Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

49 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jay Shet

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a tiny guy, all of 5 8" and 115 lbs. This thing is nimble and responsive. My previous bike was a YZF600R, so I thought I was sidestepping to the FZ6 but it's definitely a step up. The front wheel can be lifted at will in most gears and the fuel injection is beautify smooth. It gets great mileage and still carves into the corners like the R6 that it thinks it is. The only thing I would do different is the under-seat storage is small at best and the license plate frame is awkward looking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Campbell

Green Bay, WI, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2008-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For eighteen years of watching my father parade around on his Harleys and my mother never letting me join the game I finally bought an FZ6 at age 26. After extensively reviewing the market for an above the norm sport bike without the cramping of a rocket while maintaining comfort on the long ride the FZ6 filtered out as the best choice. It's great with a passenger as the lady will feel more comfortable than bending over on a rocket, but its stylish appearance has the charm of its fast backed brother the R6. This bike performs well while cruising under 7K and thrills you after. This bike hits you on all cylinders. Go get it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

slider762

Los Angeles, California

Reviewed on 2008-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well people, I have to say that I have passed the 20,000 mile mark and could not have been happier with this bike. It is an awesome hidden thrill ride. It is easy to ride in slow traffic while I split lanes. Brakes are great. And if you want to go fast well just pass 7k or 8k RPM and you better hang on because it will yank your arms off if you are not ready for it. I absolutely love this bike and will recommend it to anyone interested in riding for the first time. It is a great confidence and maturity growth bike. Forgiving and fun all wrapped into one naked/standard/sportbike. I write this because I am thinking of upgrading to its slightly bigger brother the 2008 R6 but I am having a very, very, very hard time letting go of this hidden jewel of a bike. If anyone else reads this, you will not regret getting this thrill ride! It is absolutely fun!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Slocum

Endicott, New York

Reviewed on 2007-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike may not be as fast as the R6 or a CBR for that matter but it's pretty close. This bike is awesome, it is probably hands down the best all around bike for the price. Keep the RPM's low and it's a nice around town cruising bike, hit the throttle and after 8 thousand RPM's and this bike turns into a beast. The engine is the same engine in the R6 sportbike but it's detuned for more midrange power which makes it much more practical for a newer rider for myself, but the bike is phenomanal for an experienced rider as well. I love this bike and I'll never trade it in, I LOVE IT. You can't beat the sound of a 4 cylinder bike. The beautiful part is that this bike isn't classified as a full out sport bike so insurance rates are good too. If you want an awesome bike you should definitely give this bike a ride, you won't be disappointed at all unless you're a total maniac speed freak. If that's the case pick up the CBR or R6.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Estes

Modesto, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many bikes and this one is the best all around bikes for the solo rider. Have not ridden with a passenger so I will not comment on that. It is very quick off the line and has adequate power at 4,000 - 5,000 rpm in any gear. But, if you down shift to 7,000rpm, it's like a rocket up to 13,000 rpm. This bike is quicker then almost anything on the road. 0-60 3.4 sec, 1/4 mile 11.3 sec. If you want minimum power and nice cruising, keep the rpm's down, if you want to peel your eye balls back, keep the rpm's up. Simple. This bike is more powerful then the SV 650, Ninja 650, Honda 599, etc, and I have out run a number of 600 sport bikes. Even though it is a few hundred more then the above bikes, you will make up the difference in that the valves only need checking every 27,000 miles. This bike is a good value. The fairing works well but needs the taller windshield for freeway running. (I am 6ft. Tall) The gears are a little clunky until some miles are put on, but shifting is positive and I've never missed a gear or had trouble finding neutral. The ride is good, stable, and nimble. Around town I get 40 mpg. The exhaust pipes are under the seat out of the way. Overall I think this is the best all around bike in this category.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Devon

Tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't ridden in a couple of years, so I looked at a lot of bikes before I purchased my 06 FZR. It had a lot of features that I wanted, and an upright riding position. I like the looks of the full on sport bikes, but after owning one, I couldn't live with one again on a day to day basis. I read a lot of good reviews on this bike, and it has lived up to them in most areas: good performance, easy to ride and stable, fairly comfortable and easy to insure. That being said, there are a few complaints: tends to be a bit buzzy at certain rpms, although many have said that they will be better as the miles add up, the seat is too firm, it needs to be a bit softer for the long rides, the clutch takes some getting use to, as well as the notchy 1st to 2nd upshift. Overall, worth the money, and oh yeah, 26000 miles between valve adjusts and 50 mpg...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Harbir Sohi

Irving, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought an 2004 FZ6 with 2700 miles on it. Already rode it 500 miles in a week. This bike has certain unique characterstics, let me explain. First, it's a high reving bike, you can hit 13000 rpm in first gear and 65 mph. It is very tame below 7000 rpm. Above 8000 rpm this bike behaves like a beast on steroids. So you get best of both worlds. To ride this one get used to high revs. Second, the riding position is very upright, if you are new to sport bikes it will take a while to get comfy with it. Third, the clutch grabs fast but you get used to it and it actually helps in faster shifting. Large gas tank gets range up to 250 miles. Seat is comfortable, rode it continous for 4 hours and no butt ache. Overall nice ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Weatherspoon

Cadiz, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2006-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased used this year with only 1300 miles on it. Since then I have had a blast. The bike is nimble and capable for most riding conditions. The large gas tank is great since I commute about 70 miles round trip. I average about 50 miles per gallon, usually running no more than 80 on the interstate. Brakes work very well. The clutch broke in good at about 3000 miles and is much more smooth. Engine pulls well at low speed or all the way to 1200 RPM. Decent wind protection. One gripe, throttle hand buzz. After a 4 hour ride I feel like I just ran the weed eater. If I can stop this and get the larger windshield, this will be a great little bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zach

St. Johns, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is incredible!!! Great Mid-range power, and being it's not a crotch rocket, I can get away with riding with all my friends on their cruiser's. But being it's not a cruiser, I can get away with riding with all my friends on crotch rockets. Truly the best of both worlds. This bike handles like a dream, and has more than enough power to reach speeds reserved for the insane. Ride a couple of other bikes, and you'll be happy you're coming back to this gem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob H

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my FZ6 new in April 05, not a single problem, with 3,000 miles on it. Bike is tractable at low speeds for a 600, not gobs of torque, but fine for low speeds. Handling is great at low speeds or high speeds, sticks to a line like its on tracks. This bike really shines at high RPMs, it pulls like a rocket. Comfortable for the long haul, seat could use a little more padding for the touring types. Suspension won't beat you up. Plenty to offer for the rice rocket or touring types. Been riding bikes for 36 years and this is my all around favorite bike I have ever owned. My first bike was a 1978 SOHC Honda 750; the FZ6 has come a long way from that. All around great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 49 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: