Yamaha V Max Cruisers Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Max Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Max Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-10-24 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a returning motorcycle rider after 15 years. Starting with a 1987 Virago 535, I quickly realized that a V Max is what I wanted and bought a used 1989 V Max. I loved the bike but wound up selling it a few years later due to buying a new house and a baby on the way - read "threats from wife.Well the baby is in high school now and through lots of negotiating I got permission to buy a bike again. I ran across a clean, used 2005 20th Anniversary model V Max, #1731, with less than 3200 miles for sale in a local motorcycle shop. I spent a sleepless night deciding whether to buy it or not. Decision made, I called the shop shortly after they opened the next morning and put a down payment on the Max. This bike is wonderful and quite a looker. I've had it for close to 2 months now and have logged 1400 miles on it. I have had absolutely no problems with it. The fit and finish is showroom clean. This bike is like getting a second chance on something I hated to lose the first time. If you're lucky enough to run across an Anniversary model, buy it.
- Mark, Memphis area, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-10 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 1985 I bought both Honda Sabres - the VF700, then the VF1100. I fell in love with the V4 configuration, smooth power band and ease of maintenance. I sold them both in 1990 and had no bikes since. Just 2 weeks ago I researched and bought a 2005 Anniversary V-Max, #83. It is a beautiful bike, well worth the wait. Flawless paint and chrome. I found out what the V-boost is. It almost scared the sh** out of me. But at the same time, what a ride! If you want some respect from the crotch rocket riders and the cruiser crowd, this is the one to buy. I can't imagine what the 2009 model with 200 hp is like. I am starting to add toys to mine, but in my opinion, they are very over priced. So a little at a time I'll add the extras. It is a great bike with great engineering and great looks. If you want a good all around bike, this is the one!
- Larry Franklin, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Tires are everything when riding this bike. Metzeler ME880 work well, I installed a plexstar wind sheild, the down force improved the handling and control of the bike at higher speeds. 3000 v boost kit helps a lot. For 20 year old tech, it will out perform anything in the 1200 class in quarter mile and is amazing for 600 lbs. Only problem is, young kids with sport bikes always want to race and end up long faces.
- Lewis Wormuth, Clifton park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-06 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike works well, at about 235Kms/Hr, the bike does lift-up on the front-end, reducing control of the bike. The bike does need a lower cowel and drop the front-end down a little to give the bike a better stance and more pressure on the front tire. Very nice balanced bike, as well as symetrical. The design on the 'gas tank' is very cool and subtle. The 2006 'tank' has more of a stand-out flame pattern. The handlebars need replacing or need to be raked back more or a different style of mirror that does not have you looking at your shoulder. The seat is not designed for long distance rides, and the gas tank is lacking in volume. The Tach is in a poor location and should be situated near the speedo.
- Lucas Hval, Pincher Creek, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This will be my third V-Max I bought the first one in 1985. I logged over 24,000 miles on it and loved every moment of it. Then along came my son and my wife wanted me to sell it. So in 1993 I sold it. Still miss that bike, but then in 2003 I purchased a used 1990 V-Max and all those feelings came back!! Absolutley loved the thing, and obviously so did someone else. It got stolen from my garage. I had my new Corvette in there too and they didn't touch it. That says a lot for the bike right there. Hopefully I can find the anniversry edition so I can fulfill the feeling cruising down the road on another beloved V-Max. The only downfall of the bike is the cornering can't lay it in a corner like an R1 but the confort of the bike out weighs it.
- Bryan Bowen, Syracuse, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been 20 years since I was in the 11th grade. I remember when the 1985 Vmax made it to the local dealership where my friends and I like to go to salivate over new motorcycles. As the years went by I had purchased a few different bikes (Nighthawk 650, Maxxim 750, and V65 Magna), but I always wanted to own a Vmax. No other manufacturer ever came close to producing anything like it. This year I feared that the 20th edition may be the last one so I decide to buy one. It is everything that I imagined it was. The power is nothing short of amazing. It is one of the best purchases I've ever made. It looks as if Yamaha will continue to make them. Why would they stop? My Max is stock and will remain that way. The only thing I changed was the air filter (upgraded to K&N). I love it. Great all around.
- Rich Crawford, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can only compare the VMAX to my other bike which is a 2004 R1. Obviously, they're different bikes. The R1 has killer power especially in the upper RPM's and will eat up a VMAX without question. I got both bikes and both are stock (no engine mods - yet). HOWEVER - the VMAX ride is luxury compared to the R1. I can't go more than 15 miles on the R1 without thoughts of selling it. Last weekend I cruised 175 miles on my VMAX with 10 other situp bikes without any discomfort with the exception of scrunching of the legs. I would recommend highway pegs for long cruises otherwise your hamstrings will bind up.
- John, Morris County, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-21 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With 1,200 miles on the Max I am extremely happy with my choice. I have had no problems with the Max and it is very, very fast, must be careful to not receive a ticket. I have had no handling or braking problems and the seat is not all that uncomfortable, try bike shorts with the gel pads under your pants. The Max is just to Sweeeet!
- JSC, Chesaning, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like the other reviewers I can remember reading about this bike when it first came out 20 years ago and I have always wanted one. I am still in the break in period. I am 48 years old. I love the looks of this bike. I really like the way Yamaha did the 20 Ann Ed. I agree that the bike looks much better than the pictures you see of it. I can realistically say that I will probably never part with this great machine. The power of this thing is just awesome and I haven't even pushed it yet.
- BIlly, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Can only say I'm glad I looked around some more before getting back into biking. Had not owned one in 13 years, renting the occasional Harley here and there for a few days at a time. Always glad to turn them in though, as they are hardly adequate rides. Almost went for the Triumph Rocket III, and it is very unique. Questions about reliability and available service kept me off one. What I was reminded of was that the Triumph is regarded as the only serious challenger to the 20 year old VMAX. I had it in mind to try to find one of the '05 anniversary models to see for myself. Lucked onto #1777 of 2000, and bought it on sight. It has been everything it should be, and more. Only 200 miles on it, but every mile with a smile! Added the factory cowl fairing, love it too. Have been into the V-boost a couple times, feels good. All previously heard complaints about brakes, forks, or handling seem to have been addressed well on the 2005. This machine is spot-on!
- Ed, D/FW, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
gAt 15 I was in the school library drooling over an article on the 1985 Vmax. I told myself that someday I would own one. Now 20 years later I am the proud owner of #1284/2000. The air cleaner cover is absolutely beautiful, however watch when waxing it. I had the cloth get caught on the number plate and it came right off the 20 year badge. The plate didn't have enough sticky stuff from the factory to hold it on. The power is everything I imagined and more. It easily does power wheelies with my wife on the back, and she loves every minute of it.
- Rick & Sherry, Latrobe, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait until I logged several thousand miles on this motorcycle before I submitted this review. I am 51 years old and got back into riding three years ago. I also own a 2004 Harley Davidson 1200R Sportster which I had modified (cams, carb, ignition, exhaust). I really like the Sportster, but it feels like an antique when compared to the V Max. This bike is deffinately the bike for me and I think it will be for you too.
- J Demask, Shorewood, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2005 #1283 V-max. This my second one. I owned a 86 model in 1998. I hurt the motor one nighe racing and it slowed down. It had 35,000 miles on it. The guy who bought it was to restore it and thought even with a weak engine it was the fastest thing he had ridden. I waited 5 years and no other motorcycle could catch my eye. The 05 max did and I had to have one. I am following the book and breaking it in right. I only hit 5000 rpm by accident. My brothers harley a 2003 1340 punched out 1500 with all the high performance "goodies" cannot out run #1283 and I am staying close to four grand (rpm),no v-boast in sight . The 05 looks the part of a baddass and it turns heads. I've been hooked since my first test drive 9 years ago. Harley owners don't have a clue what is cool untill you pull up to them at a light. They must feel like nerds. I can sit in my garage and just see the testerone in this bike. Go test drive one,their great.
- Al Morgan, Casper , Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-16 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've wanted a V Max since 1985 when I saw the fat back tire on the showroom floor. 4 weeks ago I saw the 2005 #927 and fell in love. I left the showroom for a reality check. Twenty five minutes later I found myself back asking for the key. WHAT A SWEET MACHINE! I've never looked back. For a cruiser she handles well and will mash your butt into the seat in a heartbeat. Be careful on left turns with your foot under the shifter, it will easily touch the road. A bit cold natured, the seat and suspension take getting used to, but give it time and I promise you'll love her too. Now I'm looking for a 1985 to restore to OEM. Killer classic bike, I'm addicted already!
- Ray, Layton, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-10 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a thrill to ride. Unlike what some reviews have stated, I have had no problems taking this bike through curves, of course I operate at real world speeds and don't pretend that the V Max is a sportbike. My 2005 V Max is #929. I took it to a Harley-Davidson store and wasn't inside the store 5 minutes before I saw 8 people checking out my bike and had one guy ask if I wanted to sell it. Not a chance.
- Jason, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-18 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my '05 V Max... so far I like it just fine. I can tell this bike is going to be great around town and short trips 100 miles or less or the seat will start to get uncomfortable. However, the kick in the pants from its sheer power makes it easy to overlook any long hauling impracticalities. I must warn, this is not a sport bike, it will spin out in a slow speed curve if you throttle it too much. I know I layed mine over today, which cost me $1100.00 in damage. (It's just 3 days old, I almost cryed seeing it slide down the street.) But I still love this bike. It is all I could have asked for.
- Brad, Norborne, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 5th V MAX. I have owned a 1989, 1997, 1998 and a 2000 year model. My 2005 is #854 of 2000. My passion is VERY DEEP for this motorcycle. Out of all the previous V MAX's, this one is the BEST!
- Dave, Stillwater, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-22 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a V Max and enjoy the ride. Much different from my other inline-4, the V Boost is a blast. The comfort level is great and seat height is not a problem for my short legs. I look forward on riding for many years to come on my 2005 Yamaha V Max.
- John Doe, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-28 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 1985 I traded my 1984 Honda 1000 Interceptor on a new 1985 VMax. When I first drove it away I felt I had made a mistake. But within half an hour I realized that the Max handled better than my Honda. It is a well balanced bike with a low center of gravity with the help of the tank being mounted low under your seat. With the Honda, if I drove the bike to an empty tank of gas and then filled up, you had to be very careful at first in the corners because of the extra weight of the full tank again. Well I have bought another Max. The 2005 that is #235 out of 2000. In Canada they are limited to just over 100 units available. The Max may not be the fastest anymore but it is still a very quick bike. In town it gives you lots of fun with its instant acceleration. Stop light to stop light is where it is the most fun.
- Scott, Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-26 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power in abundance even at slow speeds. Maintenance is easy and reliability is good. OEM seat is like riding a log, the fuel range is too short, the suspension is not up to par with the engine and the brakes should be better. Bias Ply tires only, no radials. Fuel tank wants to rust inside during the off season. Poor lighting for night riding. But it makes me smile when someone on another crusier wants to have a go.
- David Tavares, Sandwich, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-09 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 5 month wait, I have a 2005 VMAX. Obviously I had plenty of time to read up on the subject. I wanted a bike that was fast enough to show off, with great looks and yet be unique. Although they haven't changed in 20 years, not many people are going to claim "I have that bike" I hate to follow the crowd. My VMAX # 772/2000 does that. Downside - I can't stretch out, but that is the only negative I can think of... not bad.
- Mike, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-01 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Welcome back to the bully. I am as far as I know the first to own the 2005 V-MAX within the state of Michigan. I picked mine up in Chicago,IL and rode that bad boy home for a three hour break in. This bike is still an outstanding example of a crotch rocket without the back pain. Since this is the first time Yamaha has put any type of design on the aircleaner cover it gets alot of looks wherever I go and the number plate was a an added bonus. With this type of machine I can count on one hand how many bikes can beat it, but none of them can beat the looks or style this fine machine. Congrats to Yamaha on another asskicking bike. David C Rollins owner of number thirteen
- David C. Rollins, Fenton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a sport bike rider for 7 years now and started looking at cruisers for a more comfortable commute into D.C. I really hadn't looked seriously at cruisers because of the lack of performance. I wanted something that could get out of the way when a car comes in my lane. I was pleasantly surprised at the speed the VMAX has. If you sport bike riders ever get a chance to test ride one of these babies, you might just think twice about buying one. You can even lean it over a little bit too!
- Tim Duckworth, Leesburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-12 2005 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has to be the best looking V-Max I have ever seen come off the Showroom floor. Great ride and has the power that has come to be expected of this bike. I am sure I will enjoy the V-Max for years to come.
- Jayson Lewis, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: