Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (21)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-09-13 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Runs great! Ratio needs to be changed to 30 : 1. The reason for the comfort 4 was rear shock needs to be lowered just a little bit. Besides that, no other bike can even come close except the ktm. But I still beat it. Needs new pipe because it has slow bottom end power. Fastest 85 ever.
- golfdoggy, lubbock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-05 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my yz 85 and I was like wow what a powerful bike!!. I had driven my friends kx85 and after driving the yz85 I was disapointed in the kx85. The only reason that I gave the comfort a four was because when you hit the powerband on the bike it is so fast that it is hard to hold on and when you are going hard on the track moving forward and back from good brakes and incredible accelleration it gets uncomfortable from the power. Overall it is one of the best if not the best 85 motocrosser. The only thing near as good as it is the ktm 85.
- Joey Ferraro, Kitchener

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-06 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a PW80 before this and I love this 85 a hundred thousand times better!!! I love my 85! Thanks, Yamaha! The suspension is great, the power band is sick! It's not too big and it's not too small; it's perfect!!!
- kc mclanahan, conowingo, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is crazy!It hsa great suspension and power. If you are experiensed with 2-strokes, this bike is for you. It's great for trails, tracks or just open desert. Amazingly FAST!!! BEST BIKE EVER!!!
- Brent, Teachapi, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-30 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We looked very hard at all the manufacturers and their models available out there, because we wanted to reward our son for a great job in school. Therefore, we decided to purchase a 2005 yz85. As a formal racer, I feel that Yamaha has always been a good manufacturer of two-wheel equipment and have always done right by me. In addition, we wanted to give him a good platform for him to start. WELL, boys let me tell you, he is now running up front in 95% of his races, and the bike has performed flawlessly all year long. I have done some minor modifications like a pipe, reeds, gearing and some suspension tuning. In addition, the kid is kicking butt and taking NO names. CAG
- CAG, Spring Hill, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most insane bike ever. Pops wheelies on command. This is not a beginner bike. This is my third bike I went from a ttr90 to a klx110 to this. I love and ride my baby every day!!!!!!!!!
- kota gries, parma, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike so much. I will never pick another brand no matter what. I love my bike so much!! I mostly trail ride and it performs great. The engine the suspension, the whole bike is race ready right out of the showroom floor. But the bottom end isn't that great. I recomend a new pipe and somtimes in the cold the spark plug fouls for some reason.
- mikey , the wak, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-10 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode a KX85, CR85, and a RM85 and no bikes even compare to the YZ85. The only bike that trails behind it is the CR85. I liked everything on the YZ , and the powerband kicks some serious bootay! It has a little bit of over rev. But when warming this beast up from being cold you can't rev high AT ALL! You must let it warm up for at least three minutes. If you don't, you'll just foul plugs every 15 seconds. But overall the bike is fast and durable.
- P.H.A., foresthill, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had this bike for roughly a week. It has really knocked my socks off at times. The first time I got it out on the local track the top end was awesome. Nothing compared to my old XR100. The power and supension is great to. I was jumping 20-40 doubles, triples and tables my third time around. Just don't hit it to hard in the corners or it with come right out from under you.
- trueblue, Glenwood Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-14 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. It's awesume out of the holeshot and has a lot of power out of the corners...although I did put a pipe on it, and if you let it idle for more than like 40 seconds it will load up...but its purely amazing overall!!!! I deffinetly recomend it to all of you riders out there.
- Danny , ptbo, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-10 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is based on more experinced riders. After a while you learn where the powerband is and you are up there with the big boys. Although I learned out in a hurry these bikes dont swim. (water hole got me) hints the new piston at the upgrades!?!?!?!
- Ben, lancaster, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-23 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. My friend rides a TTR and it's like a playbike compared to this. This bike is fast, powerful, and overall the best 85 around. I ride trails, sand pits, and mud and this bike is awesome. It can be difficult on some trails, but it's overall easy. My only dislike is it lacks some bottom end power, but not too bad.
- jeff, harissville, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-15 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the new YZ 85. I raced my cousin's 250F and beat it by about 2 dirtbike lengths. It is very fast and powerful. I run it stock. Just to remind you, you have to have 2 stroke knoweledge to ride this. Also the spark plug fouls easy. I recommend an FMF pipe.
- Scott File, Mt.Olive, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has plenty of power throughout the whole power band. Plenty of traction. Great stock suspension. Great mid-range to top end. The ride height is perfect for people 5 foot and up. Great for racing or just riding in the back yard. Stock piston lasts a really long peroid of time.
- Aaron McKinley, Winamac, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-26 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike not knowing what to expect. I used to have a TTR-90, but then I bought the YZ85. This bike is extremely powerful. Against a 1996 YZ 250 I screamed right passed him. The first time my Dad rode it, he tried popping a wheelie and fell off. I don't recommend running it at the manufacturer's 32:1 ratio as it fouls too much. Try 38:1 or 40:1 it runs much better, at least for me.
- Ryan Briggs, San Bernardino, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-07 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My YZ85 has really good performance and speed. It accelerates really fast and jumps good. It has really good gripping to the ground. Thanks Yamaha for the awesome YZ85!
- CHRIS DOUGLAS, RAY, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-14 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insane. I have had a YZ85 for about a year now, and it is awesome. The power is definitely smooth, and fast. Easy to pull over jumps, and being as light as I am the suspension is just smooth. I never notice that I am landing until I have been on the ground for about 10 feet. It is awesome out of turns with great smooth acceleration. I can easily beat any 125, 250f intermediate skill level rider with no problem. But this bike is not for lil' kids who just came into this sport. If you end up riding this you will end up on your butt. It is highly recommended for the advanced rider.
- Zac Clyde , Purcellville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever had. It goes about 60-70 depends on how heavy you are. It is not a good bike for learners unless you have some experience on a two stroke before. This was my 4th Bike I went from a ttr90 to ttr125 then to yz 80 now this bike. I would be careful on it because it will hit wheelies any time so watch out for that. The suspension isn't so great but a lot of torque on the bottom end once you hit that power band there ain't no slowing that buddy down.
- jeffrey, nevada, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-03 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a really fast bike. Stock it will go around 60-70 depending on rider weight. It is a pure race bike out of the box so be careful. I have pulled 3rd gear and 4th gear wheelies. It comes on strong in the mid range and pulls with a rush to the top because it has no powervalve. Sizing up the sprocket will help tame the beast it will throw you on your back if you're not careful. Not the easist to ride but its great. It has awesome suspension. The fmf sst pipe will help a lot. Anything you can do to get low end and help get rid of that power kick. It is like turbo mode when you hit powerband. I recommend it for intermediate-expert riders and not for a first bike.
- nick, san jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is crazy! I love it already and I only got it 2 days ago. It is so fast it is unbelievable. It just doesn't have the best bottom end so I recommend a new pipe. Also the stock spark plug fouls easily. It is a great bike but make sure you have two stroke experience.
- mikey, the wak, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-06 2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fast. I just got it and I already mastered it. I will recommend it to someone who has some experience with a 2-stroke because if you don't know what you're doing, it will soon have you off the back. I am 14 years old and this is my second dirtbike. I went from a PW 80 to a YZ85. This bike goes between 90 and 100 mph. You can wheelie it in gear so watch out, and don't burn your clutch out.
- kevin makell jr, capitol heights md, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: