Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Oliver Becenti

Wyoming

Reviewed on 2021-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a 2007, Roadstar, had for 7 yrs now, take it out every chance I get. Has power, comfort, not too loud. Carburetor, wish it was fuel injected, still satisfied. Looking for a new one or get an Indian.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Minshall

Nampa, Idaho

Reviewed on 2008-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the second Yamaha I have owned. I upgraded from a V-Star 1100 Custom. Both are wonderful bikes. The Road Star gives that little extra for those long rides. I have ridden all over Idaho on my bike and it is great lots of power and comfortable to ride. I have Jug Hugger pipes that makes it sound great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark lee

Vail, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-10-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I went from a 2003 HD FXDWG to the 05 Roadstar Midnight Silverado. Great riding and handling, I do not believe it is of the same quality as H-D. But what does stick out is that I paid less than a comparable equipped Harley. The headlight rattles, and when first started, it takes off a bit even with clutch pulled in (engaged). It vibrates more than a Harley, and when exiting the freeway after high speed, the brakes howl for quite a while. Also the plugs and carb are a pain in the neck to work with; it is a real chore to make modifications yourself. Overall it is a great cruising bike, well worth the buck, and looks great with lots of factory chrome. I am weaned of Harley and used to the Jap bike, rode it from AZ to Austin, TX and back, nice... However, do not buy this bike thinking you're getting Harley for less, you're getting a Yamaha, and it isn't a Harley, not by any stretch.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2005-10-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Six years ago, I started looking for a bike. I was able to talk myself out of it every year. This year I decided was the year, so I sat on everything (I didn't have a license then) from the C90 to the Vulcan to the VTX 1800 (not comfortable) to even the Victory Kingpin. Based solely on looks and showroom comfort I bought my '05 Midnight Silverado and had my salesman deliver it. Now that I have my license I have gone back to ride all those other bikes and not one of them comes close to my Yamaha. And with almost 1000 miles on my bike, I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I'm just hoping for a mild winter here in Salt Lake.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terri M

Flowery Branch, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently upgraded from a Honda 750 ACE to the Roadstar Midnight. As a female rider, this bike is great for my shorter inseam and lighter weight. The lower center of gravity allows me to handle the increased weight of the motorcycle with relative ease. I am absolutely in love with this motorcycle and would recommend it to anyone who wants performance and ease of operation! We just completed a 2200 mile roundtrip up and down both coasts of Florida. This motorcycle performed like a champ in as many types of environments as one could imagine. We spent a lot of time riding in fairly heavy rain and I could not have asked for better performance. This motorcycle is frequently mistaken for a Harley because of its solid build and beefy sound. I added Vance&Hines Powershot pipes and boy do they sound great. The lower profile of the custom pipes made the bike even easier to handle on the ground due to them being tucked up next to the motor. The only reliability problem I have had is with the driving lights. They have had a problem with shorting out. It took a couple of trips to the dealer to get it sorted out. Overall the motorcycle has performed very well. I would like to add risers to bring the handlebars up and back (being female, my arms are shorter) and a more comfortable seat.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wendell Garrett

Chester, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had Wings for the last 15 yrs and this year I decided to get a cruiser. After looking at all the various makes, I decided on the R* Midnight Silverado. It looks great, rides great and feels great!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Lanham

Shinnston, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Recently upgraded from a Yamaha v-star to Midnight Roadstar, and what a way to go. Only problem is comfort because of the stock seat. Have put 2700 miles on it in just over 5 weeks. NONE FINER. Lovin' it. Has power to spare.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Douglas Sills

Port Huron, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-07-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wanted to let everyone know that Yamaha has replaced the front wheel on my 2005 Midnight Silverado. They have also replaced the hard saddle bags as well. I have put around 1800 miles on this bike and I have been very pleased with its performance and ride comfort. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great looking, comfortable, well engineered, bike at a fraction of the cost of a Harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Benjamin Huff

Laytonsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-07-17

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I started riding last year initially buying a 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 and stepping up to the 2005 Midnight Silverado last week. With riding on the highway and in the city the bike handles great at slow speeds, has excessive acceleration (will upgrade to Vance and Hines Longshots, High Performance Air Cleaner, Rejetting) and looks great. The bike has plenty of space on the hard bags, larger fuel tank and digital odometer with clock. I am a little disappointed that the engine has a regulator for high revolutions (safety feature for over rev in low gear), and may have this removed if possible.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Murrell

Lakewood, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently sold my HD and bought the Road Star Midnight Silverado. I have been extremely pleased with my decision. The lure of "A Harley" is strong but once I rode this wonderful machine I instantly knew this was the bike for me. It's styling, power, engineering and quality are top notch. I love this bike! When the 600 mile break in is attained, I am putting on Vance and Hines Longshots, High performance air cleaner and rejetting so this big 102 CI fire breather can breath and run! Great bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: