Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

45 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
What was supposed to be flipped I ended up keeping. I never even recalled seeing one before but it got my attention which isn’t easy after 28 years of riding. I’m also on the younger side too being 36 years old.. bought it from original owner with 8,700 miles with original front tire on it dating 04’..I purchased 4/21.reeking 4 month old stale ethanol gas I rode it 130 miles home..crazy, I think the top off fill helped. did a bunch of cleaning up. 3k miles on it since. Wife and kid love it.(which is why I bought it) I also have the 113 CI Vtwin Raider. The engine that they’re also using on the newer touring eluder. Etc. BUT I found this tour deluxe 1300 to be just perfect balance on power and fuel mileage for traveling despite carburetors.. They seem to perform great as they’re not used to the local gas station and back, these bikes crave long hours or distant miles more than 20.. it took me half a day to realize the tour deluxe didn’t disappoint me on power.. don’t know how it goes if heading up the mountains yet?? My Raider has a crappy mileage in town and a really raw attitude.. they’re both great on highways though. I couldn’t sell either ones for they both meet my needs differently lol. Adjust as to what fits you best and this bike will keep you fresh. Ride safe you all
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Easthampton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2008-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I actually sold my 91 Electra glide to buy this bike - I have not been disappointed. It is very comfortable and is steady on the highway and on the back roads. Cruise control is a big plus on my 50 mile ride to work each morning. The bags are a bit small but I've adjusted. I have done a weekend trip two-up with no problems. It is very comfortable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Old Colby

Syracuse, New York

Reviewed on 2008-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine used last summer and could not be more impressed. It rides great with plenty of power. A seat upgrade to Mustang might be the only thing I change. It does have the characteristic whine but Bub pipes take that away with a really nice sound. For the money, it is tough to beat this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Brandon, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2007-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After three years and over 15,000 miles, I can truly say that the RSTD is the best motorcycle out there. I have had Hondas, three Harleys and assorted others, but this Royal Star beats the others. Most of my miles have come from long solo trips with tons of camping gear (from Mississippi to the southwest, Canada and beyond). On the open road, the Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe is unbeatable. Comfortable; cruise control; 40-45 miles per gallon; five year warranty... The bike is as near perfect as is possible.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

nelson

lake mills, Iowa

Reviewed on 2007-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just added a veture trunk mount and a cheap trunk to my bike. They went on great. I just drilled out the front mount holes on the trunk mount so they would slip over the stock backrest pins (so I can put it back to stock), bolt the mount on with the back bolts, today I put the bub slippons on along with k&n's. The bike sounds great. Too bad it's 8 below zero here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Crestwood, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2007-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in March of 2006. It was slightly used (5000 miles), one owner, and looked brand new. I always take at least one long trip each year; usually west. However, this past fall I and a friend rode northeast. I needed to spread my grandmothers' ashes on the family farm in upstate New York. From there we traveled through Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine and returned home. We were out eleven days and traveled 4000 miles. The RSTD performed very well, got acceptable gas mileage and was stable at high speeds with stiff crosswinds. It fell short in the area of comfort. The seat was miserably uncomfortable (my butt was on fire). Needless to say, there is a custom seat in our future. Otherwise, the RSTD is an excellent bike, and I am quite happy with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Allen

Corunna, Ontario

Reviewed on 2006-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just rode my RSTD from Sarnia to Ottawa, through Gaspe and back in ten days and it drove flawless. 5000 kms and no aches or pains. This bike still has that whine sometimes, but at 120 kms per hour on cruise you don't notice it. Apparently the noise goes away at 30 or 40ks. Everyone complains about the whine but this is the best bike around, bar none. I hear the Venture makes the same noise, only it has a radio. If I could give this bike 6 stars I would.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

erik tri

red wing, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned quite a few bikes but I like the Royal star the best by far. I am tall and still fit it very well. I like the quick turn around of removing the backrest and the windshield. For a big bike, the power is still there and I also feel confident with the 5 year warranty that comes with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jimmy Lowe

Calera, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-12-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best Bike ever! I have only owned a few bikes over the years, but I can honestly say this is the best I've ever had. Even if I did have more bikes in the past, I'm sure this would still have been the best. The cruise on this thing is amazing. People are surprised when I tell them about it, as electronic cruise usually only comes on Gold Wings and the like. It always works flawlessly. The longest ride I have taken at one time so far has only been about 3 hours. But it included many twisties and lots of bumps. I never tired of riding and felt fresh at the end. The other riders in my group ride what should be quicker bikes (i.e. 2001 BMW R1200 CE, a 2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 and a 2004 Kawasaki Mean Streak 1600). I followed up in the rear, but I was never left behind (even in the twisties). Probably the only complaint I have is the shifting. It doesn't seem to shift as well as it should. I have read that the clutch (?) makes a racket when riding, so I figure it is just the straight cut gears. I am hard of hearing, so I don't even notice the noise. I plan to install the Barnett clutch spring conversion kit to see if that corrects the grabby/slow shifting. I should also add that when I shift quickly and really "get on it". It shifts almost automatically. I also wish it got better gas mileage, but 40 mpg is pretty good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Kreuzer

Sumter, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
By far this is the best equipped and best performing motorcycle in its class. The Tour Deluxe has exceeded my expectations. Purchased in May 2005, I have put 8000 miles on it as of 24 Sept., 2005. My most recent trip was to Maggy Valley, NC to attend the Cherokee fall rally. The bike performed well in all areas. Loaded down with gear and my wife, the highway ride was comfortable and there was enough power to handle the 70mph+ pace set by traffic. Mountain roads were not a problem either, thanks to front and rear air adjustable suspension and a high ground clearance. Under extreme cornering I did touch down my floorboards and exhaust pipes twice during this trip. Deals Gap was a blast on this bike. For a touring motorcycle I was very pleased with the handling and overall performance. Would I change anything? Of course. Quick releasing luggage, an upgraded seat and you can never really have enough power!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 45 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: