Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-12-23 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and for a fist time girl rider this is awesome! I have ridden on back for years and it was time for me to be in control. I almost bought the gsxr 600 but fell in love with the Yamaha.
- Dawn, Oldsmar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 YZF600R. I have had it for 2 years now and I could not ask for a better bike. I have just put in 4600.00 in accessories. It got new paint, air brush design. I got rid of all the stock stuff. Yes, I am a female and it is the hottest bike where I live in Newport, Maine. Need some help with yours? Just email me.
- Jana Hastey, Newport, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a few sportbikes, but the Yamaha YZF 600R is by far the best of them out there!! This is my first motorcycle and I have found that it is very user and beginner friendly. As my experience increases, so does the level of enjoyment that this bike provides. This bike is very fast and very fun!! Enjoy!!
- Marcus Haynes, Ozark, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 600r is an amazing machine. I've ridden R6's, GSXR600's, and even the Kawi 636R and when it comes to power, comfort, and durability for the 600 class, I feel that none compare. I highly recommend this motorcycle as a beginner bike and even for the more advanced rider. This machine is extremely fun for the young and old rider alike.
- Chris I., Savannah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great bike for the money. All the add ons I've done really makes this bike wake up. I'm very pleased with it. All my friends and family I ride with can't believe what this bike can do now. Let's just say anybody with a GSXR 750 doesn't have anything on this bike. I thought that when I did the mods, it would give me a 5- 10% in power but it pulls hard like my cousins Suzuki 750 does. I've rode lots of bikes and I can say that the comfort this bike has is the best I've rdiden. That is the only reason I bought it. When looking at the R6 and R1s and even some Kawasaki's, the comfort wasn't there. Note to those that are looking to buy a bike and never rode before - Get a bike that fits you and your riding skill. don't get a bike b/c it has a lot of cc. Bikes are unpredictable so respect them. RIDE SAFE so you can ride another day.
- Brandon Ellevan, ParkForest, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a year and the bike has no problem keeping up with any bike built to be lighter and faster. It is the best for comfort and long rides. I had it jetted and it's even more powerful.
- Rocky Rod, catonsville , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 Yzf600r with just over 4500 miles on it. This bike has given me everything I have asked of it, and will keep up with any of my friends sportbikes. In one day I have riden my YZF from Columbia Maryland to Ocean City then to Dover Delaware. A total of about 5 1/2 hours of riding in 7 hours. When I was done I had not one ache. This bike is aggressive as you want it to be, but you can also ride it long distances with out killing your body. I love my bike, and plan on keeping it for a long time to come.
- Chris Kelly, Columbia, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Inside every YZF600, there's an R6 dying to get out... the only thing that's holding it from coming out is cost. I've owned my bike for one year now, and every day I get better and better on my skills because this bike is so easy to ride and still look cool with. I'm not saying that I will never up grade to an R6, but for now, this is the best beginners bike in the 600cc range that anyone - male, female, short, tall - can enjoy and be comfortable with.
- v k, Glendale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-22 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, I thought of buying an R6, however I wasn't able to get it because the price was just too high (for me) and since I was financing it, it would have come to like 16-17 grand on 6 years....so I talked to "RALPH" and we went to check out the YZF600R, at first glance, it looked nice, nice stock bike, with racing look, and based on what he told me, the performance was a killer.. Turns out after I got it, I had no idea how to drive one, so I just took it 2 times around my complex (total=1 mile) and got the hang of it, << <pretty good hu?>>> well anyway, it was pretty simple, however I rode it inside the neighboorhood for like 45 minutes, untill I got comfortable with it...really easy bike to drive. Now that I have had it for 3 months, it has been a good 3000+ miles so far, I've been to bike mets with some friends, and even done "THE RIDE" for all of you people who know what we do in this event (if you wanna know, e-mail me). GREAT STARTER BIKE! -DREY
- Andres Castaneda, Deerfield Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-29 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok this bike looks cooler, looks lighter and is over a grand cheaper. It can also ride and almost has the top speed of the other top 600's. This bike won't kill your rear end after an hour ride and still has all the power you need. Love this bike.
- mike bayliss, lorton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tried out the cbr600rr and didn't like the fact of how much you have to lean on it aswell as the gixxer600. Then sat on the yzf600r and loved the comfort of it! Great all around bike whether you're riding with other rockets or just out for a sunday cruise! This bike will keep up with the cbr600rr or the gsx600 without a doubt!
- Kirkpatrick, Fredricksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Yamaha YZF600R on the 30th of June, '05 and have already put 1,000 miles on it! This is my first sportbike and I bought this model because of it's more comfortable features (wider, longer &#038; more padded seat, more upright handle bars, and taller windscreen to mention the main features). don't think for a second that this isn't a true sport bike however, because it's 599cc, inline four cylinder, 16 valve, DOHC, water cooled engine will get you from 0-60 mph in around 3.7 sec.! This bike has power out the wazoo! I chose this bike over its sister bike (the R-6) because in all seriousness, I'm not buying this bike to put on the track, I'm buying it to ride on the road, so why buy a track ready bike with a licence plate for $1,300 more (2005 MSRP comparison) and not be comfortable on longer rides? It only make sense for me to make this purchase. If your looking for a fun, reliable, quick and sporty bike, look no further!
- Rich Rod, Charlottesville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-26 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this little beast for almost 2 months now, after broken in for 600 hundred miles we added some aftermarket parts on it and I am so impressed with this bike, not bad at all.. I did smoke some top of the line 600's..
- joel labrador, bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a yzf600r to save money over an r6 and I love it. Even though a r6 looks better, this bike still turns heads in blue. I already have 17,000 miles on it and i bought it not long ago. It is so comfortable to ride. I go on long trips 1-2 times a week. My only problem is I owe alot more than its worth because of the miles. But a great overall buy!!!
- JJ, gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-02 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks good and sounds good, but it could be a little more snappy. It doesn't really take off until around 5 grand but when it hits 5 grand it is gone! This is the perfect bike for me. I love my bike, it hangs with the best of them.
- Junior Nichols, Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-30 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a used YZF600R 3 days ago. This is my first bike and it is easy to learn on. This bike has the sport fairings with the comfort of a touring bike. It's a bit sluggish at lower gears so riding in traffic is a challenge for me. On the highway is where it shines. This bike has a lot of mid range power. I'm excited to learn and progress with my riding skills on this bike. I'll give you an update in a couple of months.
- Joe, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! Good for beginners and veterans looking for more comfort without losing performance. Corners great once new rubber is put on (stock tires suck). I have no trouble keeping up with my buddies on "faster bikes".
- anonomous, 1, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-21 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would have to recommend this bike for a beginner is nice. Slightly lacks power but still almost keeps up with my friend's cbr f4. The handling is AMAZING; however the breaks are slightly over rated (I feel they could have done a better job). All in all 4 stars from me. I wanted a slower bike (Down graded from my 2000 cbr 929rr) and that's what I got. However, what I lost in speed I have more than made up for with this bikes aggressive handling!
- Anonymus, Palmetto, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-19 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first streetbike and has proven to be very rideable. The throttle isn't too touchy, but it has great power if you need it. I absolutely love the bike in every way, well almost. I only have 3 minor complaints: 1)It could use a clock. <br />2)The mirrors are adequate, but could provide a little better vision. <br />3)An awesome starter bike, but once I get better at riding, I'll want to add some go-fast goodies and it seems that the aftermarket overlooks this bike for the more capable R6 (rightly so, I guess). All around, this bike is very comfortable and easy to ride. After reading some reviews and speaking with others, I would say that this is arguably the best beginnner sportbike on the market.
- Eduardo Padilla, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-28 2005 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my very first bike and I couldn't be happier. This bike is definitely heavier than my roommate's GSX-R600, but my YZF still keeps up and then some. This bike was definitely very easy to learn how to ride on and I would definitely recommend this bike for beginners like me.
- Jeffrey Adamson, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: