Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews (27)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-06-11 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second V-Star 650 so you know where this review is headed. It is not a stoplight rocket, it will not go coast to coast at 80 mph. in supreme comfort and silence and no, it was not designed to lay nearly flat in the curves. This is my ninth motorcycle in nearly 40 years of riding and overall it is the best bike I've owned. While HP is modest, some throttle roll will leave most cars in your rear view mirror but again - it wasn't designed to smoke the rear tire. Torque is plenty available wherever you are in the gear range - just twist and go. Remember - it is a mid-size cruiser despite it's big boy looks. Handling is near perfect for me. It's plenty easy in parking lot speed turns but also straight as an arrow at 60+ mph. and in between, just enough lean available in the curves to make you smile. The transmission shifts effortlessly and yes, the clutch doesn't engage until the last bit of lever travel - by design I suppose. You just get used to it. Yes, Yamaha could have added a 6th gear as the engine sounds busy at 60+ mph. - don't be fooled - the bike will run the legal limit and more all day long with no complaints and no issues - you'll just feel/hear it more than on a large displacement bike. For my riding which is mostly back roads at 60 mph. and under - it is terrific! What can I say? Great fit and finish, plenty of chromed goodies available, low seat height, great handling, fairly decent comfort for a stock seat and enough power to please most. I bought both of mine used (the first one had 20,000 miles and ran perfectly, my 2005 has only 6,000 miles and of course runs like new). Go sit on one, go ride one. Perhaps the best mid-sized cruiser on the market.
- Mike, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 650 Classic in April of '05. I have put roughly 9000 miles on it since then and I couldn't be happier with the reliabiliy. I have riden the bike all the way to North Carolina and back with no problems. I must say that the FIRST thing you should do if you choose to purchase a Vstar is upgrade to a Mustang seat. My dad, brother, and I all have Vstars and we all purchased a Mustang seat due to the comfort on long rides. It was honestly the best $500 I have spent. All in all, the bike is great, it could just use a wider ratio 5th gear for highway riding. Perfect bike for someone who wants good reliability and performance for little to nothing for a new bike.
- Adam, Arlington, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-19 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden for 10 years. I didn't want something too big, to get back into riding. The 650 V Star Classic seemed to be just right and had a lot of style for the money. I am very pleased with the bike and there are many goodies available to add. The bike seems to do best on mountain roads and likes to cruise at no more than 55-60 mph., anything faster and the bike seems to be working hard, it needs a 6 speed transmission or wider range gear ratio. More likely the latter, as you can be in third gear before you get across the intersection. The seat is comfortable for a stock seat. If you want a bike to cruise the back roads and some mountain riding, then this is the bike for you. But if you want to cruise the freeways, then you would be better with something with more power and a little more weight. For the money, I am very happy with the bike.
- Dennis, Merced, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-01 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike runs like a dream. I looked at a lot of bikes before finally deciding on the classic. Like others, I wish it had a sixth gear but besides that, I really wouldn't change a thing. I have added quite a bit of chrome and am getting new pipes this spring.
- Phil, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-28 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For my first bike, I knew I wanted a bike that was (1) a cruiser, (2) affordable, (3) reliable, (4) shaft-driven, and (5) small enough to learn on but big enough that I wouldn't out grow it too quick. Those criteria brought me to surprisingly few choices ラ a couple Suzuki Boulevards, the Honda Aero 750, and the Yamaha V-Star 650s. It was a tough choice because they are all good bikes, but I kept coming back to the V-Star ラ such a great looking bike and, for my body, I liked the extra couple inches of seat height over the Honda. I planned on getting the V-Star Custom, but looking at them side-by-side, the Classic just jumped out at me. So I bought the 2005 including the extended warranty (extra 4 years) and have been quite happy. <br /> I saw a review where the rider complains of parts coming loose and of having to shift 3 times at an intersection. I've had no such experiences ラ almost wondering if he's writing about the same bike! <br /> The only problems I've had were minor. First, a very squeaky front brake, but that was fixed by a couple applications of "squeak-awaybrake cleaner that cost $7. Second, a mysterious rattling at high revs, but that was fixed by realizing that it was my key rattling and wrapping some small clear rubber bands around the key. Weird, minor problems ラ and both with easy fixes. <br /> Good first bike that I plan on keeping for a while!
- Ben, El Segundo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great look, great price, you can't ask for more. It's nice for driving around town, to work and long country rides. I wish I would have picked up the 1100 for the highway.
- Kenneth, Mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-13 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Calling it my mid-life crisis, I was able to talk my wife into buying a bike. My criteria was looks first and price second. Previously I have had a Yamaha, Suzuki and two Harleys so you can see I'm not loyal to only one brand. I love the styling and performance of the bike in general but it is in need of one more gear to take out some of the vibration. The top comfortable speed is around 60 mph then it starts to get excessive. My advice - make sure you take any bike out on the highway and wrap it up.
- Bill, Hooper, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a long time rider, but this is my first cruiser style motorcycle. I just purchased my 2005 v-star 650 classic (midnight series) on friday, 9/9/2005. Now about the bike. This sleekly styled, rider friendly motorcycle is a wonderful choice for all skill levels of rider. First throught fifth gear all provide accurate and immediate throttle response, (plenty of passing power). This bike is extremely nimble in traffic and loves the open road. If the bike were lacking in any area, I would have to say that it would like to have a 6th gear for highway speeds, but at 70-75, you still have passing power for maneuvering. The only other thing is that the passenger takes the brunt of the road on even a 45-50 mile trip. As far as the driver's seat, wow what luxury. I would definitely recommend this bike for potential fun-seekers!
- Jimmy Miller, Rocky Point, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been on a bike in 20 years. This year I went out in April 2005 and bought my VStar Classic 650 and couldn't be more pleased with it. It is a perfect bike for someone who is looking to get back into riding. The size and weight of the bike is just right for someone like me who needs to acquire experience and a comfort zone. It handles like a dream and is extremely comfortable to ride. The bike has decent power range and is perfect for anyone (Like myself) who's looking for a nice smooth cruising speed. It has some good kick and can easily get you out of a sticky situation if needed. For me this bike cruises comfortably around 45-60 mph. Higher speeds can be reached, but you will top out around 90+ MPH After you have a few thousand miles under your belt (For the newbie's like myself), you will be looking for that "Extra" gear when hitting higher speeds. If you know you will be doing a lot of highway riding, then I would suggest going with a bigger bike. If you will be going on secondary roads, then this is the bike for you. Overall I would have to say that I am extremely happy with everything about the VStar Classic. It has everything you need and more. The accessories that are available for this bike are incredible. If you are looking to get back into riding, this bike is perfect for you. (Washing Trick) Seeing this bike has SO MUCH chrome on it, at first I was overwhelmed with trying to keep it looking new, By hand it took me forever to keep each piece shinning. Till I seen one a guy using a "Leaf Blower" to dry his bike. I've since bought my own blower and use it each time I wash my bike. It takes me a 1/4 of the time and makes life so much easier. Try it; you will be amazed at the results. Hope this helped out someone. Good luck and be Safe out there. - JohnnyB
- JohnnyB, Watervliet, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only started riding in 2004 and after much research, bought this bike new. After one year, I still love it and know I made the right choice. It's perfect for me...comfortable, reliable, and looks great! The only complaint I have is that it's not comfortable for two adults to ride. The passenger seat is very hard and there is not enough HP on the 650cc to ride two adults.
- Nancy, Norwalk, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-20 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my V-Star 650 in April 05 . After taking 5 trips on the bike (including the Blue Ridge Parkway and the dragon in NC) and carring lots of gear I don't think you can buy a better bike for the money. Not to mention it's a great looking bike. I've read others mention the lack of power above 65-75 and the vib's. Maybe they think the bike is topped out, but not so, just put the hammer down and it will scream, stock out of the box. And if you think the V-Star Vibrates a lot, just get on a Harley.
- David, Rumsey, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2004 V-Star Classic for 1 year now, and I'm here to tell you it is sweet. Comfortable for one or two riders. Smooth as silk. I wouldn't trade it for anything.
- John C. Jones, Biddeford, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-06 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally decided to get what I have been dreaming of for years, my very own Cruiser. I only wish I had done it years ago! This is a great bike for the money and it rides quite well and is very comfortable. Everyone loves the Silverado package.
- Eddie Carter, Indiuan Trail, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-02 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding last year at 38 and I first purchased a Honda Rebel to learn to ride on. I purchased my VStar Classic March 2005 and so far I love it. It vibrated when I first purchased it but I rode that out and so far as the bike gets more broke in the better it gets. I ride as much as I can and it is a great bike and I did a lot of research before I purchased it. It is a lot of bike for the money and I plan to ride it for a while. Plenty of power but it's at its best and most fun when riding the backroads. I have been touring Civil War Battlefields on it every weekend. Good stuff.
- M. Burnett, Boaz, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-22 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ride with all make and models, with no problem, will run interstate speeds, but preforms best on back roads, Hey it's a cruiser not a sport bike! Most people think it is a 1100, Great bike!!
- kelvin , Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the look and style. I made mods to improve performance and have had comfort up through 75 mph. Then the passing punch is weaker. Always compliments. Great around town cruiser just need a better saddle if your in it for a few hours at a time.
- steve, tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just started riding last year, on a 1982 Suzuki GS650L. I did well with that bike, but OOF, what a difference the V-Star Custom 650 makes!! The two bikes are the same weight (give or take 5 pounds), but the V-Star feels like it's about 100 pounds less. I used to be pretty cautious about hard curves, but not any more. I have complete confidence in my ability to lean without going top-heavy on this bike. I got through the break-in period with no problem, except that those first 600 miles weren't added on fast enough. I chose my bike online - I saw it and walked into the dealership and ordered it, never having seen one in real life. And I don't regret it for a second! It's comfy as could be. My old bike had some performance issues, so for me to able to pass some schmoe in one of those dumb things with four wheels while going uphill without even batting an eye is a completely novel idea, but I can absolutely do that on the V-Star. The only thing that could make life better would be if I lived in New Mexico so I could ride year-round. This bike is great, and I'd buy it all over again.
- Kim, Pleasant Valley, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new last year just before Christmas. I have ridden over 1K miles so far. I really like how the V-Star handles and I'm enjoying the 55 plus mpg since gas is over $2 a gallon here now. Many V-Star owners complain about the whining sound you get from the drive shaft transmission. You can hear it, but it's only obvious because the stock pipes make the bike quiet. After riding a chain driven Harley for years, this whining sound is easy to put up with since the shaft doesn't have to be adjusted on a regular basis. The only complaint I have about the bike so far, is a rattle in the front end that occurs at various RPMs. Once I locate the source and fix it, I'll be a happy camper.
- David Blake, Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my new V Star about a month ago and waiting for the weather in Indiana to be nice enough to ride. I've been on the bike about 8 times now and I love every minute of it. This is a great bike for the beginners and for the ladies. Everyone who sees the V Star from a distance thinks it's a Softail Harley and they can't believe it's not.
- janet smeltzer, Greenwood, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-23 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last time I rode was when I was 16, now I am 40. I bought a new 650 V Star Classic in September 2004, and I already have 2,000 miles. Easy to control, nice soft ride.
- SG, Voorhees, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-12 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a great looking bike. I get thumbs up wherever I take it, and people can't believe it's only a 650cc. It is not the fastest 650 I have owned, but it's no dog either. Down side it needs a better top end gear for the highway. And the seats could be a little softer. No other bike in its class gives more bang for the buck.
- ed phillips, yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-21 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Christmas my hubby surprised me with my very own Yamaha! He owns a V-Max. I was totally delighted and eager to get back on the road after 25+ years of last owning and riding my own bike. I absolutely love it! Although I'm petite, I can handle the size very well and have already gotten it past 60 Mph. It's smooth and powerful enough for me as I don't plan on racing... yet. The classic style and chrome are the best! If you women are looking for a bike that makes you feel sexy and young, this V-Star will do it! Great job Yamaha.
- Luisa G, Accokeek, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-16 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my V Star 650 Classic in October 2004 after not riding on the street for about 25 years. I grew up on mini/dirt bikes and never stopped riding them. At 16 I had a Honda CB200 for the road. Way too small and it messed up my hair (very important to a 16 year old girl at the time) so I gave up street riding then. I have been itching to ride again and loved the looks and the price of the V Star. I sat on a lot of bikes and compared. It was the most comfortable and safest feeling to me. Love the Harleys, but not the price and I really think it looks better than any Harley I could handle. I'm just getting started again and because of winter and I have not been able to really get out there and go. Can't wait for Spring. My throttle hand is ready!
- Wendy, Lusby, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-06 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2004 650 custom after selling my older Honda Goldwing. After researching the options and process for a new smaller bike, I decided on a Yamaha. Ride is nice, up to 65 mph. Get considerable vibration above that with limited acceleration too. Handles great and meets my needs for a ride. Would definitely buy one again if I had to make the choice again. Could use a little more power for two up riding!
- Bill, Gastonia, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bug to ride again after 25 years and 5 kids. I did the research, admired the Harleys (but not the prices)and the others, but could not find a better looking bike than the V-Star. The price-to-quality can't be beat. The bike is classy (mine's a Classic), it rides smooth (under 65mph) and presents itself as a much larger looking bike... until I have to merge into 70 mph traffic. that's when I wish it had a 6th gear. I don't want it for high speeds, but it could do with a little less vibration at 65-75 mph. I will probably move up to an 1100 in a couple of years, but this is a great mid-sized cruiser that looks as good as any stock Harley, compares in size and doesn't sound as obnoxious (unless you're into noise). The only thing I did was add crash bars, windshield, and sissy bar to finish dressing it. Now, if I could just find 6th gear, or get 5th re-geared as an overdrive gear. Anybody ever tried it?
- Raoul Hurley, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: