‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha V Max Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mark

Memphis area, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2008-10-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a returning motorcycle rider after 15 years. Starting with a 1987 Virago 535, I quickly realized that a V Max is what I wanted and bought a used 1989 V Max. I loved the bike but wound up selling it a few years later due to buying a new house and a baby on the way - read "threats from wife.Well the baby is in high school now and through lots of negotiating I got permission to buy a bike again. I ran across a clean, used 2005 20th Anniversary model V Max, #1731, with less than 3200 miles for sale in a local motorcycle shop. I spent a sleepless night deciding whether to buy it or not. Decision made, I called the shop shortly after they opened the next morning and put a down payment on the Max. This bike is wonderful and quite a looker. I've had it for close to 2 months now and have logged 1400 miles on it. I have had absolutely no problems with it. The fit and finish is showroom clean. This bike is like getting a second chance on something I hated to lose the first time. If you're lucky enough to run across an Anniversary model, buy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Franklin

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2008-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In 1985 I bought both Honda Sabres - the VF700, then the VF1100. I fell in love with the V4 configuration, smooth power band and ease of maintenance. I sold them both in 1990 and had no bikes since. Just 2 weeks ago I researched and bought a 2005 Anniversary V-Max, #83. It is a beautiful bike, well worth the wait. Flawless paint and chrome. I found out what the V-boost is. It almost scared the sh** out of me. But at the same time, what a ride! If you want some respect from the crotch rocket riders and the cruiser crowd, this is the one to buy. I can't imagine what the 2009 model with 200 hp is like. I am starting to add toys to mine, but in my opinion, they are very over priced. So a little at a time I'll add the extras. It is a great bike with great engineering and great looks. If you want a good all around bike, this is the one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lewis Wormuth

Clifton park, New York

Reviewed on 2007-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Tires are everything when riding this bike. Metzeler ME880 work well, I installed a plexstar wind sheild, the down force improved the handling and control of the bike at higher speeds. 3000 v boost kit helps a lot. For 20 year old tech, it will out perform anything in the 1200 class in quarter mile and is amazing for 600 lbs. Only problem is, young kids with sport bikes always want to race and end up long faces.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lucas Hval

Pincher Creek, Alberta

Reviewed on 2007-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike works well, at about 235Kms/Hr, the bike does lift-up on the front-end, reducing control of the bike. The bike does need a lower cowel and drop the front-end down a little to give the bike a better stance and more pressure on the front tire. Very nice balanced bike, as well as symetrical. The design on the 'gas tank' is very cool and subtle. The 2006 'tank' has more of a stand-out flame pattern. The handlebars need replacing or need to be raked back more or a different style of mirror that does not have you looking at your shoulder. The seat is not designed for long distance rides, and the gas tank is lacking in volume. The Tach is in a poor location and should be situated near the speedo.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan Bowen

Syracuse, Indiana

Reviewed on 2005-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This will be my third V-Max I bought the first one in 1985. I logged over 24,000 miles on it and loved every moment of it. Then along came my son and my wife wanted me to sell it. So in 1993 I sold it. Still miss that bike, but then in 2003 I purchased a used 1990 V-Max and all those feelings came back!! Absolutley loved the thing, and obviously so did someone else. It got stolen from my garage. I had my new Corvette in there too and they didn't touch it. That says a lot for the bike right there. Hopefully I can find the anniversry edition so I can fulfill the feeling cruising down the road on another beloved V-Max. The only downfall of the bike is the cornering can't lay it in a corner like an R1 but the confort of the bike out weighs it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich Crawford

Chesapeake, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been 20 years since I was in the 11th grade. I remember when the 1985 Vmax made it to the local dealership where my friends and I like to go to salivate over new motorcycles. As the years went by I had purchased a few different bikes (Nighthawk 650, Maxxim 750, and V65 Magna), but I always wanted to own a Vmax. No other manufacturer ever came close to producing anything like it. This year I feared that the 20th edition may be the last one so I decide to buy one. It is everything that I imagined it was. The power is nothing short of amazing. It is one of the best purchases I've ever made. It looks as if Yamaha will continue to make them. Why would they stop? My Max is stock and will remain that way. The only thing I changed was the air filter (upgraded to K&N). I love it. Great all around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Morris County, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2005-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I can only compare the VMAX to my other bike which is a 2004 R1. Obviously, they're different bikes. The R1 has killer power especially in the upper RPM's and will eat up a VMAX without question. I got both bikes and both are stock (no engine mods - yet). HOWEVER - the VMAX ride is luxury compared to the R1. I can't go more than 15 miles on the R1 without thoughts of selling it. Last weekend I cruised 175 miles on my VMAX with 10 other situp bikes without any discomfort with the exception of scrunching of the legs. I would recommend highway pegs for long cruises otherwise your hamstrings will bind up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JSC

Chesaning, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With 1,200 miles on the Max I am extremely happy with my choice. I have had no problems with the Max and it is very, very fast, must be careful to not receive a ticket. I have had no handling or braking problems and the seat is not all that uncomfortable, try bike shorts with the gel pads under your pants. The Max is just to Sweeeet!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BIlly

Charleston, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like the other reviewers I can remember reading about this bike when it first came out 20 years ago and I have always wanted one. I am still in the break in period. I am 48 years old. I love the looks of this bike. I really like the way Yamaha did the 20 Ann Ed. I agree that the bike looks much better than the pictures you see of it. I can realistically say that I will probably never part with this great machine. The power of this thing is just awesome and I haven't even pushed it yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed

D/FW, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Max

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Can only say I'm glad I looked around some more before getting back into biking. Had not owned one in 13 years, renting the occasional Harley here and there for a few days at a time. Always glad to turn them in though, as they are hardly adequate rides. Almost went for the Triumph Rocket III, and it is very unique. Questions about reliability and available service kept me off one. What I was reminded of was that the Triumph is regarded as the only serious challenger to the 20 year old VMAX. I had it in mind to try to find one of the '05 anniversary models to see for myself. Lucked onto #1777 of 2000, and bought it on sight. It has been everything it should be, and more. Only 200 miles on it, but every mile with a smile! Added the factory cowl fairing, love it too. Have been into the V-boost a couple times, feels good. All previously heard complaints about brakes, forks, or handling seem to have been addressed well on the 2005. This machine is spot-on!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: