Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha TT-R230 Dirt Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dirt Bikes

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

TAB

Lehi, Utah

Reviewed on 2007-05-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My boyfriend bought me the TTR 230 last year. I was a brand-new rider with no experience. The 230 has plenty of power, is great for trail riding, and even took me through a motocross academy with ease. I have put it through whoops, jumps, corners, sand and mud. I broke up with my boyfriend 4 months ago and he took the bike away, so I've been out test riding every manufaturer's bike. The TTR 230 is, by far, my very favorite. I am buying a new one tomorrow! The electric start is fantastic, the bike is easy to pick-up off the ground (I should know, I've picked it up entirely too many times..hahaha.) Be sure to get a set of handlebar brush guards - they are very helpful. Two thumbs and 10 toes up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Henri Botha

Mosselbay, South Africa

Reviewed on 2007-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a new TTR-230 this year (2007) in January. I still have my old XR 200 (1982) also which I completely rebuilt for enduro (trail races) but the TTR-230 is about 500,000 times better! It is fast, corners good and everybody that has ridden it wants to have one. don't mind no kick starter. If I could choose to buy again I would choose the TTR-230 again! Amazing what Yamaha achieved designing this little powerhouse with its wide range powerband!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scottie K

cedar rapids, Iowa

Reviewed on 2006-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I like this bike a lot! I don't know how all those other people can say it sucks. She runs great and I have never had a problem with it. It is a four stroke and handles like one, it can get up the big hills and speed up when you want it to. Overall, a great bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Dangles

silver springs, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is sweet, it can handle almost anything you throw at it. I've had the bike for 8 months and only managed to break about 5 spokes, and I really ride hardcore. This is the first bike I have every owned so I decided to get something smaller to start off with. But now I will be upgrading to the wr250f. With a few dollars spent I have got the bike to top out at 80 mph. (clocked beside a mustang)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wes Duvall

Mt. Airy, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been racing fourwheelers all my life and decided to get the bike this past December. I know how bikes work and all but decided I better not get a racing bike as my first dirtbike. This is an amazing bike. I've had it up to about 70 which is pretty good and I paid next to nothing for the bike. It is a great bike for intermediate riders and if you want speed out of it, all you need to do is get a big gun exhaust system, jet it and get a good air filter. It will keep up with all the other bikes and you can get suspension for it and it will keep up even on the mx track. It is a great bike for the price that you pay!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jess

Bentley AB

Reviewed on 2006-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in July and it's all I wanted. I wanted a bike that could go on trails with ease. So far, I hit fairly high jumps with no problem, crossed a 2 feet river and went through a wack of mud, and the bike didn't even bog out when I went up steep hills. On all the tight rough trails I've been on, I usually get it into 3rd or 4th gear with plenty of power. The suspension is fairly good, on trails and bumps, but not the best on jumps, which most people would expect considering it's a trail bike. The top speed is about 105 km. If you're looking for a very reliable machine that will do what you want it to do, get the TTR 230, it's just great!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Nelson

millbury, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked up the 2005 TTR230 this winter and have already been able to ride it 5 or 6 times this winter. (Typically we're snowed in here in the north east in Feb... but bare trails this year.) Anyho-- this bike was purchased as a replacement for my 1995 RM125. I was looking for something in which I could chug along with my 10-year-old son (rides a 2003 TTR 90) in tight single track and easy fireroads without fear of fouling spark plugs which I constantly did with the Suzuki. Obviously this is no mx racing bike but it's done everything I've asked of it without complaining one bit. Even takes small hits without bottoming and feels stable in the air. I'm 6'1 190 and it actually pulls surprisingly hard in the middle of the power band. The only negative things I can write is I don't understand why this bike didn't come with a kick starter over-ride. It's way too easy to hit the start button WHILE the bike is running so be careful... yikes! Baring any ridiculous mechanical problems, the TTR230 has been the perfect replacement bike and I'm happy I purchased it. My son is also happy since he's not ducking flying RM rocks when he's behind me or waiting for me to change yet another plug because we had to stop and I didn't keep revving the Pro Circuit pipe. Oh yeah, the kickstand is also nice to have too. (Wow-- electric starts and kickstands-- I'm getting old!) Also been very happy with the TTR90. Starts easy, runs well and has been very reliable. Thinking my son might want a pipe on it... <br /> 5 Brapps on the TTR230 <br /> 5 hooots on the TTR 90
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

hamburg, New York

Reviewed on 2005-10-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the 05' TTR 230 about 3 months ago. It's a great bike to start on but if you plan on racing like I do you're probably going to want to invest your money into a racing bike. Not to take anything away from this great bike, it has great power for a trail bike easy to control on the ground and in the air, doesn't eat up gas and is easy to maintain. Suspension works for trails and hills but if you plan on getting air you're probably going to want to get a bike with better suspension, because I'm not that heavy for my size and I bottomed my suspension out on maybe a 10-15 foot jump. But overall this is an EXCELLENT starter bike!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christine

Kalamazoo, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After looking at a few off road bikes, we found the TTr-225. DH is a die-hard Honda fan, but they didn't have the right bike for me (new rider). The electric start is great, since I had a lot of trouble with the kick-starter on other bikes. I had no problems using this bike for the first time on the trails, I was able to keep up with DH's Honda 450 (couldn't pass him, but kept up). It is also low enough to the ground that I can reach and it was easy to pick up when I dropped it. This is a great bike and I love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stefano

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-06-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha TT-R230

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased the 2005 Yamaha TT-R230T, as I wanted to get back into off-road riding. It's been about 5 years since I've been on a bike at all. I was looking for a reliable, shorter bike to get me back into riding again. I tested out a few KTM's, which were way too high for a guy my size. At 5'6", I can comfortably put the tips of both feet on the ground with this bike. Great overall bike. Dominates the trails.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: