 100% pleasent no matter how good the seat. But the speedmaster's seat at least for me is very comfortable. More so than any other bike I've ridden. I can ride for hours as long as I take a few minute break here and there. Looks. Well, need I say more? It's the most beautiful bike ever made. Of course that is as subjective as anything is. But that's my take. And I doubt many wouldn't at least think it's good looking. I've recieved compliments on it around town, something I don't ever recall happening once with my other bikes. Certainly not on a regular basis as with this bike. The bad: The pipes are dead quiet and because of this state of non-free flowing exaust, the bike makes less power than it's easily capable of. Both power and sound are easily rectified though with an aftermarket pipe set. But we shouldn't have to do that. No storage for tools or anything. Thats about it for the bad. But as stock the bike is wonderful, and these complaints really don't faze my love for the bike. Unless you are opposed to cruiser footrest position or need face ripping power, I cannot imagine anyone who likes classic looks with a bit of a customized look to it not absolutly falling in love with this bike. I sure did.
- trumpetlvr, fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the speedmaster for a month now. Bought it new and had the exhaust baffles drilled out and carbies re-jetted. Also had pollution gear taken off. Exhausts sound better than after market ones I have heard. Plenty of torque when passing cars at highway speeds. Fuel economy could be better. Only getting 180km before switching to reserve. Very smooth to ride, no vibration and sticks to the road like it's on a railway track. Very comfortable on a long trip. No more sore backside. No good for pillion's backside though. New 865cc engine seems better than the 790cc engine of earlier models. Recommend to anyone thinking of getting an H-D sporty, this is much better than that.
- Chris, Melbourne, Missouri, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-01 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only had it for a week now and ordered it with the aftermarket Triumph short slash pipes (still too quiet for my liking). Have tried to get the 'run-in' over with ASAP and have another 200 kms to go before first service. I also have a 2000 ST Sprint that has done nearly 60,000 kms (entirely trouble free), and they are so opposite. I have found myself getting a sore bum after 1/2 hour on the Speedmaster which goes away within minutes of getting off (I can stay on the Sprint for hours before getting sore) - all your weight seems to centre on your bum in this sitting position. The performance seems adequate - pulls well from 100-150 kph in top gear and seems to be capable of about 200 kph. The handling was a surprise, I did not think that it would be as good as it is. Plenty of clearance and is relatively easy to get over - got rid of the 'chicken strips' within the first hour! Found that the back wheel locks up a little too easily and will have to keep from using it - never use it on the Sprint but it seems to be in position of invitation.
- ken, sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-16 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 30 years old and new to motorcycling and the Speedmaster is my first bike. I've done about 500 miles and the bike has been very easy to control, and predictable in turning and braking. Other bikes I considered were the Kawasaki Mean Streak and the Suzuki Marauder. The Japanese bikes felt so much bigger and heavier, almost clunky; and cost 2 grand more. The Speedmaster is smaller and lighter (almost like an H-D Sportster) yet could fit my rather lengthy frame comfortably. The 1200 Sportster is significantly faster though, and at times I splurge and go for a ride on it just for thrills. And of course, I am sort of an engine nut and when I saw the symmetry of dual carbs feeding the twin cylinders, I thought that was the coolest looking design out there. Also, the lack of chrome was an added bonus. I will primarily use the bike to commute a short distance to work daily, and it will sit all day in a parking garage with a salt water breeze. Knowing myself, I won't keep up with keeping chrome looking nice. A black anodized finish over the engine is a nice touch for those of us who give most of our time and energy to worthy causes in this world, not the frivolous, meaningless luxuries such as polishing chrome.
- Jeffrey, Merritt Island, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-10 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 4,000 miles of mixed riding on my Speedmaster. The pluses are great styling, smooth ride, and great quality. Performance is good around town and on the highway the bike stays at 75 to 80 mph without sweating, even with two up. It will push to 90+ but strains in the effort, 105mph is the fastest I've gone. Not having a lot of interest in going that fast, it is all the bike I need. Handling is excellent for a cruiser, but it's not a sport bike. You need to ensure you have the proper air pressure and I keep the suspension tight. I have owned numerous bikes over the past 30+ years including metrics, Harley's, and even a Norton and this is one of the best. This bike is a class act. The only suggestion to Triumph would be to put a few more horses on, but keep the styling.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: