Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (8)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I just hit the 5,000 mile mark and am ready to get the 5k mile inspection and fluid change and all I can say is I STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! Since buying this bike I have ridden several other bikes and found them to be inadequate. I have ridden the Dyna Wideglide, the Street Glide, and the Victory Vegas and all of them seem front heavy and clumsy. I guess I have been spoiled on this great well balanced, low center of gravity ride. I have upgraded to the stage 1 air cleaner and a set of V&H Big Shots Long for some extra pony power. It is still a wonderful bike. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in a great all around bike. It will get you around town or around the country and never miss a beat.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motorcycles since I was a kid and let's just say I have a little snow on the roof now. I've owned Triumph, Honda and Suzuki. Have always wanted a Harley but kept telling myself it was too much money. Well one week ago I took the plunge and bought a new, leftover FLSTCI. I've only ridden 325 miles so far but I must say I am impressed. The motor has a balance shaft and in stock form is a little noisy. The windshield amplifies the noise, but I knew that going in. The bike is air cooled so it runs a little warm. The fuel injection is a joy. Starts right up, warms up quick and runs smooth. Acceleration is good, the ride is solid and the feeling you get riding this bike is beyond words. The stock seat is even comfortable. I went out for a ride last night 50 miles north took a break then 50 miles back home and could have kept riding. I'll update this review as I put on some more miles but for now I would have to say great bike.
- Nick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with (47) miles on it in early December 2006. I have put about 300 more on it on short trips and around the town. I am so impressed with the handling and feel of it for such a big bike. I had an 05 Suzuki Boulevard c50 and loved it, but felt the desire to go the HD route this time. I am glad I did. The classic lines can't be beat. I have looked at different models of Roadkings, Dynas and Softails, and just thing the Heritage is the premier in style and classic lines. I can't wait for the weather to warm up to get some real riding in. I plan on adding some more chrome components, (i.e. master cylinder cases, grips and braided cables.) And also planning on the Stage 1 mod to be done soon.
- Jeff, Placerville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my cobalt blue/silver 2006 Softail Classic in November and put 10,000 miles on it the first year, traveling around the Midwest and a back-and-forth trip to Sturgis from Chicago. I've replaced just about every stock part on the bike with chrome and it looks just awesome. I would highly recommend upgrading the seat (I have a Mustang, a purchase for my wife) and also the exhaust (I went with V&H Longshots first and now have the BigShot Longs). At the 5000 mile service, I switched to synthetic fluids and that bought me an extra 5 mpg (from 35 to 40). I also installed Bag Bones in the saddlebags to keep them looking solid. A great bike for cruising around town or touring. I could not be happier with this bike and recommend it most highly.
- Eric Moore, Wheaton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-27 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got an 06 Heritage Softtail Classic in July. Traded an 05 Dyna Super Glide Custom...wanted bigger front end and foot boards. It's smooth, handles great and I still love the twin cam 88 and 5 speed...just put vance and hines big shot staggereds on it with the stage 1 kit...wow... Front end is chromed including fork, control housings and braided cables...I'm sure I'll think of something else to do to it...but for now I just love getting on it...and going anywhere...
- me, las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still very happy. A buddy's wife told him he should sell his Elecra-glide Ultra-Classic and get one of these! I've put 1100 miles on so far, and if I had time to ride I'd have quite a bit more. Now that I've had time to get to know the bike, I can handle it better than I could my 800 Suzuki. My wife finds the passenger seat much more comfortable than the last. I can ride this bike for a few hundred miles and still feel like riding. I hadn't intended on doing anything to be bike after I got it, but I should have known better. It doesn't need anything, but there's just so much you CAN do!
- Andy Dennis, LaMaddalena, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one awesome ride, I only have one reason for not having five stars in all categories; it is that the passenger footpegs are too close to the exhaust pipes. The right boot of the passenger touches the hot pipe when riding, thus melting the heel of the boot onto the pipe creating excessive work removing it. With running boards installed the problem will be eliminated.
- Bud Votaw, Alliance, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th street bike, but my first Harley. I was one of those guys that couldn't understand what all the hype was about. I just moved up from a Suzuki Marauder that I really liked, and I couldn't be happier. Although this bike outweighs my last one by over 200 pounds, it's much easier to handle. I think the stock seat is comfortable. My wife likes the stock passenger seat too. It seems every time I turn around, she wants another ride! The counterbalanced engine is smooth- at 70 mph I can see objects in the rear view mirrors as clearly as if I'm sitting still. I'm very pleased with the color- Brandywine Sunglow. I had only seen the color in pictures, and I think it looks even better on the bike. It won't rip your arms out of their sockets, but the power is more than adequate. It literally takes about 30 seconds to remove the detachable windshield, and that's only because I'm very careful not to scratch anything. This bike gets a lot of attention. I live in a small town in Italy and most of my neighbors don't speak English, but I was surprised to learn they know "Harley Davidson." I'm constantly getting the "thumbs up" or a honk from a horn (plus a few scowls from guys on Ducatis). I was anxious to add some pipes, but the stock mufflers provide quite a bit more sound than I expected. I'll wait until I get back to the states before I do that.
- Andy Dennis, LaMaddalena, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: