Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (46)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-10-08 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 23 and I finally started to ride. My girlfriend has been wanting to ride and I decided it was time to try it out. I did a lot of research and decided on the Ninja 250. It's light enough for her and sporty enough for me. I looked for used ones, but for the price, why not just get it new? I bought a new 2007 red Ninja and I currently have 160 miles on it. I picked up the bike right after taking the MSF (I told the guys at the MSF I was getting a Ninja 250 and they cheered), and was very excited to ride. It's a sharp bike, but I'm mad now that I see the 2008 model, which absolutely kills the 2007. Figures when I buy one they change it the next year. Your seat position is very comfortable, the throttle is smooth, the brakes are great and the handling is sharp. This is a great bike to inspire confidence in a new rider. I still have a couple hundred miles before I can see what it can really do, but I've had it up to 55 and it's not too bad, the light weight does allow it to be thrown around. I think I'm going to keep the bike for at least the 3 years it's going to take to pay it off. My girlfriend is going to ride it mostly and I want to get a Ninja 650 or GSXR600 for my next bike. If you are looking for a beginner bike or a bike for someone who is short and thin, this is a great choice. You will outgrow this bike, but it's great to learn on. I recommend it (5 stars).
- Kevin Y, Milford, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been very pleased with the purchase of this bike. I bought it second hand at 970 miles and put nearly 3400 miles on it in 2 months - I commute to work 45 miles away every day! I have had no previous bike experience whatsoever - this Ninja 250 is easy to maneuver and shift and very forgiving for beginners' mistakes. Its reasonable seat height and little weight make it an attractive beginner bike for someone short. It gets 70 miles to the gallon and gets good speeds. I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting a fun, small, sport bike!!!
- Sandra, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't even know where to start. It's a great little bike. I got the 2007 candy plasma blue. It's very hush hush and timid under 6-7 rpm. After that, it's get the hell out of my way grandma! The little bike boogies, no doubt about it. Great gas mileage. Great powerband! Top speed of about 105-110. Had it to 120 downhill. Keep in mind the speedometer is about 10% off. My research has shown that ALL bikes are 5%-10% off...just how it is. Bigger wheels have shown to bring the percentage down. Good shocks to soak up bumps...for 2 up riding you should put a ex500 shock on and even for single riding will greatly help handling/cornering. Def. look into diff tires. Stock tires are well...free tires. Once they become unstuck they usually stay that way. If you're someone that won't push the envolope/doesn't plan to even go into many turns/curvy roads, then you might be ok on stock tires. But for just a LITTLE bit more, you can upgrade to awesome tires like you're on a rail. I'm upgrading to some Perrelli Sport Demons. Not much storage under seat at all. Helmet lock is pretty lame as a helmet locked on it will sit inches if not right on the muffler...not good. Windshield is not all that efficient. Directs wind at mainly the chest area and face a little. Tucking does help but not immensly. I plan on upgrading to a Zero Gravity Double Bubble for it. Better protection from wind/flying debris and cooler look. Front shocks do move quite a bit under hard braking, but I am told a thicker weight fork oil would solve this. I will do that soon. The 2007 models have almost a cast iron texture to them, which I don't really like....but they do come clean no problem. Very light little bike. GREAT in the twisties. It can technically beat a Corvette in a 0-60 race! Do the research. After about 65-70 mph accelleration is a little slow, but nothing terrible. All in all, I give it an A. Unfortunately, I can't give an A+ cause it's not an ex500. All the cons are very minor and not worth getting worked up about. Do yourself a favor, don't jump on the bandwagon like a lot of people like to do for image reasons or what ever. If it's for around town pretty much and some freeway here and there, then get a freggin Ninja 250. It's one bad little bike. You can't beat the price, insurance cots, gas costs and part prices. Yes, it's worth it, yes, it's bad, yes, it's fun and everyone thinks it's at least a 500 or 600! Happy trails!
- Hot Wheels, San Luis Obispo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking for a Beginner Bike, or something comfortable in busy traffic? Either way the 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R has you covered. This bike will keep the experienced rider happy with it's smooth roll on power, as well as the beginner with it's Light Weight manueverability and easy cornering. Kawasaki is known for it's reliable engines, the 250cc Liquid Cooled engine for this bike is no exception. I have owned the bike for a year and I have experienced no mechanical problems what so ever, not so much as a studder. For a Carborated Engine the throttle response is more then adequate. I suggest this bike for anyone. No exceptions, if you are looking for a smooth ride, good control, and enough power to put a smile on your face, this is the bike for you. Well, that's my two cents.
- Justin Blanchard, Milton, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-11 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ninja 250 as my first bike. Having never rode, let alone cranked a bike before, I thought it would be a good bike to start on. After pulling out of the parking lot and taking it home, I quickly learned how to ride, and I was on the road on a Friday night by myself in heavy traffic about an hour after buying it. Great bike to learn on, but after parking it the first night, I knew I needed something bigger. This bike is very light and easy to pick up if dropped, perfect for some one that likes to cruise around. Handling is great, it will take a curve like it wasn't even there.
- Amber, Fairview, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-10 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Never having ridden before up until April 2006, I had not a clue of motorcycles other than seeing them on the road and t.v.. Well on our annual vacation, my sister let me ride hers (a Ninja 500) and my brother let me ride his (a Harley 750) needless to say, I was hooked. My wife and I both didn't want to start out big so we purchased 2 250's (hers is Ebony & mine Yellow). I have been impressed w/everything about this bike. Most folks don't think it's a 250 until we tell them. I would highly recommend this bike for a beginner (we've been teaching our sons ages 17 & 15 and now they want bikes too)! The bikes do tend to vibrate at around 70-80 mph and while they are good @ the take-off they kind of get muddled around 40-50 mph, but what can you expect? They're 250's. I wouldn't make this a long term bike unless you just want to cruise around town and not get down and dirty. I will be upgrading soon (the wife says she'll keep hers).
- Daren, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-28 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for anyone, beginner to expert. Among the 250cc class, it has a much higher top speed than its competitors and has no trouble reaching and maintaining the illegal end of the speedometer due to its 6 speed transmission. The suspension comes a little soft, but it is easy to stiffen up and, even in stock configuration, is a handling monster. Because the bike hasn't changed much in nearly 2 decades, parts are plentiful and available for cheap. The bike is easy to modify (in case you either can't stand the stock config or just have to be different than every other Ninja 250 out there) and, at its best, gets over 70 mpg. Maintenence is extremely light.
- x, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a casual weekend rider, I have had this bike for six months. But I have only put 500 miles on it since I have mostly been riding on the weekends. I also did not build enough confidence to ride the bike more frequently until the temperatures dipped well below 50F. I love how the bike rides and corners. I have been averaging over 50 miles per gallon even though I occasionally redline the bike several gears in a row. Trying to follow the new bike break in schedule has definitely been torture! In the cold, it does take a while to start up the bike. But if you start it up at least once a week then it will usually crank the first time fully choked. I found that if you at least take the bike around the block a few times more than once a week it is guaranteed to not let you down when you try to start it in 30F degree weather. I am still making beginner mistakes every once in a while like not being smooth with the clutch and front brake, but the bike just takes it in stride. On a 600cc crotch rocket, I know mistakes like that would definitely mean a dropped bike. Hoping to keep this bike for years!
- ppith, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is hard to keep running when cold. Choke operation is touchy. But let me say for OTD price, I got a bargain in every respect. Yeah granted it is a 1st timer rider/commuter bike but I've ridin' since 1964, but the balance, smooth operation of controls, and overall performance makes this bike a hit, especially in persimmon red flames. You won't be disappointed - just be sure to change counter sproket from 14 teeth to 15 and get thet 65mpg plus and it puts the rpm down low where it needs to be in all the gears so the motor dosen't work so hard. I'm getting a '07 Suzuki 1250s Bandit for the road touring bit but will always have my hot little Kawa for the quicky out and abouts. Happy riding!!
- maddmac, anderson, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After putting about 600 more miles on this bike, I have found what I believe is it's one and only shortcoming. It is geared slightly too low. I replaced the 14 tooth front sprocket with a 15 tooth one. That one change alone has completely transformed this bike. It lost almost nothing on the bottom end, but can now cruise comfortably at 80 mph on the highway, and you can get all the way through an intersection before having to shift. It is much smoother than before, and the slight notchiness in the 1-2 shift is gone. Since the bike was now perfect, I decided to make it look perfect. I removed all those silly 'tribal' decals, and got some decals that make it look like a real motorcycle, which it is, in every sense of the word. Unless you want brute force and a ridiculous top speed, which are unusable in the real world, this is the best sportbike out there. Get one now before Kawasaki either quits making them, or doubles the price.
- Jerry, Chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-07 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Avoid being seen...Seen, avoid capture...Captured, avoid being held. Such is the way of the shadowhand ninja aka shinobi ninja. I thought of buying a Ducati but didn't because I'm more of a ninja than a monster. Look, if you are looking for a beginner bike or an inexpensive weekend bike then just get a 250 Ninja already and let the fun begin. And if you are getting a bike to save on gas, you're getting one for the wrong reason. Risking life and limb to save a few dollars is not too smart. The real reason is the cool and fun factor, just admit it and you won't be lying to yourself. I'm unwilling to place my life in the hands of others so I ride mainly on the weekend mornings before traffic picks up. Getting back to the Ninja, I love this bike. It is my fourth bike and I'm totally satisfied with it. Not one problem yet, starts up everytime, good acceleration and top speed, great handling. Any bike I get must be able to do highway riding and the lil' Ninja cruises at 75mph actual speed easily and seems at home at those speeds. Other reviewers complained about vibration above 7k rpm but I never feel that it is bad or annoying. Actually, the vibration is part of the motorcycle experience--it lets you know the little motor is working hard for you (but not too hard). This bike is a great confidence builder with its low center of gravity, light weight, great handling, good brakes, and the low price means more carefree riding knowing that it's already paid off. Experienced riders know what a big plus it is to have a centerstand when it comes to routine maintenance. If you are worried that you will tire of it quickly, then get a used one if you can find one. don't get a 600 sportbike as a first bike and become a statistic. I have mixed feelings everytime a youngster says his liter bike doesn't have too much power for him yet goes on to tell about how he dropped it and now it's in the shop for repairs. Anyway, you can't go wrong with the lil' Ninja.
- American Ninja, Fountain Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: light, fun, soft clutch, low seat, good enough brakes (they could use some steel braded lines), 13k redline, and stable at 105 mph. All black looks pretty hot (people think its a 500), used ones for cheap, perfect commuter, great mpg, corners like a champ and is very flickable. Cons: Soft suspension, seat gets a little uncomfortable after a while, klunky gearbox, your friends might make fun of you so don't tell them it's a 250, not fun on the highway but it can do it, tops out at 105, lack of any torque makes passing a lesson in timing, and high power band 8k to 13k. Conclusion: Good for first time riders. Still fun for commuters but you might grow out of it fast. Get the black 06' model - it is by far the coolest.
- nick, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ninja 250 is way under rated. The bike handles great and gets 75 MPG and about 60 opened up. With a top speed of about 110, makes this bike a geat choice. If you want more speed, add new exhaust. Now if you want to get the front end off the ground, also ad bigger jets and a bigger sprocket on the back. I went for bigger teeth. On the downside, a bigger sprocket does reduce the top speed a little but makes the bike great for wheelies. If you want more speed instead, go for a smaller back sprocket.
- EverettCash, Mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 06 Ninja 250R in mid-May and have put over 7k miles on so far, mostly on 2 lane paved, and dirt roads in northern Vt. Excellent bike! Runs smooth, pretty quick, and very economical, I average 75-85mpg. On 1 trip into northern N.H. averaged 82mpg. Serviced according to the owners manual, outside of chain lube every 4oo miles, very little maintenance needed. Excellent quality. I am very pleased with this 250cc motorcycle. I purchased a 2 year extended warranty so I plan to enjoy this great bike for years to come. Also very inexpensive to insure. All in all - the best 250 cc bike you can buy. And the red is just beautiful--- perfect as is...
- dave wyman, jeffersonville, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-10 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research, I decided my first bike had to be the 250 and almost 2 years ago I bought one. The bike starts up first try and always has. It is easy to work on due to the standard centerstand. Handling wise, this bike will keep up with the biggest baddest sportbikes on twisty roads but will not hang on straightaways. Top speed is around 105. Comfort is a mix. I feel scrunched up on the bike but only my knees get sore after long rides. After putting on 24,000 miles riding every day, I am still in love with the Ninja 250. Although the horsepower has noticeably declined due to the mileage, it is just as fun or more so than when I first got the bike. Since I've had such a good experience with the 250, I will continue to buy Kawasaki and hope more people will give the little 250 a try.
- Seth K Greene, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike brand new in May 2006, and when I brought it home, I had never ridden a bike before. Now, almost 6000 miles later, I don't think I'll ever get rid of it. Would I like a bigger, faster bike? You bet. But this thing is plenty quick for everyday riding, and I can still outrun most vehicles on the road. For a 250cc, this thing isn't fooling around. It has a lot more power and speed than you would expect, and even people I know with bigger bikes have enjoyed riding it. Of course, they make fun of it 99% of the time, but they owe thousands of dollars more than I do, pay double the insurance that I do, and don't get nearly the good gas milage that I do. I ride it daily to work and everywhere possible, and get anywhere from 50-70 mpg. I'll definitely be keeping this machine, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a PERFECT starter bike, or who has been riding big bikes for years and just wants something smaller to get around easier and cheaper.
- Jared, Henryville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-01 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is actually my second bike, my first being a 1983 Honda CB650 Nighthawk. Some of the positive things about this bike- low cost, ease of maintenance, parts readily available, super light weight, the most flickable bike out there, most powerful 250CC out there, super gas mileage (65 on average for me), super easy to shift, can handle highway speeds fine (change to a 15 tooth front sprocket and cruise at 80+ MPH all day long) and a good amount of aftermarket product support. Some cons- No power in the motor before 6 grand, and even then this bike won't overwhelm you with speed. They say this bike can do 0-60 in under 6 seconds, and I say that's very wishful thinking; more like 7 on a good day for me, and that's reving it to the redline up until 4th gear. If you are at 60mph in 6th gear and roll the throttle all the way, it does not instantly move up the tach like a bigger bike would. This bike is not a true sport bike, and it shows, but that's really not the point of a Ninja 250. Some might want a faster bike, as do I eventually, but there is so much fun to be had on this Little 250 Ninja that could, that even when I look to purchase a more powerful sport bike, I am definitely keeping my blue 250. Also, it is a 20 year old design, and looks a little dated, plus with it being a budget bike, the suspension, gauges, and overal feel of the bike is that while it's not shoddily put together by any means, just it's very utilitarian by design. Plus, you will have to adjust the valves every 6,000 or so miles, and for some that might be too daunting a task.
- Big Will, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is functional aestheticism in its most utilitarian disguise ever...meaning it's perfect for city use and looks sort of cool...
- jon w., albany, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everything I'd ever read about the Ninja 250 screamed 'this is the perfect bike for my 25 - 30 mile twisty, backroads commute'. And after 3500 mi in 4 months, I can say that it really *is* perfect for me. Fits me like a glove. Has **ample** power to pull me around slow-moving cars on 45 mph two-lane backroads. I rarely ride on highways, so the lack of top-end isn't much of an issue. Even when I do, getting up to 85-90 mph is simple and the bike is perfectly stable at that speed. I could rave about the little ninja for hours, but the point is simple: There is *no* other motorcycle on the market today that gives you the reliability, power, light weight, strong front & rear discs, 60 mpg or better AND a small price tag. My only regret is that I didn't buy one years ago!
- B. Lievethehype, Phillyburbs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 1st bike and I absolutely love it! It not only turns heads because of the sweet color & flames (mine's red), but because it fits my petite body perfectly. The seat height is ideal even for even the shortest person so balancing is never an issue. Not to mention the weight, as noted, I'm a buck & some change, & even tho' I've had the experience of having to pick it up (driveway drop, I'm ok!) the bike is light. I recommend this bike for beginners as well as anyone looking for a fast & inexpensive ride.
- Slim, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-05 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had never ridden a motorcycle before, so I decided the smart thing to do was buy something small. So I decided to go with the name I kept hearing - Ninja. Almost 6 months and 3000+ miles later, I'm still content with my desicion. The low weight, excellent handling, and decided lack of extreme power make the Ninja 250 perfect for a beginner that doesn't like meeting the pavement. There is only a couple of problems to be found, and one only shows up much later in the riding experience. The most noticable problem is that the low weight makes riding in any kind of wind quite the chore. The other, less noticable problem is the lack of power I mentioned earlier. After riding for a few months, you are bound to get bored. Simple fact of riding a sport bike: speed = fun. Well, with a lack of speed, I have to hold back on the fun. But hey, I've never laid it down, nor had any speed related mishaps. So, like I said, it's perfect for a beginner. Now on to bigger and better bikes! Whee!
- Isaac Scott, Salinas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-01 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE RIDDEN 45 YEARS AND STILL HAVE THREE OTHER MOTORCYCLES. I BOUGHT IT TO RUN SHORT ERRANDS BUT FOUND OUT IT WELL DO EVERYTHING TO AROUND TOWN TO SHORT TOURING. IT IS LITE AND RUNS MORE LIKE A 400CC BIKE. IT IS FAR BETTER BIKE THAN I EXPECTED FOR THE PRICE. I WOULD BUY ANOTHER IF THIS ONE EVER WEARS OUT.
- FRED K, EL DORADO HILLS, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes since I was a child and when I went shopping for a sports bike my size I knew this was the one for me. I ride to work and back about everyday, this little ninja is full of suprises. Not many bikes can hold it's own with the big boys like this one. Turns are smooth and when you get on the throttle it'll pull your eyes in the back of your head. A true credit to the name Ninja.
- Rhonda, Hooksett, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bougt the bike about two weeks ago and I absolutly love it. It is very fast and perfect for going to school and riding around town. I had never ridden a motorcycle before but it doesn't matter because it is easier to ride than a bicycle. It is a great bike to start out with but I can't wait to get something bigger.
- tommy carter, dinuba, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ninja 250 is a great starter bike for anyone who has never ridden before. The break in period is torturous! I would take it on long trips to break it in. After 1000 miles you can tap into more power, but at 8,000 rpms and up the bike vibrates like a mad bumble bee. I've had the bike up to a 100mph, and it still has a little more to give. At 70 mph you will feel a lot of vibration(high end of the engine I guess). The bike handles very well and is a comfortable ride. Gas mileage is great at 70 mpg or better. The engine sounds great at all speeds, and the bike does grab the attention of onlookers. My only problem is I am outgrowing the bike. I now want something more powerful. I wish I would have bought a bike in the 600 class. All in all the Ninja 250 is a very good BEGINNERS bike.
- Corey Alley, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: