Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (36)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-09-21 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is Godzilla and King Kong all rolled into one. Mind you, the fact that I haven't ridden a bike of any appreciable size for at least 25 years might have something to do with the shock and awe factor of the big Z. Coming off a single cylinder Honda SL125 trail bike and then stepping onto the Z is an experience in itself. The power is awesome with eye-watering acceleration in straight lines and the enormous capacity of the Z to turn mountains into mole hills is just unbelievable. Long live the King. May it reign forever.
- tnt1408, BOULDER,Western Australia, American Samoa, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-19 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome and I would definitely buy it again. I bought the bike to do some sport touring and I believe I made the perfect decision. I could not be happier. It's powerful, it's comfortable, it handles very well and it's everything I want it to be. This bike can do it all - cruise, tour, and yes, carve the canyons. I am very happy and would suggest this bike.
- rwtipton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-12 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for about seven months. It has 3500 miles on it. My opinion on the bike has not changed since the day I bought it. I LOVE the bike. The power is amazing, the riding position is comfortable for all day riding, the mirrors are very usefull and stable at higher speeds, unlike my GSX-R1000. The clutch works very smoothly when I don't screw up a shift. The headlights, especially the hi-beams, work great for those dark stretches of road. About the only thing I don't like about the bike is having to lube and adjust the chain. I sat on a Busa but did not get a change to test ride it. The ZX-14 felt more comfortable for me.
- Anonomous, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-03 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned some of the sickest bikes ever produced, but most are just too uncomfortable to be ridden any amount of time. It was always a trade off, if you had performance you couldn't have comfort. This bike is the best of both worlds, it has limitless horsepower and speed, but can be eased around at 30 mph all day long if you choose to. Kawasaki has nailed it this time. I recommend to anyone who likes to have a great time without compromising speed or comfort.
- Aaron McClellan, Cordelia, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-18 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had it for close to a year. Loved it the first time I sat on it. I hadn't ridden in close to 20 years. Last bike was KZ750. I bought the bike without knowing what I was buying, but I was able to sit on it with cracking my back (like ZX 10R). Got home and read some blazingly fast reviews. I asked Zeus what was I getting into. He said it was a mild manner bike if you aren't throttle happy. He was right. But watch out after 6g's! Put Muzzy carbon fibers on. Increased mid-range punch. Bike rock steady at 160mph. Seat gets hard after a couple of hours and pushes you forward. MPG is about 40 for me. The only real downside to the bike is that everyone wants to race you. Altima's, Bimmers, 600's, GSXR's... EVERYTHING! NO buzzing at ANY speed for me, whether 4k up to 10k. I love it!
- TonyP, West Babylon, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not my first bike yet it is nothing like any other bike I have ridden thus far. My first bike was a Suzuki Katana 1989 GSX. My next official bike was a Kawasaki Mean Streak 2002. I have ridden a BMW GS 650, Kawasaki 600 2006, Kawasaki 12R 2005, Suzuki 600 GSX-R, Yamaha FZ1 2005 and a few others I can't think of right now. Anyway, I recently went on a 365 mile ride through twisties and hwys and it took about 12 hours with all our stops and I have to say, this was one of the best days of my life with some lessons learned the hard way. Bottom line is that this bike is simply unbelievable. I was out with a small group of friends and none of their bikes can even fathom a thought to try and compare themselves in speed/power. On the straights, I can't be beat but on the twisties my skills weren't enough to keep up with my friends Suzuki 750 2004 and the Yamaha FZ1 2005. Any trip under 200 miles on this bike is very comfortable but above that I would recommend some kind of gel seats or pads. I love this bike and would never trade it in. I have hit between 140-165mph on it with zero effort and zero shakes. It truly inspires confidence which can be good and bad. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone because it is very controllable/ manageable in terms of throttle control. It's not like a Kawi 10R or Hayabusa from what I hear because the power comes on only when you command it. Although, I notice the first 2 minutes of warming up is the most dangerous because a slight sneeze with the throttle in your hand when the bike is super cold can be dangerous. It seems like the computer isn't paying attention and it just goes until the first bar shows up on the temperature gauge. Other than that, it is super calm. My biggest complaint and it truly is a huge frustration is that there is a lot of heat near my right shin and I only noticed this since I lowered my bike. But on cold days you pray for this warm spot to warm the bike's surroundings for sure. If you want more info on this bike email me directly at rpmcode22@hotmail.com
- Rayzor, Santa Maria, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-02 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
....Badest bike ever owned. GSXR 1100 was a toy compared to this beast. Bear Mountain has the best swepers in NY and I ride them to the fullest... Just wish someone would come out with a real tire set for them..
- Jazzy Jeff NY, Highland Mills, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being the prior owner of a pair of Busas, an 05 ZX10 and a hand full of other go fast toys, I will admit that Kawasaki hit the nail on the head with the ZX14. Smooth, powerful, wicked fast are all ways of describing the bike but what I like about it the most is that it's everything in one package. No, it's not a track bike but for a sport tourer with emphasis on sport, you can't go wrong. The only gripe I had with it is that Kawasaki neutered it to much from the factory. While Suzuki controls the power output on the Busa up to 3k rpms, the 14 is limited to over 6500 in the first 4 gears and it leaves a lot of people wanting the horse power to roll on sooner. Of course you can remove the secondaries and load a good map to your power commander but then the bike is dicey when the roads are wet. I'm just hoping that since motorcycle manufacturers have started to dabble in the rhelm of selectable maps (ala 07 GSXR 1000) that this technology will come to the rest of the high horse power crowd.
- Jeff, Deltona, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-19 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, so I am not an expert. I haven't raced for factories or worked in product design for Kawasaki. What I have done however is ride motorcycles for forty six years. Since motorcycles were intended for that purpose and I have accomplished that (so far) without killing myself or anyone else then that sort of implies some sort of expertise. No, I do not do wheelies or fronties nor burn away from lights. I did not purchase my ZX as a phallic symbol. I guess if I had, I would have been telling one very large lie (but that's another story). The fact is that since I have been riding so long, I get bored with the more of the same ole thing sportbikes and I cannot bring myself to get into cruisers. Standards? A thing of the past. So then, what is left? At the risk of offending the less liberated females, I liken motorcycles to women. If you love them, you love them and there just isn't anything more to say. They come in all shapes, sizes and temperament. Some are easier to tame and are quite compliant. Some are just the opposite and try as you may, you will never be able get them to do what you want. My ideal is one that is strong and beautiful, compliant but not submissive. She must be exciting and never boring, capable of raising me to my highest of highs and gentle when she has to be. That my friend is just what the ZX-14 is all about. Back around 92, Kawasaki came out with the ZX-11. At that time I was tooling around with a Honda Sabre V65. It had been totally tricked out by a firm in California and among its goodies was a roots type three vane supercharger unit. I spent large amounts of dead presidents to get it to be what it was...A fire breathing demon from hell. Scary fast and unique, the sound that emanated from that beast was enough to calm the most passionate street racer that ever pulled up to me at a stoplight. In a straight line it was awesome. In anything other than that, it was a horrible machine. I learned to hate that thing. One loose screw that got sucked into the carbs cost me a very expensive motor and so I bought one of those new plastic bikes that I had been hearing so much about, the ZX-11. The fire was lit and I fell in love. Smooth, powerful, comfortable, fast as hell compliant and beautiful. It had it all. It had so much that I actually sold it and decided to give up motorcycling because I figured that this was perfection and I had experienced it. There just couldn't be anything better. As things usually happen though, the other guys more or less caught up. Kawasaki came up with the ZX-12 and out of curiousity I bought one. Had to shut those guys mouths with that motorcycle that has that oriental writing on the fairing. I learned to despise that bike even more than the V65 Sabre and sold it. I mean, it was fast enough but...it had a lousy personality. Then just as I was about to plunk down my good cash on that bike with the oriental writing because that was all there was, along came Ms. ZX-14. One look at her front end and I knew I had to see more of her. This is one downright spaceship looking machine. This ain't no shuttle partner, this is the whole starship Enterprise. The helm is loaded with enough toys to entertain a video game addict. The gauges are white and easily visible. The bikes lines are not melting ice cream like. They are angular and purposeful. It looks like something that was designed to go fast and everythings shape has function as opposed to just looking pretty. There is a down side to this however and that is that it becomes a long process when you have to clean out all those nooks and crannies. The engine has gobs of power and it is delivered in a smooth and docile manner. This bike is very easy to get going and it feels like a well mannered middleweight at first. Once the revs start rising however all bets are off. This is one seriously powerful machine. The ride and seat are very comfortable and the handlebars are high enough to make long rides (even for old timers) do-able. The transmission shifts positively and missed gears are non existent. The mirrors are vibration free and the windscreen provides good protection from the wind which means less battering for the rider. The brakes are very strong and seem to be fade proof. The bike is not perfect though. For short riders like myself (5'7) it is kind of tall and I could use some lowering brackets. The mirrors are dificult to adjust and smallish. There is a reflection from the windscreen to the digital readout that makes it impossible to see during bright daytime hours. The cockpit area seemed rather large when compared to the bike with the oriental writing on the fairing and less cozy. I didn't like the way the machine is engineered to shut down when in gear with the side stand down. My 12 didn't do that and we got along just fine. Finally and this is just personal taste. I like my bikes like I like my..ahem..love affairs and that means they must have nice endings. This bike is one serious looker until you see her tail and it looks like a piece of plastic afterthought. Fix her tail up some so that it matches her front and this baby is a keeper.
- wilfredo talavera, bayamon, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-14 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my red 14R in May 06 and this is the best bike I have evered owned. I have been riding a lot of years. I have owned many bikes, but this one is the best. I own an 04 ZX10R and an 02 Intruder also. Neither one of them get any time, just the 14R now.
- Verdell Jackson, Burlington, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-05 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike right out of the box. I will only be customizing it to make it stand out from the rest of the big 14s. Have not ridden it longer then three hours at once yet but it has performed flawlessly so far. Factory wheels are being chromed as I write this.
- Bulldawg, jackson, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not really. This and the Busa are about the same as far as performance. Given a perfect day with the same rider, maybe this will beat a Busa by a few and very few tenths of a second. But in everyday street racing, the Busa and ZX are about the same. Great straight line high speed stability. In corners, it holds its own but don't think about flicking it over quickly in tight S turns. Front end looks killer but the seat and back end need some work. Looks like an intro sportbike. Brakes good. Need the same graphics on the colors that are offered.
- Goose, Newport, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-05 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow - have been riding now for over 40 years, currently have 4 bikes, but have never owned anything like this. Of course it is blazing fast and handles way better than my abilities would allow me to ride it, but what has impressed me most is the incredible smoothness of the bike. From the effortless takeup of the hydraulic clutch, to the seamless power delivery - this is one remarkable bike. In fact, it is so smooth that it feels like a belt drive instead of a chain. And the ergonomics are way more comfortable than the 929 I sold to purchase it. This is one special machine.
- cliff, burke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was never scared until I bought this bike and took it out. Broke it in slowly and decided after 500 miles it was time to light it up. Got on I-65 and cranked it up a bit. Was at 140 in a blink and she was very stable and had lots more to offer but I am not a seasoned rider so I backed down. This is the best bike I have ever owned and I have owned 5.
- Syspro1, Decatur, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-10 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZX 14 - Where sport meets sport touring. This is an outstanding description of the ZX 14. In less than 2 months (in Wyoming late fall weather), I have logged over 2100 miles, a good bit of it two-up. A great combination of performance and reasonable comfort. It's no Goldwing (yes I had one) and it's no ZX 10, but it fits somewhere between. Big power and can easily be modified for more, sharp handling yet stable at any speed on the big slabs, and just plain fun to ride. If only someone would make good looking, quickly removable, and affordable hard bags we would have a top line sport tourer with the heart of a Bonneville salt flats bike.
- Allen Mills, Cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Breathless is the only word I can use to describe this bike. My wife purchased this bike for me in May 06 and it still takes my breath away today. I own two other bikes (06 BigDog K9 and 06 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic) but this is by far my favorite.
- James Webb, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-16 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought when I got my little Ninja 500, I was hot. That was back in 2005, I told myself, family and friends this was it, that I would not get another bike. Well I was wrong. I looked at the Ninja 650 and thought that would be the one, well I was wrong again. I received the flyer in the mail, the ZX-14 was on it's way out. I thought, that's a big bike, no way can I handle that, well I was wrong one more time. I went out to the dealer and to my suprise, I brought that Big ZX-14 with a Big smile on my face and have not stop smiling yet. This bike handles like a dream, takes the curves and open highways well, this is not a city bike. I love my bike and now know that dreams do come true.
- MzTaz, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-04 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put money down on my ZX-14 on 03/13/06 long before it even came to the US. I was hunting for the best bike money could buy. I was gonna get a Busa cause it was the best then I went to www.Kawasaki.com and found it the second day it was posted. The next day I was at the dealership putting money down on it. Wow did I make the right choice. It's so fast! and handles like GSX-R750. But it's way faster - 186 mph is the limit. They made it that way but it hits 186 fast and has the ability to go way faster. I plan to find out what it can really do. After I broke it in I took it to the shop and got many upgrades, now its crazy and looks great. If you are a novice rider, this is not the bike for you. Also, do not get my up grades you will just kill yourself. My bike has 223-241 hp and 119-127ft-lbs Torque. depending on the days temperature and humidity. Even with the Extended Swingarm, the ZX-14 can pick up the front wheel without dropping the clutch, only need to give it gas and up she comes. I try not to do that too much anymore as extended bikes come down harder then I like. P.S. best 1/4 mile = 8.972 secs avgerage 0-60 = 2 secs (without slipping the clutch) Top Speed = ^^ too high to say here. At 3400 rpms = 58.61 Torque & 91.32 HP (With Power Commander mapped for TRE) Ride Hard!!! Know what you can do. And Wear A Helmet! Cause it may save your life. I know it has saved mine. I'm not crippled, just some road rash, but without a helmet I would be dead.
- Derek Jones, Wesley Chapel, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks like a beast. Think about it, a 1400cc rocket for a reasonable price. But I have never been so impressed with any bike as I am with this one. Never once feels untameable. Everything is perfect.
- Chuck, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off- WOW! Congratulations and my hats off to Kawasaki! They have created a mean looking, smooth operating, easy handling, reliable, fairly-comfortable, super sonic jet on 2 wheels! I switched over from a 2006 Harley and I can't stop grinning. It was already 7pm the first night I purchased the bike but I did not get off of it till 1:40am and even then I still wanted to keep riding. I never ever felt that way about any other cruiser, Harley or sport bike period. I love this beast! So easy and refined around town and in stop and go traffic and when you find an open road just hold on tight! No Drama! It does what you ask it to do.
- shervin, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-19 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my money in my hand and was ready to buy the ST3. My local Kawi dealer asked me to take a look at the ZX-14, and my response was "no way, I want good handling that's why I want a Ducati." Now the ST3 is a great bike, and excellent value, but the ZX-14 does everything the ST3 does and more. The idle is smooth, it behaves very nicely at lower speeds, and if you want to go a lot faster it agrees with your wishes. Stopping, cornering, comfort, price, and great looks are all in one nice little package called the ZX-14. One tip that I heard from other riders, and I agree. Try it stock before adding any performance equipment. Save your money for great riding trips.
- John, Little Falls, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I have ever been on. 8 thousand miles in 4 months with ease. NO NEED FOR PIPE or Power commander!!! Had a 2004 12R and it has nothing on the 4teeen. Rolled on with a stock 'Busa and crushed it even though I weigh 50 pounds more than the other rider. Smooth Smooth Smooth and Fun Fun Fun. 186 comes awfully fast with this BEAST.
- TDOG, las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-13 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is truly a great bike. I can't say enough about how fun it is. Not only is it sweet looking, but it also corners and accelerates with unbelievable power and smoothness. You would not believe this but the bike rides small like a 600 (except with a turbo). I'm hooked. Kawasaki did a great job with the 14. Look out 'Busa, there's a new sheriff in town and his name is Ninja ZX-14.
- Ace, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The dealer had this bike for an hour when I called them at 3p.m. on friday. At 9AM, when I arrived at the dealer, there she sat, oh so beautiful. Red with .1 miles (as of 5-13-06). Now with 2500+ miles, all I can say is WOW this bike takes all aspects of motorcycling and wraps it into one package. Comfort, power, agility looks.
- Phil, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-12 2006 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very easy to ride. I can't tell you how much fun I have had on this bike. It has all the power and control you could want. I rode it from my house to Thunder Bay and back in 16 hrs. That was with stops for scenery and food. I rode part of the way home in the dark and the lights were great. I also rode 125mph for a short time on a freeway where no cars or people were. I could not believe how smooth and stable it was. I could have gone faster but I am not completely nuts. It takes a few seconds to get up there and back down to the laws speed. Brakes slowed me to highway speed in complete control. It is not a bike I would want my kid to have but a mature adult that knows how to ride can have a blast. Love it. Now I have to get to a track. Varoooooooooommmm! Steve
- Steve, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: