Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-20 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike now for about 3 weeks. It hauls out of the corners and gets where it's going real fast. THIS BIKE FLYS! Great on and off the track.
- Andy Nickerson, New Limerick , Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yz250f is the best bike I've had and the best overall value. I just wish it was lighter but besides that it's the best and the fastest. If you're going to get a four stroke, get a Yamaha.
- Grey Taylor, Decatur, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-10 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has the strongest motor in the class (Honda lovers take a seat) hands down, but it definitely takes some getting used to. Especially if coming off a 125. It hits so hard in the middle that I thought that it was a YZ450. That being said it took me a while to figure out how to get this bike to turn I cased a double that I would normally have done on my 125 because I couldn't hit my normal line. The suspension is really good and this is probably the least likely bike in the class to break down.
- richard young, modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-02 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have raced this bike all season and it flat out rips. This bike has unbelievable power off the line. I pulled countless hole shots. The bike's suspension works wonderful. It also handles awesome. I could rail through the corners and felt comfortable the entire time. I had the forks at 12 clicks out from full hard on the compression and the same with the rebound. I had fork oil level at 130mm and used the stock springs. With the shock I had HS compression at 10 clicks from full hard and I also had the LS compression 8 clicks from full hard. I had the rebound 11 clicks from full hard. I used a Renton Titanium spring and what a difference. It resisted bottoming much better with the Renton spring. The only problem I had with the bike was the Titanium valves. If you ride a lot definitely consider stainless valves. The stock titanium ones wore out a little quickly, although they do outperform the stainless ones.
- Todd jacobs, Tamworth, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-04 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this sick bike for about a week now and I can't get enough of it. This bike can haul but there is one setback, though. I had to re-jet mine when I got it because it was failing plugs, a minor worry. For the most part this is a great and reliable bike. {ps... yamahas kicks butt!}
- mike, medford , Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-20 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I moved up from a little honda xr-100. This thing blows it away. When I shift into third it is going faster than my 100 pinned in 5th gear. I really enjoy riding it. I haven't been able to take it out onto a mx track yet, but I am dying to.
- Andy Roberts, Magnolia, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-10 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 05 250f for about 2 months now. I ride fmx and the bike is great. Its the first 4stroke I have ever jumped, I didn't think it would be all the great for jumping but now all my 2strokes sit in the garage. Well most of them. But over all its an awesome bike and powerful as well.
- Rob lewis, mohnton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally bought my first new dirt bike. I ended up getting a great deal (at least I think I did) on an '05 close out. ($4850 brand-new o.t.d) I am pretty much a newbie when it comes to dirt bikes. I had a Warrior 4-wheeler for a few years and have road other people's dirt bikes for about 5 hours total before buying this bike. I understand this bike is advanced for my skills but I figure I'll grow into it. This bike ROCKS! It has a lot of power, much more than I can use now, but it seems to be responsding well to slow riding too. It has been a little difficult to start but I have read that is normal since it is brand new. The seat sucks, but since it is a moto-cross bike you shouldn't be sitting on it much anyway.
- Mike, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-29 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I race motorcross and the bike has never failed me. Just about everything on the bike is good although I would make the seat more comfortable. It also comes with really crappy handlebars which you might as well throw away the day you buy the bike. It is always good for racing and is also good in the trails too.
- Zane Strait, Rutland, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike tops all the other bikes by far. Smooth hard hitting power send you exiting the corners like none other. The suspension is a little stiff but that is because im a lighter person.
- Andrew Campbell, Wind Lake, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-09 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome Bike! I have ridden this bike hard ever since I got it and it is still running like it's brand new. I love the power, it is the fastest 250F by far...
- Robert, Carson City, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-16 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike really rips, just pull back the throttle and hold on. It's a workout just riding this bike, because the whole time you're holding on for dearl ife. Takes hill climbs like their bumps on the trail, handles jumps with ease. Only thing that you may not like on this bike is the seat, it's not the softest, but if you're looking for comfort over performance, get a quad. This is really the best out there, I ride with crf's and kfx's and mine tops them all. You will not be unhappy with this bike.
- Ryan, Export, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-05 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike stock is an awesome bike. I rode a CR 250 that I had decked out exhaust, reed valves, I even had it ported and polished. The 05 YZ 250F smoked that bike stock. So much torque and speed ...ahhhhh... it's the best bike I have ever owned.
- Hunter Fuchs, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-03 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riddin a Honda 250r, but my yz250f is a lot faster and it handles a lot better than the Honda too. I haven't had to rebuild my bike yet but my friend that has the Honda has had to rebuild his 2 times. The yz250f is a lot better bike then the honda 250r.
- ryan white, DC, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-16 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the most scary fast bike I have ever raced. It handles like a dream just put the front end in the burm and torque will bring the rear around real quick!!! The overall weight of this bike is heavy but in a realy good way meaning there is minimal wind effect in the air and it also makes you feel more confident in rutted places. The suspension on this bike is without a doubt the best. It feels like a trail bike over woops (real sure of its self and smooth) but can handle some gnarly hits even from high up. Overall this bike is awesome both in performance and price!!! BUY IT
- David Fletcher, Lompoc, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-15 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike. Power, speed and all the good stuff but I would like more thing for it, and that is a 6 speed transmission. That would make the bike a complete fantasy bike. Oh well...nothing is perfect, but this bike is as close to it as you can get.
- zack maynard, lovely, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-05 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine in '03 the first one out, and I don't know what I can say about this bike, I haven't even rebuilt the motor yet and I've rode it so hard. It can rip it up in the trails, and i'm not much of a racer but it does well at that too. the only complaint I have about it is my forks keep leaking. There is a slight bend in my forks from the factory but that's all we can come up with, so I don't know. but it is the best all around bike you can get.
- chance, big spring, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-29 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new YZ250F has a lot of power and suprisingly a lot more comfort than any other bike. I've had one for a two months now and I haven't ever had to work on it except to change the oil. The suspension is great to jump with and the power is there when you need it. I love my bike.
- Rickie Lawson, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My name's Damon and I'd like to start out by saying, YAMAHA IS THE FRICKEN BEST! I race this bike and I absolutely love it to death. I am a local pro around here and the YZ's are the bikes that have got me to where I am today. The 250f is such a reliable bike it's unbelievable. The power is MASSIVE, and the new suspension kicks butt! The only thing that I wish Yamaha would have put on this bike is an aluminum frame to cut down on some weight other than that you can't get anything better! What?! you're still here you should be out buying one by now, don't ya think?
- Damon Duckworth, Mt.Morris, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-12 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an '01 YZ250f and it was stronger and faster than my friend's '04 CRF250. I just bought the '05 YZ250f and now the wait is even longer. This bike is a rocket. Easy to start, powerful, great shocks and cheaper than a Honda... not to mention that it will go longer between maintenance intervals. A must have!
- J. M, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a major improvement over the '01 250f. It's lighter, faster and the suspension is WAY better. It handles like a 2 stroke, and has the power of a four stroke. This is a great bike for anyone who can handle the power. It has great top and bottom end and the new twin chamber forks are a great set up for any rider around 175 pounds.
- Turbo Gerwin, Bowling Green, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-24 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first thought of this bike was power. The bike is one more crazy bike that Yamaha has made. It's a little heavy for jumps but the 48mm YZ suspension and the speed of this bike can really make you fly. And it's easy to start thanks to the Digital CDI. Speed, reliability and the power of this bike makes it fun to ride enjoy.
- Scott Leitao, Bradford, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-17 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went out to Mojave and this bike is comfortable and also very reliable. One thing I liked about having a four stroke is that it idles. On my cr 80 you would have to constantly give it gas to keep the rpms up. The only downside is I'm not used to going off jumps with this bike but overall I would recommend this bike. It's a great bike with a lot of power when you really need it.
- john sesto, torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-12 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd like to start out by saying this is a great bike. I have had it for almost a year and it is extremely powerful. I started with an xr100 and that is nothing compared to this bike. It has a great back end power. When coming out of turns it literally gets back to the speed before the turn immediately. The fist time I took it to the track it was amazing. I have never felt that much power with a 250cc four stroke.
- brendan, lake matthews, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2005 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a great starter bike but also has the power that a pro rider could use. Getting off a 125 on to the 250F was easier than I thought and it has the power whenever I need it.
- Kyle Walley, Richton, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: