Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-01-21 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's an awesome ride wirh plenty of power. It handles great! It's a comfortable ride with minimum fatigue on long rides! This was my third one of these bikes (01, 03, 05). I cried when Yamaha messed up this platform in 2006!
- Lance Semones , Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in 06, for commuting to new job at a remote location. Had to ride 90 per day with a bad back, able to do it for two years, until surgery to replace toasted lower disks. Minor tweaks for fuel and exhuast slip-on (M4 Carbon and Ivan's jet kit), crash bars (SWMoto-tech). Luggage rack has been most useful (Rev-it). 125 HP on the rear wheel dyno, 120 on the as in seat meathod. Slight lag off line without high rev's, will drop greaing by 1 tooth at small sproket soon to save clutch, and to shot the holeshot without more drama. Old lady has gear now and is back in action looking safe and hot while she screams in her hat and grabs my belt.
- RDC, ERIE, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-18 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike. Bought it used with 4800 km on it. It's like new. Road motocross 20 years ago and didn't want a bike that made you feel like you were riding a couch. I am not disappointed, this is a fun bike. Reminds me of my motocross days because of the way it feels and the way it likes to be revved. Just when you think it's starting to rev out that's when it really start to pull. I have not rode in 20 years but it did not take long to feel comfortable. Have not taken it on rides longer than two hours at a time so do not know how comfortable it would be on a really long ride but so far so good. Great handling, lots of power and super braking. If you don't have fun on this bike check your pulse.
- Al, Lethbridge, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I had a different bike for about 8 months when I saw this bike and kept reading about it over and over again. I drove my bike to the dealership and left with a 05 FZ1. When I left, the dealer told me to be easy because it will feel different than my old one. Well he was so right. Off the gate this thing was screaming, "Go, go, go! I had to pull over and get my head on straight. Once I composed myself, it was a beautiful ride home from the dealer. It had no miles on it so it has all been me.
- Big Oz, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike so much I bought it a Valentine's Day card. No really, the 2005 FZ-1 is the perfect bike. I keep up with most pure sportbikes and have a better turning radius. It can be controlled like a dirt bike via the upright riding position. It has been my only transportation for the last 3.5 years.
- Tony, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into bikes after 30 years without. I started with a 1996 BMW R1100R, too much vibration, a 6 speed tranny would have been great. Then I went to a 2000 BMW K1200RS, way too heavy, it ran very hot and I just made a mistake, I wasn't tall enough either. Next came a F 650 CS BMW, I actually liked that bike and rode it longer than the last 2. Then I fell for a 2006 Suzuki SV 650, great little hot rod but too small for trips and too light, it followed the groves on the freeway. Finally I have the right bike! A 2005 Yamaha FZ-1. I got it with 900 miles on it! This is the best riding bike I have ever ridden and I have rode a lot! I can ride all day and not feel beat up, it's very handsome and if you twist the throttle it goes into WARP SPEED!! How does Yamaha make a bike that is so docile yet turns into what seems like a drag bike? I am a happy owner!
- Hoagie, Oxnard, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-03 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased in Dec 04, I've ridden from Vegas all over the Southwest, as fas as El Paso, to the coast @ San Luis Obispo. This motorycle is why I ride. Smooth, fast and easy to manage. I have owned 2 VFR's and an 86 FJ 1200. It reminds me a lot of my FJ. Smooth and powerful. Room for a passenger. Fast enough to shame the unknowing and smooth enough to ride all day.
- JAMES Richardson, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-08 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been through a Vulcan, Goldwing, FJ1200, and the mighty Vmax and in my opinion none of them compare to the all around great performance of the FZ1. I am totally satisfied with the styling, accelleration, smoothness and comfort of this motorcycle.
- John , Hampton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha FZ1 makes a fine touring machine for the secondary hiways and biways of the Pacific Northwest. Adding only a rear GIVI box and all else stock I just finished a week long venture through Washington, Oregon, Idaho, and Montana which covered some 2200 miles on mostly secondary roads. My 2005 FZ1 ran flawlessly and without a wimper. It handled itself like a sport bike, yet bore me with the comfort of a touring machine. Around 4000 rpm at 60 mph I got about 50 mpg on 87 regular gas. The stock seat was day long tolerable and vibration levels were so low they disappeared in the breeze. I was much more road weary when I toured on my ST1300 last year. I also reached the highest speed I ever attained on any motorcycle I have owned on a long straight hiway near Riley, Oregon-137 mph! I highly reccomend the 2005 Yamaha with its near perfect balance of street abilities to any rider who is seriously interested in motorcycling.
- Joleth, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-22 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and after the first 36 miles all I can say is, "SWEET"! The FZ1 is perfect for "mature" riders who want all the pluses of a sportbike without the cramped posture. Power is EVERYWHERE in the rpm band, and even during the break-in period keeping revs generally below 6000, acceleration is exhilarating to say the least. Handling is superb, and the suspension tracks over road imperfections without being upset. Reading reviews might give one the impression a larger aftermarket windshield is mandatory, but this is by no means the case. With the nose splitting the air ahead, even the tiny stock screen does an amazing job--at 90 mph I felt air pressure on my shoulders only, and I'm not a small person. The high-mount bars may be just a bit too high for those who want to explore the upper speed range, but they're perfect for all-'round use. I'm transitioning from a Triumph Rocket III which has OODLES of raw power, but a practical riding comparison between it and the FZ1, the Yamaha leaves like a BULLET and as speed builds (quickly), it remains composed and stable, without turbulent wind buffeting. It's a relatively light machine, and this contributes to excellent cornering response, yet detracts nothing when running fast out in the open. The half-fairing is actually superior in handling crosswind gusts over the fully-faired bikes I've ridden. For riders over 40 who like to RIDE, know what performance riding is all about, and secretly crave a sportbike but for the ergonomics, I HIGHLY endorse and recommend the Yamaha FZ1.
- Kilibreaux, Madera, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-21 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been a wonderful year for me regarding motorcycles. I've had a 2003 Honda ST1300, 2004 Z1000 and finally a 2005 FZ1. The Honda took me to the Grand Canyon and back with every day heat and "white knuckle" a constant companion yet the rest of the ride was very comfortable. Honda's handling was fine for an over fifty person like me. The Kawasaki on the other hand seemed to read my mind with a complimentary blend of speed and handling. Again, "white knuckle" and discomfort after 1/2 hr. in the saddle dogged me throughout its use. Finally, the Yamaha FZ1 came into my ownership and the blend of comfort and tourability is complete. The supple suspension still can carve through the twisties with speed yet along with refined comfort. No "white knuckle" sears my hands and the seat is all day usable. Vibration and engine heat is not present. Fuel consumption at touring speed is as good as my ST1300. With my new Givi Monokey rack and box system, I intend to tour the Pacific Northwest this summer. I am very confident that the FZ1 will enable me to enjoy motorcycling as well as or better than any motorcycle I have ever owned.
- Joleth, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-28 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned 7 different bikes in the past 5 years including a CBR600F4i and a BMW GS and RT. The FZ1 I have had for the past two months and have put 2500 miles on it. I have found the FZ1 to be smooth, powerful (more than is needed for the street), good handling and reasonably comfortable. The handling is not as good as the CBR or the GS, but the bike does what you ask. There is good ground clearance. I have not scraped any parts yet and I did on the GS. I also like to be very up right when riding. The FZ1 makes you lean a little forward which after a long time in the saddle will hurt my neck. The FZ1 is a big improvement over the CBR as far as riding position goes. I basically like everything about the bike and the more I ride it, the better it gets. The only thing that I don't like is starting it up when cold. You need to give it just the right amount of throttle so that it starts but doesn't race (the choke alone is not enough to start it). I would buy the bike again.
- mredmond, port jefferson, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-18 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2004 FZ1 back in late February 2005 and have enjoyed it immensely. I was looking for a nice smooth ride with plenty of power, an upright riding position, and decent or better handling. This bike delivers it all. One thing to note, wind protection leaves something to be desired. There are many options here depending on your tastes, however the position of the fairing makes it difficult to find adequate wind protection if you're over 6 feet. I plan to address this by adding a mid sized screen, drop the bars 2" and already flipped the mirror arms over to reduce buffeting around the shoulders. All in all, this is a lot of bike for the $$$$ and well worth the fare.
- Adam Thomas, Santa Cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-16 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Incredible, almost perfect. I have had my Blue '04 FZ1 for just over a year now and do mostly touring (to Sturgis the second day I had it 1100 miles!) and week end trips. I just got back from Reno/San Francisco (1700mi.). This bike is awesome, 45-50 m.p.g. at hi-way speeds to 85-90 M.P.H. Cruise all day at 5-6 K (75-90)! Super handling through the twisties, smooth and clean, great suspension and loads of power. If you stay under 7000 r.p.m. you have a great street bike, twist the wick to over 7k....hang on brother, your in for a ride, and you better have a lot of clear road ahead, as you will be well over 120+ m.p.h. in a few heart beats!
- E.J.Scotty, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my bandit1200 in on the fz1 and it's like the difference between Nascar and formula one. This bike feels turbine smooth and when you hit 5 grand your arms are being sucked out of your shoulders. IT HANDLES GREAT and feels like it weighs 150 pounds. Coming out of a turn on the gas the front end looks skyward be careful. Its fit and finish are A-1. THERE is no wrist pain at all. I road the zrx and had pain in 20 minutes. I GREATLY RECONDMEND THIS GREAT BIKE. 5stars.
- PAUL HARVEY, HUBBARD, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took this bike out to California and back without any problems. Great on the twisties and the super slabs. Bought new tires in San fran for this at 15000 km every thing else is original and still faultless. It is a good all rounder.
- Tom simpson, hamilton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this on Friday the 13th but it has been all lucky. It's a B-day present to myself and I love it. Still breaking it in but can tell this bike will scream. Comfortable riding position and handles nice. Plenty of power with a passenger. Have to get used to the mirrors but they work well enough. It came down to this bike and the Kawasaki ZRX1200. The centerstand and 6 speed were the deciding factors.
- Phil Bourque, Lisbon, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-12 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I shopped around and sat on bikes for 6 months. I was considering the SV1000S or the Bandit 1200S when I read a review in one of the sport rider magazines about a test between a Kawasaki, Suzuki Bandit 1200S, and Yamaha FZ1. The FZ1 beat the other bikes in every way. I decided I should go check it out before I made a decision. I was having trouble finding a bike that was really comfortable for my size. As soon as I sat on the FZ1, I made up my mind. Now that I've been riding it for a couple of days, I just can't believe it. The price is right, it's very comfortable, and the power is off the charts. I couldn't have chosen a better bike.
- Randy, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has it all. Fast, nimble, comfortable, sweet and easy on the street, down right scary when you push it, a bike that demands respect from a beginner. Use 93 octanes and watch your adrenaline levels go higher. Oh, that engine You need to experience an FZ1 in order to have an appreciation for its value, quality, versatility and fun.
- Gelu Stefan, Parkland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: