Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-16 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am one of the dice-rollers that got the FJR phenomenon started. My 2004 model has the heat issue on hot days in heavy traffic. Even with a winter in the garage and on the optimate charger, the battery failed me in less than 36 months. With no options other than heated grips, dealer mounted, I was chagrined to be bump started by friends on much older beemers. Am particularly annoyed by the weight bait used in early ads offering 521# dry weight figures. This bike is big and with a high center of gravity once wife and top case are on it. Wife is petite and only 130#, so I think it is the bike. As the months have rolled on, magazine side bar stat sheets have rolled up the weight to 687 wet. That is with bags but no top case. Add in the Yamaha top case, and it is a 700# 'sickle. Also, I've discovered a laminar flow effect with top case in place riding solo: at critical speed, about 115 mph, wind spilling off the sides of the case oscillates and causes a dangerous front end wobble. Throttle action is positive, but unduly stiff causing my aging wrist carpal tunnel issues after an hour of riding, so I invested in a Throttlemeister. Not perfect, especially in the hills, but a vast improvement. Low speed maneuvering is a challenge, but ALL is forgiven once over 20 MPH. Then it's just one great adrenaline machine. Miles after 500 per day for me have been outside any rational comfort zone. Even with a gel seat pad, my butt and legs take on the familiar road induced burn. Tall windshield eats into gas mileage, but makes for silky smooth wake all the way to the back seat perch. Biggest surprise: all those miles and not one ticket....yet. High marks to saddle bag mount and closure, and those bag liners are a gift from the Gods. Gotta go-whooooosh!
- joyrider01, Paw Paw, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-20 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2005 Yamaha FJR-1300 and love it. I never thought a bike could be so complete. My first motorcycle was a Ninja 750, which I sold when I got married. I considered buying a sport-tourer next, but decided not to after spending a little time on my buddy's Honda ST 1300. It was by far the most comfortable bike I had ever ridden, but I was disappointed in its rather slow and clumsy performance. I wound up getting a cruiser instead. It wasn't until I began to read all the articles on the FJR that I decided to get one. I have never made a better decision in my whole life. The FJR is close to the comfort of the Honda ST 1300, but performs more like my old Ninja sport bike. It is the total package.
- Chris Jones, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-28 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike! The FJR is a wonderful ride. All the power you would ever want. Great cornering ability and so far, perfect reliability. No problems with build quality. The adjustable on the fly windscreen is a nice feature that allows you to select the right amount of wind protection depending on speed. The seating position is right-on but I did buy some aftermarket parts to move the handlebars closer to the seat to allow a little more upright seating position. The hard side cases (saddle bags) are excellent and easy to install and remove (no tools needed). The digital gas gauge, temp gauge and odometer / dual trip meters are a nice touch. Surprisingly, there is no helmet hook, but a full face helmet does fit into the saddle bags, if they are installed and not being used for something else. The gas tank holds over 6 gallons and I get 40 mpg on average, even while getting on it regularly. The passenger seat and foot pegs are very comfortable, or so I am told. The ordering process is slow, it took 3 months to get my bike. But, now that I have it, it was worth the wait.
- Ken Shainker, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-13 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything it claims to be and then some. I cannot believe the power and nimble handling from such a "big bike", far more agile then my previous bike a Kawasaki Concours. This bike just beats all others hands down on being a great mix of sport/touring.
- Michael Parr, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am so excited the cool weather is coming to TN. soon. So this Fall I can really enjoy my FJR. I invested in heated grips last November when I bought and some good protective clothing. Much easier to wear in the coming months. The FJR's power is incrediable, best at 80-90. I must say this is a lot of bike for my size. Seat is my next purchase for my little butt. Then I'll be set. I find it you have to be careful when you drop the bags, it's not as nimble as the croch rockets and it suits me find for an overnight travel. Not real good to jump on to run down to get milk at the convient store. The heat from engine could be routed better but what the heck it moves so fast who cares. Can't say enough good things about it. Now just have to look out for the deer's! cb
- Clarence Beaman, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned about 25 other motorcycles including a BMW k1200rs and a Honda st1300 and having ridden about 250,000 miles, I finally decided to get an '05 fjr. It is a remarkable motorcycle! I just finished a 2,500 mile ride cut short by the recent hurricane, and this bike tracks on the interstate like a slot car. I spent most of my time in the 75-80 mph and an occasional 100. Not a stutter, a bikefire, just a bike that loves to be ridden! It absolutely outhandles the Honda and the BMW and while they are both terrific bikes, the Yamaha just feels so much more alive - and it handles better. This is not a bike for a beginner but for those experienced riders looking for comfort and a ton of power!
- Steven Davis, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're looking for an inexpensive H.D. substitute with a big fat seat that you and your old lady can tool around on, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you like candy colored flower child paint jobs with all the chrome glitter, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you ride around corners in the vertical position, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you want a bike that sounds tuff and goes slow, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you're afraid to open the throttle because the front wheel might come off the pavement, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you're looking for a gas-hog that can't go past a gas station without filling up, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you like paying big money for mediocre engineering just so you can wave the flag, don't buy this bike. <br /> On the other hand, if you're like me and you want a superbly engineered bike that can cut around corners horizontally, accelerate so fast it will take your breath away, stop on a dime with 9 cents change, bypass so many gas stations you'll actually forget that sooner or later you will have to fill it up again, ride two up in comfort and look like it's going 100 mph on it's center stand... BUY THIS BIKE!!!
- T. Ready, Fernandina Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike 5/27/05. I've logged in over 6000 miles so far. I feel that Yamaha has built this bike for me personally. I can't get enough of it. There's plenty of power on tap to do any kind of riding. The ABS is a Godsent for those rainy days. Plenty of wind and rain protection from fairings and shield.( the stock shield could use a few mor inches of hieght.) The hard bags provide sufficient storage for a weekends worth of clothes and gear for rider. I recommend a top case for two up touring. For now I use a tailpack strapped to the rear rack. I can squeeze 250 miles out of the 6.6 gal tank if I keep my right wrist in check. But it's too much fun to wring it out when opportunities arise. This bike loves to cruise at speeds the local law enforcements tend to frown upon. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who likes to ride a powerful motorcyle, but does't want to be hugging a gas tank all day.
- T. Peterson, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE MY 1300. It is at its best at 40-90mph.I went from a Honda Valkyrie for four years to this delight. Agile and mobile is how I describe it. Seat is not the best so you might want to check out another seat but that is just my opinion.
- PapaD, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-15 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: The bike handles great, pulls like a freight train, looks good, has excellent fit and finish, very good mileage (averaging 43 mpg), good mirrors, runs fine of regular unleaded, and shifts smoothly<Br> Cons: The seat isn't as comfortable as it could be (kind of narrow), it generates some heat although I've felt worse, and the owner's manual is pretty rudimentary compared to my other four bikes' manuals.
- Alan, Cynthiana, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-05 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I test rode the 2004 BMW K1200GT and the 2004 Honda ST1300. I couldn't get a test ride on the FJR1300, but I agreed with everything the article had to say about the ST1300 and the K1200GT. Based on that, and what they wrote about the FJR1300, ranking it first ahead of the other two, I bought the 2005 FJR1300. The FJR1300 is the sort of bike that makes me look forward to my commute. It has huge power, everywhere, it has an all-day comfortable riding position. It's not as comfortable as my Goldwing, but it's certainly comfortable enough for a 1000-mile day. It has great luggage for around-town errands. It holds my XXL full-face helmet in either side bag. The biggest surprise of all is how nimble the bike is in the twisties. It feels way lighter than its wet weight at speed, and the brakes are incredible. The Bridgestone BT020s that came on the bike new were good for about 8000 miles. There was a little cupping in the front at the 7500 mile mark. The grip and wet manners of the tires were fantastic. I'm considering buying them again. The pegs scrape a little early for my taste, but there's plenty of bag clearance after the pegs hit. Also, not that you'd want to abuse a bike in such a way, but throttle-only wheelies are possible in first or second on this bike. I describe it's power delivery as very similar to pulling a trigger. At 70 mph, should you decide that you want to go from being behind the brain dead cager talking on the phone in the left lane to in front of said cager, the time it takes to do it is far less than the time to finish reading this sentence. All in all, I'm extremely pleased with the bike.
- Ari, Pikesville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has already amazed me with only 1800 miles on the ticker. I have owned 7 sport bikes from 1990 early CBR to '02 GSXR 1100. I also had a drag bike for about 6 years. Not bragging, just explaining that this bike, while comfortable to ride, is very powerful. I read another review about the limiter at 150mph, bummer I had mine at 135mph last week and was hoping for 175mph. Anyhow if you like comfort, power and luggage space this is the bike!
- Keith Cox, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned the FJR since August, I've had time to get over the inital rush of this machine. It's not as nimble as an ST4, as heavy, expensive or comfortable as a ST1300, nor as fast as a ZZR1200. But all things combined, it is really hard to beat the FJR overall. It has a lot of horsepower and low end torque. I have ridden 920 miles in one day with this machine and it performed flawlessly. The valve adjustment interval is 24,000 miles and almost no one has had to adjust them then. Oil changes are every 4k miles, but takes a max of 15 minutes to perform, as the oil filter and drain plug are in easy access. The brakes are excellent and it is relatively sure footed. My only real complaint with the bike is that the rear shock is a throwaway, pre-load adjustable only and is undersprung for anyone over 180 lbs. I have also did some modifications to the bike to make it more comfortable as you can see below.
- Mark Dews, Denver, , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-10 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previously owned a Honda ST1100 (one of the best bikes ever built). The FJR1300 is a large bike but much lighter than the ST1100 and it makes a big difference in riding ability and enjoyment. I can pass about 5 or so cars and feel confident in the FJR's acceleration and speed (passing safely of course!). The bike does get a bit hot on the left side but if I put my heel on the center stand foot press that serves as a spacing point. Actually the heat isn't really that bad. It is a beautiful bike and runs great. Can't go wrong with this motorcycle.
- Rick Davis, San Luis Obispo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-01 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a tour bike but has power like a sport bike. Smooth. With a ride in town I still seem to have more power than I need. And this is with only 200 miles!!
- Jeremy, Chesterfield, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-23 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally I'm no longer a waiter. I had this bike for 2 weeks now. Smooth, Power, Agility!! It is one of the most powerful Sport-Touring bikes, lots of torque. I love this bike!!
- Jun Dejos, Boothwyn, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-17 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best so far for Yamaha. I have riden motorcycles for over 30 years, since age 11. I Have owned the following: IT250, YZ250, YZF426, FZ600, FZ700, YZF750, and now the FJR1300. I have come to appreciate the accurate handling of the Yamaha. Having owned both Honda &#038; Kawasaki in the past (BY = Before Yamaha). In my opinion Yamaha has them beat hands down. There will always be a Yamaha in my Hanger.
- NCFJRPilot, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-19 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 is one the best motorcycles I have ever ridden and I give it a 5 star rating. My last bike was an '02 GSXR-1000 (a great bike in itself!) but the FJR is a welcome change of pace. Great power, comfort, handling, and storage are what this bike offers along with great styling and quality of build. This bike has the smoothest shifting 5 speed I've ever experienced on a motorcycle, even smoother than my Dad's '94 Goldwing. The power adjustable windscreen is a cool feature and really does work well in its fully extended position. Also, the suspension dampening switch works well. I could really tell the difference when riding 2 up using the firm setting. I've added some options like GenMar bar extenders and a Vista Cruise throttle lock. The bar extenders look OEM factory made and do a lot in making the bike comfortable on long rides. I'm very happy with my '05 FJR1300 and I plan on enjoying it for a long time. This bike is a keeper!
- Dave Keaggy, Dekalb, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-17 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been looking for a bike that would satisfy my needs for week long camping trips as well as local canyon carving. I had narrowed it down to the 2004 Honda ST1300 and the Yamaha FJR, both of which I had ridden. In August I saw the Galaxy Blue 2005 FJR and decided to get it. I have since put 6,000 miles on it including a 2,000 miler through California, Nevada, Utah and Arizona. The styling of the bike is beautiful and strangers in parking lots come up to me and tell me so. When you sit on the FJR the gas tank greets you and when you put your hands on the handlebars you are ready to blast off. Start the 145 hp engine and the nice rumble from the pipes tells you it's ready to go. Acceleration and torque is plenty on this rocket and at 90 mph the engine is purring at 5k rpm. The limiter kicks in at 150 mph. MPG is 40/50 and with the 6.6 gallon tank you can go 250 miles before you need to fill up. This is a long range for a motorcycle. Your butt does get a little sore at 220 miles so you would want to pull over anyway. The FJR also feels good in the canyons with generous clearance, which you will need since this bike, with Metzlers tires, really wants to lean and take you and your co-rider through the curves quickly! The sidebags come with 2 nice Yamaha duffle bags which I use a lot. You can also fit a fullface helmet in each sidebag. The finish and styling of this blue bike is beautiful and it's FUN to ride on the highways and the canyons. The ST1300 is also a very good bike but I prefer the FJR.
- Roy Hooper, Ojai, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: