Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers Reviews (44)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-09-07 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually sold my 91 Electra glide to buy this bike - I have not been disappointed. It is very comfortable and is steady on the highway and on the back roads. Cruise control is a big plus on my 50 mile ride to work each morning. The bags are a bit small but I've adjusted. I have done a weekend trip two-up with no problems. It is very comfortable.
- John, Easthampton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-08 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used last summer and could not be more impressed. It rides great with plenty of power. A seat upgrade to Mustang might be the only thing I change. It does have the characteristic whine but Bub pipes take that away with a really nice sound. For the money, it is tough to beat this bike!
- Old Colby, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-22 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After three years and over 15,000 miles, I can truly say that the RSTD is the best motorcycle out there. I have had Hondas, three Harleys and assorted others, but this Royal Star beats the others. Most of my miles have come from long solo trips with tons of camping gear (from Mississippi to the southwest, Canada and beyond). On the open road, the Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe is unbeatable. Comfortable; cruise control; 40-45 miles per gallon; five year warranty... The bike is as near perfect as is possible.
- Jim, Brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just added a veture trunk mount and a cheap trunk to my bike. They went on great. I just drilled out the front mount holes on the trunk mount so they would slip over the stock backrest pins (so I can put it back to stock), bolt the mount on with the back bolts, today I put the bub slippons on along with k&n's. The bike sounds great. Too bad it's 8 below zero here.
- nelson, lake mills, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-27 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in March of 2006. It was slightly used (5000 miles), one owner, and looked brand new. I always take at least one long trip each year; usually west. However, this past fall I and a friend rode northeast. I needed to spread my grandmothers' ashes on the family farm in upstate New York. From there we traveled through Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine and returned home. We were out eleven days and traveled 4000 miles. The RSTD performed very well, got acceptable gas mileage and was stable at high speeds with stiff crosswinds. It fell short in the area of comfort. The seat was miserably uncomfortable (my butt was on fire). Needless to say, there is a custom seat in our future. Otherwise, the RSTD is an excellent bike, and I am quite happy with it.
- Tom, Crestwood, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-29 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just rode my RSTD from Sarnia to Ottawa, through Gaspe and back in ten days and it drove flawless. 5000 kms and no aches or pains. This bike still has that whine sometimes, but at 120 kms per hour on cruise you don't notice it. Apparently the noise goes away at 30 or 40ks. Everyone complains about the whine but this is the best bike around, bar none. I hear the Venture makes the same noise, only it has a radio. If I could give this bike 6 stars I would.
- Brian Allen, Corunna, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned quite a few bikes but I like the Royal star the best by far. I am tall and still fit it very well. I like the quick turn around of removing the backrest and the windshield. For a big bike, the power is still there and I also feel confident with the 5 year warranty that comes with it.
- erik tri, red wing, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-12 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best Bike ever! I have only owned a few bikes over the years, but I can honestly say this is the best I've ever had. Even if I did have more bikes in the past, I'm sure this would still have been the best. The cruise on this thing is amazing. People are surprised when I tell them about it, as electronic cruise usually only comes on Gold Wings and the like. It always works flawlessly. The longest ride I have taken at one time so far has only been about 3 hours. But it included many twisties and lots of bumps. I never tired of riding and felt fresh at the end. The other riders in my group ride what should be quicker bikes (i.e. 2001 BMW R1200 CE, a 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 and a 2004 Kawasaki Mean Streak 1600). I followed up in the rear, but I was never left behind (even in the twisties). Probably the only complaint I have is the shifting. It doesn't seem to shift as well as it should. I have read that the clutch (?) makes a racket when riding, so I figure it is just the straight cut gears. I am hard of hearing, so I don't even notice the noise. I plan to install the Barnett clutch spring conversion kit to see if that corrects the grabby/slow shifting. I should also add that when I shift quickly and really "get on it". It shifts almost automatically. I also wish it got better gas mileage, but 40 mpg is pretty good.
- Jimmy Lowe, Calera, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-27 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far this is the best equipped and best performing motorcycle in its class. The Tour Deluxe has exceeded my expectations. Purchased in May 2005, I have put 8000 miles on it as of 24 Sept., 2005. My most recent trip was to Maggy Valley, NC to attend the Cherokee fall rally. The bike performed well in all areas. Loaded down with gear and my wife, the highway ride was comfortable and there was enough power to handle the 70mph+ pace set by traffic. Mountain roads were not a problem either, thanks to front and rear air adjustable suspension and a high ground clearance. Under extreme cornering I did touch down my floorboards and exhaust pipes twice during this trip. Deals Gap was a blast on this bike. For a touring motorcycle I was very pleased with the handling and overall performance. Would I change anything? Of course. Quick releasing luggage, an upgraded seat and you can never really have enough power!!!
- Shane Kreuzer, Sumter, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-17 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding this bike since Aug 04 and I am still loving it. I have customized the bike a little and it looks more like a Venture (w/out fairing). I have had ZERO problems and the wife still loves it as well.
- Chris Williams, Highland, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was between the H-D Road King and the RSTD. The H-D was about $5,000 more, but price was not an issue. I tested both and the RSTD won every important catagory except EFI. It even has a real cruise control. The fit and finish of the RSTD is extremely good. Then there's that warranty. Lastly, where I live there are hundreds of Road Kings. My beautiful red/black RSTD is the only one in town and gets the looks to prove it... cool.
- Greg Parks, Lubbock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-23 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have read some comments about chirping, clutch noise etc. so what! every bike makes noise, I just get on the throttle & it all goes away! I love this bike! Iv'e owned other yamahas, hondas & even a 63 harley, nothing comes close. took a trip to Branson Missouri from Minneapolis & enjoyed every minute. Even the two days of rain on the way down! We use it to commute to work just about every day. Gets lots of looks & comments. Best money I ever spent!
- jim jacobson, burnsville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the Boss gave me the High sign for a new Bike I took Her Up to Engelhart's in Madison,Wi For a test ride. We drove both the 05'Royal Star Venture And the 05'Royal Star Tour Deluxe. Both were fine rides. We settled on the Tour Deluxe for our first new Bike. Three days gone with 300 miles already on it. This is the best of the best! I waited 1 week for delivery and was counting the minutes! I would say that this bike loves the open road and will cruise at 65-75 all day long if you let it. The cruise control is just as good as any high end 4 wheeler! The looks that we have received from all that seen it have been great reminders that we chose well. We chose this bike over the Nomad and the Honda VTX. Thanks Yamaha for doing it right.
- Pat Sornsin Sr, Rockford, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Started riding again after 20 years. Moving from Florida to Vermont caused a resurgence of motorcycle passion. I started with the Road Star 1100cc bike. Realized it was under powered for me. The dealer bought the bike back from me (at a loss of only $300.00) and I bought the RSTD. I love the bike. The only faults I have are the seat comfort and the anemic exhaust sounds. Both are easy, but a little pricey, to fix. I have put 2000 miles on the bike in just over 2 months. Having a blast with it. Be safe.
- jwalters, Proctor, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-08 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Royal Star for only 40 days as of the writing of this reveiw and have put approx 2500 miles on it in that amount of time. It was a toss up between this bike and one other one. I am glad I made the choice to purchase the Royal Star No regrets. The only thing I would change is the seat. It is a bit hard for long distances. Other than that it is a dream manchine. It loves to get out on the open road and run. It does 85-90 all day and many of the horses never get on their feet.
- Bill Reinicke, Albuquerqeu, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-08 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought our Tour Deluxe in Feb 05 and already have over 5500 miles on it. We ride it every chance we get. I drive it as well and ride on the back. It is a pleasure to do either. The only thing that we replaced right away, was the stock seat with a Corbin. That made all the difference in the world for me riding in the back.
- Sue, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my RSTL about a year ago and not one regret. Put on 2700 miles last year and got my December ride before parking it for the winter, a pretty good feat in Minnesota. My wife really enjoys the room, my previous bike was 1976 75/6 BMW, pretty cramped. It has the power I need, great stopping and the bike has a style all its' own. Cruise control, you bet. Can't think of another production bike out there I'd rather have, even if money was no object.
- Ken Wenkel, Mankato, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike a little over a month ago and it is everything I had hoped it would be. Being a little on the vertically challanged side, it was hard to find a bike that offered the coverage, power, comfort and performance I was looking for. The Royal Star Tour Deluxe did that for me. I've put on 12,000 KLMs in the month and have but one complaint, on the really hot days, I find that I'm getting quite a bit of heat off the engine at my foot level. Can't put highway pegs on as I can't reach the crash bars...did see some highway boards that might work.. Beside that one issue I LOVE MY BIKE and wouldn't change it. I've driven many types of bikes over my 22 years of riding, and am very pleased with this one. She's a keeper
- Barb Pennie, Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Initially I purchased the Tour Deluxe because I had to try something different from the run of the mill V twin cruisers available and I've had most all of them. Harley dressers and softails, Honda Vtx, Shadow, Kawasaki Vulcan, some old, some new. There is something always wrong with most cruisers when you buy one. You would think an expensive Harley would come straight out of the box, ready for an American rider but nooooo...like so many cruisers you have to change the handle bars, risers, seats, mirrors, add saddlebags, pipes, and more, not so much to personalize it, but just to be comfortable! Your butt, neck and back aches because you have to reach forward for the bars while having your rear end on a seat made for something other than a member of the Human family and your legs are placed in a position designed by engineers not ergonomics. The Tour Deluxe got it right! Very comfortable seat and seating position. Floor boards that you can shift and move a little. Lower fairings, a smart move for those cold Colorado mornings or rainy afternoons. Seating position is perfect. Power? excellent! The ride is seamless, the smoothest cruiser I have ever driven! Handling? I can put it right where I want it to avoid rocks or sand or play in the canyon. I didn't need to change a thing, A first for a new bike purchase. I did however notice that the slip on mufflers looked vaguely familiar. My old Road Kings pipes were almost a direct fit. Now it sounds absolutly awesome cruising down the road.
- Gary Koerner, Conifer, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my RSTD at the end of June. So far I'm just approaching the 600 mile break-in mark. I can say this bike rides so nice and smooth, comfortable and quality built. It is heavy and taken me some time to get used to that, but I think I'll be happy with this bike for many years to come. I've been using it to commute almost daily but my commute is short. I can't wait to give it some more RPM and really see what she can do. Planning my first longer length ride (for me) this weekend. Probably about 3 or 4 hours is all, but that'll be a good primer for future rides.
- Patrick Thompson, Roseville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I put 2,017 miles on the bike in two months and love it. I rode Harleys for 35 years and this bike is very smooth and handles great . I am getting about 43 miles per gallon and I am looking forward to taking it on a 3000 mile trip in a couple of weeks. Which by the way the 5 year warrenty can not be beat and road side assistance is great they routed out the trip I am going on.
- James Nuttall, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-22 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I origionally bought my Yamaha in Brenham Texas, at http://wwww.brenhamyamaha.com now I moved to Illinois. My Royal Star has 15,000 miles on it already and I bought it last summer. What a great ride. I wouldn't trade it for anything!
- chuck, mchenry, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-20 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in March. We love the smooth ride. My girlfriend loves the roomy passanger seat. Compared to my previous bike, a Honda 1100 Shadow, this is a dream to ride on the highway. The real test will be when we ride to Sturgis. Hope to get a few shorter rides under our belt before that. I did shop and compare Honda 1800, Harley Rode King, but for the style, price and equipment this seemed a better choice for me. Plus I am 55 and wanted something comfortable to ride yet had a traditional look. I will be taking it in for it's inital service check soon. I have noticed some weakening in the brakes which will need to be addressed. Other than that it's golden.
- Len , Maple Grove, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-01 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike in November and rode everyday that I could throughout the winter. This is one nice bike. I have no complaints at all. It's a very nice step up from the V-Star 1100 that I had.
- jimeeee, Rocky Mount, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-23 2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never owned anything bigger than a 350cc and that was many years back. My wife and I have talked about a purchase of something in the touring class for a couple of years. We began to shop and after a lot of looking and comparing, we settled on this bike. I really expected we would ride it twice, park it in the garage, and sell it next year. Wow, was I totally wrong. We love this machine! This baby cruises with style and grace. It is much more comfortable and fun to ride than I ever imagined. I cannot imagine how we could be any more satisfied with anything than we are with our new Yamaha. Granted it can be a bit of a beast at very slow speeds... with a little practice we are totally comfortable on it. MPG has been around 35 so far giving it a range of approx 150 miles. We have found it extremely helpful for gas saving trips. But just to cruise the wide open spaces of Southwest Oklahoma with no particular purpose, this bike is the only way to go!!!
- satisfied customer, Hobart, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: