Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (166)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Chris Jones from Dallas, Texas says:

I own a 2005 Yamaha FJR-1300 and love it. I never thought a bike could be so complete. My first motorcycle was a Ninja 750, which I sold when I got ma

Read More (166 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2005 Yamaha FJR-1300 and love it. I never thought a bike could be so complete. My first motorcycle was a Ninja 750, which I sold when I got married. I considered buying a sport-tourer next, but decided not to after spending a little time on my buddy's Honda ST 1300. It was by far the most comfortable bike I had ever ridden, but I was disappointed in its rather slow and clumsy performance. I wound up getting a cruiser instead. It wasn't until I began to read all the articles on the FJR that I decided to get one. I have never made a better decision in my whole life. The FJR is close to the comfort of the Honda ST 1300, but performs more like my old Ninja sport bike. It is the total package.
- Chris Jones, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my old bike and just wanted to let everyone know that it has been very well taken care of. The full Arata sounds great and the GP style shifting coupled with the speed shifter is the best thing ever.
- Kevin Hornocker, Corydon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-21 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's an awesome ride wirh plenty of power. It handles great! It's a comfortable ride with minimum fatigue on long rides! This was my third one of these bikes (01, 03, 05). I cried when Yamaha messed up this platform in 2006!
- Lance Semones , Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-10 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a tiny guy, all of 5 8" and 115 lbs. This thing is nimble and responsive. My previous bike was a YZF600R, so I thought I was sidestepping to the FZ6 but it's definitely a step up. The front wheel can be lifted at will in most gears and the fuel injection is beautify smooth. It gets great mileage and still carves into the corners like the R6 that it thinks it is. The only thing I would do different is the under-seat storage is small at best and the license plate frame is awkward looking.
- Jay Shet, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-03 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I've been riding almost daily for six months and approaching 6K miles in the seat. The performance, fit and finish, quality and reliability are impressive. The '05 design is almost timeless IMHO. She's a pretty bike in blue and I get compliments from passersby. I actually like it better than the third generation for the street but this second generation is no joke when it's time to go supersonic. I've smoked other middle weights and bigger super sports with more experienced riders in the turns and straights because she is all business on demand but friendly enough to navigate my local streets, downtown Seattle and the freeway comfortably - for hours. I feel safe and confident on this bike as it somehow naturally inspires and instills that confidence to lean just a bit more and push the envelope but at your own pace. The '05 is a forgiving communicative bike that has helped me learn quickly and made me a better rider with each ride. It's hard to park her for the night. And it will be harder to park for the winter. A+
- Jay K., Marysville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a previous Honda RR 600 owner and have stepped up to a Yamaha R1. OMG! First of all, the seat is way more comfortable than the honda. The power is crazy. The bike just seems to want to go faster and harder. I love it and I am pretty confident in its abilities. You will be very satisfied with this bike as I am. I also am the owner of the exact bike in the picture. Enjoy and keep the wheel side down.
- Jay D., Jamaica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-12 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new in 06, for commuting to new job at a remote location. Had to ride 90 per day with a bad back, able to do it for two years, until surgery to replace toasted lower disks. Minor tweaks for fuel and exhuast slip-on (M4 Carbon and Ivan's jet kit), crash bars (SWMoto-tech). Luggage rack has been most useful (Rev-it). 125 HP on the rear wheel dyno, 120 on the as in seat meathod. Slight lag off line without high rev's, will drop greaing by 1 tooth at small sproket soon to save clutch, and to shot the holeshot without more drama. Old lady has gear now and is back in action looking safe and hot while she screams in her hat and grabs my belt.
- RDC, ERIE, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-18 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike. Bought it used with 4800 km on it. It's like new. Road motocross 20 years ago and didn't want a bike that made you feel like you were riding a couch. I am not disappointed, this is a fun bike. Reminds me of my motocross days because of the way it feels and the way it likes to be revved. Just when you think it's starting to rev out that's when it really start to pull. I have not rode in 20 years but it did not take long to feel comfortable. Have not taken it on rides longer than two hours at a time so do not know how comfortable it would be on a really long ride but so far so good. Great handling, lots of power and super braking. If you don't have fun on this bike check your pulse.
- Al, Lethbridge, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I had a different bike for about 8 months when I saw this bike and kept reading about it over and over again. I drove my bike to the dealership and left with a 05 FZ1. When I left, the dealer told me to be easy because it will feel different than my old one. Well he was so right. Off the gate this thing was screaming, "Go, go, go! I had to pull over and get my head on straight. Once I composed myself, it was a beautiful ride home from the dealer. It had no miles on it so it has all been me.
- Big Oz, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike so much I bought it a Valentine's Day card. No really, the 2005 FZ-1 is the perfect bike. I keep up with most pure sportbikes and have a better turning radius. It can be controlled like a dirt bike via the upright riding position. It has been my only transportation for the last 3.5 years.
- Tony, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-02 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For eighteen years of watching my father parade around on his Harleys and my mother never letting me join the game I finally bought an FZ6 at age 26. After extensively reviewing the market for an above the norm sport bike without the cramping of a rocket while maintaining comfort on the long ride the FZ6 filtered out as the best choice. It's great with a passenger as the lady will feel more comfortable than bending over on a rocket, but its stylish appearance has the charm of its fast backed brother the R6. This bike performs well while cruising under 7K and thrills you after. This bike hits you on all cylinders. Go get it.
- Patrick Campbell, Green Bay, WI, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-18 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well people, I have to say that I have passed the 20,000 mile mark and could not have been happier with this bike. It is an awesome hidden thrill ride. It is easy to ride in slow traffic while I split lanes. Brakes are great. And if you want to go fast well just pass 7k or 8k RPM and you better hang on because it will yank your arms off if you are not ready for it. I absolutely love this bike and will recommend it to anyone interested in riding for the first time. It is a great confidence and maturity growth bike. Forgiving and fun all wrapped into one naked/standard/sportbike. I write this because I am thinking of upgrading to its slightly bigger brother the 2008 R6 but I am having a very, very, very hard time letting go of this hidden jewel of a bike. If anyone else reads this, you will not regret getting this thrill ride! It is absolutely fun!
- slider762, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-23 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and for a fist time girl rider this is awesome! I have ridden on back for years and it was time for me to be in control. I almost bought the gsxr 600 but fell in love with the Yamaha.
- Dawn, Oldsmar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike may not be as fast as the R6 or a CBR for that matter but it's pretty close. This bike is awesome, it is probably hands down the best all around bike for the price. Keep the RPM's low and it's a nice around town cruising bike, hit the throttle and after 8 thousand RPM's and this bike turns into a beast. The engine is the same engine in the R6 sportbike but it's detuned for more midrange power which makes it much more practical for a newer rider for myself, but the bike is phenomanal for an experienced rider as well. I love this bike and I'll never trade it in, I LOVE IT. You can't beat the sound of a 4 cylinder bike. The beautiful part is that this bike isn't classified as a full out sport bike so insurance rates are good too. If you want an awesome bike you should definitely give this bike a ride, you won't be disappointed at all unless you're a total maniac speed freak. If that's the case pick up the CBR or R6.
- Justin Slocum, Endicott, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2005 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got back into bikes after 30 years without. I started with a 1996 BMW R1100R, too much vibration, a 6 speed tranny would have been great. Then I went to a 2000 BMW K1200RS, way too heavy, it ran very hot and I just made a mistake, I wasn't tall enough either. Next came a F 650 CS BMW, I actually liked that bike and rode it longer than the last 2. Then I fell for a 2006 Suzuki SV 650, great little hot rod but too small for trips and too light, it followed the groves on the freeway. Finally I have the right bike! A 2005 Yamaha FZ-1. I got it with 900 miles on it! This is the best riding bike I have ever ridden and I have rode a lot! I can ride all day and not feel beat up, it's very handsome and if you twist the throttle it goes into WARP SPEED!! How does Yamaha make a bike that is so docile yet turns into what seems like a drag bike? I am a happy owner!
- Hoagie, Oxnard, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was not very experienced on sport bikes until I got my 05 R6, and it was easy to learn on and packed with power. It took a little while to get used to everything but once I did I was able to unleash it and WOW, this bike has an incredible amount of power.
- J_one, Haslet, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-28 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a number of bike's (Super Sport Bikes), not to name any other companies. But Umm lets just say I owned at least one bike, from each of the 4 major Japanese companies. This bike is the maddest bike I owned so far. I got it about a month ago so I haven't really opened it, don't plan on it either but, damm it's SOOOO tempting. But on the other hand just having the R1 you get so much RESPECT, to where you don't have to open it, or even race any other bike on the street. I know that stands for San Jose CA... Seriously; the R1 is a bit uncomfortable in the groin section but, I'll trade that for the superior handling and braking, because that's choice. There's no power lag with a passenger. The R1 is built from a long line of legends, need I say more???
- Top, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes and this one is the best all around bikes for the solo rider. Have not ridden with a passenger so I will not comment on that. It is very quick off the line and has adequate power at 4,000 - 5,000 rpm in any gear. But, if you down shift to 7,000rpm, it's like a rocket up to 13,000 rpm. This bike is quicker then almost anything on the road. 0-60 3.4 sec, 1/4 mile 11.3 sec. If you want minimum power and nice cruising, keep the rpm's down, if you want to peel your eye balls back, keep the rpm's up. Simple. This bike is more powerful then the SV 650, Ninja 650, Honda 599, etc, and I have out run a number of 600 sport bikes. Even though it is a few hundred more then the above bikes, you will make up the difference in that the valves only need checking every 27,000 miles. This bike is a good value. The fairing works well but needs the taller windshield for freeway running. (I am 6ft. Tall) The gears are a little clunky until some miles are put on, but shifting is positive and I've never missed a gear or had trouble finding neutral. The ride is good, stable, and nimble. Around town I get 40 mpg. The exhaust pipes are under the seat out of the way. Overall I think this is the best all around bike in this category.
- Doug Estes, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 YZF600R. I have had it for 2 years now and I could not ask for a better bike. I have just put in 4600.00 in accessories. It got new paint, air brush design. I got rid of all the stock stuff. Yes, I am a female and it is the hottest bike where I live in Newport, Maine. Need some help with yours? Just email me.
- Jana Hastey, Newport, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a few sportbikes, but the Yamaha YZF 600R is by far the best of them out there!! This is my first motorcycle and I have found that it is very user and beginner friendly. As my experience increases, so does the level of enjoyment that this bike provides. This bike is very fast and very fun!! Enjoy!!
- Marcus Haynes, Ozark, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 600r is an amazing machine. I've ridden R6's, GSXR600's, and even the Kawi 636R and when it comes to power, comfort, and durability for the 600 class, I feel that none compare. I highly recommend this motorcycle as a beginner bike and even for the more advanced rider. This machine is extremely fun for the young and old rider alike.
- Chris I., Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-16 2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am one of the dice-rollers that got the FJR phenomenon started. My 2004 model has the heat issue on hot days in heavy traffic. Even with a winter in the garage and on the optimate charger, the battery failed me in less than 36 months. With no options other than heated grips, dealer mounted, I was chagrined to be bump started by friends on much older beemers. Am particularly annoyed by the weight bait used in early ads offering 521# dry weight figures. This bike is big and with a high center of gravity once wife and top case are on it. Wife is petite and only 130#, so I think it is the bike. As the months have rolled on, magazine side bar stat sheets have rolled up the weight to 687 wet. That is with bags but no top case. Add in the Yamaha top case, and it is a 700# 'sickle. Also, I've discovered a laminar flow effect with top case in place riding solo: at critical speed, about 115 mph, wind spilling off the sides of the case oscillates and causes a dangerous front end wobble. Throttle action is positive, but unduly stiff causing my aging wrist carpal tunnel issues after an hour of riding, so I invested in a Throttlemeister. Not perfect, especially in the hills, but a vast improvement. Low speed maneuvering is a challenge, but ALL is forgiven once over 20 MPH. Then it's just one great adrenaline machine. Miles after 500 per day for me have been outside any rational comfort zone. Even with a gel seat pad, my butt and legs take on the familiar road induced burn. Tall windshield eats into gas mileage, but makes for silky smooth wake all the way to the back seat perch. Biggest surprise: all those miles and not one ticket....yet. High marks to saddle bag mount and closure, and those bag liners are a gift from the Gods. Gotta go-whooooosh!
- joyrider01, Paw Paw, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-09 2005 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden several different super sport bikes and I have to say that nothing compares to my 2005 Yamaha R6 in a nice turn. Even after riding a 2006 R1, 2006 Suzuki GSXR 600, 1000, Honda 600RR, 1000RR, and the 2005 Kawasaki ZX6. In my opinion, the only 3 that even came close if any are the Honda CBR 600RR, the Suzuki GSXR 1000, and the R1 (in that order). A lot of people say that it's just riders preference, but I pass them on the curves.
- Eric Alvarez, Pompano Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great bike for the money. All the add ons I've done really makes this bike wake up. I'm very pleased with it. All my friends and family I ride with can't believe what this bike can do now. Let's just say anybody with a GSXR 750 doesn't have anything on this bike. I thought that when I did the mods, it would give me a 5- 10% in power but it pulls hard like my cousins Suzuki 750 does. I've rode lots of bikes and I can say that the comfort this bike has is the best I've rdiden. That is the only reason I bought it. When looking at the R6 and R1s and even some Kawasaki's, the comfort wasn't there. Note to those that are looking to buy a bike and never rode before - Get a bike that fits you and your riding skill. don't get a bike b/c it has a lot of cc. Bikes are unpredictable so respect them. RIDE SAFE so you can ride another day.
- Brandon Ellevan, ParkForest, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-14 2005 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden in a couple of years, so I looked at a lot of bikes before I purchased my 06 FZR. It had a lot of features that I wanted, and an upright riding position. I like the looks of the full on sport bikes, but after owning one, I couldn't live with one again on a day to day basis. I read a lot of good reviews on this bike, and it has lived up to them in most areas: good performance, easy to ride and stable, fairly comfortable and easy to insure. That being said, there are a few complaints: tends to be a bit buzzy at certain rpms, although many have said that they will be better as the miles add up, the seat is too firm, it needs to be a bit softer for the long rides, the clutch takes some getting use to, as well as the notchy 1st to 2nd upshift. Overall, worth the money, and oh yeah, 26000 miles between valve adjusts and 50 mpg...
- Devon, Tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: