Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-12-06 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been along time since I rode dirt and just bought 230crf bike and it's perfect for me to get back in the groove of riding a bike. Great power when needed and it's pretty fast. I'm happy with it. I bought it used and it started right up. No probelms yet.
- Tyler , Havana, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-23 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding 8 months ago. My 230 is my first bike. I have experience in pretty much all of the different riding conditions and I can honestly say that I've missed maybe three days of riding this machine during those eight months. It rides well (I've recorded 50 miles plus per day and the bike just rides awesome), it handles well (I've ridden with a CR125 and he couldn't keep up with me on the trails nor could a Yamaha 600 Enduro), and it has good power from the top to bottom. I've ridden my buddy's track with it and had no problem with the jumps (just stiffen the suspension). It's a very universal bike whether you want to cruise in third or fourth or rip it up. I recommend this bike to any one who is a bigger beginner to an experienced rider. 5 star rating.
- RineRider108, utica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-17 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the greatest Honda I've ever rode. It is on the border line between medium and fast. I give Honda 2 thumbs up. The bike is perfect for anyone over five feet. I can ride all day with the great shocks. The bike will last forever. It is tough! The bike is the best match for someone coming up from a smaller bike like a 50 or 100. If you are 5 ft tall you can tip toe two feet and flatten one. But overall this is a great bike and is definitely worth the money.
- sam , springfield , Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-24 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 230 about a couple months ago and it is a really FUN bike to ride. The power is easy to get used to and the clutch has a nice and easy pull. Anyway, after riding a couple of months on it, there are some noticiable things wrong with it. Like the main problem is the rear drum brake! It always wears out on me. The other thing is that the suspension is a little soft but ok to live with. The last thing is the gearing. The 6 gear box is all out of whack, but can easily be fixed. Just buy a 50 tooth SideWinder trimetal back sprocket and 15 front sprocket and it improves out the power for each gear (increases top end by 10mph!). So besides all that the bike runs great, and don't get me wrong, it has some power. Personally, riding this has made me a way better rider and has put me to a level to where I could take on any 250 and when I get a little bigger for sure the 450s. Great Honda bike to have fun on.
- nate, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-15 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The low seat height makes it easy to handle. The electric start option is great. I would prefer to have both kick and electric but that's ok. It is a great trail bike. Completly stock, the bike lacks snap but I found I can maneuver through tight trails with ease. Definitely not made to compete but compared to other bikes in its class, the CRF 230f is a great buy.
- Frank Spathanas, whitman, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-16 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and it has performed very well, it has great torque for its size and a high top speed. Maintenance wise it's very reliable and the electric star is a luxury. The only thing wrong was the Pirelli tires, they just don't hook up well, but what can you expect from a $20.00 tire.
- Kyle, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is really easy to get use too. First gear is a little slow but it's just because of the low end tourqe. Execellent trail bike. If your looking for your first bike/trail bike this is the right bike.
- Josh Ignaski, West Mifflin, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought two of them a year ago and a crf80. The bike has power when you want it and also good for long distance riding, like out to state line and back. The electronic ignition I recommend, never has a problem, just push and start. The ground clearance is very good and has handled some serious rock climbing I've done around the southwest valley runoffs. I never seem to have a problem with overheating no matter how long I ride or how hot it gets in the desert. The only mildly negitive thing I have to say about this bike is that if your into jumping bikes it will do it...but it will do it ugly. The front end seems a little heavier than the CRF250X which my nephew owns but the 230 is alot less expensive. So if you have alot of cash and your a better than average rider buy the 250x, all the rest...you still won't be disappointed in the CRF230F. Kids tested...Father approved!!
- Duane Dvorak, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-02 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an awesome bike. I have never had any problems with it. It will wind out really fast and has excellent low end power. First through third gear is a close ratio and 4'th through 6'th is a wide ratio. This bike will go through anything. Wheelies are good to bring up in first, second and third. If you want to ride the trails then this is your bike. It's a HONDA, what do you expect.
- tommy dvorak, elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For those of you who have short legs out there and love the tight, technical stuff, this bike is for you. Have had it for 1 year plus. Will climb about anything (even for my weight) and beats my friends' TTR 230, TTR 250 up any hill. It will not win any dirt road races, however. That being said, I love this bike. I just need a little more bottom end to finish the windey hill climbs. As for comfort, the bike is very nimble and handles well in all terrain but soft sand. The seat is a bit hard as well.
- Bruce Gendron, Frazier Park, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-20 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A group of us took four of these bikes out for a 2-day extended ride session and all came away impressed. Reliable, fun, lightweight, easy to handle, and took on everything we threw at it. The bike is great for trails or just kicking up some dirt. The only place that it felt lacking was over larger jumps and for larger riders. The biggest guy in our group (6'3" 235lbs) felt the handlebars were too low and he was bottoming the front suspension over the larger stuff. Having said that, for the majority of the riders who want a fun, do-it-all bike, this little bugger is tough to beat. Not as intimidating as the WR250 Yam, CRF20 or DRZ400 for first time riders and the experienced guys can have fun on it too.
- Chris, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-26 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for the budget. didn't have to lower the suspension to fit. Did the "power up" kit, jets, baffle out, air cleaner cover off and this bike has more than enough power to compete in the hills.
- KC, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-24 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 25+ year hiatus from riding, I bought the CRF230 to ride with my kids. I wanted a bike that would allow me to putt along with my six year old on his quad, yet give me respectable performance when I was with more experienced riders. This bike delivers all that and more! My son loves riding with me and having me next to him coaching his riding. At the same time, the CRF230 will also allow me to keep up with the local teenagers on the forest trails around our property. I am enjoying a rekindled love affair with trail riding and expect many years of satisfaction with this bike. Thanks Honda!
- Roy McAlister, Gig Harbor, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-01 2006 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm amazed at what this bike will climb. The bike feels very comfortable and light, plenty of bottom end. I feel it was a fun bike but I'm now ready for some more top end power. I have been riding mine for about a year and am now turning it over to my 14-year-old son (who has been riding a CRF 100) and buying myself a 450x.
- Hal Robinson, Turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: