Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motocross Bikes

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

golfdoggy

lubbock, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike. Runs great! Ratio needs to be changed to 30 : 1. The reason for the comfort 4 was rear shock needs to be lowered just a little bit. Besides that, no other bike can even come close except the ktm. But I still beat it. Needs new pipe because it has slow bottom end power. Fastest 85 ever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joey Ferraro

Kitchener

Reviewed on 2006-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my yz 85 and I was like wow what a powerful bike!!. I had driven my friends kx85 and after driving the yz85 I was disapointed in the kx85. The only reason that I gave the comfort a four was because when you hit the powerband on the bike it is so fast that it is hard to hold on and when you are going hard on the track moving forward and back from good brakes and incredible accelleration it gets uncomfortable from the power. Overall it is one of the best if not the best 85 motocrosser. The only thing near as good as it is the ktm 85.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kc mclanahan

conowingo, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-04-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a PW80 before this and I love this 85 a hundred thousand times better!!! I love my 85! Thanks, Yamaha! The suspension is great, the power band is sick! It's not too big and it's not too small; it's perfect!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brent

Teachapi, California

Reviewed on 2005-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is crazy!It hsa great suspension and power. If you are experiensed with 2-strokes, this bike is for you. It's great for trails, tracks or just open desert. Amazingly FAST!!! BEST BIKE EVER!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CAG

Spring Hill, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
We looked very hard at all the manufacturers and their models available out there, because we wanted to reward our son for a great job in school. Therefore, we decided to purchase a 2005 yz85. As a formal racer, I feel that Yamaha has always been a good manufacturer of two-wheel equipment and have always done right by me. In addition, we wanted to give him a good platform for him to start. WELL, boys let me tell you, he is now running up front in 95% of his races, and the bike has performed flawlessly all year long. I have done some minor modifications like a pipe, reeds, gearing and some suspension tuning. In addition, the kid is kicking butt and taking NO names. CAG
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kota gries

parma, Idaho

Reviewed on 2005-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the most insane bike ever. Pops wheelies on command. This is not a beginner bike. This is my third bike I went from a ttr90 to a klx110 to this. I love and ride my baby every day!!!!!!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mikey

the wak, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2005-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike so much. I will never pick another brand no matter what. I love my bike so much!! I mostly trail ride and it performs great. The engine the suspension, the whole bike is race ready right out of the showroom floor. But the bottom end isn't that great. I recomend a new pipe and somtimes in the cold the spark plug fouls for some reason.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P.H.A.

foresthill, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I rode a KX85, CR85, and a RM85 and no bikes even compare to the YZ85. The only bike that trails behind it is the CR85. I liked everything on the YZ , and the powerband kicks some serious bootay! It has a little bit of over rev. But when warming this beast up from being cold you can't rev high AT ALL! You must let it warm up for at least three minutes. If you don't, you'll just foul plugs every 15 seconds. But overall the bike is fast and durable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

trueblue

Glenwood Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2005-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had this bike for roughly a week. It has really knocked my socks off at times. The first time I got it out on the local track the top end was awesome. Nothing compared to my old XR100. The power and supension is great to. I was jumping 20-40 doubles, triples and tables my third time around. Just don't hit it to hard in the corners or it with come right out from under you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny

ptbo, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha YZ85

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is amazing. It's awesume out of the holeshot and has a lot of power out of the corners...although I did put a pipe on it, and if you let it idle for more than like 40 seconds it will load up...but its purely amazing overall!!!! I deffinetly recomend it to all of you riders out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: