Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (200)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-06-02 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Was an amazing experience. Was very effortless. I was able to look at many motorcycles until I found the best fit for me. Navigating through the website was a joy. The large selection of bikes along with tons of information on each individual bike was great.
- Carl Stacks , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-05 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in 2014 and kept it until 2020. Pro: It's a fun bike, very quick, handles great, flips back and forth with ease. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I bought it because it it epitome of a motorcycle. Bare and raw. Con: If it has the stock tires, get rid of them. They spin too easy and in the rain they are dangerous. Unless you are a young rider and enjoy the wind in your face and don't mind the stiff suspension, this bike will wear you out on a long ride (6+ hours, and over 60 years old) Currently have a Street Glide but still appreciate the looks of the Low Rider
- Rich Giles, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-07-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an extremely well maintained Harley with 10,000 miles from an individual in Texas. Looks new and rides like a dream. I paid less than dealer retail. Very smooth transaction all the way around. I hired a local motorcycle transport company in Houston (Marx Motorcycle Moving) to go to Dallas and pick it up and deliver it back to me.
- Julia Baumbach, Crosby Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-02-02 2006 Harley-Davidson Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was really great to see how lovely this motorcycle is.
- Abhay, lucknow, India

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had several different motorcycles in my time but I think the Heritage Softail is my favorite. It looks good, handles like a dream and most of all, my wife loves to ride on it with me.
- FRITZ BECKENBACH, KEARNEY, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-29 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike since new and have had no problems. It still looks great. Like I said, she's my girl and I love to ride her.
- Johnl, Essex, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-19 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1989 883 Sportster. What a difference - smooth, can see in the mirrors, ride 300 miles and feel like I got out of a car. My feet are flat on the ground with a 28" inseam. There's plenty of power for my wife and me. The low center of gravity makes it easy to handle. Everywhere I go, people compliment the bike's looks - white/blue pearl. I get 42/52 mpg. I plan to add an oil cooler. I wish it came stock with one. I wish it had key fob security like the newer bikes. I get a lot of boot marks on the heat shields of the pipes...only complaint.
- Paul, DuBois, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took better than six months for me to find a pre-owned Road King Classic, and I found my '06 in vivid black (looks just like the pic) with only 3K miles in cleaner than new condition and all the right mods alreaady made for me: V & H slip ons and re-chipped, HD backrest, plus all HD upgraged chromed grips and lower controls...the bike is pure eye candy. I've ridden sportbikes since 1984, and still own a 2000 Hyabusa. But my sixth grade son says the Busa scares him (it scares me too!)...so I finally made the jump. My boy and I always go out together riding on the Harley, and all I can say is that you just can't stop smiling while you're on it. It is the most comfortable riding experience and really lets you enjoy your surroundings in a completely different way than on a crotch rocket. I have yet to try out the cruise control. If I ever do get rid of my '06 Road King Classic, it'll be for only one reason - to get into a newer 103c.i. version!
- J D K, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-31 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased it in 2007 with 1500 miles. I have ridden the bike locally only with some 200-300 miles put on here and there. It has always been a pleasurable riding experience. I did have the bike bottom out a couple of times and set the adjusted shocks to full stiffness which alleviated that problem. I was pleasantly suprised to find the bike had a power commander preinstalled so when I went to dealer to have the V-Rod injectors installed, they couldn't spank me for the 100 dollar remap! I went round and round with the seat upgrade for the passenger. I ended up with a factory P pad, It keeps the original seat stance and comfort. It's a great bike so far.
- Mondoe, Euclid , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great bike to get for a first Harley. The ride of this bike is awesome. Runs smooth down the road. Gets a lot of attention where ever I go with it. Will never own anything but a Harley the rest of my life. Vivid black and chrome all the way. Looks great!
- 43daddy43, hilton head island, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-07 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this fine machine after a lifetime of second hand Harleys. I wanted a bagger but didn't want all the radio BS so this was perfect. The two years didn't see many miles due to a busted leg but 2009 proved to be the true test. I rode from Michigan to the florida Keys 2 times and to LA once and numurous 3-5 hundred mile weekend rides. The only problem I have is the seat because of my large body and boney butt. I love this bike. It even was a small part in the reason for a divorce :)
- Me, Rochester, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started my Harley ownership with a 2004 Superglide and was very happy. I test rode a 2006 Roadking and fell in love. I bought the Roadking the same day. The bike fits me well, I just need to change the handle bars to Heritage bars and a more comfortable seat. I have to make it my own. Overall this is my perfect bike and I plan on having this bike for years to come.
- Bill, New Oxford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-19 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the old style WG... Not the new crap they introduced in 09'. First and only HD I've owned. I like the long rake and chopper looks of this bike. didn't like the stock seat so I changed it to the old style WG seat. Stage 1 kit brought it to life. don't feel the need to run it any harder or faster. Turns heads everywhere and gets a lot of compliments. I have changed oil and spark plugs every year and wash and detail it regularly, but other than that it's been maintenance free. The TC88 is a notoriously reliable and bulletproof motor and has been known to log anwhere from 60 - 80K miles before needing a top end rebuild. I know Goldwing owners that would be extremely envious of that kind of reliability. It's fast, flashy, loud and loaded with torque...not to mention a blast to ride. Love this bike. Will take it to the grave.
- Dan, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Street Glide is the finest bike I have ever owned. Just finished a two thousand mile/6 day trip into the Hill Country of Texas. The Three Sisters (Texas 335, 336,and 337) are incredibly twisty and vertical. The Street Glide handled superbly in the curves and has for its lifetime never had a problem. I completed the 20,000 mile fluid change yesterday. I use Amsoil synthetic and will never use another brand. The fork oil (1st change) had changed color from a normal bright red to rusty brownish red. I am still on my second rear tire with plenty of tread, the front tire is the original. I normally trade in my Harleys at 12,000 to 15,000 miles but I like this one too much. I am hesitant to trade up to the 96 cu inch until Harley sorts it out. The only new item I placed on the Street Glide is the brand new Klock Werks 10 and 1/2 inch windshield. I have coveted the shorter versions but I live in Louisiana and we have June bugs and water bugs that can nearly take you off a bike at speed. The Klock Werks windshield works like a dream - 80 to 85 mph - calm air surrounds you. I still wish Harley would get rid of the air temperature gauge and replace it with an oil temperature gauge. The air gauge reads incredibly high when in the sun. If the bike stays out of the sun it is correct. Harley must know we bikers hate the sun !!!
- Gordo, Monroe, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2006 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I first bought the bike, I had never owned or even ridden another Harley. Since then, I have put in some time riding in all kinds of weather and added a few upgrades. I just want to say I still love this bike. With new pipes, the 88b comes to life pushing out more ponies and letting the engine rest a little at speeds of 70 mph or so. My best advice is to get a detachable windshield. It is like having two totally different bikes. I use mine all the time but once in a while I will take it off and I get that new bike feel all over again!!
- Soldierfoley , Roanoke , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-20 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the bike that I always dreamed I would own...almost. Bought mine used with 10k on it. The electric start is flawless. The finish is top notch and overall I think this is most representative of old school choppers from the 60's and 70's. Having grown up in a biker household, this is the bike I always wanted. One caveat...rider comfort. Now when I first get on the bike and througout the first 10 miles or so, it's really nice. I like the factory ape hangers and the forward controls lean you back for that easyrider look. But after about 20 miles with no breaks, it starts to get into your back a little. don't get me wrong, it's still a blast and cool to ride, but it starts to require a little more effort. Add to that some heavy head winds that tend to make you kite and it can be a workout to get your miles in that day. If you can get past those issues I believe it's the coolest bike Harely ever made IMO. Powerful 88CU and smooth shifting 6 speed transmission. Plenty of get up and go...I have no problem getting 0-60 in a few short seconds and it'll crack 100mph easily if you don't let off. Gobs of torque and oustanding styling. I love my Wide Glide.
- DJ, Plymouth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Roadster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 96 Honda Magna V-4 powerhouse last month, with some trepidation, on a 06 Roadster (black on black). It's a beautiful machine. Why the trepidation? The Magna is an awesome cruiser for the package, but to be truthful, it was getting longer in the tooth and, though still a tight package, I was ready for more character. I'd always wanted a Harley and the 06 Roady had fixed all the shortcomings I had on my list. While the Magna had a burbly feel around town and a smooth open-highway feel, it lacked fat torque and a certain impossible to find character. Well the H-D has that in spades. I knew it; I just had to wait for the right Roady to come along. This beast burbles around town, burbles on the highway and burbles standing still. It 'feels' like it's alive and feeding back to you every second that it's there. that's what you get with a H-D. Despite all the good things the other manufacturers build into their bikes, they cannot imitate the H-D sound and fury. It's the original and the only one. Plus... my granddad had a JD Series in 1923 and I like the idea that some 85 years later I'm riding a bike that feels very much the same.
- the bodster, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It has been almost 2 years and at 15,000 miles I still love her every time I throw my leg over and crank her up. It is truly a great all around motorcycle - commuting to work, hot rodding, or long distance touring. I finally got the Stage 1 download done at this service, still changing all fluids and filter, (K&N air under stock cover) and plugs. Just have dealer service lube areas & spokes and they sign off my owner's manual 15K service. No problems or issues, just riding. Still have my mid controls which are great for fun/sport riding and I'm able to stand-up when needed, and stretch out w/hi-way pegs when cruising. Fun bike, well balanced with good power. Proud Harley owner. May look at getting a new Softail Deluxe in a couple more years for a cushier ride - 2010 sounds like a cool year.
- Tony, Blair, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-05 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for over 40 years and decided that I wanted at least one Harley before I hang it up. I am extremely happy with the 06 SG. By changing the seat it is now extremely comfortable. I have taken three long trips since I bought it I have no trouble keeping up. I have ridden a new Wing and find the seating position to be much less comfortable than the SG. Some complain about the lack of power but high speed and super acceleration is not why I bought it. I have already owned bikes with those attributes. I have over 16,000 trouble-free miles in the first two summers and am looking forward to putting on another 10,000 this summer. I would buy it again.
- Allen Peterson, Eagan, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2006 Harley-Davidson Road King Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden more than 10K miles on my 2006 Road King. It has a variety of accessories added now including Screaming Eagle Slips-on's and the Stage One air filter system. For all the naysayers regarding this bike, hear this: This machine is not only reliable and capable but it is plenty comfortable for any long haul you can think of. A recent trip thru the Idaho and Montana mountains made up of hundreds of miles of twisty roads, long climbs, high altitudes and open highway stretches showed just how versatile the Road King is overall. This bike performed wonderfully. The stock seat is more than comfortable for all day riding. The handling is impeccable and I've never had a mechanical failure of any kind. I can't say the same for the many metrics that I've owned. If you're looking for a bike that bridges the gap between full dresser and average cruiser - the Road King is it. It is a do-it-all marvel in every respect. Mine is the '06, an 88 cu in 5 speed. I know that every manufacturer has its issues, but after all those years on metrics, I'll never, ever go back. This Harley has made a true believer out of me.
- idrider, Eagle, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Heritage Softail Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I just hit the 5,000 mile mark and am ready to get the 5k mile inspection and fluid change and all I can say is I STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! Since buying this bike I have ridden several other bikes and found them to be inadequate. I have ridden the Dyna Wideglide, the Street Glide, and the Victory Vegas and all of them seem front heavy and clumsy. I guess I have been spoiled on this great well balanced, low center of gravity ride. I have upgraded to the stage 1 air cleaner and a set of V&H Big Shots Long for some extra pony power. It is still a wonderful bike. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in a great all around bike. It will get you around town or around the country and never miss a beat.
- Anonymous, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just did a road trip from OK to MN, bike handled fine. Did need a little more oomph riding around interstate 40 and 25 interchange around Albuquerque for a week long visit. Think I'm ready to spring for an air filter upgrade and eng management control. I'm all stock (engine wise), except for a pair of Screaming Eagle Slip-ons. Over all very good riding bike, power and comfort are good enough while I'm still a young 42 and still like a lot of elements pounding me. Great for around town and longer trips. I appreciate that it is designed so the owner can perform regular maintenance on it. All parts/nuts bolts are good quality. Dealer support/service has been good, never a problem with them. It is good to have them look over the bikes every now and then, they really do know where and what to look for. Service manager noticed a noise that I didn't. Turned out my primary bearing needed replaced, warranty work.
- Tony, Blair, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This mean machine runs strong. No mechanical problems at all. Has beautiful liquid finish paint and deep solid chrome. My last years Honda doesn't come close. I should have bought this Sportster first.
- Tom Sprowl, Huntington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very nice bike, did 170 miles on it today, shifts smooth and just purrs along. The stock factory seat truely sucks though, it's ok for quick rides, but when you spend 3 hours in the saddle it gets quite uncomfortable. The new rubber mounts on the motor are great, this is no old ironhead Sporty. 24 month unlimited warranty is a major plus. Brakes are great, this bike is light enough to throw around in an emergency. (found that out today) So handles great, was able to throw it around a stalled sport bike rider with ease. (the dummy couldn't shift right and stalled right in front of me pulling away at a stop light) Well worth what I paid for it.
- Dan, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Dyna Street Bob Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Reliability, had difficulty starting once. Cornering, pleasantly surprised, cornered better than my Buell. Style, best looking bike of dyna class. Six speed is a bit much though, 5 would have been fine. Bumps, you'll feel them but it's not a Softail. Pick up is fair but I've riding sports bikes for 14 yrs. (not Buell either) Comfort, like sitting on a pillow of clouds. Other issues - putting the kick stand down is a pain, the rear brake pedal could be positioned better, and the suspension could be a little beefier. Overall this bike is great and really fun to ride. I would recommend this bike to my closest friends.
- e, wickliffe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: