Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (29)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-05-30 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I saw a red one brand new in 2006 and I said to myself I got to have one of those. 3 years later, I got a Black one. I am so glad that I purchased one. What a monster. She's fast, she's furious and man she wants to ride hard. If you are interested in a liter bike then think about looking at the 10R. She's a tiger, a panther, a beast even. You want a fun ride, this bike will not let you down. She's a bad cat, bad, bad, bad kitty.
- Speedy, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-09 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first liter bike. And wow; this bike is fast without even trying. My previous bike was a different brand of 600. It was a good beginner's bike, but man am I glad I picked out this Ninja. It is a sweet ride. It has lots of power, is pretty comfy, handles great and it is a looker! Get black!
- Robert, Claremore, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. I've got one complaint about it, but I don't really care. The complaint is I get a lot of vibration in the whole bike in the lower RPMs, like under 5000. The bike's handling is very solid indeed. You can throw it side to side without a problem. The power is phenominal. I had the bike dyno'd, basically stock besides some race baffles I bought off ebay, the motor put down 163HP. I was impressed, but hell, HP numbers don't mean ANYTHING, because your not going to use that. I love the 2006 ZX10R. I have the solar pearl yellow one, it's great - I get good compliments on it. Rock on guys, and KEEP THE RUBBER SIDE DOWN.
- Chris Reese, Coldbrook, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-01 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know when you have found your perfect motorcycle match when the 07's are rolling out, and I couldn't care a less... In the past I couldn't wait for the next crop of liter bikes to roll out, always feeling very interested in what's coming... Yeah I don't care -I honestly love my 06 ZX10R that much - I am 100% satisfied. This week I went to my dealer to get my bike inspected (It's an annual thing here in Va.) and I was there maybe 20 minutes, normally I would be checking out all the new Sportbikes and maybe feeling like I might want something new in the garage, you know, a trade up feeling -- Yeah, I was bored, didn't see anything I would want over my 06, not the R1, not the Gixxer, ok maybe a second ZX10R would be cool, but you get my point. Well I have posted here a few times over the last year with all the great details - This is simply a follow-up after 1 year of ownership, and I am more happy now with the 06 than ever - I know the bike well after a year in the saddle, and it's a great Liter bike ! The Solar Yellow color is a head turner, get lots of thumbs up from motorist, and good conversation when I fuel up. One last thing - no problems with the bike at all..It's been perfect ! As Always Safe riding and Have fun.
- James Massaro, Front Royal, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started off with a 600cc bike a little over 2 years ago, got bored as most do and decided to skip the common 750cc and go straight to the liter bike. 1000cc bikes are night and day over 600's, but after riding many liter bikes prior to purchasing this (minus the Honda) I believe this is probably the best 1000cc bike as far as someone being new to liter bikes. I'm definitely not saying that the bike is slow and incapable of more than 99.9% of all rider can do with it, I am saying that while the bike is arguably the fastest liter bike on the market (yea yea the GSXR), its power is far more manageable than its pre-2006 brother. To elaborate even more, for those who like a smooth power delivery, and bike that doesn't lift its front end when you crank on the throttle due to the longer swing arm, then this bike is for you. I personally enjoy standing the front end up and riding wheelies, and while you are more then capable of doing just that on the 06 zx10, it is noticeably easier with the R1 and GSXR1000. For me, I am a huge Kawasaki fan and I love the way this bike feels as opposed to the others. When I was bike shopping I had the opportunity to purchase an 06 or 07, but I had to go with the orange with diamond-looking specs in the paint, which was a color option for 06 (and it looks phenominal in the sunlight). All-in-all, the raw truth is regardless of which liter bike you purchase, and you have probably heard this countless times; you will hardly notice any difference in performance, so base your decision upon feel, looks, and parts. Lastly, as far as parts are concerned, 85% reason why I went with the Kawasaki over the r1 is because in 06 the zx10 had a slipper clutch (works flawlessly) and a steering dampener (praise the lord). Truthfully, if the r1 came with these I probably would have purchased that regardless if Kawasaki has a place in my heart....Why? Cuz the raven looks cooler, and the front end comes up easier.
- Andrew, Frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait a while before contributing here, but now after 700+ miles I believe I have the proper perspective on this machine. Coming off a Harley, I knew I would need strong down-low torque and this bike has it - more than the other three liter bikes. Also, it fit me the best, offers the best wind protection, and all the reviews never noted ANY mechanical issues like the others. Besides, I'm a pushover for a bright paint job - lime green - wow this thing fairly glows in the sunlight! Amazingly, for all the expected sightings of other lime green bikes, in the last six months I haven't seen ANY in my area. Go get lime green and smile every time you just look at it!! Plus, it is more unique than you think. Plus, plus, other sport bike riders will know right away that they are looking at the pinnacle of performance. As for performance, it is as you may expect, especially above 5,000 rpm in any gear, even top gear. But, unlike some other liter bikes, the power comes on early and is waaaaay smooth. None of that on/off switch effect. And, you don't have to wring its neck with your throttle hand. So, it's very manageable. Something you really, really want when cornering on public roads. Once scrubbed in the standard tires are great, even in the rain (of which I know a lot living up here North of Seattle). Which brings me to the niceties of the slipper clutch. Standard on the Kawasaki! So much goodness here I can't get it all in. Remember, no one rides at 100% of perfromance on public roads. For what you need or want this bike for, as I do, (1) commuting, (2) sport-touring (get a custom seat, bar risers, touring windscreen, and a big tank bag), and (3) the occasional track day, it's capable of all that for years and years. One final thing that is VERY important to me is engine smoothness. It took until about 600 miles and - like a miracle - the whole thing smoothed out like magic. NO buzziness in the bars, pegs or seat. Wow! Kawasaki got it just right here. So, go get an '06 or '07 ZX-10R before they improve it for the magazine reporters who are always complaining about race track performance. You will discover, as I have, that it is always a little sad arriving - and a true joy to get it back on the road again! Carpe Diem!
- Art, Coupeville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all: This is my dream bike. Everything about this bike is perfect. 04-05 had TPS issues. The 07's are ugly. I have personally owned a 2001 R1 and love it also. But.. The 2006 Yamaha R1 is great. No flat spots that I can find. Seat is a bit uncomfortable after long riding, bu other than that, NP! So fast. I can flick the throttle on this thing and it just pulls. It pulls SO hard in EVERY gear as though it were in 1st!
- Adam Rich, Eagle Mountain, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I have ever owned. I have owned various cruisers, but this is my first rocket. I can vouch for this bike 100%. I love everything about the bike, comfort, power, performance, you name it, this bike has it. I was worried about being a bigger guy and being uncomfortable, but I would much rather ride this bike than any cruiser on the market. Kawasaki made a really nice piece of equipment here. Two Thumbs WAY UP!!!!
- Shawn , Grand Forks, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-03 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a leftover ZX10R a few weeks ago. The weather finally broke enough for me to actually take it out for a test ride. All I can say is DAMN!! The bike far exceeded my expectations. Even staying below the RPM limits for the break-in period gave me more than ample power and speed. I've only put about 300 miles on this bike in 40 degree temperatures. I can't wait until the Spring comes in so that I can ride in comfort. I know this bike is going to be a beast once I can get into the higher RPM's. Even now, it pulls hard in every single gear. I'll post more on handling when I'm able to really lay into some twisties. Ride Safe!!
- NinjaLuvr, York, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a black 06 ZX10R and absolutely love the beast. The handling and looks is what sold me. I did a lot of research on 06 models before I bought it, and I tell you what, NO REGRETS! It handles like baby powder on a babys butt. Silky smooth and faster then fast. I went from cruiser life to super sport life in one ride.
- aaron , lachberg, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-28 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding sport bikes since most of you guys were babies. I am forty, a grandmother and still ride (race) with the best of them. I bought a 04 GSXR 600 after a few years without a bike. BIG mistake. I have traded up to the 06 ZX-10 and couldn't be happier. My husband is tired of me riding his Busa. Now I can catch him and pass him.
- Kathleen, Kennewick, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-03 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am not as excited about this bike as the rest, as I had the 04-05 model. My 04, put a rod through the front of the block after about 15000 km, which was covered by warranty (thank god I bought the extended) and was no fault of mine. I was given an 05 on trade, which I no longer have, as it burnt in a fire :( Only drove it for about 1000 km. Awesome bike, as was the 04. As far as a track bike is concerned, this one (06) I believe is better. It is more stable, and comes with a stablizer which is a must on a Ninja. I installed a top mount on my 04-05 and that made a world of difference, much more confidence, and I will never own a bike without a steering stabilizer again. It is just a safety feature, like a helmet. Helmet might protect you when you fall, but why not buy a stabilizer, and prevent the fall in the first place? I have had 4 sportbikes, 2000 model 929, 2004 and 2005 and 2006 ZX10R, and have put combined mileage of roughly 50000km, and haven't put one down, I swear by a stabilizer, so do yourself a favor. It is like, insurance, that you pay for once! Anyways, back to the 2006 ZX10R. I find it much more front end heavy than the 04-05 model. It is FAR LESS wheelie happy, which is better for handling and racing, but I don't do that, I just ride around, and I like doing wheelies, and this bike doesn't pick up NEARLY as easily as last years model. It still goes, it just feels like the engine was moved ahead a foot, and it is much much more stable, and less scary. I am quite ok with the front end lifting up, as I like it too, but in relation to practicality, this bike has more useable power. I think it is a better bike, as a result of this feature, but I don't personally like it as much as last years, as it doesn't pick up as easily as before.... One BIG difference I noticed, which has nothing to do with handling, is the backseat! Thank god they did something with that! Last years had a lot of forward slope, which you can see if you look at a side on view of an 04-05 model, and the passenger was ALWAYS slowly, bouncing forward, and always having to push back to readjust. Very annoying for both the passenger, and driver... So, that is gone for the most part, which is a nice change. The bike comes with Dunlops new Qualifier tires... I must say, I am NOT a fan of these tires, and they will be coming off IMMEDIATELY in the spring and they still have 1/2-3/4 tread left on them... Maybe they work good in +35 degree celcius weather, but 20 and below degrees, they are TERRIBLE. They get very hard, and very slippery. I am a big fan of the Michelin pilot sport, which have been replaced by the pilot power, but you can still find pilot sports here and there. I also ripped the baffles out of this bike, and replaced them with a baffle kit I bought on EBAY. Made a HUGE difference in sound, very very nice, and it also gave more power. I was NOT a believer that an exhaust could make much of a difference, but with this bike, it was just teetering on wanting to do a catwalk, or fly straight ahead wheel down under hard open throttle first couple of gears... But, this exhaust modification, put it over the top, and it picks up a lot easier now. A very good change for both sound, and performance, for a fraction of the cost of buying new pipes. VERY easy to do as well. Only need a couple of different tools, which are quite common in most peoples garages. Good fuel mileage, good brakes, suspension, feel, and very useable power. I find the bars to be a bit buzzy, and I may install some rubber bar mounts to eliminate that, as I find it tends to put my right hand to sleep. Good wind protection (for a sportbike). Lights work well at doing there job. Trunk is useless, might as well not have one. Oh, and the instrument cluster!! I like it!! I am not 6 foot 6 though... These bikes aren't made for HUGE people. I can see everything PERFECTLY, but I am only 5 foot 9. Overall, great bike, but I prefer the 04-05 model. That is just personal preference though. If I was to say, what is a BETTER bike, I would have to say this one, but which is more wild, and fun?? 04-05 for sure, and that is what I have it for, fun and wild.
- Mitch MacLean, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, let's get it straight - Suzuki is by far taking a back seat to the 06 ZX10R. It took Kawasaki many years to do it but now they have done it. The 10 is a very well thought out bike. Power to weight is unreal but makes this bike awesome to hit the back country roads on. When your rump gets sore, tap your knee on the black top and you will forget about your rump!!
- Gary, Strum, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-12 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked my Black 10R back in March when it hit the showroom. Since then, I am still amazed by the power, handling, and looks of this beast. This is one great motorcycle. I have taken her to a few different tracks and she performs fantastic everywhere we go. Handles like a 600, but when you roll that throttle, you better be ready for the overwhelming power that is going to accelerate you to the governed speed before you even know it. This Beast is amazing and Beautiful!!!
- Cesar, AL, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went from the ZZR-600 right to the ZX-10, and I must say I'd rather sit on needles. The 600 had a very soft seat and the ZX-10 is pretty hard, but who is thinking about that when doing a buck forty, rippin curves, wheelieing and blowing other 1000's out. I even beat a Hayabusa in the 1/4 mile. This bike is top of the line, just go fast as you can and you won't be thinking about how bad you butt feels. GREAT BIKE though!
- Jay, new oxford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-18 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2006 ZX-10 is a well thought out, well designed bike. I have owned and ridden many different bikes. I rode all the leading manufacturers 1000cc bikes (Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, and Yamaha) and like my ZX-10 the best. The Suzuki comes in a close second with lots of torque and a softer seat. Although the seat on the 10 is like sitting on a board, I never want to get off of the bike. The power and handling are awsome. The torque curve of a two-stroke dirt bike took some getting used to, but it is great when you keep the rpm's up riding in the back country roads especially with the factory Ohlins steering damper turned all of the way up. It is even quicker than my Hayabusa was. I could go on and on, but I will just say that if you have not experienced the '06 ZX-10R, you need to. It is a totally different feel from the '05.
- Derek, Wilmington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first street bike I have owned in more than 15 years. And it is the first sport bike I have ever owned. To be honest, it was the best buy for power and quality. I looked at everything for over a month before I finaly decided on the Ninja. The bike just feels so comfortable when you ride it. I did ride the GSXR 1000R and the Ninja just felt so much better. I chose the Yellow over the Black one due to visability, plus it looks amazing in the sunlight!! I'm not normaly a fan of yellow but it is realy hot. I'm 34 years old now and have a very cool head but I could see how the bike could get a new rider in trouble. I absolutely love this bike and can't wait to get home every day and ride it!! I have no regrets about choosing the Ninja!!!
- Robert Loera, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am an intermediate rider with a few CBR's under my belt. I chose this years ZX10R because of the power and track developed engineering. Not out of break-in but am pleased so far. The best upgrade this year has to be the enlarged Crank, this keeps the bikes front tire on the ground better. I am a little concerned with the clutch. Mine has been slipping out of 5th when shifting to 5th time to time. Could just be break in. Will burn it up soon and re-post.
- ZXLover, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-19 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey all, I just purchased my new '06 ZX-10R this past May and I can't sing it's praises enough! My first street bike was an '03 Honda CBR-F4i and the step up to my 10R was extremely noticeable, yet smooth. The full throttle power delivery provides amazing yet controlled acceleration. This is an amazing bike for the street or the track.
- Michael, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-27 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a green 06 ZX 10R. The bike before that was an 03 gsxr 1000 and the kawi has it all over the gsxr. The kawis handling is awesome and the power is awesome. I cannot really wait to test it out after its broke in. Best street bike I have ever owned.
- Stabene, barre, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2005 Kawasaki ZX-6R for this bike and I am very pleased with it. Many people say that there isn't much difference between a 600cc and 1000cc bike, but don't believe that. My 636 would keep up with liter bikes, so I know this will eat up the competition. I can't wait to be out of my break-in period so I can take it to the track!!!!
- Kappa Man, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-05 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a black 06 ZX-10R and wow it hangs the corners like no other sportbike I've ever ridden! I'm at 6000ft of elevation and it still screams up the mountains of Colorado in triple digits all day long. I came of of an 03 636 and I was going to get a GSXR 1000 until I saw this bad boy! I got the chance to ride them both and there is no way to compare the GSXR to the ZX-10. The ZX-10 wins hands down!!!!!!
- Jesse Hofmann, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-25 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insane! From the very smooth throttle response to the excellent brakes, this bike excedes quality. I'm new to riding, and this bike made me very comfortable -- but it's NOOO toy! This is going to be the sleeper of the year. I cannot say enough about it's world class chassis and suspension system. Some critics mock the gauges, I like them a lot and have had no problem with visability. I recently parked my ZX10R outside of an electronics shop where there happened to be a 2006 GSX-R. Everyone going in and coming out of the store commented on how sweet the green monster is. If you're looking to buy a liter-bike soon, don't sleep on the Ninja.
- Cemal Wright, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-10 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1st ninja was a 2002 ZX500 great 1st bike glad I got the 500 and not the 6 because I really pushed that bike to its limits and I may not be writing this if I went with more power for my 1st bike. This bike has so much power it's sick to even think about pushing it to its limits. I checked out the other 3 liter bikes and got this one because of color and style and owning a ninja before and pushing that bike so hard and not having any problems with it made it an easy choice to stay with Kawasaki. I even sat on the ZX 14 and I dont think I'm ready for that just yet. I love this bike. The weight of this bike is about the same as the 500 and its even more friendly in heavy traffic. I recommend this bike to anyone that's had a sport bike before, if not get the 500 and trade up after a year or so. Great bike, I love it.
- Randie, East Taunton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-26 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a kawasaki zx10r 2006 and it is awesome!!!!. I like how it handles in curves especially in the mountains. I can't do anything else but think of riding it the next day. This machine is a killer hayabusa. My dream was to have a bike like this.... ten out of ten.
- adrian hayden, canovanas, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: