Yamaha Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (41)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-20 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best thing about this scooter is the reliabilty! Sat outside all winter with 5 inches of snow and ice and still started easy in the spring. Does not bog down up hills even with two people on it. The worst thing are the front brakes. Four sets in five years. The anti-rattle clips in the caliper have to be perfectly straight or they won't work. I left them out. Love this scooter! Would not sell it for 5000 dollars. Highly recommend tighening all bolts. Have lost some due to vibration.
- bob, lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-08 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Zuma in 2006 to save gas and to get around town to all my jobs. It's so much fun and easy on gas. I highly recommend it to any woman who has always wanted a motorcycle. I'm over 50 years old and I can handle it with ease. So far I've put more than 7700 miles on it.
- Dog walker, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-18 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Zuma for just over 2 weeks. I bought it second hand (it had 1600 kms on the odometer). Even though I own two other vehicles (a car and a minivan), my scooter is my favorite vehicle. I use it for commuting to work when weather permits. It is also my vehicle of choice when I need to run errands. Last week I managed to fit a turkey and a number of other items under my seat. I also used it to bring home a couple of subs and fountain drinks from Subway without spilling a drop. Try doing that with a regular motorcycle. I just love my scooter and have no regrets about buying it. It looks great. I added a Givi topcase (well worth the money)... it was easy to install. Because my bike, helmet and jacket are black, I wear a high visibility vest wherever I go. The Zuma may not be for everyone, but for me (given my size, where I live and what I use it for) it is perfect.
- Rob Wadman-Scanlan, Mount Pearl, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2005 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this scooter for my wife in 2004. They had allocated very few to the dealers in America according to the salesman who sold it to us. We bought it from a Yamaha dealer in Tulsa, OK for my wife to use as a commuter vehicle to work, which was less than 2 miles away. The drive was hilly, uphill to work and downhill back home. I was attracted to it because it was a 125cc rather than most scooters, which are usually around 50cc. I figured the 125 cc's would have a better punch, and be safer. It turned out that I was right. Little Gina does not have the punch of a 125 cc motorcycle but is very impressive both in town and on the back roads and highways. This fall we will have owned it for 4 years and have only had to replace the battery. I suspect we would not have had to do that if we would have used her more. We have since moved to Indianapolis. My wife still works but I am retired, working part-time at Home Depot. I use Gina as a commuter vehicle to my work, which is also less that 2 miles away from our house. I will conclude in guiltily saying that we have not had her back to the dealer since we bought her and she still runs like a champ even though she doesn't get used very much, which, as some of you know, can be hard on scooters or motorcyles.
- William C Davis, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This scooter is the 2006 Canadian model it is my second street legal bike (first one 1988 Yamaha Virago) but the first bike insured and on the road. I took it easy for break in but after that I couldn't get off the thing. I rode it everywhere. Very reliable and very good on gas. I never bothered to check MPG but Yamaha claims 120MPG @ 40km/h. Insurance is a little high considering I'm young ($1200/year). I've never had a problem with this scooter except the front brake pads which weren't correctly installed at the factory and wore out prematurely at 2500km. I got some ebc pads and they're still good now. Power is there until about 50km/h. It will go up to 70km/h on flat ground and no wind. Oil is not a problem. The tank needs to be refilled about every 1000km and it only takes a $7 bottle. Electrical system is the best. I never had an electrical problem as with other bikes but with their age electrical components are questionable. I feel the under seat storage is not enough as it can hold a full face helmet but that's it. The trunk is VERY helpful. It's made in Italy by givi and it's an official Yamaha accessory. One important thing is to check the tire pressure as it affects acceleration and top speed CONSIDERABLY. Comfort is good. You just have to get used to it. Seat is nice and big but I do feel cramped two up. Mirrors give an excellent view. Maintenance is minimal on this thing. Just go over everything it says to in the manual. You can get a service manual for this scooter online at Provo and print it out at business depot for 20$ instead of buying it from Yamaha for $100. For upgrades, I do not recommend upgrading performance because it affects reliability and it's a pain too. On a normal bike if you put a performance pipe you rejet and that's it. On a scooter, you need to mod the clutch springs, the rollers, and the jets. If you want more performance just buy a bigger bike. To sum it all up if you want a reliable bike to putt around in I would definitely recommend it. Stay away from the no name Chinese junk on the market. I worked with them before. They fall apart easy and parts are hard to find. Good luck!
- Joe, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha Auma is the best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned. Great gas mileage, plenty of power, and looks everywhere I go.My Zuma was clocked at 80 mph by Florida Highway Patrol! I would recommend this scooter to anyone thinking of purchasing one in the near future.
- mike, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-15 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is probably the most well designed scooter on the market. I love the fact that it is a two stroke, to help with the hills a give good performance. It does not look like a vespa, rather it looks like an aggressive riding vehicle(reflecting its performance). It has many handy features, such as an oil injector so you do not need to mix gas and oil, an electric start for easy starting with a back up kick start so you can still ride, and a decent sized storage compartment underneath the seat. The suspension and stablility is a dream, and the reliability and style are unmatched. It is a shame however, that the Zuma is no longer being made. So snatch up a Zuma before they are all gone. A year after production, the Zuma is still in high demand... and I am not suprised why.
- Sebastian Zaki, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Zuma in Sept. of 2005. It was my main transportation to and from work. I rode this bike all through the witer months also!! Even while it was near zero degrees my Zuma had no problem starting. The only problem I see with this scooter is that you tend to slide forward on the seat. Other than that this is one of the best purchases I have made!! My Zuma was stolen in the spring of 2006! Since they are not made anymore, I had to wait for my local dealer to get a used one in. I quickly bought it!!! I just can't understand why Yamaha stopped making them? They are such a hot item right now!!! Very reliable machine!!!!
- Bill, Logansport, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-17 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 3,000 miles on my zuma in the first year. I drive it to and from work every day the weather allows. No problems to date. Excellent machine but if you consistently need to ride at speeds in excess of 35mph you should consider going up an engine size. Most of my riding is 35mph or less but some roads I take are 40-45mph and at times it can be frustrating when you hold up traffic. If this is the only scooter you can afford I would say BUY IT. YOU WILL BE HAPPY.
- CALEB, ST. PAUL, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-26 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Majesty since 8/05 and I love it. My wife has a Burgman 400 and we ride together all the time. We have had no problems with either bike so far and are glad about that. We recently bought a Triton motorcycle trailer so we can haul the bikes on vacations and trips. They strap down nice and tight. I graded comfort 4 stars only because I feel the windscreen could have been slightly taller. I have been keeping my gas milage for quite some time and it averages around 55 MPG. I don't know how some people are claiming 70 MPG. I am overall very happy with the Majesty and would suggest one to anybody.
- Pat Parker, Kenosha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-11 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted another motorcycle...haven't had one since wrecking my 1967 BSA Starfire. Wanted something easy to get my confidence back for riding. Boy, was the Zuma a SHOCK! I didn't think 50cc could propel a 205 pound bike with a 215 pound rider as well as it does! My wife even comes on it with me from time to time, without any hesitation from the bike. Granted...hills are a chore for the bike...but again...it's 50cc! The Zuma gets great mileage (mine is averaging about 75 mp/g). Its sporty looks also are a plus. It seems that Yamaha and Honda are going with the classic "Vespa-look". If I wanted a Vespa, I would have bought a Vespa. The Zuma looks like a cross between a "crotch rocket" and a scooter. Can't go wrong there. Amazing machine.
- John14221, Williamsville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a wonderful little scooter. Turning radius is very good. It does well on gravel and pavement. We bought the Zuma for me and the 2006 Vino 125 for my husband last weekend. We're hooked!
- Dawn, Centralia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-08 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this little Zuma is awesome. I'm reviewing it for my wife, but I'm 6'3" and 240 pounds and it hauls my fat butt around the neighborhood. I ride a Yamaha 1989 XT600 dual sport most of the time, and got this for my wife to cruise around... It MOVES with her on it, it tops about 43 MPH, with me, about 38. Starts every time, all the time. Great MPG and we love it... got it for a great price.
- J Harris, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-15 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a Majesty because my other bike, a Kawasaki ZX9 sport bike, was just too uncomfortable for long hours. I needed something automatic, comfy, and allowed me to ride for the whole day without sore knees and back, legs. This fits the everything I want and the surprise is the performance. For a one-piston motor, it beats most cars in a straight line off the line. I break it in hard and have dusted many cars. The handling of the Majesty is superb. It took me a few miles to get used to the small tires but once I got used to the center of gravity and small tires I was going quite quick around the curves. It really does handle like a motorcycle. The exhaust is quiet and that's a good thing, I got tired of my loud motorcycle. Now I didn't give it five stars because I feel Yamaha didn't design the windshield very well. There is a lot of wind buffeting. It is not a very aerodynamic shield. I think Yamaha should have either made the shield more slanted to allow better airflow to the rider. On forums, many riders complain about this as well. I think I will buy an aftermarket shield lip to help prevent wind buffeting. That is my only gripe with the design of the bike. The main strengths of this bike are ease of operation, comfort, power, costs. I still have my Ninja for the high-speed rushes but I think this summer my Majesty will be ridden a lot more. I am really looking forward when I have more miles on it and it pulls harder and smoother.
- Jon, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-29 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in September of this year, after taking a three-day motorcycle safety riding course (which was unique in itself, but I recommend it to every new rider). The bike is just outstanding. It's great in the city and on the highway. I have no problem picking it up or maintaining speed at all, but you have to keep your eyes on the speed. Before you know it, you're doing 70 MPH in a 55 zone, with no strain on the engine. For some reason, cars like to try to outrun me on the highway. I guess it's a power thing or something, but don't be tempted. If you get the Majesty, you are going to have fun. Take care and ride safe.
- Sorento B., Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-10 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Majesty since July 15, 2005 and have about 3900 miles on it. I had a Honda Reflex before that for about 3 months. I am very impressed with this Majesty. It is powerful, fast, and very comfortable. I have had it to 108 mph indicated, which is probably about 98 mph actual. It may be a little slow off the start but it has always been more than enough to get well ahead of traffic from a stop. It also seems to want to cruise at 80 mph (indicated) even when you try to slow; it seems to just want to cruise at 80. I live in the Bay Area of California and you need something like the Majesty for the fast traffic. I have nothing bad to say about the Reflex though. It could top out at about 80 with me on it although it would get taken by the wind a lot. When going 70 there just wasn't much left to get around the traffic. Also, there is plenty of power when my wife and I ride two up. It still seems to gravitate to the 80 mph mark and my wife thinks it is a very comfortable bike. I will be getting the laminar lip soon and I hope there will be an improvement. My final thought is that for only about 300-400 dollars more you can get the Majesty or the Burgman 400 so I would recommend going with one of those if you need the additional speed and power.
- Jeff, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-28 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Zuma in August. I drive it to work everyday and love it. When driven with care I get approximately 80 miles per gallon. Once in a while I would like to go a little faster but it has lived up to my expectations. My only suggestion is that if you need to travel in excess of 35mph for long periods of time you may want to jump up an engine class. Zuma will travel 35 all day long. 40 mph on flat ground but this is really pushing the engine. Buy one - you will not be diappointed!
- Caleb, Saint Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me the Zuma was an impulse buy to save on gas, but the fun factor is super high. These little scooters really zip around and are a blast to ride. I can't wait to get a pipe on it and maybe a 70cc kit later on. Gas mileage is great, those of you who laugh, lets compare fuel bills at the end of the month. Then we'll see who's laughing. I saved $30.00 in the first week of riding to work, and it was a short week!
- obrianmcc, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had scooters for about 22 years. All of them Yamaha's I feel the Zuma is the best one so far. I had a QT 50 in 1982, Razz, 2002 Zuma black and now a 2003 zuma Yamaha blue.
- Sue, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Zuma. This is my first scooter and it is so easy to ride. The gas mileage is fantastic now that gas went over the $3.00 mark I find myself running errands all over town.I let my friend ride it the next day she bought her one too. So if your looking for something fun sporty and just downright handy get yourself a Zuma you won't be sorry.
- Susan, Huntington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the Majesty almost two weeks ago. Had never ridden anything before and am real pleased! Once I got over the initial nervousness about riding(about two days), I started loving it. I don't need tons of speed, but this machine does move real well for my purposes. Showed it to a few m.cycle riders and they really liked it too. I was a little skeptical at first because of the general perception about scooters, but now I really don't care ande am glad I got it. Gas is up over $3/gallon and it's looking like a wise move. I expect to see a lot more of these on the road in the next year or so.
- Mark K., Delta, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my Zuma and man it's a blast. I have to eventually get off, but I don't want to. Perfect for around town and I have done some off-roading. Be careful with the soft dirt you can drop the bike. Otherwise great looking scooter. All the neighbors want one. Remember to wear your helmut. Have Fun. This weekend heading to the Lake.
- Joseph Sosa, Visalia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing CRANKS! It goes a little under 45 mph on flat ground, but is very hard not to speed. It has great style and looks awesome! I highly recomend it, if you're looking for some fun.
- Todd, ---, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2005 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought two of these units in March of 2005. We love them so much we bought another two units yesterday Monday the 15th of August. These things are great. They accelerate plenty fast enough. Top end is pretty good also. I don't understand anyone's complaint that they are not fast enough! These are 49cc units not a crotch rocket. If you want these for local communting they are perfect. If you want something for the highway, you might want to look elsewhere. As for reliability, they seem to go and go. No problems here. Go get one while they last....2 cycle is phasing out due to emissions. I like the style of these better than the vino style (like a vespa) European styling. These look fast. Lastly, you can ride off the road a little because the tires are about twice the size of other bikes. These things ROCK.
- Piper2893, Celebration , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-15 2005 Yamaha Majesty Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Majesty 6 weeks after buying a Vino 125. The Vino was fun, but I needed more speed than I was getting. I traded up to the Majesty and have absolutely no regrets! I haven't ridden it as much as I have wanted to, due to my busy schedule. I just love, love, love this scooter! I also have a Triumph Bonneville America for my need to have a motorcycle. The Majesty satisfies my need for an easier scoot. I have gotten 56 mpg so far, which should get better when it is broken in. I also had it up to a fine passing speed on the highway. I recommend this scooter!
- Marjie Weinberger, Eagan, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: