Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-09 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off I absolutely LOVE this bike. It has quick acceleration, is extremely lightweight and it is just overall fun to ride. I love how it has a 6-speed transmission, it makes the riding more fun. For a two stroke the power band is real smooth, I was surprised after I rode an older YZ. It has excellent high end torque and it is realitively cheap. HOWEVER...I have had one potentially major issues with the bike but it is preventable. I had to spend several months diagnosing and repairing the bike with my dad and it involved splitting the crankcase. Apparently, about 50% of all 2005 and earlier YZ125's have an issue with how the shift stopper lever is designed. There is a bearing on the end of it that tends to fall apart and pieces can go into the transmission and because the bearing is absent, you cannot shift out of whatever gear you were in. But, fortunately for under 30 bucks I'd estimate you can easily prevent the problem and save yourself $500 if you fix it yourself or easily $1000 if you take it into a shop. All you have to do is buy the redesigned stopper lever from Yamaha and assembly is fairly easy if you have the manual. The actual process involves just removing the side cover, taking out the clutch basket, and swapping out the stopper levers. Dont forget to buy a new gasket. So with the proper tools (including the manual) and a little bit of work you can prevent the only issue I have with this bike. Overall it is a dream to ride and a wonderful step up bike. Buy one if you're looking for a 125.
- Russell, Carlsbad, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-12 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the fastest 125 I have ever ridden. It will pull a 250f off the line, no problem. It handles great, is easy to start and talk about light.. My 9 year old, 72 pound cousin can pick my bike up off the ground with little or no problem. Power - there's plenty. There's no need to mod this bike as it's fast out of the box. Yamaha went all out on the 125 this year and it shows.
- jordan stevens, spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after stepping up from an 85 and let me tell you, it has a lot of power. Then, that weekend when I raced, I noticed that it could not keep up with the 250f's. that's when I got a shorty silencer and power now. Then it could keep up with them. Then I put reeds, an sst pipe, and a flat topped piston and it completely blew them away! Stock it had decent bottom power end and a great pull from mid to top. By far, the best of the 125s. It could easily keep up with SOME early model 250f's like the RM-Z and KX-F.
- David, temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-07 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sick! It friggin moves. It will easily do 75 stock and w/ all the parts I have on it, now it probably does like 85-90! I love this bike. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with at leats 2 years of experience who wants a fast bike that will keep up with the four strokes.
- me, wouldn't u like to no, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! I've had it for about 7 months and I love it. The guy at the dealership almost talked me into the 85 but I'm very happy that I chose the 125 instead. This bike is super fast and keeps right up with the four-strokes. It was reviewed to be the best 125 ever built! I'm very glad I have one. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a very fast and comfortable bike.
- Brett, East Falmouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike on and off the track. Very reliable and easy to handle. Smooth power throughout the whole rpm range with perfect 2 stroke crisp sound. Can keep up with 250f's with the right rider. Overall, wonderful bike and if you want a great 125 I encourage you to buy this bike you'll love it.
- Jeremy Slack, forest hill, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-20 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike in June 2006 and it's great. I ride it almost every day. It works well in any condition, there is no loss in power in any gear. This bike just blows every bike away. If you're looking to win a lot of races or just screw around, this bike is the one for you. Yamaha bikes have been rated number one for a long time. If you get a bike no matter what size, get a Yamaha.
- Caleb, Brockport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-24 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 125's don't get any better than this bike right here two stroke wise. This bike is awesome all over the track jumps, turns, whoops it all. I won't ever buy a different type of 125's besides a yamaha 125.
- Kyle Riddle, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-05 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in August of 2005 and have put in a fair amount of miles. Overall, I like the bike. The aluminum frame has done wonders for the way the bike feels on long rides. I find myself less tired at the end of the trail than some of the older guys (Randy Rape Sr.). Just kiddin', Dad. The suspension is a little touchy on rough corners but still very predictable once you get used to it. The factory chain stretched extremely fast, and it needed a little carb tweaking to get it dialed in right. It really shines when you roll on the throttle after a corner, which really makes up for the quirky suspension. In the end it's a great bike for someone to win a few races on or just play around on the weekends, but either way Yamaha has stepped up the bar once again with the 2005 YZ 125.
- Randy Rape Jr, Conway, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was worried that this bike would not pull me good because I weigh 200 lbs. Was I in for a surprise after I got it broke in and opened it up good. This bike will pull a power wheelie with me in first, second, and third! I think I got a good deal; it was a new leftover 2005. I recommend this bike to anyone that wants a 2-stroke bike. Oh, and yes, you can lug this bike around a little without the plug fowling out.
- Charles, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-06 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
FAST BIKE---I RECOMMEND YOU GET THIS BIKE!! IT'S A SCREAMER FOR SURE! FASTEST POWER/WEIGHT RATIO IN IT'S CLASS! Transworld Motocross states that the 2005 yamaha yz125 is... "The fastest stock 125cc motocrosser we've ever ridden." Transworld Motocross states that "Brett Metcalfe's easily the fastest guy on a 125 two-stroke in SX.Brett Metcalfe rides a 2005 Yamaha YZ125. DUDE TOTALLY A WICKED BIKE!!!
- Brian Darazs, Hilton Head, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is awsome, I love it. I just moved up from an XR100 and I was way scared with that big of a jump. But it worked out fine.I love the power and the suspension is the best, it's just a great bike. I thought two strokes fouled tons of plugs but this one didn't.
- Trever, someplace, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-29 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is unbeliveable everything about it kicks major butt. A ton of power and the speed that gives you goose bumbs. I'm alittle short but this bike is so light it dosn't matter. I've only had it for 3 days and I tihnk this bike is no less then perfect...well the seats a little hard but thats it. The suspenison is great and it's no wonder it's the best in it's class. I smile everytime I get off and it's a little taller then my old TTR125e but it's still great
- Monte, Chetek, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-16 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fast and has tons of power. It is great on all kinds of terrain from smooth paved roads to jumps on rocky paths. It is deffinetly everything I could have hoped for and beyond!!!
- justin, newark, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike pulls very hard. It is able to rev out in every gear. It is a great bike for competitive racing or just having fun on trails. Because of its small size but ability to beat bigger bikes, I would nickname this bike, "the giant slayer."
- ANDY STEPHENS, MURRIETA, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-10 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so light and nimble. I'm short and light but it was still very easy to ride the bike the only downside to it was it was a gas hog. All around, this is a fantastic bike and all you experts, intermediates, and novices out there should deffinetly consider this bike.
- Ryan Jeskey, Adena, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike, two days ago, and well all I can say is I love it! I was really shocked at the power it has. I'm new with dirtbikes, but I just don't think there could be a better bike. I am a little scared of the power as of right now, but I'm getting a little more comfortable with it everyday. I would recomend this bike, unless you have a faint heart.
- timmy griffin, corpus christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-30 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After my 04'CRF250 was stolen from my locked garage (homeowners insurance did NOT and WILL not cover it - beware). I managed to take advantage of Yamaha's financing deals and bought one of these babies. <br /> Let me say, I've been racing since 1987, on Honda CR 125's, then the RM125's in the 90's...and this thing is the most fun MX bike I've ever owned (even more fun than my 02' CRF450!). <br /> "Formula-One" powered brakes that will eject you over the bars with ONE finger... super snappy and oh so sweet powerband is long and easily stays on the pipe ALL DAY long. It's so light and flickable that I find myself out-braking everyone into the turns, then jumping over and around 'em in the air! Sell your four-stroke and get back to the roots of our sport! Remember the smell of Castor 927 and race gas? Yes, the sweet sweet smell of a 2 stroke. This bike is so much fun!
- Tom, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-05 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rips! It is not for the faint of heart. This bike can keep up with 250F's if you are an experienced 2-Stroke rider. * This bike comes stock with a BR10EG spark plug, and I recommend a BR9EG spark plug. I recommend this plug because the other plug runs cold and cold fouls. Also, when you first start the bike, rev it a couple of times, so carbon won't develop on the plug. Other than that, you can't go wrong with this bike.
- Miles, New Bern, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-25 2005 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the '05 YZ125 and it's so awesome. It's definitely got to be the best in its class. It's got a lot of power and it's super fast. I recommend it to anyone who is going to race a 125. RIDE YAMAHA!!!
- ME, Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: