Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim Elliott

Reno, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for 35 years from motocross to the highway. Had lots of bikes, most of which were customized to my tastes. The Roadstar made customizing tough since most of what I wanted was already in place. I put more chrome, different grips, driver backrest, speedo visor, Big Bar, passenger floorboards, you know it's hard to add much. The power is good, the styling is old school and the handling is surprising for such a big bike. It gets plenty of eyeballing wherever I take it. From the Mountains here in Nevada to the shore in San Diego. I will have this beauty for a very long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

john

so,st,paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This being my first bike I did do some shopping around but I came back to the Road Star. I liked the looks and the price of the bike. After I have put on 4000 miles, I love the ride and the power this bike has when you want it. The handling is very nice along with the comfort. This year I plan to put a set of Vance and Hines long shot pipes on, along with re-jetting the carburetor. My only wish is that there would be more colors to choose from. I know what my next bike is going to be without a question - another Road Star Silverado.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

F. Smith

Lawton, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2005-09-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've only been riding for a little over a year so I started off with a Vulcan 800 classic. I quickly out grew the 800 and began looking for something bigger. I researched many bikes and the Yamaha series of cruiser started making sense. The V Star 1100 was my first choice because there was'nt anything bad that could be said about this bike. I went to my local dealer and sat on it and found that my leg length was too long for the standard seat. I sat on the Road Star and I could fell the immediate comfort. It is 200 lbs heavier than the 800 but it was not an issue at all. The Bike is great, I would recommend it to any big person who is even a beginner rider because of its handeling. It's has good balance during slow speed turns and in parking lots. I'm not use to the big V-twin yet so the warm-up before taking off is taking some time to get use to. If you don't let it warm up (approx 2 min) or after you hear the pipes stop ticking, shifting to thrird gear is very hard and it stalls. As far as the engine noise,(knock) my research has lead me to either improper engine break-in or unqualified mechanics making the valve adjustments...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nicholas

Layton, Utah

Reviewed on 2005-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I've had this bike for about 3 months now and I have been very impressed with this bike. The power is wonderful. It always turns heads. There are just a couple of things that I do not like about this bike. 1. The back rest is too far back. It is to uncomfortable for my wife to lean back on for to long 2. Within the first week one of the passing lamps became unsoldered from its connection 3. After about three months from when I bought the bike the entire passing/turning lamp mount fell off and I don't mean "a bolt came loose" I mean the whole weld failed. Very disappointing. Maybe Yamaha has a substandard contractor building these. I don't know but they need to do something to improve the whole assembly. The rest of the bike has performed past my expectations.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Jaggard

Marion, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for 27 years. I've ridden all kinds of bikes from crotch rockets to cruisers. I had been recently riding Harleys, a Victory, and then a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Mean Streak. All were good bikes. The problem I had with the Mean Streak was that it just wasn't a good interstate bike. So I shopped around... I had considered getting a Harley-Davidson Road King, but then saw the 2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado 1700 in a bike shop. It was one impressive looking bike. It has many features Harley-Davidson should have, but costs thousands less. The quality of the bike is first rate. The 1700 motor has plenty of power, even here in the mountains of North Carolina. The factory carb settings and the stock exhaust tend to hinder the bike a bit and it doesn't really let the motor do what it is capable of doing. So I put a set of Cobra exhausts and changed the carb jetting. I also installed a Kuryakyn Twin Velocity airbox, and there was a noticable change in power and fuel mileage. I'd recommend this change for this bike if you happen to buy one. Handling is pretty good. You can scrape the floor boards in the twisties if you try to ride it like a crotch rocket, but that's not what the bike is made for. Brakes are ok, they do the job. Suspension is very good. Real comfortable ride. The seat is good, but the passenger seat is a bit hard on the ladies. That can be changed if your passenger whines too much. If not, leave it stock! I'm very pleased with the bike. It's a good interstate rider and a great boulevard cruiser. I'd recommend it to anyone! I think Yamaha put alot of thought into what an American biker wants in a cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hobie Schultz

Lodi, California

Reviewed on 2005-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I shopped around for a year looking and reading about Yamaha's, Harley's, Honda's and Kawasaki's and I always came back to the Road Star Silverado. The style, comfort and price was just what I wanted. I have had it for 3 months with no problems or regrets. This bike has plenty of power and the handling is awesome. You get plenty of looks every time you go out. The stock exhaust was too quiet for me so I added a pair of Hard Chrome 3" straight pipes. The bike now has the sound a cruiser should. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking to buy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B.SMITH

TUSCALOOSA, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought a new V-Star 1100 in '01. I kept it 2 years and traded for a Harley Sportster. Then got married and sold the Sportster because there was no room for my wife to ride with me. After looking at the price of the Road King and Fat Boy, I bought the 2005 Road Star Silverado. It is a great value for what comes with it. It has plenty of power for 2-up riding and it looks great. I have not had any problems, but I am going to replace the pillion seat. It is very hard and my wife is uncomfortable after only 15 or 20 minutes. My seat is fine for all day riding. I wish Yamaha would have given the same consideration in comfort for the passenger as they did for the rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JC

Lees Summit , Missouri

Reviewed on 2005-01-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had the bike for 6 months. I have been riding for over 30 years. Bike handles great at any speed. Ride is great in city or on highway. I had electrical problems after one month. Started it after a bike night and no lights. It took two trips to the dealer for it to go away. Dealer simply reconnected all the electrical connections. It was probably just a loose wire from production. Gas mileage is very low. 32 to 35mph. Had it back to dealer, they keep saying it is adjusted properly. Probably the Double D 3.5" shotguns and the Dyna jet kit. I get compliments on the bike everywhere. Harley riders come over to admire the bike 'till they see Yamaha on the side. Love the bike and would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: