Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

46 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Kevin Y

Milford, Delaware

Reviewed on 2007-10-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 23 and I finally started to ride. My girlfriend has been wanting to ride and I decided it was time to try it out. I did a lot of research and decided on the Ninja 250. It's light enough for her and sporty enough for me. I looked for used ones, but for the price, why not just get it new? I bought a new 2007 red Ninja and I currently have 160 miles on it. I picked up the bike right after taking the MSF (I told the guys at the MSF I was getting a Ninja 250 and they cheered), and was very excited to ride. It's a sharp bike, but I'm mad now that I see the 2008 model, which absolutely kills the 2007. Figures when I buy one they change it the next year. Your seat position is very comfortable, the throttle is smooth, the brakes are great and the handling is sharp. This is a great bike to inspire confidence in a new rider. I still have a couple hundred miles before I can see what it can really do, but I've had it up to 55 and it's not too bad, the light weight does allow it to be thrown around. I think I'm going to keep the bike for at least the 3 years it's going to take to pay it off. My girlfriend is going to ride it mostly and I want to get a Ninja 650 or GSXR600 for my next bike. If you are looking for a beginner bike or a bike for someone who is short and thin, this is a great choice. You will outgrow this bike, but it's great to learn on. I recommend it (5 stars).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandra

Bloomington, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been very pleased with the purchase of this bike. I bought it second hand at 970 miles and put nearly 3400 miles on it in 2 months - I commute to work 45 miles away every day! I have had no previous bike experience whatsoever - this Ninja 250 is easy to maneuver and shift and very forgiving for beginners' mistakes. Its reasonable seat height and little weight make it an attractive beginner bike for someone short. It gets 70 miles to the gallon and gets good speeds. I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting a fun, small, sport bike!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hot Wheels

San Luis Obispo, California

Reviewed on 2007-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't even know where to start. It's a great little bike. I got the 2007 candy plasma blue. It's very hush hush and timid under 6-7 rpm. After that, it's get the hell out of my way grandma! The little bike boogies, no doubt about it. Great gas mileage. Great powerband! Top speed of about 105-110. Had it to 120 downhill. Keep in mind the speedometer is about 10% off. My research has shown that ALL bikes are 5%-10% off...just how it is. Bigger wheels have shown to bring the percentage down. Good shocks to soak up bumps...for 2 up riding you should put a ex500 shock on and even for single riding will greatly help handling/cornering. Def. look into diff tires. Stock tires are well...free tires. Once they become unstuck they usually stay that way. If you're someone that won't push the envolope/doesn't plan to even go into many turns/curvy roads, then you might be ok on stock tires. But for just a LITTLE bit more, you can upgrade to awesome tires like you're on a rail. I'm upgrading to some Perrelli Sport Demons. Not much storage under seat at all. Helmet lock is pretty lame as a helmet locked on it will sit inches if not right on the muffler...not good. Windshield is not all that efficient. Directs wind at mainly the chest area and face a little. Tucking does help but not immensly. I plan on upgrading to a Zero Gravity Double Bubble for it. Better protection from wind/flying debris and cooler look. Front shocks do move quite a bit under hard braking, but I am told a thicker weight fork oil would solve this. I will do that soon. The 2007 models have almost a cast iron texture to them, which I don't really like....but they do come clean no problem. Very light little bike. GREAT in the twisties. It can technically beat a Corvette in a 0-60 race! Do the research. After about 65-70 mph accelleration is a little slow, but nothing terrible. All in all, I give it an A. Unfortunately, I can't give an A+ cause it's not an ex500. All the cons are very minor and not worth getting worked up about. Do yourself a favor, don't jump on the bandwagon like a lot of people like to do for image reasons or what ever. If it's for around town pretty much and some freeway here and there, then get a freggin Ninja 250. It's one bad little bike. You can't beat the price, insurance cots, gas costs and part prices. Yes, it's worth it, yes, it's bad, yes, it's fun and everyone thinks it's at least a 500 or 600! Happy trails!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Justin Blanchard

Milton, Vermont

Reviewed on 2007-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Looking for a Beginner Bike, or something comfortable in busy traffic? Either way the 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R has you covered. This bike will keep the experienced rider happy with it's smooth roll on power, as well as the beginner with it's Light Weight manueverability and easy cornering. Kawasaki is known for it's reliable engines, the 250cc Liquid Cooled engine for this bike is no exception. I have owned the bike for a year and I have experienced no mechanical problems what so ever, not so much as a studder. For a Carborated Engine the throttle response is more then adequate. I suggest this bike for anyone. No exceptions, if you are looking for a smooth ride, good control, and enough power to put a smile on your face, this is the bike for you. Well, that's my two cents.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amber

Fairview, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-03-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my Ninja 250 as my first bike. Having never rode, let alone cranked a bike before, I thought it would be a good bike to start on. After pulling out of the parking lot and taking it home, I quickly learned how to ride, and I was on the road on a Friday night by myself in heavy traffic about an hour after buying it. Great bike to learn on, but after parking it the first night, I knew I needed something bigger. This bike is very light and easy to pick up if dropped, perfect for some one that likes to cruise around. Handling is great, it will take a curve like it wasn't even there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daren

Raleigh, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Never having ridden before up until April 2006, I had not a clue of motorcycles other than seeing them on the road and t.v.. Well on our annual vacation, my sister let me ride hers (a Ninja 500) and my brother let me ride his (a Harley 750) needless to say, I was hooked. My wife and I both didn't want to start out big so we purchased 2 250's (hers is Ebony & mine Yellow). I have been impressed w/everything about this bike. Most folks don't think it's a 250 until we tell them. I would highly recommend this bike for a beginner (we've been teaching our sons ages 17 & 15 and now they want bikes too)! The bikes do tend to vibrate at around 70-80 mph and while they are good @ the take-off they kind of get muddled around 40-50 mph, but what can you expect? They're 250's. I wouldn't make this a long term bike unless you just want to cruise around town and not get down and dirty. I will be upgrading soon (the wife says she'll keep hers).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

x

San Francisco, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike for anyone, beginner to expert. Among the 250cc class, it has a much higher top speed than its competitors and has no trouble reaching and maintaining the illegal end of the speedometer due to its 6 speed transmission. The suspension comes a little soft, but it is easy to stiffen up and, even in stock configuration, is a handling monster. Because the bike hasn't changed much in nearly 2 decades, parts are plentiful and available for cheap. The bike is easy to modify (in case you either can't stand the stock config or just have to be different than every other Ninja 250 out there) and, at its best, gets over 70 mpg. Maintenence is extremely light.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ppith

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2007-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As a casual weekend rider, I have had this bike for six months. But I have only put 500 miles on it since I have mostly been riding on the weekends. I also did not build enough confidence to ride the bike more frequently until the temperatures dipped well below 50F. I love how the bike rides and corners. I have been averaging over 50 miles per gallon even though I occasionally redline the bike several gears in a row. Trying to follow the new bike break in schedule has definitely been torture! In the cold, it does take a while to start up the bike. But if you start it up at least once a week then it will usually crank the first time fully choked. I found that if you at least take the bike around the block a few times more than once a week it is guaranteed to not let you down when you try to start it in 30F degree weather. I am still making beginner mistakes every once in a while like not being smooth with the clutch and front brake, but the bike just takes it in stride. On a 600cc crotch rocket, I know mistakes like that would definitely mean a dropped bike. Hoping to keep this bike for years!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

maddmac

anderson, California

Reviewed on 2007-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike is hard to keep running when cold. Choke operation is touchy. But let me say for OTD price, I got a bargain in every respect. Yeah granted it is a 1st timer rider/commuter bike but I've ridin' since 1964, but the balance, smooth operation of controls, and overall performance makes this bike a hit, especially in persimmon red flames. You won't be disappointed - just be sure to change counter sproket from 14 teeth to 15 and get thet 65mpg plus and it puts the rpm down low where it needs to be in all the gears so the motor dosen't work so hard. I'm getting a '07 Suzuki 1250s Bandit for the road touring bit but will always have my hot little Kawa for the quicky out and abouts. Happy riding!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry

Chandler, Arizona

Reviewed on 2006-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Ninja 250R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After putting about 600 more miles on this bike, I have found what I believe is it's one and only shortcoming. It is geared slightly too low. I replaced the 14 tooth front sprocket with a 15 tooth one. That one change alone has completely transformed this bike. It lost almost nothing on the bottom end, but can now cruise comfortably at 80 mph on the highway, and you can get all the way through an intersection before having to shift. It is much smoother than before, and the slight notchiness in the 1-2 shift is gone. Since the bike was now perfect, I decided to make it look perfect. I removed all those silly 'tribal' decals, and got some decals that make it look like a real motorcycle, which it is, in every sense of the word. Unless you want brute force and a ridiculous top speed, which are unusable in the real world, this is the best sportbike out there. Get one now before Kawasaki either quits making them, or doubles the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 46 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: