Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (28)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-07-18 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 2006 KLR 650 three years ago and got some other DS. It was the worse mistake I made. I'm not saying that the DS I replaced the KLR with was bad or anything, it just was not a KLR! Well I found a 2006 KLR 650 on Craigslist last week with 810 miles on it and I went and looked at it and it was mint! I fell in love with it right off the bat! The thing was pretty much new so I bought it and I'm so happy I got the KLR back. It might not be the fastest DS or the lightest one but it sure is a nice riding bike and with some skill it will pretty much go anywhere on earth.
- Rob, akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine takes all road conditions in its stride. It may be an "ugly duckling" but once owned it easily becomes your most reliable best buddy and will take you anywhere with the greatest of ease. Look after it and it will look after you, guaranteed.
- Ian de Villiers, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-10 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second KLR, bought 2006 new in 2008. Only has 40 miles as of 2009. Still waiting on aftermarket parts before I hit the road. Adding fork brace, tall windshield, bag, pipe, sprocket, lowering links, skid plate, heated grips, and LED tail light. Am 46 and have owned a dozen bikes over the years and this is the best swiss army knife do everything bike. Great for work commuting and fun to hit the dirt roads and trails. Can't do serious off roading but is perfect to investigate something off the pavement. My first KLR was very reliable and expect this to be the same.
- Meat, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, today is my third day with my new 07 KLR. Have logged almost 250 miles already. Filled up after the first 150 miles. Took exactly 3 gallons. WOW 50 mpg and not even broke in yet. With todays gas prices, this bike is going to pay for itself real fast. I have had bikes most of my life, but never a dual sport. I absolutely love this thing. It is easy to ride, very comfortable and will have to admit the height had me intimidated for the first 30 minutes, but my size allows me to flat foot it at stop lights. I have the rear spring on the fourth notch, and the rebound maxed out on 4th setting also. This is a perfect set for me. Am trying to get the first 500 miles under my belt so I can play with it more. One thing I am planning on doing is upping the front sprocket to give the bike longer legs, and increase in MPG. I won't be doing a lot of off roading so the low end grunt is not a huge issue with me. For others, if you need more grunt go down a tooth on the front sprocket, that change will only cost you a few miles to the gallon, but you will gain a good amount of torque and grunt. I am planning on installing a Givi trunk and the doohickey change, and then change the front shock springs. I highly recommend this bike to anyone needing cheap transportation to work, the mall, the store down the street, or just to run a few trails on the weekend.
- DWayne, Richmond, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-10 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am so happy I got this bike. It is perfect for a tall rider like me and it runs like a champ. It is like the Evander Holyfield of Dual Sports.
- Wayne , Rocklin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-05 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike when the 2006 year model hit the showrooms. Riding dirt bikes my whole life it just made sense to get a dual-sport. I've never been much for the sport bikes or Harley's. It was hard to keep myself in check during the break in period but with a little self control it goes by pretty quick. It would be nice to have six gears becuase fifth gear keeps you at 55mph/3000rpm (which you can't exceed) during the break in period. It's hard to commute to work during this time. The bike is a little high in the seat but a 5ft 10in rider shouldn't have a problem. The seat can get a little uncomfortable on long rides so I upgraded to the Corbin. It really makes a difference for a ride longer that two hours or so. It's got great acceleration and the brakes are wonderful. The suspension is easily adjusted once you figure out that the owners manual is 20 years old and the correct information isn't in there. The service department I bought the bike from wasn't sure either, so I had to call Kawasaki directly. They really helped me out. I upgraded the exhaust with a Jardine slip on model. The stock exhaust had to weigh 20 pounds and the Jardine is 6 pounds. What a difference out of the whole and the added power is great for changing lanes on the highway. The only real negative thing I can say about the bike is during starting and the rear view mirrors. The neutral light will light up, but the bike will be in gear. It will buck until you run it through the gears and then find neutral again. Nothing you can do about it either but hold onto it when you start it. The mirrors are useless for seeing behind you on the highway. They vibrate so badly that you can't see anything. Nothing that a quick head check won't take care of but it would be nice to see behind me. You can purchase dampners for the mirrors. They fit in between the mirror and the mounting bracket and do a better job at controlling the viabration. I just installed them but it's been too cold to get out and ride to see if they really work. Great bike and I'm satisfied with it.
- Ken Gisriel, Catonsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a long year of going back and forth between the Honda XR650L, Suzuki DR650 and Kawasaki KLR 650, I finally decided on the KLR 650. What a nice bike! I've never owned a Kawasaki before and I am very surprised on how well the bike is put together. It is affordable, looks nice and it has tons of upgrades. Features like the 6 Gal tank, water cooled engine, tachometer, front fairing, and luggage rack among others were too hard to pass up. The Honda was the best bike on the dirt but it is nowhere near as comfortable as the Kawi. Gearing was short, great for the dirt. Gas tank was way too small. The Suzuki lacks the luggage rack, engine cover, decent tires and the gas tank is also small. In the end, the Kawi was the best choice for what I was looking for. Going through the break in period was hard but I am glad it is finally over. I have ridden from Orlando to Miami on a couple of trips down 441 - 27 into Miami. This bike ROCKS. I have tried it on trails around my home and it is light enough to play with it; it is just great. Gearing is a bit tall but it is acceptable. I'd rather have it this way and be able to get on the interstate and cruise at around 80. I highly recommend this bike to anyone wanting to get a dual purpose bike. Happy trails!
- jet, Saint Cloud, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-04 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OH WHAT FUN I HAVE RIDING ON AND OFF ROAD. ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS POINT AND PULL THE GAS BACK AND YOU GO ANYWHERE. I've BEEN PLACES OTHER PEOPLE WOULD NOT GO ON DIRT BIKES NOW THAT SAYS SOMETHING!!!
- KIM WATKINS, LINCOLN, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-31 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For days in the saddle, nothing beats my BMW K bike. For everyday commuting and dirt road exploration, my 2005 KLR beats the pants off of BMW's 650's. For thousands less, you get the simplicity of a carb vs FI, more gas on board, more suspension travel, etc.
- Andy Eglitis, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-29 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my KLR a few months ago and love it. The only problem is the seat height, which I knew would be an issue before I got it. I'm only 5'9 and with a 35 inch seat, it doesn't make it too comfortable to start or stop. While riding, the seat height is irrelevent. The bike goes anywhere and gets great gas mileage. Overall, it's a great bike and I'm glad I bought it.
- Jawn, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is a 05 KLR650 and my other bike is a Harley Soft Tail 06. Which one is more fun?? The KLR650, the reason is it goes anywhere you have the guts to take it. This bike has never let me down and it very smooth for a One Lunger. The full suspension eats up everthing I have thrown at it. I am regularly picking up after market up grade parts. I don't really need anything for this bike because it does what is supposed to do. I bought the following: alum skid plate, magnetic drain plug, K & N air filter, LED brake light, and an allen head stainless screw replacement set. Why, because you can't own something and not put your mark on it. In summary, if you want a bike that you don't have to stop and think where you want to go, then just buy the KLR650, it will take you there in confidence.
- Joel Nelson, Westfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-09 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had cruisers for years. Moved to Colorado Springs recently and decided to get something that would go where the Harleys couldn't go. Enter the 07 KLR 650... Figured a ride up Pike's Peak would be a great way to break it in. What a great ride!!! This carberated bike ran great all the way to 14,100 feet no problems, back firing, or anything. Changed the oil when I got home at 100 miles on the odometer. Visible metal in the filter. The bike ran great and if there was any remorse about switching to a different kind of ride, it is gone now!
- Pat, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike and does everything you would want it to do. If you don't like something change it with the 100,000 aftermarket accesorries. Come on - it's the swiss army knife, Jeep of the motorcycle world.
- Adam, Montville, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-03 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
She's got a face and body only a mother could love, but she sure can dance!!! The KLR is a fun scoot will let you go most places most other bikes fear to tread. You can explore that old overgrown dirt road. Single-track? Sure, go nuts! Twisties? Oh heck yeah! This mo'sickle loves them all. There are limitations. This is not a trials bike. It is heavier than the average dirt bike. And the suspension, well lets just say that the most money you will put into this bike is to replace the suspension. Stock suspension is fine if you weigh less that 200lbs. Stock tires are 50/50 street/dirt. Speeds above 60mph induce hi frequency vibes in the handlebars. This bike is fun. You can do anything you want. It is my first bike, and I do not regret my purchase.
- Simon, Manassas, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-24 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can tell you the KLR is a great deal and I'm much happier with it for 2up riding BUT it has an annoying buzz at 60-70mph. Suspension is primitive, lacking in adjustments. So far no problems at 1000 miles.
- Gary Farmer, Blue Ridge, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-23 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm getting back into riding after an extended hiatus, and wanted a bike that; a) had enough power, but not too much. b) was dual purpose c)didn't cost 15 or 20 thousand dollars and d) was tough enough to deal with the places I put her through. This bike meets or exceeds all of those things. So far, it's a great bike, and suits me just fine. I can afford a Harley. I chose a Kawasaki.
- Rob, Glenwood, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about a week ago. I commute 40 miles to work (one way) and needed to get the breakin miles on the bike ASAP. I ride it up the Interstate in heavy traffic (I-75). The bike has power to spare but when I get up to about 70-75 mph it gets shakey and a bit scary. I'll have to say it's not made for long hauls. By the time I arrive at work my butt is numb and my hands feel like there still vibrating for about 10 minutes after I get there. On a good note, the bike off road handles well. The gas mileage certainly beats my car (45-52mpg). I have to say the Bike is well worth the money. I'm impressed with it so far. Happy Trails!
- Jerry B, North Port, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great running and handling bike. Simple to ride, easy to handle, plenty of power and first tank of gas I get 48MPG! I am 47 years old and have been riding all kinds of motorcycles since age 12. I have had everything from a 1960 model Honda 65 to a Ninja 900. This bike I think will prove to be the best all around bike ever. I bought it simply from its reputation from owners that have owned this bike for years. I spoke to one rider that delivered newly built UPS trucks from Illinois to Florida. He hauled the bike in the back, dropped the truck in Florida and rode the KLR 650 back over 1000 miles. He did this every week!
- Glenn Keller, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-08 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding motocross bikes since I was 12 years old and finally at the age of 21 decided that I wanted to ride on the road. I spent about 9 months searching for a bike that would suit me best. I looked at sportbikes and cruisers, but really wanted something that was a "do it all" ride. The KLR650 is just that. I have only put 125 miles on it so far, both on and off road. For the price, there is nothing out there that touches it. Cheers to the Japanese wizards who designed this beast almost 20 years ago.
- Eric, Quakertown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-03 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall its a great bike. Not the best dirt bike, not the best street bike. Well its not made to be. If you like to travel and love to do the dirt everyday then this is your baby. Carefull on the trails and stay off the super slabs this bike will hang with traffic and follow fire roads and Nevada trails with ease. Minor problems with this big thumper. Use some lok tite on the fender bolts, radiatior guards bolts and few others. They like to vibrate loose. Then the cam tensioner lever is one to look at. Great aftermarket support though for this bike. Kawasakis tail bag and saddle bags work awesome with this bike and fit great! Might want to make a bigger heat shield for the exhuast or it will keep you lunch warm Overall great experience with this moto!
- WillyJ, Carson City, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-20 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had had my eye on this machine for a long time. I had no misconceptions about what I was getting into. I had read all the reviews and round the world stories I could surf up. In addition, my brother has one and I rode on an awesome trail ride in Utah in '04. What I was looking for was the Swiss army knife of the motorcycle universe. That is exactly what I got. It does anything I ask of it. With a skilled and determined rider aboard you can get this thing into some horrendous conditions and out again. Last year I took it across the strachan road. This is a former logging road that Mother Nature and the good 'ol Canadian beavers are reclaiming. I wanted to get from my house to the Kenora highway. This road is a shortcut; or so I thought. I slogged mud holes, skirted beaver ponds, lifted, pushed and dragged the bike through 300 yard mid thigh water crossings, over logs and washed out wooden culverts. I got almost to the highway and was finally blocked by a washed out creek bridge. It was almost dark and I had to turn around and go back through that mess. I promptly went on reserve with about 35 miles to go as well. The KLR got me through all of this happily. The reserve capacity was more than enough to get me home. I found out that the "T" connection for the carb breather that I read about was a reality. I got the bike stuck in a mud hole on the way back. I had hammered through it the first time and mistakenly thought I would ease around the side going back. I was so stuck I almost left it there sinking in the loon crap with water running through the frame and engine. The bike got very sputtery and would stall because the carb breather was blocked. I would sink when trying to pull it up. I finally got it out by piling enough small logs in there that I quit sinking when trying to lift it. Good thing as there were fresh wolf tracks on my first tire tracks. I did not want to walk out alone and besides, it's spooky enough without the wolves. This bike is to me so much more than the sum of its parts. I love it every time I get on. My butt gets sore after about an hour or so but maybe will toughen up. I find myself always wanting a sixth gear on the highway. The stock rear Dunlop wore out at 5000 Km. Typical. I will probably get another one just like it though as the front is still in good shape. I can only afford one bike. This machine is a super compromise. I plan some long trips on it for the future. B.C. or Baja here I come. This bike is awesome on the vast network of logging roads we have here in Northwest Ontario. I went on the 404 road the other day. Another offshoot of the Kenora Highway. This road had twisty gravel roads with big hills. I have not seen hills like those since running my ATV in British Columbia while Elk hunting. The bike had lots of power for those hills. Even stopping halfway up and consulting my map and then going again it would pull me right up no problemo. I would pull in the clutch and go whistling down the other side and halfway up the next one. Big fun. The KLR was made for this type of adventure exploring. If this is your game then you will not be disappointed. Not that expensive either. This bike has been in production virtually unchanged for 20 years now. For a Jap bike that has to be a record. Incredible aftermarket support too.
- Steve Rencher, Bergland, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-13 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because it was cheap, great gas mileage, lot of fun to ride and reminded me of my old moto cross days. I ride the bike to work often and hunt out gravel roads. If you are serious about tight trail riding, this may not be the dual sport for you. The KLR is as reliable as a hammer. The only issues I have had are replacing tires every 3,000 to 3,500 miles. The bike loves to be on gravel roads. I spent about 3/4 of my riding time on these roads. My other bike is a 2002 Gold Wing and only gets ridden when I really want to put down some serious miles.
- RLL, Lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-12 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the KLR after two years of researching bikes. I had never owned a bike, and actually only rode one once, 18 years before. I knew what I was looking for in a bike, but I had no idea which bikes on the market offered what features. I finally found the KLR 650. My choice was based on several points: [] Size (650 was a perfect size starter bike)<br /> [] Maintenance (no other bike is easier to work on or parts easy to find in its class)<br /> [] Aftermarket products (No other bike has as many options, PERIOD)<br /> [] Dependability (being nearly unchanged after almost 20 years and having a legion of satisfied owners says something)<br /> [] Reputation (see above, as well as it being the toughest bike of its kind; the US military eats these bikes up) After buying the bike in August '05 (used, 1,110 miles on it), it now sits at 14,000+, with a trip around the country under it's belt, and one lay down (riders fault). PERFORMANCE: Rode beautifully throughout the entire 7-week trip. Highlight was riding the Blue Ridge Parkway in Tennessee, fully loaded down with all my gear; I was achieving the lean I had been craving. Performs amazingly, for what kind of bike it is.
- Dug Shelby, Los Osos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-01 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I've owned and I don't think I could have made a better choice for what I was looking for in a bike. It has great power, it will stand up in first and if you really try in second, you can get it off the ground a little. It's very comfortable and easy to get used to. I've had it for a little over 48 hours and I have already put nearly 100 miles on it. Everything from the distance of the clutch and brake from the handlebars to where all the signals are all the way down to the kickstand is in the right spot. You can't beat the bang for the buck and I would have to say it's the perfect all-around, do-anything bike.
- Mike Kelly, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been looking for a 650 Thumper for a while. I had owned a Honda XR650L and loved it except for the overheating issues (air-cooled) in traffic during the summers. I decided on the new 06 KLR650 and I haven't looked back. For the money, you simply can't go wrong for what you pay. The bike is easy to work on and I find it to be a well-balanced ride. It is not heavily dirt oriented like the XR650L, but more towards street and easy trail riding. However, if one wanted to make the bike more dirt oriented it would be quite easy with some simple upgrades. The bike is tall and I wouldn't recommend it in its stock form to anyone less the 5'5" unless you really know how to ride. The power band is sufficient for keeping up with highway traffic or moderate trail work. Again, you could modify this bike anyway you want but I find it the perfect blend of street and trail. I really like the lime green and black color, which makes you easily seen on the road. The bike is very comfortable and one could easily ride over 500 miles in a day without being exhausted. Its no wonder why this bike has such a cult following and many choose it to ride to the ends of the earth. Go get one and start enjoying it!
- Jerome, Quantico, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: