Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-29 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ninja 500r is my first ever bike. I love it. Everything about is cool, smooth, and powerful. Granted, I only have 750 miles and only had the bike 1 month, but so far so good. The Ninja is incredibly user friendly. Ride safe everyone.
- Peter Mella, Torrington, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you buy the bike brand new, please do not judge the bike before the bike is broken in. I was somewhat dissatisfied with my bike when I first started riding it because it would not go higher than 5,000 r.p.m.s and when I tried to go on the highway with it, it would bog down tremendously and buck forward and backward due to the oncoming wind and restriction of the power from the engine. After that experience, I wanted to trade the bike in because I really wanted to take the bike on some highway trips. My bike hit 800 miles today and I let it warm up a little more than usual and I took off and realized that the bike wanted to go past 5,000 r.p.m.s. I proceeded to the highway and took off. It was such a comfortable ride and the bike responded so well in 6th gear with no problem what-so-ever! I would recommend this bike to any beginners and more experienced riders such as myself. This bike takes turns real comfortably and is an overall smooth ride.
- Eric, Milford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased my 06 Ninja 500 and I am happy. The only downside I have found is if ya got big feet, boots can be a problem. Clearance for the shift lever is too close for my size 14 boot. Tennis shoes are fine (if you don't mind losin a foot!). I ride in a pair of over the ankle, well broken in Doc's just fine, but a new pair of combat style boot was near impossible. I have yet to find an extended shift lever, which would be nice. Very fun bike, worth every penny!
- TLS, Odessa, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-25 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last summer I got the bug to learn to ride. I started talking to some folks online and learned about the BRC. Sign up for the BRC in late May and took it in July. Long wait. More than a few people told me to go with a 600cc bike, but there were a few that told me that I would be surprised with this little Ninja. 3800 miles later, I have to say, I am still impressed with this bike. It may not be the top of the line in terms of speed and latest technology (and could seriously use a clock with the display), but it is extremely reliable, great in the curves, and has plenty of power for interstate travel. The 500r hums along just fine at any legal speed, and can handle the above legal speeds as well (even though it may not hit 150mph). Living in WV there are plenty of long, winding roads begging to be straightened out. Of my time riding, the Ninja 500 can handle them with ease. The bike is easily flickable in the turns, and the power is just enough to keep you from getting into too much trouble too quickly. The seating position is great. Not too relaxed/not too agressive. I've put down several 400 and 500 mile days on this bike with no problem at all (and at ~50mpg, the gas runs cheap too). Just a slight case of spaghetti legs at the end of the trip, but that could happen on any bike. The only problems I've encountered with the bike are some heavier vibrations in lower gears around 4000rpm. Nothing worth worrying about though. The passenger seat is also something worth noting. When the passenger is seated, their knees are bent with their feet underneath them. This can be a little uncomfortable on longer rides. Other than those few observations, the Ninja 500r is definately a worthy purchase for any beginner, and will certainly keep a more experienced rider happy.
- FireBugWV, Hurricane, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute about 100 miles a day and it was costing a fortune, so I decided to get a 500R because I rode one before. With the new Ninja, I was delighted I chose this bike. It is very comfortable and it is so light that it speeds up quickly to pass slower vehicles. The good thing also is that you don't have to be super strong to push it around. The only thing I feel the bike needs is hazard lights and/or a gas gauge. Other than that, this bike is very enjoyable and I currently get 52 miles per gallon at a fast pace, usually I take my rpms to 7000. Excellent bike.
- zmkr, mendota, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-14 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden Ural with and w/o side cart while servicing in the military. It was over 15 years ago. Memories were great! Urals are great but not practical for city/hiway cruising. When I got ready to buy a bike I had split emotions between Zuki and Kawi 500-600cc class. I've tried both. Settled for 500R. I'll say it is a great bike that fits not only the budget, yet satisfies my needs to have pleasant cruise on any day. Common concerns are: engine buzz above 4000 rpms, forward position is putting excessive pressure on wrists and carbs tend to ice up during cold (humid) days of riding. All these concerns can be alleviated by adding aftermaket parts.
- Pit, duvall, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-08 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have now passed the 1st break in stage on my kawa 500 and now at 780 miles the bike just gets better and better. The gas mileage is awesome and is very smooth shifting. Handling is very very good and am very pleased with the power and performance of this machine. Although it is a 500cc, it has all the power I will ever need, it does get the job done very well. The break in period is not all that bad even though I am in my second stage of break in I have been able to cruise a comfy 70 miles an hour at only 5000 rpm's. Still under the 6000 limit for the second part of the break in, 75 miles an hour puts me at the 6000 rpm mark. Needless to say I am in no hurry to reach the 1000 mile break in of the machine. Most of the top speeds in this part of Oklahoma is 75 miles an hour max, and that's on the turnpike, otherwise its 65 and 70. This bike hums at those speeds and begs to go faster and will if ya shoot it the throttle. It is very smooth and responsive at those speeds, no vibration at all, in town it wants to just go go go. It does not like the 30 and 40 mile an hour speed limits, but seems to be happy at 50 miles an hour or higher. Have not got one bad thing to say about this machine. It is a piece that wants to please its rider and that it does. I don't need to worry bout 600cc bikes or bigger, I can run with them all day. The point is 500 cc's makes me happy, and oh well if I had a 600 cc or bigger I still would have the same speed limits so why do I need more. I just chose what was right for me and could not be any happier with my choice. Then again, the 500 Ninja has been around a long time and is bullet proof so I don't worry bout it. Loves the curves and loves 50 mph or better but in town is able to hold its own to anything. Could not be any happier. Soon to add sarachu exhaust, those things are awesome, and no need to rejet which is nice. Will be nice to hear the power underneath ya. For those looking for a nice bike and don't want to spend a fortune, this is the machine, believe me. You will have made a very wise choice and probably all the bike you will ever need, awesome gas milage, bullet proof design, liquid cooled, no vibration, loves to run and please its rider. What more could ya ask for? A TICKET. LOL.
- Steve Blan, Ponca City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 500R is a very good bike, easy enough for a first time rider, and has considerable room for growth. The bike has an upright riding position very similar to what you see with standard-style bikes. The bike has a half fairing, with a smallish upper-cowl and a lower half fairing. As a starter type bike, this bike has proven itself to be a quality choice, and has remained essentially unchanged since 1993. Herein lies the problem, when compared to newer bikes today, this bike looks like a bike designed 13 years ago. The dual exhaust looks out of place when compared to 600CC bikes that use single exhaust pipes and the generic-shaped single headlight only helps to make this bike look old. The very large turn-signals on the front and back along with the rear fender which is much less exaggerated then what is seen on today's modern sport bikes continue this trend. The grip-bar mounted behind the lady seat is a 'feature' that has been phased out from virtually every other motorcycle years ago. The bike's performance is another story. While this bike isn't going to keep up with a 4-cylinder 600cc bike on a straightaway, it certainly has enough performance to outrun pretty much anything with more then two seats. The bike also handles just as well as your 600cc race-replicas, which rewards experienced riders with a lot of serious twisty fun. The aftermarket holds a little bit for this bike, but because of this bikes precisely balanced drive train, it does not respond very well to performance mods; in most cases, just replacing the air filter alone also requires rejetting the carb, otherwise you risk losing power from running too lean
- KeRiCr, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to update everyone on the bike. My bike is a 2004 but it hasn't changed since 1995. Comfort is great with a Corbin seat. It's not too high so that it hurts your spine, and it's not too forward to hurt your wrists and neck. Handling is as good as anything with Diablo tires and upgraded suspension. I would recommend racetch springs ($110) and a Works shock ($350-600). In the turns horsepower doesn't matter so much. What matters is wieght and this bike is very light and the smaller tires make it turn better than a bike with larger tires. Performance is good. But keep in mind that power is easily sensitized. This is a pleasant bike with good pull. Faster than any car. But it's not a superbike. With this bike you don't have to worry about wheel spin, just wack the throttle full open and hold on for a good ride. The Sarachu slip-on's really make this sound good. Better than any I-4. I bought this bike because I couldn't afford an SV1000 or even an SV650 but now I can afford any bike but I keep my 500. No bike is more practical and fun than this little do it all machine.
- Steven, White Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to be a cruiser man. Big and laid-back all the way. Unfortunately, my cruising days hit a very abrupt end when a stupid driver decided to turn in front of me at an intersection when her light was red. Totaled my bike. I decided to get a faster, less expensive bike, and lo and behold, my local Kawasaki dealer had one of these babies in green/black/silver. I took it, I couldn't resist the power and price. For 20% off I got a matching jacket. I was incredibly surprised by the comfort of this bike. I expected the hard lean-over style with a painfully rigid seat. Instead, I wasn't too far forward (far enough to be forward, but upright enough to not need to support myself with my arms), and the seat was amazingly soft. The lights are bright, the engine is very responsive, the handling is a whole other story, and all in all this bike is a dream for ANYONE.
- Neon-V, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I spent a long time picking this bike and made a very good choice. It fits my short limbs and is easy to handle. The 500r actually has more nice features like the center stand and positive neutral finder than I initially expected in an entry level bike. The MSF course I attended used the Buell Blast which is very basic much more difficult to operate. The 500r is an excellent choice for entry level riders. Insurance is also much cheaper than the other 600 series beginner motorcycles like the FZ6 and Ninja 650R.
- Fred, Conyers, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my first moto spring 2005, Ninja 500R. It is a great bike. I have a great time each ride I take. It's light weight and easy to handle for a beginner. I have opened it up and there is plenty of power to be had. I recommend this bike to everyone, for a starter or to someone who just likes to cruise. Happy trails to all!!!
- Heidi, Medina, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-06 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold a Honda vt750c areo and bought me a yamaha big bear 400 4x4 atv, but then I realized I was missing the streets so I bought a 2006 kawasaki ninja 500r in rich red,blk and silver graphics, this is the 1st sport bike I have ever owned and believe me I am very happy with the purchase of this bike, there will be no more cruisers for me, this thing handles like a dream and has plenty of torque, and the reach is comfortable, as I am now in the break in stages on the bike it has really grown on me, this really eats up the curves and handles better than the 750 honda cruiser I had and is a forgiving machine, no dought it would eat that honda alive in a good 1/4 mile stretch, just so much good to say about this kawasaki ninja 500, I wish I had a bought one a long time ago, no doubt this will be a keeper, even though I am 42 years old it has more power and get up and go than I will ever need and it being a 500 cc bike is perfect for anyone that wants to have fun and just cruise the streets. the 500 ninja has been around a long time and is a bullet proof design, and the water cooling gives ya a machine that will last a long while, no regrets here, buy one and see for yourself you will see what I'm talking about.
- steve, ponca city, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just have to say that I love this bike more than any other bike I have had. This is my fourth one (#1-1983 Kawasaki 550 LTD, #2-2002 Kawasaki Ninja 250R, #3 2002 Honda Shadow 600). It is not the fastest or the best handling bike out there, but it works for me and is really fun to ride. I ride with a group of guys that have a Suzuki GSX 600R, Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R, Suzuki Katana 600F, Kawasaki Ninja ZZR-600, Yamaha YZF 600R, and a Suzuki GS 500F. I can keep up with them and ride all day without running my bike to death. I have seen 130 on the speedometer, but don't go that fast very often. I can run about even with the Katana 600 to that speed (the Katana is completely stock, mine isn't). The Suzuki 500 will pull mine off the start as well as the Katana (the guy with the GS 500F has made a super fast bike). At 75-80, I can catch up with him and can eventually pass him. I love the bike and the green color (that's what color a Kawasaki is supposed to be).
- Brian, Conyers

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: