Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (7)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-30 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This mean machine runs strong. No mechanical problems at all. Has beautiful liquid finish paint and deep solid chrome. My last years Honda doesn't come close. I should have bought this Sportster first.
- Tom Sprowl, Huntington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ownded 2 different Hondas that I enjoyed very much. But nothing can compare to the ground pounding power and sound of a Harley Davidson. I am so happy with my Sportster. I may not always own Sportsters for the rest of my life but I will own nothing but Harleys for the rest of my life. I have road my Sportster all over the state. It's perfect by myself but I will be upgrading the seat for my girlfriend who can only make it 75-100 miles on the stock seat. After puchasing my Sportster, all my friends sold their Jap bikes and followed suit by buying Harleys.
- Dirk, Janesville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-15 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1200 custom for about four months and love it. All I want to do is buy more custom parts for it. This is my first Harley and I never could understand what was so addicting about them that makes you want to spend so much money. It has been real realiable, powerful, comfortable(stock seat isn't the best) and the most important to me smooth. I have an old 1976 Honda cb500 and that thing will vibrate you to death. I thought the Harley would be worse but once you are moving, the rubber mounted engine makes it not even noticeable. The new Sportster's look great and sound great. I really enjoy it. I will probably only ride a Harley from now on. Hope this helps someone.
- Jordan , Yorktown, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in 30 years. I have found it easy to re-learn on; very responsive. Plenty of pick-up, and the top-end speed exceeds my needs (120 mph plus). I ride daily, weather permitting. Great in traffic, and a nice way to decompress on the way to/from work. I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting a high-performance cruiser for daily fun and smiles.
- Jeff, West Lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was an accident of selection. Wanted a 1200L. This was what was available when the prices started tumbling. Surprised that the forward controls are so comfortable. Thought that they would aggravate my aching joints. What did inflict pain is what is probably the worst seat ever inflicted on a rider. Compounding the felony is a substandard suspension. The front forks bottom easily and the rear "shocks" are truly shocking even at maximum settings. It is apparent that Harley targeted the lighter shorter rider with this model. On the positive side, this bike has more than adequate power and very good fuel economy (54 mpg). Handling is very good as is the braking response. The fit and finish is by far, the best in the industry. On a smooth road the ride quality faults disappear allowing the enjoyment of the v-twin rhythm. Fixes for the negatives include the early acquisition of the Harley Sundowner Seat which turns pain into pleasure (the seat that Harley should have installed in the first place). A set of Progressive springs for the fork and a set of standard length shocks which requires a standard jiffy stand. The suspension fixes are to be installed at break in maintenance so it remains to be seen if these are truly "fixes".
- Mike, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-20 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first HD after owning prior rice burners. At first I felt guilty spending the extra $$$, but glad I did. Nothing else out there looks or sounds like a Harley. After around 100 miles, I decided the stock exhaust was way too quiet for my liking. Upgraded to Vance & Hines straight shots HS, screamin eagle air cleaner and a carb jet. What a difference ! I find the bike to be a perfect size conventional model, not too big or too small. I'm not a small guy and it really moves my butt. Added on a mid rise windshield, backrest, luggage rack and some chrome goodies. Bringing it in for the 1,000 mile service and not a single problem to date.
- DeepCobalt, Fitchburg, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-05 2006 Harley-Davidson Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '06 Sportster on Saturday and I'm angry with myself for not buying one sooner. I've previously owned a Yamaha Virago 15 years ago and I must admit the comfort factor was better than on the Virago. Yeah you pay for the Harley name and for joining that distinquished club but it's worth every dime. The reason I stuck with the Sportster was due to the reviews that I read right here. I knew the seat would be uncomfortable so I knew I would have to upgrade. The Harley sound, spirit and power however truly amazed me. I am going to get a stage 1 upgrade but the bike is fine stock! All my friends told me the Sportster was too small. It packs a punch even in 5th gear going 65 mph. You really have to hang on if you roll back the throttle. All in all, I'm finally a member of the club and I love my Sportster. Buy it. Its a great bike for the beginner and the seasoned veteran alike. More to come once I have more miles!! Ride Safe!!
- Rob Coleman, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: