Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews (49)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-11-10 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a tiny guy, all of 5 8" and 115 lbs. This thing is nimble and responsive. My previous bike was a YZF600R, so I thought I was sidestepping to the FZ6 but it's definitely a step up. The front wheel can be lifted at will in most gears and the fuel injection is beautify smooth. It gets great mileage and still carves into the corners like the R6 that it thinks it is. The only thing I would do different is the under-seat storage is small at best and the license plate frame is awkward looking.
- Jay Shet, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-02 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For eighteen years of watching my father parade around on his Harleys and my mother never letting me join the game I finally bought an FZ6 at age 26. After extensively reviewing the market for an above the norm sport bike without the cramping of a rocket while maintaining comfort on the long ride the FZ6 filtered out as the best choice. It's great with a passenger as the lady will feel more comfortable than bending over on a rocket, but its stylish appearance has the charm of its fast backed brother the R6. This bike performs well while cruising under 7K and thrills you after. This bike hits you on all cylinders. Go get it.
- Patrick Campbell, Green Bay, WI, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-18 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well people, I have to say that I have passed the 20,000 mile mark and could not have been happier with this bike. It is an awesome hidden thrill ride. It is easy to ride in slow traffic while I split lanes. Brakes are great. And if you want to go fast well just pass 7k or 8k RPM and you better hang on because it will yank your arms off if you are not ready for it. I absolutely love this bike and will recommend it to anyone interested in riding for the first time. It is a great confidence and maturity growth bike. Forgiving and fun all wrapped into one naked/standard/sportbike. I write this because I am thinking of upgrading to its slightly bigger brother the 2008 R6 but I am having a very, very, very hard time letting go of this hidden jewel of a bike. If anyone else reads this, you will not regret getting this thrill ride! It is absolutely fun!
- slider762, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike may not be as fast as the R6 or a CBR for that matter but it's pretty close. This bike is awesome, it is probably hands down the best all around bike for the price. Keep the RPM's low and it's a nice around town cruising bike, hit the throttle and after 8 thousand RPM's and this bike turns into a beast. The engine is the same engine in the R6 sportbike but it's detuned for more midrange power which makes it much more practical for a newer rider for myself, but the bike is phenomanal for an experienced rider as well. I love this bike and I'll never trade it in, I LOVE IT. You can't beat the sound of a 4 cylinder bike. The beautiful part is that this bike isn't classified as a full out sport bike so insurance rates are good too. If you want an awesome bike you should definitely give this bike a ride, you won't be disappointed at all unless you're a total maniac speed freak. If that's the case pick up the CBR or R6.
- Justin Slocum, Endicott, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes and this one is the best all around bikes for the solo rider. Have not ridden with a passenger so I will not comment on that. It is very quick off the line and has adequate power at 4,000 - 5,000 rpm in any gear. But, if you down shift to 7,000rpm, it's like a rocket up to 13,000 rpm. This bike is quicker then almost anything on the road. 0-60 3.4 sec, 1/4 mile 11.3 sec. If you want minimum power and nice cruising, keep the rpm's down, if you want to peel your eye balls back, keep the rpm's up. Simple. This bike is more powerful then the SV 650, Ninja 650, Honda 599, etc, and I have out run a number of 600 sport bikes. Even though it is a few hundred more then the above bikes, you will make up the difference in that the valves only need checking every 27,000 miles. This bike is a good value. The fairing works well but needs the taller windshield for freeway running. (I am 6ft. Tall) The gears are a little clunky until some miles are put on, but shifting is positive and I've never missed a gear or had trouble finding neutral. The ride is good, stable, and nimble. Around town I get 40 mpg. The exhaust pipes are under the seat out of the way. Overall I think this is the best all around bike in this category.
- Doug Estes, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-14 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden in a couple of years, so I looked at a lot of bikes before I purchased my 06 FZR. It had a lot of features that I wanted, and an upright riding position. I like the looks of the full on sport bikes, but after owning one, I couldn't live with one again on a day to day basis. I read a lot of good reviews on this bike, and it has lived up to them in most areas: good performance, easy to ride and stable, fairly comfortable and easy to insure. That being said, there are a few complaints: tends to be a bit buzzy at certain rpms, although many have said that they will be better as the miles add up, the seat is too firm, it needs to be a bit softer for the long rides, the clutch takes some getting use to, as well as the notchy 1st to 2nd upshift. Overall, worth the money, and oh yeah, 26000 miles between valve adjusts and 50 mpg...
- Devon, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-24 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 2004 FZ6 with 2700 miles on it. Already rode it 500 miles in a week. This bike has certain unique characterstics, let me explain. First, it's a high reving bike, you can hit 13000 rpm in first gear and 65 mph. It is very tame below 7000 rpm. Above 8000 rpm this bike behaves like a beast on steroids. So you get best of both worlds. To ride this one get used to high revs. Second, the riding position is very upright, if you are new to sport bikes it will take a while to get comfy with it. Third, the clutch grabs fast but you get used to it and it actually helps in faster shifting. Large gas tank gets range up to 250 miles. Seat is comfortable, rode it continous for 4 hours and no butt ache. Overall nice ride.
- Harbir Sohi, Irving, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-08 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased used this year with only 1300 miles on it. Since then I have had a blast. The bike is nimble and capable for most riding conditions. The large gas tank is great since I commute about 70 miles round trip. I average about 50 miles per gallon, usually running no more than 80 on the interstate. Brakes work very well. The clutch broke in good at about 3000 miles and is much more smooth. Engine pulls well at low speed or all the way to 1200 RPM. Decent wind protection. One gripe, throttle hand buzz. After a 4 hour ride I feel like I just ran the weed eater. If I can stop this and get the larger windshield, this will be a great little bike.
- Chris Weatherspoon, Cadiz, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is incredible!!! Great Mid-range power, and being it's not a crotch rocket, I can get away with riding with all my friends on their cruiser's. But being it's not a cruiser, I can get away with riding with all my friends on crotch rockets. Truly the best of both worlds. This bike handles like a dream, and has more than enough power to reach speeds reserved for the insane. Ride a couple of other bikes, and you'll be happy you're coming back to this gem.
- Zach, St. Johns, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-18 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my FZ6 new in April 05, not a single problem, with 3,000 miles on it. Bike is tractable at low speeds for a 600, not gobs of torque, but fine for low speeds. Handling is great at low speeds or high speeds, sticks to a line like its on tracks. This bike really shines at high RPMs, it pulls like a rocket. Comfortable for the long haul, seat could use a little more padding for the touring types. Suspension won't beat you up. Plenty to offer for the rice rocket or touring types. Been riding bikes for 36 years and this is my all around favorite bike I have ever owned. My first bike was a 1978 SOHC Honda 750; the FZ6 has come a long way from that. All around great bike.
- Bob H, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-10 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never rode before; felt the urge to get something and this by far is the best investment I made. Fast enough for ego, slow enough to stay alive. I feel this bike is the best of both worlds.
- Henri, Laurel, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-15 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First street bike for me. Pure joy to ride. Effortless handling at legal speeds. Enjoyed a 300 plus mile day trip into Yosemite and was begging for more, but ran out of daylight. I am averaging right at 60 mpg. Sleek looking. I like the frame aesthetics and the cool under seat exhaust. <br /> Minor gripes- may have enjoyed the tach/speedo set up on bikes like the FZ1, but then again for the price, this serves me well. Would buy it again in a heartbeat.
- Ron, Eastern Sierra, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-09 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from a motocross/hare-scramble background with 38 years riding experience, this is my first road bike and I really don't think you can get a better bike for the money. I have about 3000 miles on the bike and commute to work everyday (weather permitting) 96 miles round trip with about 1/2 of it highway miles. As far as reliability, I've had no problems, yet. Performance is awesome for a 600cc bike, it has plenty of power when you need it. I would like to try a FZ1! Handling is excellent, I can't imagine a bike handling much better than this bike. Comfort at first was a little hard on the butt, but it's not a problem now, I guess the seat or my butt broke-in. Overall the shifting in lower gears is a little rough (the tech at the shop said after 4000 miles put full synthetic oil in it as it will help smooth out the shifting). The windshield is just right for my size. Taller riders might have a problem. I think this bike would be a good choice for a rider with a little experience or an expert. I'm getting 43-48 MPGs running at 65-75 MPH. This bike accelerates FAST from a dead stop with a rider of my weight. I will be making a few runs at the local 1/4 mile track and will write another review.
- Bob K, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've done the harley thing - this is twice the bike for 1/3 the money. A slight complaint is notchy shifting, tall first gear. Otherwise, it is a great crotch crusier. I also get 50 mpg in city.
- dp, bartlett, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power whenever, and wherever you need it. Smooth, silky response. I'm lovin' this bike!
- Yam Fan, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I dig this bike a lot. Only a couple people around here have them. It's great. It's everything that the old UJMs were back in the 80s but it's all new! It has all new parts and technology (OK - stolen from the r6 but not old), fuel injected and has frame geometry that works. The sport bike guys HATE it. They think it's a tourer or something. <br /> The harley guys HATE it. They think its a sport bike. I've had several sport bike guys scoff at it in the parking lot. Which made me EVER so happy. <br /> It shares wheels and kinda tires with the R6, so expect a decent amount of leaning due to the 2+ inch contact on the rear. Yeah, it cheaps up the bike by using other bikes' parts, but it makes it handle badly by comparison. At the same time, when no one is looking, it's fun to get way leany to complete a mild turn. It's attracting a lot of people that want a "beginner bike" in other words, can't afford their hayabusa quite yet. More power to 'em. But they complain about stuff with it that happens on all motorcycles, and their friends try belittle them by telling them "my bike don't do that". But it does. Common complaints. <br /> It vibrates : all bikes vibrate. It has an aluminum frame bolted directly (no isolators) to the engine. whats it supposed to do, chime? <br /> It's quiet: Well, it's a commuter. There's enough noise pollution from the children in their civics, harleys and sport bikes, no need for more.(Oh yeah, and federal laws,) it COULD be a lot quiter. Although, in their defense, the fuel injection is loud, combined with the stainless headers, you get a decent amount of lame ticking. <br /> My butt hurts: it takes hours and hours to accustom your butt to a new motorcycle. It took me 1000 miles on this one. And that's with several multi-hour slow rides. <br /> The clutch is touchy and throttle is scary: the clutch is grabby compared to say, a 40 hp bike. Well, it has to hold onto a lot more. It's quite nice actually, to an experienced rider. Throttle the same. It's fine. <br /> The swingarm looks ancient: Well, again, if you want a race bike, get a race bike. The box swingarm is common on all other bike classes. Granted only sport bikes and harleys sell to americans. <br /> The bike is confusing. It's got pretty good ergometry. But the handle bars are way (a couple inches depending on your height) foreward. I am dang tall, and I opted for some more pull and rise. Could still use a tiny bit, but I already should change out my brake line for a longer one. When I do that, I may get the new risers to get another 1.5 in both up and back.<br /> I am still suprised at the quality of the bike for the price. But I bet that plastic fades in a year or 2, even with a garage. The bike needs very little to make it a great commuter. I got some cortec sport bags and tail bag for mine. The bike lacks tie downs for a cargo net, but the walmart cargo net fits great using the painted grab handles (potentially chipping them) and the passenger pegs. The tank is very prone to scratching from zippers, dirty cuffs snaps etc. do yourself a favor and get the silver or get one of those scratch guards. The high windshield might cut down some wind, or it might just dump the air into my chin. I don't have it and I probably won't buy it. A shorter rider, say 6' will catch the wind off the stock windshield smack in the chin. Wish the bike was offered in a more visible color. Silver is the color of fog and road spray, black ('nuff said) and blue, pretty but not HI vis. SV yellow is nice. (I'm into yellow). It's a tall bike, if you're under 6' depending on how you're set up, it'll be big. But if you're over 6' you'll look like a gorilla on a tricycle. (My wife took many a picture to prove it.) You want a small bike that you won't break your back moving around the garage (or riding it), but still can get out of the way when you want it to, this bike is awesome. If you're into lane splitting, it's tall and narrow. If you're into looking cool, maybe this could be some self esteem therapy. Oh and in closing. 2 words.. CENTER STAND!
- juan, salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my blue FZ6 in May 2004 (blue is the faster colour). Since then I've logged 13,500 km (8,500 miles for the metricly challenged). Mostly high-speed group riding including Vancouver BC to Winthrop WA via the North cascades Highway 3 times, and what we locally call the Duffy Lake loop, about 900 km round-trip about 10 hours. Have never had a problem keeping up with real crotch rockets. Just changed out my rear at 13,000 km (8,125 mi). The original Dunlop was an awesome tire, but not available as a relacement, so I went with the Bridgestone 020, which may even be a better tire. Will need a new front at about 20,000 km. Likes: I love the looks, the handling, the brakes, the acceleration, the predictability. Dislikes: Clunks into first from neutral, rough downshift to first from second, vibration through foot-pegs at 7,000 rpm, liked the digital dash at first, but now think I'd prefer analog just because it's easier to glance at needles than to read digits when you're doing 220 km/h (140 mph). I ride in full leathers and have fortunately never had to test them. Overall: Great fun bike, never disappoints, great value for money. Next bike would likely be an FZ1, but this is the one for a few years.
- Pat, Port Moody, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-20 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my FZ6 and I'm very pleased with my choice. Being a newbie and haven't ridden a motorcycle for 6 months since taking the motorcycle safety course for my licensure, I was a bit nervous driving this puppy home. Well, all my fear disappeared once I drove this bike off the dealership. This bike was so easy to drive. Of course I stalled several times at the stop lights (operator error). The clutch is actually not as touchy as I thought it would be (based on other reviewers). Just rev up to 2-3K RPM and let the clutch out slowly and she will pull steady and predictably. I was thoroughly warned by the salesman to avoid going over 7K RPM to break the engine in and to avoid the surge of acceleration that could get me in trouble. The greatest attribute is the handling and ergonomics. This bike will turn without any effort. The power on this bike is strong and predictable with accerleration(haven't brought the beast out yet- over 7K RPM). However, with deceleration the bike will slow abrutly. Overall, great bike and I would highly recommend this bike for a newbie. For my motorcylce safety class, I tranined on a Honda Rebel 250. And to tell you the truth, the Yamaha was easier to ride. Of course I might change my mind when the 7K RPM range is reached.
- Cruz, Uvalde, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-19 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So glad I got this baby. struggled so long in deciding between SV650, V-Strom or it. I've owned two Harleys and a Honda Shadow over the past 15 years. This bike beats the heck outta them in every conceivable way. Smooth engine, shifting, acceleration and great confidence inspiring handling. Only a Nancy Boy would complain about vibration or whine that you have to wring it's neck to get good power. I'm 45 and too old to get excited about breaking the sound barrier on pavement. I live on a Texas ranch miles from town and the FZ6 gets me to my town job and back with a shi- eatin' grin. Great bike for experienced riders or the novice. With gas at $2.50 per gal. around here, I smile at the 50 mpg I'm amazingly getting. Also, I haul my teenaged daughter to school and back. She's a big ol' honkin' girl, and pretty - the bike does fine with the both of us.
- Red Ryder, Ennis, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-14 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Comfortable? Only if you have a very limited experience on what comfortable can be.. but it will get you back and forth to work with 0 complaints comfort wise... 2 hours into a ride.. you might need to walk around. 6 hours you'll be done for a day or 2. Foot pegs are high and back for a "standard" but low and foreward for a sport. For anyone that can flat foot over the seat, the pegs are a tiny bit high.. And of course thats due to the r6 tire on the back. It requires a lot of lean to get around a turn... which is fun, but it means you have to tuck the knees under your chin.. still.. someone over 30 can ride it... unlike a suzuki gsx or the yzf squidster. The engine has a high power band. I dont find it unless I am intentionaly trying to keep it up there. It's not in the commuting band. But if you do twist it...it will go. Great bike for all riders.
- barry, akn, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I have now passed my break in stage and the FZ6 was eager to show me what it had one saturday afternoon on the interstate so I felt obligated to let it. Lets just say it showed me 120 mph with no problem at all and it didn't take long to get there. I am still not real pleased with the way my hands go numb after such a short time of riding but I am planning on fixing that problem tomorrow with some new grips. Other than that, I still love the bike and I get several "nice bike" comments with it. Overall very happy with it.
- Steve, Springfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-06 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
JUST SPORT-TOURED 5100 MILES ON THIS RIDE, AND I COULD'VE GONE ANOTHER 5100! ON MOUNTAIN ROADS IT DOES NOT TWITCH, EVEN AT 80-90 MPH. ON THE OPEN STRAIGHTS, IT IS STABLE AT WELL OVER 130. RIDING POSITION IS COMFORTABLE EVEN AFTER 12 HOURS A DAY. THE LARGE FUEL TANK, CENTER STAND, 1/4 FAIRING, HIDDEN TAILPIPES, ALL ADD TO THE EURO-INFLUENCED PRACTICALITY. THIS IS A MINIMAL BEAST, WITH NO ADDED FLUFF; EVERYTHING SERVES A REAL PURPOSE, THE WAY MOTORBIKES SHOULD BE. IF THIS SORT OF RAW, STRIPPED DOWN INTEGRITY DOES IT FOR YOU, THAN IT'S THE BEST 7 GRAND YOU CAN SPEND. THIS BIKE GET'S IT, AND SOME PEOPLE GET "IT". IF I HAD A NICKEL EVERY TIME SOMEONE SAID "NICE BIKE"...
- max, tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked mine up recently. I was suprised. It is sold as a bare bone machine... but it has a lot of stuff that, at least those of us coming from a different segment, aren't going to expect. Putting this bike in the super sport section of their website is a dis service to the bike. It is a sport tourer. completely standard seating, tall windshield with taller available. Good gearing and useable power even down at 4000 rpm. Great all around bike. Way more than you will expect.
- ben, honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second year riding a motorcycle. For my first bike...I had a Yamaha r6..it's fun to ride but I get tired easily because of my riding position. I decided to trade it in for a 2005 FZ6..and I tell yah, being in this bike makes me feel like a pro...I guess because of my experience with my r6... I love the riding position...I can last longer than usual....just got it 2 days ago and already put in 160 miles...I'm still on the break-in stage so I can't really tell yet how big of a difference the engine power is from my old r6...but I never felt sorry trading the r6 in for this one..I have more fun riding...as well as my wife...she doesn't have to lean forward as much when she's riding with me ...I recommend this bike to anyone who's a newbie ...I can say my confident level raised up about 70% more ...don't get as tired as I get on my old r6.
- Anthony DM, CIncy, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I normally ride an R6 (track bike) and BMW-F650 Funduro, so I was looking for something to be my long distance ride for trips. This bike has fulfilled that very well. With a few mods, it now is my favorite bike and I'm actually considering selling my classic "Funduro". I miss the power of my R6 "sometimes", but overall this is a much more comfortable and reliable bike. My husband is now considering replacing his Triumph Tiger with a FZ6. The ergos are great for the average "Joe", but mods for my 5'2" stature worked perfectly and the bike is a joy to ride.
- Debi Phelps, Benicia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: