Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dirt Bikes

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Carter

Cranberry Twp., Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, first thing, the 2005 WR450F is the best motorcycle on the market. Period. I mean, how many other manufactures offer an enduro bike (or dirtbike, for that matter) with 5-Titanium Valves that rip the hell out of whatever terrain you're on up to 11,000 rpm? Not one. This bike is a streamlined locomotive. It has so much torque, it just blows my mind! This little honey doesn't throw grass and rocks, it launches boulders, sedans, oak trees, small children, and unwanted in-laws into the next zipcode. Everything is 'space-age' on this crotch-rocket for the dirt. From Renthal bars, to Kayaba springs, this bad-dad has got it all. I recommend it to anyone out there looking to have a killer good time. CONSIDER YOURSELF WARNED: USE THROTTLE CONTROL! YOU CANNOT 'TWIST FREELY' ALL OF THE TIME! IT WILL BUCK YOU OFF, AND YOUR WILL BREAK BONES! JUST RESPECT IT, AND IT WILL RESPECT YOU! I can handle this bike very well. I have been riding for seven years, and have riden on all sorts of terrain, and bikes (PW80, XR100, TT-R125L, KX85, KX100, CR125, RM125, YZ125, YZ250, CRF250X, CRF250R, DRZ400E, WR426F, CRF450R). This is the most powerful and amazing bike that I have ever rode.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Butte, Montana

Reviewed on 2006-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow, did the free mods, including modifying the pipe and added a Storm adjustable fuel mix screw and jetting and when you pull the trigger on this machine you better be ready because its going to be in a different zip code fast! Can't say enough about Yamaha quality and power. Highly recommend!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

harleysdad

henderson, Nevada

Reviewed on 2005-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a mountian biker lured by the dark side. I had ridden a few bikes prior to this, but what a ride turned out to be. I ride technical single track, open mx style trails and some of the "best of the desert" sections. This bike is truely awesome. It climbs everything I point it up (I usually run a gear or so tall), skims the tops or jump every other "whoop", work my way down seriously steep to vertical sketchy downhills, or jump off 6-10' embankments. The bike is far better than I am. The "e" button has saved me numerous times when I have found myself in a precarious spot. I know there are other bikes out there that may be as good, but I must say, I have not found them yet, and all of my friends who ride KTM's and Hondas can't believe the performance and reliability of this WR. I must say that the suspension change made the biggest change of all mods. I'm prob 230-240 with all the gear on. The springs and valving made the bike truly responsive and apt at lugging my big butt around. Oh yeah, Did I mention that it has enough power to pull the front wheel off the ground at any time...well any time under say 50mph.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett McGlothlin

Highlands Ranch, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After having not ridden bikes for the past few years I picked up this bike and from the beginning I was amazed by how well it rode. After doing all of my free mods it was absolutely unbelievable. I ride at roughly 8000ft and have yet to jet the carb and it still runs with unbelievable power. The handling is unreal and the bike is incredibly responsive. I would deffinately recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Clackamas, Oregon

Reviewed on 2005-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I almost went KTM this year, tired of top heavy and porky WRs. But, I gave the '05 WR450 a shot and I'm glad I did. Slim and much, much more flickable than previous model years. And, the e-button is a welcome addition as is the more direct front break line routing. The '05 WR450 is a great single track machine as well as a good dual sport platform. Uncork the jetting, add the shorter throttle stop and this bike rips!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

timcook

Marana, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yamaha continues to lead the market yet again. The '05 is everything you'll expect. That is after several mods to uncork her. Although if your experience level is low, then she is tamed down to a managable level for beginners. Awesome bike that is easy to ride and hard to find enough space to open up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Lopez

StPetersburg, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been doing a lot of hill climbs on my new 450, and am very happy with the ease of handling this machine in tight woods. My last bike was a 2000 WR400, so I can only compare it to that bike's ability. And there really is no comparison! The new 450 just does EVERYTHING well! I am amazed how it balances itself in idle situations. It really makes me look like a good rider!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Griffith

Meridian, Idaho

Reviewed on 2005-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one impressive bike. I bought this for myself this Christmas and it came prepped with all the free Mods already installed/removed. Only thing I did was install the GYT-R tail pipe, (well worth the money), and installed something called powernow. It increases the off idle to half throttle H/P. Since this is the average hill climbing position, it too was well worth the money. This bike has performed flawlessly. Starts like right now. haven't tried to kick start it yet. Too much fun just pushing that little electric start button. Climbs hills better than my CR500R. Not that it climbs them faster, but under it clibms them with much better control. Advertised weight difference is a little over 30 lbs. Does feel a little heavier, but only during trail riding. A little heavier on top. Jumps better than the CR500R. More balance with a MUCH improved/controlled landing. I've ridden a lot of bikes in the last 45 years, and felt the CR500R was the best hill climbing piece of machinery out there. This WR450F is changing my belief!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan

Emmett, Idaho

Reviewed on 2005-02-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Unreal horsepower. It has a very smooth delivery to the ground... one that really hooks up. Had to put pro-taper bars on it. ('04 came with steele bars). The only reason reliability is 4 stars is that I let it set for about a month and a half (I know, but I was moving) and it was very hard to start.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elton

Killen, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha WR450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Excellent reviews, owner loyalty and years of refinement compelled me to buy this bike vs. waiting on the Honda CRF450X. Also, the CRF450X is heaver, more expensive and its little brother's (250X) valve issues concerned me. The bike is impressive: fit, finish, quality, ergonomics, etc. I was impressed with its speed, handling and ride, but it didn't have the "torquey snapI expected -- like my old school (last) 1977..ish MX bike KX250. If you read the reviews here for the 2004 WR you will notice that EVERYONE does the "free mods": Remove the airbox snorkel, Remove the exhaust baffle insert, Shorten the throttle-stop (or replace with YZ stop), disconnect the "grey wire" under the gas tank. Once I did the mods it's twice the bike it was; it's very fast now, pulls hard in every gear, a 2nd and 3rd gear unicycle with a twist of the throttle. After the mods, the WR450 is the "beast" I expected. No complaints; it just keeps impressing me on each ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: