Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-12-05 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought mine (06) this weekend and it's about 40 degrees out. I've got to admit that these little 4-strokes are a pain to crank. It's taking about 30 seconds on the starter, when they're cold. I expect to choke it in cold weather for at least five minutes. So far in the past two days I've put 80 miles on this bike. After it's warmed up, it starts right up really quick, with just a bump on the starter. I've found it has ample power, but in 6th with my big butt on it, it struggles climbing inclines. But that's fine and was expected for a little 17 hp., 225. I'm short legged so it was a tossup between this and a DR200SE, and I'm proud I bought this one. Riding through the woods and logging roads this little bike shines. It has plenty of power for those 30-foot, 30-degree inclines and great clearance for riding over downed trees. The seat is a little hard for a dual sport, but I guess that's because it's staying true to its dirt bike heritage. On tarmac it corners very well, even with the New Pirelli Scorpions, which grips extremely well in sand and leaves - not so well in realy slick mud and clay since they clog easily. If it was warmer out I would trust the starting on this bike a lot more, but right now it's too cold for riding this bike anyways. I just got a good winter deal saving a lot of $$$. As far as quality,this engine has been around for a while and is considered to be bulletproof, with quick easy shim-less valve adjustments, and just all around foolproof. The tranny shifts great but at times it's hard to get that 1/2 shift into neutral. That could just be me. It's a Yamaha and it would be hard to beat if you're vertically inclined, and want quality, and durability in an easy to fit package.
- Dwayne, Gordon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought XT225 used with 2000km. A perfect bike for me. My last bike was a Suzuki TS 185 in 1979. I wanted something light and easy to handle for off road and short runs to work and the cabin. Very pleased so far. Negatives: the seat is hard but after riding it for awhile the old backside toughens up. Also hard to start after been laid up for awhile. Especially if it is cold. However, a shot of quick start after taking out the plug gets it going in no time. Overal, I'm pleased.
- b matthews, gander

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Commuting: Most of the time I spend on the XT225 is commuting through a fairly busy city with lots of intersections and roundabouts. Right from the start, I have been impressed with how nimble and maneuverable the bike is. It handles the corners around town with no problems and I am constantly reminded as to why I love Enduro bikes. The upright seating posture affords great visibility in traffic and the light weight of the bike makes parking and low speed maneuvering a breeze. Touring: I have to admit that prior to getting the XT, I had a certain preconception that a 250 or smaller would not be up to the rigours of long distance tours for a long time and that I would be pushing its limits too much. A trip from Hamilton to Waiouru on familiar but challenging roads - very steep hills climbing to the Central Plateau near Mt Ruapehu - changed my mind about the XT225 by convincing me that it was up to the rigours after all - more so than my old LS400, in fact. I had expected that the little 225 would be lagging behind my friends' more powerful bikes (750cc and 800cc) on the steep hills, especially around the Central Plateau. To my great surprise, the XT225 climbed the steep roads around the central plateau at 100km/h in sixth gear and nothing seemed to slow it down, including hilly stretches of road that had reduced the LS400 to 80km/h. I had no difficulty keeping up with the larger bikes after all. The agility I had noticed at lower speeds when commuting was still there at 100km/h on the winding mountain roads and there always seemed to be enough left in the throttle to power around the corners - certainly a lot more than the LS400 had. In my assessment, the XT is more than adequate to climb steep hills and maintain the open road limit for extended periods and its performance (not its top speed) is favourably comparable with far larger bikes. The XT225 is not capable of much more than 120km/h - making it unsuitable for riding on the Autobahn or similar but that just means you ride the slower, and probably more picturesque, roads at a pace more conducive to enjoying the scenery. For my style of open road touring (not desiring to exceed the legal limit) the XT is a great choice. Adventure Riding: The go anywhere factor. As an Enduro, the XT is designed to handle conditions far more rugged than any road designed to accommodate cars, no matter how rutted and gravel-strewn. I feel quite confident I could tour anywhere on the XT225 and take any road or trail that I fancy. Comfort: A frequent complaint about the XT225 is that the seat is not particularly comfortable on long journeys and this is true. A more comfortable seat would be good in many respects but it could also be argued that the pain in the posterior is a good cue to stop, look around, take in the scenery and pause to reflect on where you've been. Personally, I would get work done on the seat to make it more comfortable. Summary: I have often described the XT225 as one of the best bikes I've ever ridden on the road - with a more comfortable seat it would be the best bike I've ever ridden on the road. Fitted with a centre stand (to facilitate road-side maintenance) and proper racks to secure a load, it would be the perfect tourer - light, nimble, economical, goes anywhere. Whether you want a commuter, an off-roader, a tourer or an adventure bike, the XT225 fits the bill.
- Jon Tocker, Hamilton, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-06 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike brand new approx. one month ago. Choosing to upgrade from a 50cc Zuma scooter to this machine was a great investment. Too many guys start out on 600cc and 1000cc sportbikes and end up downing them in the first week (I have witnessed this twice with friends). The XT is ultra light and has a high ground clearance. The center of gravity is higher than a conventional streetbike. Shifting is a cake. I often tell people that it handles like a bicycle. As for reliability, the only bad thing is when starting up and heading out in the early morning. I will usually allow three to five minutes idle with full choke, and the bike still jerks down the road for a few seconds until warmed up. At the end of the day though, I have no difficulty with aspiration. I have yet to experience riding the bike in the snow. My gas mileage ranges anywhere from 65-75 mpg depending on acceleration, shift patterns, fuel, etc. If stunts are what you are in to, the XT225 will get up on one for a second or two but will quickly drop unless the weight is shifted all the way to the back. Anyway, this is the first dual-sport I have ridden, and I will enjoy riding it for a very long time. :)
- Dan Weidner, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding dual purpose bikes since 1972 because I love them. Short trips around town or exploring off-road, they can't be beat. This bike is the best one I have owned. If you shut off the fuelcock before you shut off the engine (draining the bowl), it will start right up the next time you go for a ride. I get around 85 mpg around town (slightly less off-road). I wish it had a back-up kick starter, but have not needed it so far.
- Dr. Chandler, Mount Dora, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. After reading reviews and looking at all the options for a dual sport motorcycle, I decided on the XT. I am really glad I did. It has plenty of power for what I need. It's light weight,incredibly nimble on the trail and has a broad range of power that enables it to reach highway speeds (75 to 80). Although this is not a bike for highway travel. It's not as stable at high speeds as a heavier bike designed for the highway. It's better for someone who likes trail riding and enjoy's taking rides around town. You can hit a berm in the dirt and it's suspension soaks up pot holes and smaller jumps with ease. It handles well and is very reliable. Get the chromed out, show off, big $$ bike out of your head and have some fun. Rid yourself of the ego and get one. It's the most fun you can have on two wheels.
- Chris Chandler, Cooper City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-15 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think it is a terrific bike. I am using it to get back and forth to work and if I see a trail I can just go. I get about 73 mpg and have run it 60-65 mph don't want to run it to hard until it is broken in but I think it is perfect!!!!
- vince Schweiger, Siletz, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-10 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It is perfect for daily commute to work and weekend trail riding. It will go faster than 65 mph, and it will carry a 150 lb passenger very nicely. It gets me to work on twisty, two lane black top at speeds up to 70 mph, but it will only do so while cranking the heck out of the throttle. Maneuvering in city traffic is crazy fun. Fuel mileage has ranged from 89 mpg to 60 mpg. Hard riding in summer heat takes its toll on fuel economy. Learning to ride on this bike was a snap for the wife (5' 3" and 140 lb)--she now owns and rides a much bigger Kawasaki cruiser. This bike is utterly reliable and a joy to ride. By the way, I bought mine early in 2005 and paid $3,950.
- Dan Casey, Ft Smith , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-05 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery on my new 05 XT225 this past Sat. July 2nd. I rode it the 90 mile trip home immediately. Enjoyed every minute of it, except for the seat. Monkey butt galore. I have already ordered a replacement seat. Its ok for around town, but not ok for anything over 50 miles or more. This XT is a keeper I believe. It has already opened up a whole new riding world and experience for me. Paved roads, dirt and gravel roads, grassy fields, this bike will do it all. I also ride a VStrom 650 and I love it, power through out all the gears, get about 125 mpg. But this little big XT will do everything with much more confidence than the VStrom except fly away from everyone with supersonic speed. The XT will run all day at 60-65 mph, get 80 mpg, will stop on a dime, and you can jump off the pavement to check out a trail. All I can say is if you have never ridden one of these type bikes, then you are missing a real eye opening experience. I am a new convert.
- Terry G., Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-22 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with the power of this bike. I didn't notice it until I bought the bike (I had only seen the picture and write ups on it)but the seat is very hard. The only other dislike is the mirrors should have longer arms on them, I have a hard time seeing past myself on the road. Other than that, this bike is finominal in every way. If the hard seat is the worst thing about a bike...you can't go wrong.
- Dennis Brown, White River Jct, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-25 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2005 Yamaha XT225 review. I am a 6'1180lbs 50 year old male. I have been riding for many years. I was looking for a bike that was light (238lbs), and capable of getting me to those old logging roads where I love to ride. This bike is what I call a "put putwhich is what I wanted (last bike was a 650 Suzuki dual purpose). My spirit wants to ride aggressively but my 50 year old body says no way. This bike hardly has enough power to keep the front wheel up when going over large bumps so I definitely have to slow down. It will do 65 down the paved roads easy enough, just don't ride it when there are any significant winds. Off road, for me, it is perfect; light and nimble with enough power to get wherever I want. The seat is an engineering mistake. There is a ridge along the center back half of the seat that rams right into the tailbone so a new seat or adding about 2of padding is a must. Front shocks are adequate but the rear shock could use a little more travel. I get about 75mpg.
- Jerry Easton, Bellingham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-02 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my XT since March of '04. I drive it to work when the weather permits and it's great. Easy to handle in traffic and enough zip to get you out of tight spots. After a few mods it's gotten better. As for off-road I've taken it to a local motorcycle park and rode with guys on full blown dirt bikes. No it won't do a double or make much of a rooster tail or ride wheelies for miles but when you get onto tuff mountain trails it comes into its own, I will go out on a limb here and say hands down it's the best trail bike you can buy. Very easy to handle and will climb anything nice and slow!!! It's very dependable which is important when it's a long walk back to the truck. If you want a tuff little bike that you can explore the back country with, I would suggest this one to you.
- Calvin Percy, Pueblo, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-26 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I each have an XT. We love riding on logging roads and trails with them. Would like to purchase luggage racks for commuting purposes. One complaint is they are hard to start when left sitting for over a week. Crank, crank, crank, crank then finally either one will fire. Have had other more powerful larger dual-purpose bikes but these are lots of fun. Of course I'm a little older now and probably a lot smarter and don't have to go as fast as I once thought I had to! Happy Riding!
- Mr. Clover, North Bonneville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2005 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a bike that wasn't so big that I couldn't get out of the way of some of these Colorado drivers and I also wanted it to go off road without having to do a bunch of suspension adjustments. I seemed to have found it all in the XT-225. This machine is perfect for what I wanted. I took it off road for the first time and I couldn't make it faulter in mud, dirt or stones. I did one adjustment to the suspension and now have an ideal ride for both the street & dirt. It's not the fastest bike out there, but at 250 lbs, I can load it easily on and off my pick-up. The electric start works great on this bike as well as the DOT approved tires. This is one of the best Enduro style bikes Yamaha has ever built.
- Peter B, Aurora, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: