Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-05-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my old bike and just wanted to let everyone know that it has been very well taken care of. The full Arata sounds great and the GP style shifting coupled with the speed shifter is the best thing ever.
- Kevin Hornocker, Corydon, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a previous Honda RR 600 owner and have stepped up to a Yamaha R1. OMG! First of all, the seat is way more comfortable than the honda. The power is crazy. The bike just seems to want to go faster and harder. I love it and I am pretty confident in its abilities. You will be very satisfied with this bike as I am. I also am the owner of the exact bike in the picture. Enjoy and keep the wheel side down.
- Jay D., Jamaica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-28 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a number of bike's (Super Sport Bikes), not to name any other companies. But Umm lets just say I owned at least one bike, from each of the 4 major Japanese companies. This bike is the maddest bike I owned so far. I got it about a month ago so I haven't really opened it, don't plan on it either but, damm it's SOOOO tempting. But on the other hand just having the R1 you get so much RESPECT, to where you don't have to open it, or even race any other bike on the street. I know that stands for San Jose CA... Seriously; the R1 is a bit uncomfortable in the groin section but, I'll trade that for the superior handling and braking, because that's choice. There's no power lag with a passenger. The R1 is built from a long line of legends, need I say more???
- Top, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a couple months ago and have ridden it hard. The handling is very good, the suspension needed a little tweaking to get it right for my weight, but very nice overall. Comfort is another story; we ride long distances, (I know this isn't a cruiser) but you will never pull a wheelie at 80 on a cruiser. As for power, it will impress even the 14 or Busa owners, just go to the dragstrip and you'll see. I think this is one of the nicest bikes I have owned in a while. So if you are looking at this bike for a new ride go and try one. I believe you will like it. Just remember to keep your sense about you or the next thing you'll remember is the hospital room you're in.
- Tom Katz, Loudon, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-15 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third motorcycle, my second Yamaha, and my first liter bike. I love this bike. I'm happy I started with a 600 before jumping to this beast; it gave me a lot more respect for what this bike can do. I debated a Gixxer1000, but went with the R1, it just plain looked better. I definitely made the right choice. This bike handles well, looks great, and has the strongest engine I've ever felt. I'm definitely a Yamaha owner for life.
- kaylasdad2004, Manassas, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have a few gripes about this bike. One being the throttle position sensor (TPS) and it's malfunctions. The bike dies occasionally, usually at a stoplight/stop sign, but the problem is soon fixed by just turning the key off and on again. Performance wise, I love it. I've had this bike completely wound out time and time again. I love it. It feels more stable at 185mph (speedo reading) than my V-Star does at 100mph less...on closed courses of course. I would never ride on public roads that fast. Comfort is pretty good. It leaves a little to be desired, but what sport bike doesn't, right? I find it to get a little hot down low near the legs when you are in the city, if traffic is slow. The under the seat exhaust can get a little hot, but when riding at night, it's a welcome side effect to the exhaust design.
- Angry Irish J, Goleta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-28 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just about any new bike evokes the "wow" reaction in its owner at first, but after a year of riding this thing I still can't get past it. Honda's supposed to be the fit and finish king, but this thing's build quality and fit & finish seem better than any Honda I've owned. I've ridden all of the '05 R1's class competitors; I'd give 2nd place to the Suzuki GSX-R1000, but nothing I've ridden this year or in any of my previous 18 years of riding really feels as balanced as this year's R1. This is a very refined package worthy of any engineer's deepest respect---and most people agree that it's also the best-looking thing going for now. Yamaha likes to gamble boldly with styling, and so far it seems to be paying off for them. Yamaha has come a long, long way in the last two decades. If you're after the perfect blend of refinement and fun-factor, the R1 deserves serious consideration.
- Anonymous, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-27 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was at the dealer, I tried to shop for the Hayabusa. A salesperson then told me that there wasn't one anymore. So I just meandered around the place, looking at the dealer's other bikes simply because I was already there. Then, a red 2005 R1 caught my attention. It did that because for a middle-aged man, the R1 was stunningly refined. It wasn't a bike that had gaudy application of paint schemes. Plus, after asking permission to sit on it, I surprisingly found that it fit me well. After days passed of letting my emotions settle, I then came to a comfortable decision of buying one. 548 miles later, I'm more than happy with the R1's performance. Move the throttle just a few millimeters and you'll feel a surge of power. Even at the gentle pace of break-in, that power is very exciting. And it's smooth to haul down those 188 horsepower (Yamaha's claim the brakes are equally high performing. In fact, it's the best brakes I've ever experienced out of any vehicle, whether it is a motorcycle or automobile. The R1 is also reasonably comfortable for a bike that sits you in a racing tuck. And it gives all that performance while giving an overall 43.11 miles per gallon (548 miles / 12.711 gallons). My only complaint: There's no gas gauge. So instead of taking chances by waiting for the low-fuel warning light to come on, it's best to do some number crunching. It sure beats being ill prepared and becoming a pedestrian. Overall, the R1 is one of the better-unexpected finds of my life.
- George Oboza, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is quite possibly the best R1 ever and keeps getting better. I have also owned the 2003 GSXR 1000 and the motor is more powerful on the Suzuki but it did not have the looks of the new R1. This is my 3rd R1 throughout the years, and the looks on this are the best yet with the underseat exhaust. The exhaust does get warm around the legs if you are in traffic but it is tolerable. Great ONE PERSON bike. If your lady wants to ride on this to the beach she will feel like she is sitting on a wood plank after 50 miles. It has a good motor and refined handling. The R1 was great when it first came out and this one is the best yet.
- Scott, East Bay, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-20 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the bike, it rides amazing. I formally had a CBRf4i 600, now I feel the power! This bike will look good for many years. The body shape and styling is like riding a Stealth Fighter, I can't stop looking at it. The ride is smooth and it gets in gear smooth as a babies bottom. It gets kinda warm around the legs while stopped, but I try to keep it moving, if you know what I mean. Over all I think this is the begining of a beautiful friendship.
- Jose, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-01 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is unreal! It is very responsive... A wheely machine if you want it to be. It feels like my old 600 weight-wise until you get on the gas! People warned me before I bought it but man, I am impressed!
- Scott, Wilmington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-16 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha has created a perfect blend between race and street riding. The 05 R1 is as fast as it is fun. The bike feels stable at any speed, it turns on a dime, and it is a wheelie moster. Hands down the best litre bike in its class.
- Eric, Seaside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a beautiful machine. It looks good standing still as well as at 150 MPH!!!The ride on this thing is awesome. All you need to do is THINK of turning or Swerving, and the bike is RIGHT there... I did have a problem with the seat getting hot. But, that was taken care of easily. I bought a flexible heat shield, similar to the ones they use on the exhaust shield. It works great! I have not done any engine mods yet, but they are in the works. Have fun and GO RIDE!!!
- Kenpo3d, PHILADELPHIA, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-12 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lets get what you are looking for out of the way. 4000 miles, no problems, bike runs perfect..now to the nitty gritty! I want to give you guys a "recipe" for dominating busas and 12s! 1. Get 1 04/05 R1 2. break it in properly 3. add 16 front 47 rear 520 conversion kit 4. velocity stacks 5. K&N filter (or similar) 6. run semi/sinthetic oil (motorcycle) 7. GYTR Pipes 8. Power comander (optional) 9. a few ounces of super wet coolant 10. Gut that nasty converter or by replacement pipe 11. find 1 unsuspecting busa owner and ZX12 owner. And if you really want to show off then 12. Get you 1 gallon of race fuel with 3 gallon of 93 octane You will be kicking butt! I promise! I LIKE THIS BIKE! Go get them Tiger!
- Velfon Flowers, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I myself sell motorcycles and had a choice of the Honda CBR1000, Suzuki GSXR1000 or the YZF R1. My last two bike were a 1998 GSXR750 and then a 2001 GSXR1000. I have been riding for about 18 years. This is my first Yamaha. Amazing. The balance is incredible. It does have a tall first gear but once in the powerband, it is fast. It does not have the brute grunt of the Suzuki but is more refined. I will be adding the Titanium Terminigo exhaust, velocity stackes, power commander, Ohlins steering dampner(Yamahas are a bit twitchy) ang GYTR air filter. Recommend replacing stock Dunlop218's with Michellin Pilot Powers. On a side note, it does put out a lot of heat by lower legs.
- Derek, Rocklin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only had the bike for three days but so far it's an absolute dream. I coming from a 2000 CBR 929, a great bike in it's own way but not on the same planet as the R1. The power delivery is so smooth on this bike,and the handling is first class. The only two minor complaints I have are the lack of low end pull and the hot seat. I'm sure with some modifications I can learn to live with both, great bike!
- Drew Bales, Overland Park, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Understand the R1 can get with any other bike in its class but you have to understand what the bike is ment to do. R1 for 05 is more controlable, it's made to make the bike feel smaller and more comfortable. Once you acheive high speeds, control is no problem. Think about it. It does 105 in 1st by its self. that's crazy. If you don't be one with the bike, then you can't push it to its limit. I've done several things that puts my bike where I need it. Up front!
- stan, st. louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-01 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike after going on R&R from Iraq so I had to get used to it quick in order to enjoy it.Reliability: I'm a yamaha man I had a 01 r1 and it never failed so neither has the 3 05 no choke control on this one very digital. Performance: outstanding though some writers claim no kick on the low I think theres enough. I used graves exhaust and dyno jet power commander, graves velocity stacks and race air filt this put my true horses over the 05 gixer. and the dip at 7k rpm is gone steady flow up the chart. It's very powerful and pleasing to the speed demons. I recommend the current mods to make up for what your missing. Everything on this bike is great. So reward your hardworking-self and buy one of these babies!!
- stan d, st. louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-23 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is awesome it goes super fast. The power and the body are awesome. My top speed on this bike is 269.6 km/h and my next race is in India on 29 june so check out you guys on gct tv live. I will be riding Yamaha yzf r1. name: chris dobhal bike no: 4 I am an automobile engeener, so I have done some tunning. (check out later)
- chris dobhal, bangalore, India

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
NEVER RIDDEN ANYTHING LIKE IT, AND I HAVE BEEN ON SOME SWEET BIKES. GOOD POWER ALL THROUGH THE GEARS TOP END AND LOW END ARE JUST UNREAL, A LITTLE THROTTLE AND THE FRONT END COMES RIGHT UP, YOU JUST NEED TO KNOW HOW TO RIDE. JUST AN AMAZING PIECE OF ENGINEERING.
- c beck, norco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-06 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one hreat bike! Basically a race bike that is street legal. I got the GYT-R stage 1 upgrade(full titanium/carbon fiber exhaust, ECU remapping, intake funnels and high flow race filter) and this baby is right at 191hp/84ft.lb torque. Whoa!!! Better hold on and better be pointed in the direction you want to go. Aside from the monster motor everyone knows about, this bike has razor sharp handling(I had a CBR600RR before this and it doesn't handle as well at all), very comfortable riding position and KILLER brakes... which is extremely important with this kind of power. Fit & Finish are top notch and styling is superb!!! Love the headlamp styling- very aggressive. Can't go wrong with this beauty! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
- Dan, Wernersville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-20 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Starting off, this bike has really changed in the past few years. I do happen to be a young rider(16), but not an inexperienced one. The '05 has not changed much from the '04, and has really great features. The engine has been completely rebuilt to be lighter, faster, and more controllable than the '03. There is a whole lot of top end, but the low end has been sacrificed quite drastically. The '03 and earlier really had lots of bottom end grunt that is missing in this year's model. The front end is harder to get up, and has to be gunned in the top end to really achieve this. The brakes are very responsive and really do stop hard. Much better than other models I have ridden. It really is very flickable though for a liter bike, and drives a lot like a smaller bike. Just because the bottom end is gone, doesn't mean this bike ain't fast. It will really move, and if you are stupid, will send you to the E.R. in a heartbeat. The looks on this bike are amazing, and Yamaha has really done their work. The riding position is very comfortable compared to a GSXR or a Ninja, and really makes you feel in control of the bike. New swingarm really makes a difference, and it handles as if on rails in a corner. Bike looks like it's made with quality parts, and is a great ride. I would not recommend this bike for two kinds of people:<br /> <ol> <li>People with egos that are larger than rider skill. <li>People who have never been on anything with any type of power. Overall, a great bike, and really has the looks that other bikes lack. The engine can get very warm though at stop lights, and your passenger seat compartment will get pretty toasty too thanks to that undertail exhaust. Nontheless though, I would recommend this bike to others, and I really don't think the other liter bikes are quite up to par with the R1.
- Matt, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a prior owner of a 99, 02 R1, there's one thing that stands out the most on this one, It's very user friendly down low in the power band. First gear is so tall that you can do 100 mph in first gear. Takes me some time getting used to and I'm still bogging the engine with I take off from the red light. I would prefer the same gear ratio on the 02. I do understand why it was changed though. With so much power, it probably would be easy to ride except for the very experienced riders. I'm changing my front sprocket to a 16 tooth. The next thing comes to mind is the comfort. The riding position is not as aggressive as the past models. The power is there but you have to wring its neck to get it way up over 10k RPM. On the older bike I could whack the throttle at 4 or 5 grand to lift the front wheel with ease. With this one, I have to wait until around 8k to do the same. Therefore, a full system is in order.
- Velton Flowers, Dallas, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my first R1, I had an FZ1. The power and handling is incredible! The comfort level is not so good but I am coming from an FZ1 which I think is the best all around bike. I have just over 400 miles in almost a week and every time I ride it I like it more and more. I am very happy with the R1!
- Mike, Mankato, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-05 2005 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I fell in love with the bike from pictures alone. I put a down payment in September, got it only in January (the Raven) due to whatever reason dealers did not have one. I am telling you it is worth the wait. I just have to have this bike. I will not elaborate much on looks, 'cause... well go check it out &#038; I need not say more. Performance is awesome. Everything the ad says - goes. Its power is really intimidating at first, so much power for a bike. After a couple of hundred miles, I got the hang of it and it is still aggressively good. The steering is so smooth and - call it blasphemy, but - it outshines the R6 which held the crown for years. If this is a woman, I'd marry it - without any pre-nups either.
- The Edge, Gardena, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: