Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (56)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-06-02 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Was an amazing experience. Was very effortless. I was able to look at many motorcycles until I found the best fit for me. Navigating through the website was a joy. The large selection of bikes along with tons of information on each individual bike was great.
- Carl Stacks , North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-04-05 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in 2014 and kept it until 2020. Pro: It's a fun bike, very quick, handles great, flips back and forth with ease. I enjoyed it quite a bit. I bought it because it it epitome of a motorcycle. Bare and raw. Con: If it has the stock tires, get rid of them. They spin too easy and in the rain they are dangerous. Unless you are a young rider and enjoy the wind in your face and don't mind the stiff suspension, this bike will wear you out on a long ride (6+ hours, and over 60 years old) Currently have a Street Glide but still appreciate the looks of the Low Rider
- Rich Giles, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Street Glide is the finest bike I have ever owned. Just finished a two thousand mile/6 day trip into the Hill Country of Texas. The Three Sisters (Texas 335, 336,and 337) are incredibly twisty and vertical. The Street Glide handled superbly in the curves and has for its lifetime never had a problem. I completed the 20,000 mile fluid change yesterday. I use Amsoil synthetic and will never use another brand. The fork oil (1st change) had changed color from a normal bright red to rusty brownish red. I am still on my second rear tire with plenty of tread, the front tire is the original. I normally trade in my Harleys at 12,000 to 15,000 miles but I like this one too much. I am hesitant to trade up to the 96 cu inch until Harley sorts it out. The only new item I placed on the Street Glide is the brand new Klock Werks 10 and 1/2 inch windshield. I have coveted the shorter versions but I live in Louisiana and we have June bugs and water bugs that can nearly take you off a bike at speed. The Klock Werks windshield works like a dream - 80 to 85 mph - calm air surrounds you. I still wish Harley would get rid of the air temperature gauge and replace it with an oil temperature gauge. The air gauge reads incredibly high when in the sun. If the bike stays out of the sun it is correct. Harley must know we bikers hate the sun !!!
- Gordo, Monroe, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-05 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for over 40 years and decided that I wanted at least one Harley before I hang it up. I am extremely happy with the 06 SG. By changing the seat it is now extremely comfortable. I have taken three long trips since I bought it I have no trouble keeping up. I have ridden a new Wing and find the seating position to be much less comfortable than the SG. Some complain about the lack of power but high speed and super acceleration is not why I bought it. I have already owned bikes with those attributes. I have over 16,000 trouble-free miles in the first two summers and am looking forward to putting on another 10,000 this summer. I would buy it again.
- Allen Peterson, Eagan, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-20 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes for 35 years. It is by far the best handling and smoothest bike I ever owned (6). The engine and transmission are mated perfect to keep you in the power curve with plenty of reserve for me. I still have the stock seat on so it is still too early to tell whether I need to upgrade for more comfort or not. I have just noticed the front brake squeak that so many of you have talked about and how to fix it. My dealer will take care of that with no problem. I will be looking forward to a long relationship and a lot of miles with this FLHX.
- Drdryve, Champaign, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-06 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's better than I expected. I went from Honda ST1100 to 07 Street Glide. Bike No 7 & so far it would be the No 1 bike but I say that of all my bikes as I ride everyday. Sun & rain it likes it all. 2 months old & 500kms on the beast & many more to come.
- Rick, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-04 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike and the dealer took great care of me. This is the most comfortable bike I have ever driven. I took a long ride into PA last Saturday and really enjoyed her. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone.
- dave runyan, north plainfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-27 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put $13000. in options on my Street Glide. 3 spoke wheels, floating rotors, chrome calibers, braided cables, chrome front end, Painted dash, brushed aluminum gauges, vance & hine true duals, stage 1, fuel pack, vance & hines pipes, touring seat, tour pack, spoiler, rear passenger boards, chrome alternater, all chrome bolts, and much much more. It's an awesome bike. Handles great, runs strong as hell, and with the pipes there is no noise in the drive train. Gets plenty of attention. I love it!
- steve blackburn, dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-08 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2006 X is a real kick to ride. I have done close to 800 miles in one day and still get on it the next day w/o any problems. I will need to address some issues with a lean condition and skipping CD player this month. My front brakes have squealed since new and I will fix that when I put on a new front tire. When stopped, I spread my legs out away from the exhaust and motor to stay away from the heat. I have averaged 43.5 mpg on a road trip home to MN with the current set up. Wish there was a little more power for some hills, but I will take care of that in due time. I always smile when I pass people in their cages. Ride safe.
- Big D, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-16 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I'm at 103.94 HP and 100.66 FpTorque and wow, this things really moves now. Wheelies? Yep, it does wheelies. I don't mean to, but they happen.
- Matthew Riceberg, Victoria, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-24 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had problem with squealing brakes, in the end dealer put in softer non Harley pads, otherwise fine. I've been to Spain, France, Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Austria (Fakker See rally)Germany etc on last trip abroad and it was perfect, even averaged 42 mpg with hard riding. Dunlop tires seem vague so just changed to Contis, much better feel and more grip. Much more torque with Stage 2 and cams, and 120mph, can't ask for more and it sounds AWESOME!
- Nick Payne, Leicester, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-22 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased an 06 Fat Boy with a detachable windshield, hoping to have a cruiser and still take longer trips. Well, the windshield never came off and I had no storage room. Solution, a 2007 Street Glide. This stripped down touring bike has storage room and a fairing, however; it still looks very sporty. The ride is smooth and the 6th gear is great over 60 mph. I haven't experienced any of the problems reported with 06 models although, I only have 650 miles (not bad for a bike purchased on Dec. 23 in Maryland). I love the bike and would highly recommend this model. The only negative issue for the 07 is the O2 sensors in the exhaust system. You cannot change the complete exhaust system without possible warranty issues. Vance and Hines does make a nice slip on that increases performance and sounds great.
- Ron, Germantown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2006 Street Glide in March of 2006. Rode the bike from Seattle Washington to Sturgis last year, 2 up with the wife and T-Bag. Bike performed very well. No problems. Went through Yellowstone park and over Beartooth pass without a hitch. This bike is awesome.
- Danny Combs, Orting, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-16 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked mine up May of last year. Put the screaming eagle kit on the carb and vance & hines BIG SHOTS pipes. Lost a little in mileage, but picked up in horse power after the 1550 download. Great response when you twist the grip. As far as ride, my wife and I rode through 2 hurricanes last year, 85 mph no problems at all. As far as brake sqeeak..don't need em when I twist the grip..ha ha!
- GABBY, HENDERSONVILLE, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-26 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my ride in Rapid City during Sturgis. My 90 Fatboy died so I needed something to get home on. Excellent buy. OUTSTANDING ride back to Washington state. Handled thunderstorms, rain, 80mph winds, dirt roads, gravel....everything. Smooth effortless power and is very quick. No issues with high altitude plus lots of room for gear. A very agile 750 pound bike. Extremely comfortable with the optional rider back rest. I still want to build a custom old school bike, but this is my long distance ride.
- eddie, lacey, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-01 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The fix for the squeaking brakes is very easy. There's a service bulletin out on the brakes, believe me your not the only one. Almost all 2006 bikes have it or will get it. What they do at the dealer is put the right rotor on the left side and the left rotor on the tight side (REVERSE) them. I have not a problem since. Also installed PC111 usb and what a difference in the way the bike runs with the Screamin Eagle air cleaner and Hooker exhaust. I have over 11K on the bike and just love it. The sundowner seat from HD makes for a real comfortable ride instead of stock seat. Hope this helps you SG owners.
- Steve, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike and had to have it when I first saw it. Have owned it for a year now and although I haven't put many miles on it, I love the ride. At times I would love some additional power but at highway speeds it accelerates great. Had that speaker rattle and dealership tried everthing until I was made aware of the problem by a review found on this site - thanks. The bike was in and out of the dealership for weeks due to this problem but the dealership upon being informed by me that the speaker was the culprit immediately replaced it within minutes of my phone call. Also other customers had same problem and they were able to help those people as well. I've since given the dealership service dept. this website to assist in trouble shoouting. Thank God I found this site. Also sqeaky brakes have been promised to be replaced by the dealership on my next service by a rotor swop at no extra charge. It is covered by waranty. It is a looker and as long as H.D. stands by its product and waranties their bikes, I'm satisfied. Let's face it - their motorcycles things will happen but a good dealership and manufacturer network make you feel like your in good hands. I also contacted H.D. customer service direct prior to finding my problem and fixing it and they immediately assured me that if I could not get the bike remedied by the dealership that they would back the motorcycle waranty and make sure that they would find the answer. I felt better at that point.
- J.A., Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife's friend bought this bike new, but decided to sell it when her job transferred her to Vegas. Anyway, my wife had to have the Street Glide, so she sold her '04 fuel-injected Road King and bought the Glide. It's a beautiful Black Cherry color that is easy to look at, but I noticed some flaws. You guessed it. The front brakes made an annoying squeaking sound. I guess Loud Brakes Save Lives! Then at right about 3,000 miles, the starter took a dump. Thanks to the warranty the starter was replaced. I replaced the front brake pads and the noise isn't so bad. The bike runs really great. It has Screaming Eagle pipes and the Screaming Eagle Air Cleaner kit, installed by the selling dealer. I couldn't believe that there was no popping or backfiring, which is common with Stage 1 kits, so I did some checking. It turns out that the dealer that sold the bike to our friend had used a 1550 Stage II ECM download and left in the 8 degree injectors. It does work! I had to have a Street Glide and traded my Bagger for a new '07 FLHXI. So far it's a wonderful bike. I'll keep you posted.
- HEJHOG, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-20 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put over 5000 miles on my Glide in the last couple of months with no problems, other than a little high altitude sickness with the carb on some passes. Some of the Alaska roads have taxed the rear suspension but I love it. I have a 2006 Softtail Deluxe also which my wife rides and the bagger compliments it well.
- Kerry Marshall, Soldotna, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I sold my Dyna Super G and stepped up to a touring ride and all I can say is awesome. Put on 200 miles the day I picked it up. After a few months I brought it back to the dealership for some upgrades (SE Stage 1) without the SE it was a little anemic. Now I can cruise all day long without breaking a sweat...how sweet it is.
- Skeeter, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine 2 months. I do have that noise in the brakes. I do need a little more power, but once on the highway it runs great. I have 2005 miles on so far, and expect a lot more to come. Will go for the Andrews Cam, for a little extra power. Safe Riding!
- Donald Belanger, Jersey CITY, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-03 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Monday I bought a 2006 FLXHI, and I'm already in love with the way it handles and rides. Bought it to take my kids on road trips and HOG rallies, and it was a good mix between something I'd want to drive around town, and something we could stay in the saddle for 5 hours at a time. Got the Screamin Eagle stage 4 package, and other engine work on it, to put it up to 125 HP, and it straight up rips. Couldn't be happier with the power and the way it handles. Been a few years since I've had a bike, but remembered pretty quickly why I love riding. This is the bike.
- Alan Dunn, St George, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2006 Street Glide has been awesome so far. I've only had it for 2 months and have 2100 miles on it. I have had a problem with it mis-firing or "hic-cup" every now and then. Twice lately it did it starting off in an intersection and died out. Other times when it has a pain is turning and the bike is leaning. One mis-fire and you think it's going to lay down. So far it keeps going when the bike is moving, but what a pain sometimes. Other than putting a new seat and taking off the wimpy windshield for a "real one," I don't plan to change anything else. So far I haven't had the squeal in the front brakes like many of you have had.
- Buddy, St Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 06 HD Street Glide, This bike is awesome, I will never go outside the box again. I had the stage 2 kit installed with Python drag slip on mufflers. Awesome.
- Glugr, Jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2006 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just had 5000 mile service, all fluids changed {synthetic for sure}, replaced lock {warranty recall} and new rear meat.... just can't stay off of it. Rides real nice, girlfriend even likes it so get out together more..... is that good or bad? ummmmmmm well anyway love my Street Glide.
- Rick, pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: