Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (618)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Doug from Corning, Arkansas says:

I bought it new in 2006 and it's the best bike for long distance I have ever ridden. I did six to eight hours straight per day in the saddle on my Stu

Read More (618 reviews)

Have you owned a Kawasaki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new in 2006 and it's the best bike for long distance I have ever ridden. I did six to eight hours straight per day in the saddle on my Sturgis trip. No problem!
- Doug, Corning, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-06-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Save yourself the trouble, get a Harley. I bought this bike because I thought it would be as nice as a Softail. I was very disappointed. From the factory it felt choked, accelerated slower than my Versys 300. The windshield, at its highest setting, was too short for me and I was bombarded with turbulence. In less than a week my left floorboard was dangling off. A pin had sheared. A month later my front brake caliper fell off, I was thankful it didn't catch the spokes. After getting the caliper bolted down I went on my first long trip, 270 miles one-way. It was torturous. The stock seat was utter garbage and I ended up taking the windshield off, which was more comfortable than keeping it on. I only got 26mpg, I was disgusted in the 100 mile fuel range. On the way home my rear-cylinder's header cracked and the exhaust tube fell off. The dealership paid for half a set of Vance & Hynes. They were far better. I also bought a new intake and a DynoJet PC5, the bike was finally accelerating decently. Though my mom's Harley Street 750 was far faster. Also I was now getting around 35mpg, a drastic improvement over stock fuel mileage. Then my fuel pump went out. After that I was getting 80 miles out of a tank and never exceeding 90 mph. In December my stator went out at 4,859 miles. I was so done with that cheaply built Kawasaki garbage. I traded it, got a Harley Electra Glide. Best decision I made regarding that Vulcan.
- Chris, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello. The Kawasaki VN1600 Classic Nomad is indeed a solid reliable machine and is quite well built. The solid alloy wheels are a bonus as spoked wheels tend to rust so no problems with the wheels. Some may find on second-hand machines they have a front wobble (speed wobble) but knowing many other owners, this is down to the tire having a run off or is not seated correctly. A simple tire change sorts this out. There is plenty of room with the side panniers and rack and it's a nice machine to ride on. My mpg. is around 42.5 per gallon of petrol (gas)but I have had the standard exhaust removed (very heavy) and had the Vance and Hines sent over from the USA (Bagshots) so maybe this and the combination of a new air filter and power commander has an effect on fuel consumption. You receive the screen and side panniers as standard and this VN series has the pipes on each side for a more balanced look. I do find that spraying your machine with WD40 or other water retardant helps the bikes wires to become dependable in the long run. Please note that once the VN refused to turn over but do not take it to bits looking for a fault if it was working fine. Check the clutch wires on the lever (2 wires covered in a plastic shroud) as they tend to come off if not secure and can be overlooked.
- Jeff Marrin, Billingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-10 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki's Vulcan 750 is an amazing bike. Over 54,000 miles and it's still running great. There are many different modifications that can be done. Forward controls/highway bars are something that pretty much have to be fabricated, but if you're not too picky, it's not too big of a problem. My next bike will be another Vulcan, and my wife will ride my 750 (though I plan on taking it out myself once in a while!)
- Dan Fraser, Alden, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-18 2006 Kawasaki Z750S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't ridden a motorcycle in 33 years. I took the MSF class, got my M license, took a couple of private lessons from MSF folks and went out and bought a 2006 Z750S with $11,000. I very much like the sit-up riding position. I have no strain on my wrists or back. I like having my feet under me - not behind ala sport bike or in front ala cruiser. The Z750S handles well. Some reviewers have complained about needed suspension modifications but for me that is just tweak talk. I put on some frame sliders and rear spools (no center stand - darn!) and I was good to go. The bike handles well. I have pilots front & rear and the Z750S can get up and move. Twist your right hand and you are doing 80 mph. Twist a wee bit more and watch out. I'm getting almost 50 mpg. So far I'm only in for 500 miles but I take a ride every day, every other day and I return home with a big grin.
- robfilms, nyc, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-18 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 2006 KLR 650 three years ago and got some other DS. It was the worse mistake I made. I'm not saying that the DS I replaced the KLR with was bad or anything, it just was not a KLR! Well I found a 2006 KLR 650 on Craigslist last week with 810 miles on it and I went and looked at it and it was mint! I fell in love with it right off the bat! The thing was pretty much new so I bought it and I'm so happy I got the KLR back. It might not be the fastest DS or the lightest one but it sure is a nice riding bike and with some skill it will pretty much go anywhere on earth.
- Rob, akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-12-11 2006 Kawasaki KX85 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's an excellent bike and never let me down when riding. It has pretty good size for an off-road bike and I will definitely suggest you get it. It's also a very fast bike. I'm 6'-2" and I can reach 70/80.
- kyle, stafford, Manchester, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-11-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Kawasaki 2006 750 Vulcan used with 1,800 miles on it two weeks ago from a Tallahassee dealership. I love the bike. It has plenty of power. The ride and handling fit me perfectly. A couple of times I have hit the starter button and it just clicked but after a few clicks it fired up. Has anyone had this problem? It might just be a loose connection with the battery or something simple like that. Overall though, I can see this bike and I having several good years together.
- Bobby, Marianna, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-12 2006 Kawasaki KLX250S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use it primarily for street use, going to and from work when the weather cooperates. The bike has always been reliable. It gets extremely good gas mileage, even when pushed hard. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Leon Wilkens, DesMoines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-26 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a nice overall package. It handles cross winds, has good low end power with 401 lbs. and the top end is 116 mph. Fuel mileage is 38-47 mpg., DIY maintenance is common sense and comfort is not an issue. I have done multiple long trips doing 450 miles a day with no aches, just sunburn. WOT for miles on end is not an issue. She runs like a Kawasaki.
- joe, toluca, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-16 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '06 Vulcan 750 on ebay in February. I haven't had the opportunity to put a lot of miles on it due to the weather. I can tell you this...what's not to like. It has plenty of power, handles like a dream and sounds better than my '92 Goldwing did. We're going to spend some quality time on the road this spring, summer and fall.
- Dave 'Chief' Varner, South Williamsport, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my low mileage 2006 Vulcan 750 on Ebay recently and love it. The HD prices are so outrageous in comparison. It has lots of power and great manuverability in parking lots and around town. It also cruises on the open road just fine but the best performance is on the curving hilling roads.
- James, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-08 2006 Kawasaki KX85 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first 85 ever. I just moved up from a 65 with a big bore. I love this bike, twist the throtle then bam! - Instant power. I can keep up with my brother's KFX450 quad! I would recomend this for a first 85.
- Austin, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are wondering if this bike is too big for you, it's not! At first I was intimitated by anything over 500ccs. After taking the MSF course, my confidence returned and I was ready to try the big metal (well, the medium metal). The Vulcan 900 inspires confidence with stable handling, excellent (but not extreme) performance, and iron-clad reliability. Unlike other reviewers, I have no issue with the seat. The only issues I have are with a lack of a tach, and the inaccurate gas gauge (good thing the low fuel light is good! I've only gone 900 miles with my Vulcan so far, and I've kept the speed below 65 mph, but gas mileage has been 56 mpg. This really is a great bike for someone coming back to the sport.
- Cliptwings, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine takes all road conditions in its stride. It may be an "ugly duckling" but once owned it easily becomes your most reliable best buddy and will take you anywhere with the greatest of ease. Look after it and it will look after you, guaranteed.
- Ian de Villiers, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-05 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding this bike for a year, I can say that I don't think there's a bike to top it. Maybe the Rocket III, but nothing else will have that instant torque gratification throwing you back and stretching your arms at the flick of a wrist. It handles great, sounds great, looks great (I get lots of compliments) and it is just an all-around wonderful bike. The only thing is it eats rear tires, I suppose with all of that weight + torque = tire eating.
- Chris Hoff, West Fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike with 5000 miles on it for $5000. I fell in love with it when I took it for a test drive down the highway real quick. At my height and weight I was concerned with the handling and power but I have no complaints there. As many have said, the seat could be better. It especially hurts my lower back on anything over an hour. It's impossible to ride at night with low beam, but the high beam doesn't seem to bother anyone so I always leave it on. I've put 8000 miles on this bike and not one problem. It has easy oil changes and is easy to clean. I even got sideswiped splitting traffic in California and the bike stayed up - $3000 in damage but I was unhurt thanks to the floorboards. I hope to ride this bike for many years to come. I've compared it to many other bikes and it is by far the best ride for the value and sometimes better than bikes double the price. I definitely recommend a light bar and a seat if you can afford it, but it doesn't really need it unless you ride every day.
- Mike Gervais, Gorham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used (5800k) this spring after 16 years of not having one. My last bike was an 84 Honda V45 Magna. I'm very pleased with the power and seating position of this bike. It feels light and is easy to handle at low speeds. It goes down the road arrow straight and is very smooth. After about 60 MPH though, there is some vibration but not unbearable. The bike should have a 6th gear for the open road. I plan on replacing the front pully on the belt drive to help with this. The bike is fuel injected so it starts nice on cooler days. I find the suspension to be much better than on the old Magna. The seat is not bad but is a little hard on my old butt on longer rides. She doesn`t have the snap of the old Magna.....but I didn`t expect it to. Oh and did I mention I love the sound of those Cobra pipes.
- Force, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-02 2006 Kawasaki KDX200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is beyond me why any person would ever want a 4-stroke bike when you could have a KDX instead. I have no idea why Kawaskai didn't keep making these wonderful, spirited trail bikes. This four-year-old machine has the lug-ability for tight trails and the motocross rocket-type power in the mid-range for fire road bombing. I've had several bikes - YZ80, YZ125, and an XR600 - and this 2006 KDX blows them all away in stock form.
- IdaRider, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-18 2006 Kawasaki KX85 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 15, 5'8 and 155 pounds. I'm a wrestler so I have lots of muscle to go around. I was riding a ttr 125 and grew out of it so I set my sights on this bike. When I got it and I was putting around in 2nd gear, the bike would lift off the gorund. It has tremendous power. I feel that I hit power band in both 4th and 5th gear. I tok it riding on big whoops and it was great and responsive. Also the seat is sooo comfy. I recommend this bike.
- me, west creek, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-04 2006 Kawasaki KX65 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got mine for my b-day and I crashed it right away. It didn't even get a scratch. I got mine in 07 and I still have it now. It's an AMAZING dirt bike. It holds up great but eventually you'll need a new back tire, and when it hits the power band it goes Fast.
- Jacob, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this as the 2nd bike I've ever owned. I originally had a 1989 Kawasaki EX500 which was great for learning without burning a hole in my wallet. The 650R was everything the reviews and riders have placed it. Basically an all out perfect bike for the daily rider from beginner to advanced. I took this on a 220 mile ride the first summer and it didn't bother my back at all. I even had the sport handlebars installed. It also has plenty of low end toque for local cruising but enough on the highways as well.
- Ellery, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-14 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike since the Spring of 2006 and the only regret I have is that I do not have the ability to ride it year round. This bike is amazing. Everytime I ride I can not help but to grin from ear to ear. Winding this bike out to it's 15,500 rpm redline is an amazing feeling and it handles like it is glued to the road.
- Brandon, Hamden, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-04 2006 Kawasaki Z750S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike brand new in 2007. I installed a scorpion exhaust, and still have yet to put the k&n air filter in. This bike completely blew me away. I have riden ducatis and mv agustas tons of bikes, but for an easily affordable sport bike, this was the one. Insurance is awesome compared to a full fairing bike. If it's dropped you won't have to spend $3000 on just fairings to fix it. If you need new side fairings for this bike you can get them for under $200. This bike will pull its front wheel off the ground. Great mid sized bike that's not too small but not too big either. This bike performs awesome on back windy roads at higher speeds rather than the big bikes that take a lot more effort to get around those corners. I have had no problems with this bike whatsoever, no leaks, but the dash and fairing excessively vibrate when you hit about 70mph but that is very common for the z750s' fairing design. I highly reccommend this bike to anyone. The 2006 is great b/c it was the last of the old body styling that was sold in America, now you can only purchase the new ones in Europe with the newer features and styling.
- joehd88, Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-24 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been outstanding, lots of power and a great ride. I have rode Harleys and Goldwings and this bike fits me better and is less tiring on long trips.
- J. Wiley, Water Valley, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: