Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-03-11 2006 Ducati Monster S2R 1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2006 S2R 1000 Monster in August 2007. I had not owned a bike in 32 years and was wanting a new Triumph Bonneville since I had owned a 1974 Triumph Trident (3 cylinder). The guy I worked with told me to trot on over to the Ducati dealer before I made a decision on what to buy. I fell in love with not only the looks (white wheels, red body), but the test drive sold me in a heartbeat. Nearly two years later, I still enjoy riding the bike and look forward to using it more often this year. Handling is pure Ducati; stable in turns and high winds, and a joy to do the winding roads. I have no problems recommending the S2R 1000 Monster to anyone. The bike is as clean as the day I purchased it (white wheels and all).
- Robert Watson, Batavia , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-22 2006 Ducati SportClassic Sport1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is another head turner from Ducati. Nothing is typical in Ducati's product line, but the Sport 1000 which sells a very small portion of USA sales is a rare find on the road. It's like having a muscle car from the 60s or 70s. It is not a Superbike by any means, but it's more than the average rider could possibly handle or need. It is classy and elegant! Of course that famous twin cylinder music which is delivered from a Ducati exhaust is like no other! 150 mph! And 45 mpg! Not bad, and all at a reasonable price point.
- marc ellison, palatine, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-16 2006 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a BMW R1200C Euro. Great Bike! We have a BMW Ducati Vespa dealer here in Ok. City. I noticed the Ducati Multistras both 1000DS and the 620. I looked at them every time I stopped by there for a break from riding (it is that kind of dealership). Anyway they asked if I wanted to test drive the 620 MTS of course I said yes. When I first started off I noticed how light and agile it was. A fantastic ride, surprisingly quick for an air cooled 2 valve 618cc motor. It was so comfortable. I became a Ducati fan immediately. I have been surprised at the reliability, quality and fuel mileage (50-55mpg) and even though I am 55, I don't ride it like most people my age ride. It is a blast to ride, especially in the twisties.
- Jan Sullins, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2006 Ducati SportClassic PaulSmart 1000LE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is exciting! Runs great and handles excellent. The most beautiful bike of 2006. My only complaint is the bars are way low, a mile away and not much you can do about it. Perfect for over 100+ mph. Stinks at legal speeds and don't even mention traffic jams. It lives for fast sweeper roads. Worth having just to look at and will definitely get your blood flowing especially wih open Termis.
- Desmo, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-11 2006 Ducati Superbike 749 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I have the 2006 model in black. I'm at a loss of what to say about the bike that hasn't already been said, so I'll tell you about a couple of my experiences so far owning and riding it. I usually get at least 1 of 3 questions every time I stop somewhere to hang out while out riding..1) How much was it? 2) How fast is it? and 3) What kind of bike is it? I've on mulitple occasions been stopped and asked if a picture of my bike can be taken, even once while at a red light and a guy using his cell phone camera. I recently told my wife that I wish I had a hidden cam attached to my helmet so she could see the looks I get while on my bike. Is it the most comfortable bike I've ever ridden? Of course not, and I didn't expect it to be. Is it the best handling bike I've I ever had, absolutely! The most fun to ride, affirmative! The cheapest to buy and maintain, duh? Of course not. The bottom line is if you can get one of these Italian masterpieces to call your own, then by all means do so. It's not a coincidence that the vast majority of reviews you read about this bike, or other Ducati superbikes for that matter, are all the same. I'm just thankful that I've been blessed with the good fortune to be able to have one best superbikes ever made.
- Ty King, Westerville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-28 2006 Ducati Superbike 749 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What else can I say? Truly exotic and gets looks everytime all the time. I find myself just staring at it after every ride and would wake up in the middle of the night just to stare at it again. Is that silly or what? No - that's a Ducati! The Italians really knows how to look sexy. Ferrari, Lamborghini, Bugatti, Maserati, Giorgio Armani, Dolce & Gabbana, Gianni Versace and so on. They all have sex appeal but/and I haven't even talked about the performance of my bike yet. The 749/999 has this distinctive sound when in idle and when it revs. The dry clutch is a thing of beauty. You'll know it's a Duc when it passes by. I have read magazine articles where older Ducs when tested/pitted against more powerful Jap Superbikes with the expert riders/testers scratching their heads and wonder why this less powerful bike clocks faster lap times than the more powerful Jap superbikes?! The other bikes when leaned over has a tendency to stand up where Ducs will remain in it's lean angle position all day all night. Truly mysterious but amazing. There is nothing else like it in the world - well except another Duc. I rated comfort as 1 star - the worst. C'mon guys that's the truth. It was primarily designed for speed and not comfort - get a CBR Honda if that's what's important to you. I would not ride my Duc from Cali to Las Vegas(9 hrs.) but I will track the bike all day for 9 hrs. with 15 minute breaks after each hour. Getting old or what? :( Anyway, if you have money saved up for a sportsbike like a Gixxer, Kawi or Yammie R6/R1 - save a little bit more and get a Duc - it's well worth it. Why do I say that? Well check out current rider's on these Jap bikes and how they drool and sweat when they see a Duc pass by. They always talk about upgrading to a Duc someday. Why upgrade - just go straight to the point and get a Duc instead.
- Allen Silverio, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2006 Ducati Superbike 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the Spring of 2006, after a 24 year hiatus from bike riding, I purchsed a BMW R1150R. It was fun, but the ride soon became boring. Like driving your car in a straight line for 150 miles on the Wyoming Interstate. Fast forward to November 2006. I spot a bright red motorcylce parked in front of the Ducati dealership in Las Vegas. I pull into the lot on my BMW and leave riding a Red Ducati 999. There is no rational reason for buying this bike. But once you are sitting on the bike and press the start button to wake up the heart of your Ducati, the sound of the rumbling exhaust, the smell of the fuel being devoured by the beast, and the Ducati's heat pouring upwards from the engine makes your day a special day. This red Ducati 999 makes going to work bearable and gives a reason for having weekends. No motorcyle that I have ridden has created such havoc with what is more important in life---my red Ducati 999 or everything else that a responsible adult is supposed to be doing each day on planet earth.
- Santiago Echaore, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2006 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did an MSF rider course a few months ago, got my motorcycle license and went bike shopping. I chose my Monster 620 for several reasons. It's lightweight, has excellent handling, and has good creds as a starter bike. To be honest, I thought it might be too much for a starter bike, but after riding for over 500 miles I can say that it's exceeded all my expectations. The handling is superb and very forgiving. The brakes allow you to stop on the proverbial dime. Gear changes can be done incredibly fast with just a flick of the clutch as the action is very light. As a rookie, I found first gear take offs a little tricky at first until I got used to the clutch contact area being so far out. Overall, the bike feels incredibly light and maneuverable. As I'm still breaking it in, I haven't really explored the performance potential, but there's still plenty of power in the 3K to 5K rev range. Riding the bike is a blast and the exhaust note gets serious even with stock pipes. I'd recommended this bike to anyone who wants a safe, secure bike with good performance. As a starter bike, it's unmatched, because of the brakes, handling and the fact that it can be ridden in a very docile manner. Now I'm thinking about moving up to an S2R1000 or a Sport 1000, but not before I fully break in the 620.
- Garry, Newton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 2006 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my black Monster 620 new at the dealership a few weeks ago, and WOW! The first evening I rode it, riding home from the dealership, I got nothing but stares (and still do). Hitting the throttle impressed me with all the Ducati power I've always heard about. At the end of that first ride I had so much adrenaline going through me I was shaking. It's still incredibly thrilling to just go pick up a carton of orange juice at the grocery store up that twisty road. I never enjoyed the physical act of driving before getting a motorcycle, and the Ducati Experience has been everything I hoped for and then some! The bike has exceptional throttle response. Early on when I got it, I found myself having to really concentrate to not make it go faster, though I'm used to it now. The cornering is amazing and the suspension very stable. What surprised me was how far out you have to let the clutch before it actually engages at all (only in about the last 1/3-1/4 of an inch lies the friction zone). Despite this, it is a very light pull and very maneuverable at low speeds like in parking lots. The riding position is very comfortable and not almost laying down like you find with a lot of race bikes, though you do have to hold yourself up with your legs some (hence the 4-star rating for comfort, as this can get to be taxing). Gas mileage is excellent, especially if you're easy on the throttle (which I have to be since I'm still in the break-in), but this baby can really haul butt if you open it up a little. I don't twist it more than a 1/2 inch really when I'm in traffic because of the power. Great off-the line and mid-range acceleration, ample power for any traffic situation. The bike is also really light, which adds to its maneuverability and is part of the enjoyment of it because you don't have to hold up a hulking machine. If you're on the fence about getting a Ducati, I hope this review shoves you off with a vengeance! That bike is awesome, and I am completely happy with it.
- Greg, Montclair, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-02 2006 Ducati Superbike 749 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently purchased this motorcycle after shopping and stewing over several brands. I have to say that this is one heck of a bike and I love it to no end. It's so very responsive and just a joy to ride.
- Troy, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-27 2006 Ducati Superbike 749 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike, although I wanted the 999, this seems sufficient when it comes to speed....haven't managed to redline it past 4th...ONLY negative is the vibration above 7000rpm....it gets annoying sometimes, as for seat and riding position it DID hurt at first but after 1500kms or so I adapted to it quite well. I'm short and the seat height isn't TOO friendly.....although the suspension HAS slightly lowered since I got it new. As for attention, this does the job ! Thumbs-ups and stares at lights, double-takes when you scream down the street, speaking of which after the 2500km FULL break-in, it got considerably louder. Amazing bike !
- T.Fernando, Oakville, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-20 2006 Ducati Monster S2R 1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ducati S2R 1000 is a marvel.. perfect engineering!! Quite simply....the S2R 1000 is well balanced, very comfortable and very aggressive. Handling is predictable and precise. The best part is the engine and the throttle response is just "Spectacular" **Think 20 yr old Scotch and your Best cigar ever** The exhaust is intoxicating !!!!The clutch is very, very smooth!!!!...acceleration and top speed are phenonominal!!! All the parts on this Ducati just work together like a well tuned athelete!!! Ducati truly understands the "rider" and "machine" relationship ....When you ride this bike you feel "one" with the bike !! When I rode the Jap bikes I did not feel connected! don't debate and beat yourself up.... Ride the Ducati S2R 1000 --buy the s2r 1000.... its worth ever penny!!! SWEET MONSTER!! Good luck and safe riding!!!
- The Monster Disciple, beltsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-22 2006 Ducati SportClassic Sport1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never ridden a Ducati before I bought this bike, but I've wanted one for a while. My last bike was a Honda VFR800. It was a good bike, almost too good...a little boring...so smooth and effortless to ride. The Ducati, on the other hand has much more personality. It vibrates, has no wind protection, makes noise, is a little uncomfortable, but man, do you ever feel like you are riding a motorcycle. It's light, powerful, sounds fantastic, handles amazingly well and gets more attention when you're out on the street than any bike I've ever owned.
- Brian L, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-18 2006 Ducati Monster S2R 1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my Black/White S2R1000 two weeks ago and despite all of the rain have managed to break it in. This bike is an eye opening experience. The quality and finish and look is a work of art and the performance of this bike for this Cruiser Rider (2002 Fatboy) is astounding. The seating position suits me well. The bike is light and fast and just a blast to ride. The Ducati dealer has been excellent, and the people I have met are awesome. The bike gets 40MPG and rides better and better as I put on more miles. I have been breaking it in and it can easily go over 120+MPH on the highway without revving over 6,000 RPM (not that I've ever done that). Impressive is what it is. The bike has only 95 HP, but feels faster than some bikes I have ridden with more, guess that is power to weight ratio and quality HP! AWESOME MACHINE! Would buy again and will trade up to an S4RS (had a demo ride this week) in a few seasons. S4RS is the S2R1000 on steroids.
- Lee H, Louisvile, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-10 2006 Ducati SportClassic Sport1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a Sport 1000, and I have to say that I'm very happy. The bike is universally and inarguably beautiful. I know that judgments regarding looks are considered subjective, but this is the first bike that I have ever ridden that has received universal praise--Harley riders, Suzuki speed demons, BMW baggers and Tuono hooligans all say the same thing when they see it: "Wow, that's great looking." As for the riding experience, I'm still in break-in, but so far so good. The engine's abundant torque is already very apparent, and the bike handles like a lightweight dream. The steering is quick and stable. The brakes do brake very well--progressive and strong. I was a bit concerned about this because the calipers don't look very hi-tech and my other bike has Brembo monoblocks, Brkatech lightweight rotors and Brembo radial master cylinder. Finally, the new Pirelli's stick as good as they look--fantastic. Now for the caveats: (1) this bike gets two stars for comfort from me because I have long arms--37.5" sleeve length. However, anyone with an average reach--say 34" sleeve length--will be stretched over the tank and probably looking for rest after 30 miles or so (a chiropractor after 60 miles). Again, it's ok for me, but beware--bar risers or something akin to the fantastic Cycle Cat bar angle adjustable clip-ons will probably be a requirement for most. (2) The charcoal canister--CA model--has to go because it's the only ugly thing on this spectacularly styled bike. (3) The seat is comfortable, but a little hard to slide around on. Finally(4), which doesn't bother me much (yet), there is no good place under the seat for a disc lock--unless you don't mind unscrewing the thumb-screw (no screwdriver required) that closes the storage compartment every time you park the bike. All in all: I love the bike so far, and I will report back as I out on more miles. BTW, I bought the red one, which was not an easy choice because they all look stunning.
- Greg, Santa Monica, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-18 2006 Ducati Multistrada 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second new bike in 2 years. Traded the C50 Boulevard on the Ducati. I rode both the 1000, and 620. If I had the cash at the time, I would have chosen the 1000. But the 620 still impressed me enough to sign on the dotted line. The bike can be challenging to throw a leg over the rear, but once mounted up the riding position is comfortable. The fist thing you notice when cruising down the highway, is how well the faring directs wind over you for its size. It also seems to have an endless gearbox at times, keep forgetting it has 6. Once off the highway, and on to some back roads, you'll find that the bike really comes into its nature. It fits narrow between the legs, and with the bar width, and riding position, this thing CARVES through the corners like none other I've ridden. It inspires confidence, and never leads you a- stray. Although not quite as sexy as the 1000, no matter where I park her, it always draws a crowd. Very few Ducs in my area running around. So yes, it's a great ego-stroker too. For the price, you get some top-of-the-line standard equipment you don't see on many bikes. To name a few...Marelli FI, steel braided brake, and clutch hoses, Brembo brakes, Awesome headlight, Desmo valve actuation (no valve springs) composite fuel tank...never rust out or dent. What can I say, it's a great all-rounder, and I would recommend the product. I think my next bike might be the 1000S Multistrada, with factory tuned Ohlins suspension............OH YEAH!
- mark, Dillsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-14 2006 Ducati Supersport 1000 DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike and first sportsbike so I'm no expert, however if I go by looks, comfort and performance: I'm amazed! my other ride is a 1600 04 mean streak that is great fun and I love her to death but this is a rock steady smooth ride that effortlessly gets along the highway providing me with a natural high second to nothing I've experienced in the past. Comfortable, and personally I think the stock exhaust sounds ok you can still feel it's a Ducati just being within 20 ft of it yet it's silent with nothing to prove. The only small beef I have is a gap in the rear fairing above the tail light, the tail light shines thru the crack and it's a tad unsightly on an otherwise perfect looking machine. easy fixed Summary: There are probably much faster bikes but this one is a dreamy powerhouse and a bit of a chick magnet even over my big chrome cruiser. I love it - go buy one.
- Rob, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: