Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-27 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding Yamahas for the past 10 years, so I'm loyal. Yamaha has been winning Bike of the Year, for many of their models, and I can see why, based on my experience. They have been fast, fun, and reliable. I just sold my '02 YZ250 and bought an '06 of the same model. I've ridden a bunch of different 4 Strokes, and I still love a 2 stroke! They're lighter and couldn't be easier to work on. I've never had any mechanical problems with any of them. The '06 was the second year of the aluminum frame, and the first year of Yamaha's new SSS suspension which has been named by several magazines as The best stock suspension of any bike, and race ready. I love it! It's WAY better than the '02, which wasn't bad.
- SylverBullit, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-15 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first bike at the age of five and rode hand me downs since that age. I had been riding an old 250 up until about 6 months ago when I bought my 07 YZ 250. All I have to say is that it's by far the greatest bike I've ever owned. The quality of the materials along with the ridiculous power makes me smile every time I ride. The only downside to a bike of this caliber, since I do not race, is that it requires the best of everything. Do not buy this bike if you like to cheap out because it is a performance machine. It eats gas too, minor complaint. Other than that, I would tell anyone to buy it.
- DM, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has excellent handling. The power is top notch. Right off from idling to top end, it pulls like a beast. I've had a 94 CR500, and this will definitely pull much more.
- Dave, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a YZ 250 for years, owning a couple Kawasaki's and tons of Honda's and Suzuki's. I finally had to buy this beast when they made it with an aluminum frame. I am so stoked I got this mad machine. I haven't lost 1 race yet, everything from other 2 strokes to 4 strokes. I've beaten 4 wheeler's 3, wheeler's, and snowmobiles on dirt and on ice. I've only had one problem with this bike, that's going through so many tires in a season. I also want to put a baja light on it. They should make it easier to hook up a light system on the 2 strokes. The day only lasts so long.
- Doug, Bristol, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is by far the best 2 stroke 250 out there. My favorite part is the adjustable suspension for my starts and also I like the power it gives out right after a sharp turn. It really hasn't given me problems, like mechanically speaking, but if I take a crash sure something has to be replaced.
- Chad Reed, Dade city, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-02 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike brand new in August and have never had one problem with it. There is tons of low end torque that carry through to a decent mid range. But the top end is awesome on this bike. The only changes you are going to have to make right away is the rebound dampening on the shock and getting an aftermarket chain. You can't go wrong with this bike. It has smoked '05 CRF450s off the line time after time. In my mind it is the best 250 mx bike of all time.
- Mike Brown, Bad Axe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-26 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It seems to me that Yamaha has been making great motocross bikes for ages now; they never seem to make a bad one! Their results speak for themselves. This year's YZ250 is no exception. It has an abundance of power all around. Suspension is nice and plush and the brakes are on par with the Honda's (at last!!!). I've always believed that YZ's are easiest on the eye and I especially like the new silver frame, the gold forks look trick also. All in all this is a great bike whether amateur or pro.
- michael swallow, brighton, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-26 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a YZ250 in December of '03. It is an '04 and I love it. It is very fast for me. It is a reliable bike, the only thing is that they foul a lot of spark plugs when they are new. The only thing that I hate about the bike is the seat! The thing is hard as a rock! But other than that, the bike is good and the right way to go for your money. I haven't had any problems with it yet. This bike is a real blast. Believe me, you will not be disappointed. I also got a works engine so it is mostly built for racing. The suspension holds well for the 65 foot backyard ramps that I jump. So buy this bike and go have a lot of fun for your money!!
- V, ceres, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a new YZ 250 in 2000. Still have it. New YZ450F in 03. And now my new 2005 TZ250. This one is way better than both of them in stock trim. Lighter is better. Easier to ride well. Very good power is spread throughout RPM range. Forks are as good stock as my '00 with Gold valves. This bike will smoke either one in the woods because of the weight difference. At the end of a long day in the saddle, it makes a big difference. The suspension clickers are more sensitive to adjustments on this bike and that's a good thing. Currently I'm at 15 clicks out on fork comp and 14 on rebound. Shock is at 14/14 and works fine, after some more break in I will tweak further. This bike turns well, very nuetral in the turns. The funnest difference between this bike and my other YZs is in the air. It whips around easily and is more sensitive to rider input while airborn. Lighter is better! I like this bike and I can't wait to fill up the tank for the second time. I'm selling my other YZs. I tried the 4 stroke and liked it for tracks and open riding but in the woods it was a chore to ride fast. I'm reconverting to two strokes and couldn't be happier with this choice. Stock Renthal bars are nice. The only thing I will add is a Scott's Steering Dampener.
- Steve, Oakland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2005 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike a few days ago and love it. I have owned other Yamaha dirtbikes and none of them have performed as well as this one on the track or in the hills. It is light and the motor is strong. The forks are the best I have seen, that come stock anyway. The way the front brake is routed is great because it is not out in the open anymore. Yamaha did everything right from the factory this time.
- Steve, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: