Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (252)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Yamaha Rider 525 from Elk Grove, California says:

Whether it's your first bike or you're an experienced rider, you will absolutely love this bike. It's very smooth and sounds great! It gets lots

Read More (252 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Whether it's your first bike or you're an experienced rider, you will absolutely love this bike. It's very smooth and sounds great! It gets lots of compliments. The only upgrades I did were the exhaust, air box, risers and saddlebags.
- Yamaha Rider 525, Elk Grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-26 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 2007, Roadstar, had for 7 yrs now, take it out every chance I get. Has power, comfort, not too loud. Carburetor, wish it was fuel injected, still satisfied. Looking for a new one or get an Indian.
- Oliver Becenti, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-08-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What was supposed to be flipped I ended up keeping. I never even recalled seeing one before but it got my attention which isn’t easy after 28 years of riding. I’m also on the younger side too being 36 years old.. bought it from original owner with 8,700 miles with original front tire on it dating 04’..I purchased 4/21.reeking 4 month old stale ethanol gas I rode it 130 miles home..crazy, I think the top off fill helped. did a bunch of cleaning up. 3k miles on it since. Wife and kid love it.(which is why I bought it) I also have the 113 CI Vtwin Raider. The engine that they’re also using on the newer touring eluder. Etc. BUT I found this tour deluxe 1300 to be just perfect balance on power and fuel mileage for traveling despite carburetors.. They seem to perform great as they’re not used to the local gas station and back, these bikes crave long hours or distant miles more than 20.. it took me half a day to realize the tour deluxe didn’t disappoint me on power.. don’t know how it goes if heading up the mountains yet?? My Raider has a crappy mileage in town and a really raw attitude.. they’re both great on highways though. I couldn’t sell either ones for they both meet my needs differently lol. Adjust as to what fits you best and this bike will keep you fresh. Ride safe you all
- Patrick, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2021-01-20 2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power, beauty, reliability, fun. That is what you get with this bike. I've always loved the Warrior and the other power cruisers. They are all great bikes. What makes me prefer the Warrior is the perfect combination of old school, air cooled V-twin with beautiful pushrods, and awesome sound, paired with new technology. With aftermarket pipes, this bike sounds just amazing.It's not to heavy, but is big comfortable, and stable. It pulls so strong, is impressive and puts a big smile in my face everytime I roll that throttle. It's fast, reliable, fun, and feels great. I've owned seceral cruisers, but the Warrior is the best of all. I do not recommend this bike as a first bike, because it's to powerful, so you need to know what you are doing, and respect this beast. No other power cruiser has the perfect Combination and character of the Warrior. I love all bikes, but the Warrior is really something extraordinary. The perfect combination of size, weight, power, and sound. I've waited years for mine and it's worth IT. I would like to ride a Yamaha Raider, because it should be different but awesome too.
- Ivan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-09-27 2005 Yamaha 1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first heavy cruiser is like a big old truck. Good power to rear wheel and can pull out of 1st gear at idle speed ( like a big truck in 1st gear). Handling always suggest to (just Cruise at the posted speeds). Is capable of highway speeds with more to spare. The 1998 Yamaha 650 also I have preforms close to the 1100 and is very capable in the street and highway also! They are Not a dirt bike. Cross bike or sport bike . They have a quirky, fun and casual feel to them. Reminding me to Just Cruise and ( get there when You Get there). Whether taking a 100 mile trip or cruising around town it is reliable and casual! Outfitted with windscreen and saddlebags , it is a good fit for my riding style! Compared to larger Yamaha’s and other Brands of Cruisers, I am very satisfied with the Vstar 650 and 1100!
- Vince, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second V-Star 650 so you know where this review is headed. It is not a stoplight rocket, it will not go coast to coast at 80 mph. in supreme comfort and silence and no, it was not designed to lay nearly flat in the curves. This is my ninth motorcycle in nearly 40 years of riding and overall it is the best bike I've owned. While HP is modest, some throttle roll will leave most cars in your rear view mirror but again - it wasn't designed to smoke the rear tire. Torque is plenty available wherever you are in the gear range - just twist and go. Remember - it is a mid-size cruiser despite it's big boy looks. Handling is near perfect for me. It's plenty easy in parking lot speed turns but also straight as an arrow at 60+ mph. and in between, just enough lean available in the curves to make you smile. The transmission shifts effortlessly and yes, the clutch doesn't engage until the last bit of lever travel - by design I suppose. You just get used to it. Yes, Yamaha could have added a 6th gear as the engine sounds busy at 60+ mph. - don't be fooled - the bike will run the legal limit and more all day long with no complaints and no issues - you'll just feel/hear it more than on a large displacement bike. For my riding which is mostly back roads at 60 mph. and under - it is terrific! What can I say? Great fit and finish, plenty of chromed goodies available, low seat height, great handling, fairly decent comfort for a stock seat and enough power to please most. I bought both of mine used (the first one had 20,000 miles and ran perfectly, my 2005 has only 6,000 miles and of course runs like new). Go sit on one, go ride one. Perhaps the best mid-sized cruiser on the market.
- Mike, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-31 2005 Yamaha TT-R90E Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think it is a very nice, very comfortable bike. It is also a very nice trail bike. I really enjoy it. I have several bikes but the TTR is my favorite.
- byron g, pickins, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-11 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in Aug of 2009 with 3500 miles on it, it was a one owner. The last time we rode was the last week of october 2009. 2500 miles on the bike and I love it! The only complaints I have is the seat sucks after about an hour or so and the oil filter changing headache is a poor design. I will be going to an oil filter relocation kit soon. We rode 650 miles on a trip with 5 bikes last fall and we did 75 mph+ almost the whole way, never a hiccup or an issue. I am averaging about 45-48mpg (215miles/4.5 gallon tank, 47.77mpg),at those speeds with 2 riders and gear. The best mpg I have had so far is 56.45mpg, 175 miles-3.1 gallons. I have Cobra pipes, Kuryakin hypercharger and the dealership said a jet kit. The mechanic at the dealership said he has dyno'd a bike like mine and it had almost 80hp. Not sure how close mine is but it is A LOT faster than stock!! You won't regret it if you add these items. With the mods this bike hauls pretty good and people notice you because they hear you. I have 3 friends with V Star 650's and they like theirs too. I would recommend this bike to anybody. My bike has been mistaken for a Harley Fat Boy. :):)
- Greg, Plymouth, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-12 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2005 Warrior Midnight and I'm in love. Limitless torque, excellent handling and the looks, in my eyes, are flawless. I picked up this 2005 with only 2700 miles, I've added about 800 miles in the past 10 days and I'm loving every minute of it. Easy to maintain, beautiful and fast, it's the best of all worlds. I've heard it described as 1/2 sport-bike and 1/2 cruiser, I think that is a perfect description. Very comfortable, lightweight, reliable, powerful, and did I mention beautiful??? Great bike, buy one and you won't be disappointed.
- Mark Lindley, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-02 2005 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third driveshaft bike. MY other two bikes were a gl-500& a 75 goldwing. This bike puts them both to shame. I get mpg of 46 to 71 miles per gallon. This is a solo machine. I removed passenger seat and pegs. It came with saddlebags & windshield. OH by the way I bought my bike on 12-20-08. THANKS KEEP THE DIRTY DOWN!
- dsd, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to replace a 81 500. I fell in love with the midnight edition, so I had to have it. I was impressed with the power of the 649cc motor. My friends have older 800s and 900s and I have no problems keeping up. I would recommend this bike to anyone. It's an easy bike to drive (very balanced). I am looking at the new 950 V Star but I will still keep the 650.
- John Ball, Lockport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-24 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a returning motorcycle rider after 15 years. Starting with a 1987 Virago 535, I quickly realized that a V Max is what I wanted and bought a used 1989 V Max. I loved the bike but wound up selling it a few years later due to buying a new house and a baby on the way - read "threats from wife.Well the baby is in high school now and through lots of negotiating I got permission to buy a bike again. I ran across a clean, used 2005 20th Anniversary model V Max, #1731, with less than 3200 miles for sale in a local motorcycle shop. I spent a sleepless night deciding whether to buy it or not. Decision made, I called the shop shortly after they opened the next morning and put a down payment on the Max. This bike is wonderful and quite a looker. I've had it for close to 2 months now and have logged 1400 miles on it. I have had absolutely no problems with it. The fit and finish is showroom clean. This bike is like getting a second chance on something I hated to lose the first time. If you're lucky enough to run across an Anniversary model, buy it.
- Mark, Memphis area, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-15 2005 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2005 Warrior for 2 1/2 years and am still totally impressed and thoroughly in love with this bike. When I bought this bike it had three thousand miles on it. The salesman at the shop said it was very fast BUT not good for long distance riding. Haha! Well I have proved him wrong after riding from Orlando, Florida to Sturgis, South Dakota (I also rode through the Rocky Mountains on the way). The bottom line is this bike will do it all when properly accessorized.
- gordon w. pratt, orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-10 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 1985 I bought both Honda Sabres - the VF700, then the VF1100. I fell in love with the V4 configuration, smooth power band and ease of maintenance. I sold them both in 1990 and had no bikes since. Just 2 weeks ago I researched and bought a 2005 Anniversary V-Max, #83. It is a beautiful bike, well worth the wait. Flawless paint and chrome. I found out what the V-boost is. It almost scared the sh** out of me. But at the same time, what a ride! If you want some respect from the crotch rocket riders and the cruiser crowd, this is the one to buy. I can't imagine what the 2009 model with 200 hp is like. I am starting to add toys to mine, but in my opinion, they are very over priced. So a little at a time I'll add the extras. It is a great bike with great engineering and great looks. If you want a good all around bike, this is the one!
- Larry Franklin, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-07 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually sold my 91 Electra glide to buy this bike - I have not been disappointed. It is very comfortable and is steady on the highway and on the back roads. Cruise control is a big plus on my 50 mile ride to work each morning. The bags are a bit small but I've adjusted. I have done a weekend trip two-up with no problems. It is very comfortable.
- John, Easthampton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-08 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used last summer and could not be more impressed. It rides great with plenty of power. A seat upgrade to Mustang might be the only thing I change. It does have the characteristic whine but Bub pipes take that away with a really nice sound. For the money, it is tough to beat this bike!
- Old Colby, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-01 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second Yamaha I have owned. I upgraded from a V-Star 1100 Custom. Both are wonderful bikes. The Road Star gives that little extra for those long rides. I have ridden all over Idaho on my bike and it is great lots of power and comfortable to ride. I have Jug Hugger pipes that makes it sound great.
- Dave Minshall, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-22 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After three years and over 15,000 miles, I can truly say that the RSTD is the best motorcycle out there. I have had Hondas, three Harleys and assorted others, but this Royal Star beats the others. Most of my miles have come from long solo trips with tons of camping gear (from Mississippi to the southwest, Canada and beyond). On the open road, the Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe is unbeatable. Comfortable; cruise control; 40-45 miles per gallon; five year warranty... The bike is as near perfect as is possible.
- Jim, Brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-23 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a mid-50's guy who ventured back into motorcycling five years ago. I started with a Suzuki Savage (S40), moved up to a Suzuki 800 Intruder (S50), and ultimately up to a Bandit 1200. I just purchased a used, low-mileage V-Star 650 Custom and right now I'm enjoying this bike as much, if not more, than any of my previous bikes. The features, styling, quality, performance, comfort, and low costs of maintenance and insurance have completely satisfied me, even though I just downgraded from a 1200 Bandit. Just looking at it is a treat! Call me crazy, but that's how I feel.
- Anonymous, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-08 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since purchase of my 05' VSC1100 on 05' Thanksgiving, I have put 10k miles on it. Engine has performed extremely well. Within these milages, me and my VSC1100 have travelled together through many regions of the western continent. We have been thru I-15 in 95 plus degree hot summer day from LA to Vegas and above 10,000 ft mountain on I-395, Pacific coast Hwy 1 to Seattle from Bay area under heavy pouring rain. It runs well too in Chicago's harsh cold winter windy day. It does take for a while for it to warm up on cold mornings. My VSC1100 always starts right up and performs well. It's been a pleasure to own this bike. If Yamaha could add a 6th gear for better Hwy cruising and fix the location of oil filter, VSC1100 would be a perfect bike to own forever. Ride on, Ride safe!!
- Lee P. Nawiat, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-25 2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 35 years from motocross to the highway. Had lots of bikes, most of which were customized to my tastes. The Roadstar made customizing tough since most of what I wanted was already in place. I put more chrome, different grips, driver backrest, speedo visor, Big Bar, passenger floorboards, you know it's hard to add much. The power is good, the styling is old school and the handling is surprising for such a big bike. It gets plenty of eyeballing wherever I take it. From the Mountains here in Nevada to the shore in San Diego. I will have this beauty for a very long time.
- Jim Elliott, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2005 Yamaha PW 80 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a pw80 that I have had for about two years and it is a great putt putt bike. It could have been made with better suspension and maybe a little taller for its power. If you get a used one they sometimes aren't clean in the engine because it might be plugged up with oil so you might clean it out in case so it will still run good. But overall it's a sick bike.
- kid, poop, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well...no, not really. 'tho it has been referred to as a 'Yama-Davidson'. What a Ride! This is the smoothest ride I have ever taken on the road(been ridin' since '62). The weight distribution is superb; add to that the road hugging curves supplied by the low center of gravity. Cruising at hiway speeds is quite comfortable, although this shining Star could use a 6th gear or overdrive. Once on the open road all 102 horses kick in and '...that's some bike, Charlie!' This philly has the eye of all bikers, showing off its sleek lines and stylish complement of chrome and raven-black.
- Lisa LaMoure, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2005 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now in my 3rd riding season with my blue with ghost flame V Star and still loving it. Have had it in 8 bike shows and have won 6 times (4 1st, 1 2nd, & 1 3rd place). This bike turns heads everywhere I go and I love the ride and the handling of this sweet ride!
- Mark Hopkins, Poplar Bluff, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Tires are everything when riding this bike. Metzeler ME880 work well, I installed a plexstar wind sheild, the down force improved the handling and control of the bike at higher speeds. 3000 v boost kit helps a lot. For 20 year old tech, it will out perform anything in the 1200 class in quarter mile and is amazing for 600 lbs. Only problem is, young kids with sport bikes always want to race and end up long faces.
- Lewis Wormuth, Clifton park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: