Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-29 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2005 V-Star Silverado is an excellent motorcycle for the options and the price. I have been riding for years and have totally enjoyed my V-Star. It sits low to the ground, as I am a tall person. The foot boards are great. The handling around corners is awesome. I traded in a 2001 Harley Sportster for this bike, and the dealer was great throught the entire sale. My girlfriend Susie has a 2005 V-Star 650 and she loves it. We do a lot of riding together and the Yamaha is our motorcycle of choice. The saddle bags are great and ready for touring.
- Ron F., Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a few bikes over the years from crotch rockets to cruisers and ridden many other types, but I will say this is the best I have been on. The power is great. The ride is great, and the style is flawless. We are looking to buy another bike very soon and it will be another Star!!
- Shaun Holbrook, Florence, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-02 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike last may. So far not one single problem. Has plenty of power for both me and the wife. Have had several good comments about it from other riders. I have been riding for 35 years, and so far for a cruiser this is the best I've had.
- Brian Dacus, Trafford, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I had to sell my V-Star Custom 650 last year (moved cross country), I had been itching to get back on a bike. I've always had good luck with Yamaha bikes, and this one is no exception. It's my daily ride to and from work (38 miles one way), and even in the dreary rain of Seattle, I love the ride. The 45+ mpg is nice with gas heading towards $4 a gallon and, as a plus, I got a great deal on a new 2005 due to an overstock.
- W. Tapia, Tacom, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-06 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike since Aug. '05, and I already have 3500 miles on it. This was my first bike, and I believe Yamaha is the best Value on the Market!!! I don't have any complaints. I am hoping to upgrade soon...maybe a Royal Star Venture.
- Jerald Lane, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-19 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike Dec. 05. Old story, this is my first bike at age 47. Both my wife and I never imagined that we'd enjoy it so much. It looks and drives great. It has a lot of power, even 2 up. I ride with bigger Harleys and Hondas, and have no problem keeping up. I gave it a 4 star on comfort because of the stock seat. I will be keeping this bike for a long time. Yamaha did good!
- J. Keith, Carencro, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-15 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for 8 months and had traveled all over Northern California with it and have NO complaints. The wind protection is great (need lowers in the cold), the bike is smooth. I went from a true sport bike background to this bike and I'm so glad I did. There is nothing like riding for hundreds of miles and get off the bike with out feeling beat up. I love it... I put passing lights and a Vance and Hines exhaust on the bike and it completely changed the performance and ability to ride at night.
- George Armenia, Antioch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-22 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike comes out of the show room feeling great! After 1400 miles, it became smoother and seemed to have more power! The only down fall is that I am used to going into curves wide open. It takes a while to get used to scraping the footrest. This is the first bike I have owned with footrests and they take some getting used to. Overall, I think this is a great bike and I would recommend it to any one.
- James Addison, Blueridge, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-03 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2005 V-Star 1100 Silverado (gold & black) is my first bike and I definitely made the right choice. Lots of power but not too heavy. Plus I get 45 MPH, which I've heard is great for an 1100. The only complaint comes from my wife. She says the passenger seat is a little too firm for long rides on the back.
- D. Kaufman, Frederick, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike in April. I have over 6000 miles on it. I took it to Denver and back for work, over 1200 mile round trip. I have made a few upgrades on it. Put some highway bars with foot pegs. I put the touring mustang seat and that really made it comfortable for both me and my passanger. I put on some passanger foot boards. I have the red and black colors. haven't seen any others on the road like it. It rides realy nice and I plan to run the wheels off it. The wife calls it her bike and I'm just her driver.
- Bill Baker, Altus, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. My last bike was a Moto Guzzi 850 1973. It was my first shaft drive bike. I have to relearn how to handle a heavy bike. The 1100 silverado is the most comfortable and stable bike I have ever ridden. My driveway is about 30 degrees that I have into my garage. The hard part is it is impossable to turn it around and drive out. I will work it out. Backing out is not something I enjoy doing!! It is still in the break in period. So I haven't had the oppertunity to realy TEST it. So I ride it to work and back, weather permitting. I can't wait to really give it a real test ride.
- Rick Ashley, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike 5/16/05 and already put 600 miles on her. Great bike for the money. I hadn't riden in about 28 years and got the itch after being down in Myrtle Beach during bike week. I looked at Harleys but when I went to the dealership and looked for about 45 minutes and not the first sales person asked if I needed any help. So I got to Britt here in Wilmington and as soon as you walk in the door they welcome you and bent over backwards to answer all the questions I had and the sale people were very knoledgeable about what there product.
- Jeff plyler, Hampstead, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this through the first oil change and have found it to be excellent. 300 mile runs take a toll on the backside, which is why I marked it 4 stars on comfort. The 600 mile service found the valves needing adjusting, and now it runs very well. Just got back from a 300 mile round trip to Aspen Cash Rally in Ruidoso, NM and got 36 mpg coming home.
- Norm, Carlsbad, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for several years now now. I Bought this bike in April, 2005 V Star 1100, love the bike it is great for the money. I don't like the oil filter location though, Yamaha should pay for the labor and relocator on a recall. It was not a very good design. Other than that, this bike is a winner. You can't go wrong!
- Ron, Waterford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Liked it from the time I saw it. Looks just like a soft tail with out the extra $10,000. Runs great, rides smooth, plenty of power for short runs around town and long trips. I'm taking a 4000 mile trip in July '05. Plenty of power for two loaded on. If you're not sure take my word for it; you'll love it and it will do whatever you want.
- Stephen Sickels, Des Moines , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-16 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the bike today. Love It! I hadn't been on a bike in 25 years, since my Enduro 125 days... when I was 17 years old. This is also known as a mid life crisis. This bike took me all the way back to simpler times and how much fun it is to ride. Good power, very comfortable and easy to ride. I recommend this bike for anyone.
- Jeff Nixon, Clinton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-09 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 Raven/Mocha (black/brown) V-Star 1100 that I have put 5000 trouble free miles on. I did a lot of research before I bought this bike. Once I saw the 2 tone color, I was hooked. This is my first bike and I still consider it the best choice.
- Rod Evans, Redford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-06 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Might be a little late on reviewing but just shows how good this bike is. Bought it new in Feb. 2003, have put 6k trouble free miles on it and still love it. I have had several different bikes since I started riding in the 60's and this bike has out performed any in its class. I will probably hold on to this bike for a good while.
- Herb Botts, Chandler, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-16 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not many miles on it yet, but I love this bike. I've owned one of every bike made (not quite) since my first one in 1954. This one looks good, rides good and handles real easy. Not sure if I'll modify anything, time will tell.
- Vince Neil, Melbourne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a dream bike for me. I have wanted a bike of this caliber for over 10 years. The bike is a perfect 10 in every way. Plenty of power, excellent comfort. Riding two up is no sweat. I ride in the hill country of Texas. This bike handles the hills and the stares no problem. I looked at every available brand before getting the V-Star. I have no regrets!
- Thomas Johnson, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-11 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Make sure you get the oil filter relocation kit before you ride it out of the dealership. (that's why I dropped a star on the vehicle rating). I got the relocation kit at a discount and the labor was free as part of the deal. One day, Yamaha will design this bike correctly. Having to remove the lower exhaust pipe and floorboard to change the oil is nuts. Other than that, the bike is really nice and rides great. I'm satisfied with everything else about this bike. I'm okay with the stock seat. For accessories I put on the Jardin passenger floorboards and the Yamaha luggage rack. I will have this bike a long time. By the way, I'm 51 and have had several different bikes over the years. I was looking at Harley, but couldn't bring myself to spend that kind of money. Then I found the V-Star 1100 Silverado. that's it, let's ride!
- John F., Tucker, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a 2005 V Star Silverado Classic 1100cc. Was somewhat worried about the engine size and was going to have to spend an additional $3000 for the 1600 cc. GLAD I didn't! Bike has plenty power and easy to handle. Added Cobra pipes and love the sound. Highly recommend this bike.
- David Vial, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-26 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After many years away from riding I purchased a new bike this Spring. I had my Harley all picked out but felt to be fair to myself I had to check out the metric bikes. Glad that I did. I walked into the showroom and saw the V Star 1100 Silvarado and the price tag and had to have it. Mine is the black and brown, great colour combo. I get lots of comments. The ride is great as is the power. I have many buddies with Harleys and never have any problems keeping up. I plan to keep this for a few years and then upgrade to the Royal Star Tour Deluxe.
- Michael Swan, Unionville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several years of riding and repairing Harleys, (I had a Custom Softail, and my husband had a Shovelhead) we bought a 2005 V STAR 1100 Silverado approximately 3 weeks ago. We love the bike, we have already put almost 600 miles on it. The only complaint(s) so far are the pipes, we like 'em loud, and the cheap looking plastic storage compartments. We are getting the pipes changed as we speak and are looking for replacements for the storage compartment. Awesome bike, for the money. Right now, I have to ride piggy back, but in the very near future I intend to be riding solo once again on my very on 1100 V STAR.
- Freida Chastain, Spartanburg, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-31 2005 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for the money. Perfect size for entry cruiser that I was looking for. Oil changes aren't as bad as everyone has made them out to be, taking exhaust off is simple and lets you shine her up even better. Only complaint is my miles per gallon (35-40). I know it is a heavy bike with only a 1063cc and add a windshield and passenger and you are asking alot of the engine, but other than that I love this bike.
- B.B., Ames, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: