Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Ken Holmes from Medical Lake, Washington says:

Great bike out of the box but some modes makes it even better. Quality and performance of the bike has been outstanding. don't know why Kawasaki dropp

Read More (14 reviews)

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike out of the box but some modes makes it even better. Quality and performance of the bike has been outstanding. don't know why Kawasaki dropped it from their line in 2009. My bike is the solid black. I can't stand the red and black limited version.
- Ken Holmes, Medical Lake, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought my 2006 meanstreak after owning a 2006 ZX636 sportbike and was very impressed with this bike from the first day. It is black and fully chromed out with aftermarket parts and really steps up to the plate. The overall design is nice with its flowing lines from the handlebars to the back fender, Kawasaki was successful at creating that sexy line which most manufacturers work hard to achieve. The ride is comfortable with a leaned back riding position. The distinctive exhaust note is very pleasing especially when you upgrade to Vance & Hines longshots and power commander with all the right settings dialled in. Overall I am very satisfied with this bike and find it a challenge to think about replacing it.
- Fabian Bishop, Christ Church, St. Thomas, Barbados

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike. I also ride a sportbike, but wanted something for longer rides...not being quite ready for an old man cruiser, I looked into the power cruiser market. Love the styling of the Meanstreak! This thing handles great for a big bike! Plenty of power, great looks, sweet growl from my Cobra Speedster Shorts...catches eyes and comments everywhere I go. I highly recommend one to someone who wants performance and comfort, with a lot of flare, without looking like an old man.
- skbrown9, Hudson Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I knew I would own a Mean Streak the moment I saw the '05 special edition orange. At that time, it was a bit out of my price range, so I settled for a Kawi 800 classic. It was a nice bike, but more power was needed so after 1 1/2 years I traded up to the '06, special edition, red and black Mean Streak. At first I was not as impressed with the color scheme and it must have been mutual with others because it was in the local showroom from 2006 into 2007 without being purchased. As I took it out for a test drive it became apparent that you have to get those red accents into the sun to give them justice. They seemed to pop off the black and quickly changed my perceptions. By the time I returned I was already smitten and finished the paperwork. Although taller than average, I weigh only 155 and with just 3 years of around town riding experience, I LOVE the way this bike handles. Very smooth operation throughout and well placed gauges and controls make for an unbelievably easy learning curve. It eats up switchbacks for lunch and could not be more fun to ride. When reviewed against the Harley V-Rod, Honda VTX 1800 and the Yamaha Warrior (around 1700 cc), all of them are great looking bikes. The Mean Streak is always pegged as the underpowered of the group and as far as flat out, off-the-line speed they are probably correct. But to me, when you consider styling, price, handling and the fact that this bike still has tons of power; one cannot afford to pass this by (and you can always upgrade performance parts).
- Tom, Vernal, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this cruiser to take on a trip to Key West. I got it used off of ebay and was a bit nervous purchasing it online. The transaction turned out to go very smoothly and I have been so very happy with the bike. I didn't like the look of the radiator stock, so I got a chrome cover to break it up a little bit. The handling of the bike is amazing, it is very smooth on the interstate and it will handle turns beautifully. Although I was a little disappointed in the power, it will outrun almost any of the other cruisers out there. But a V-Rod, Warrior, Valkarie or another of the muscle bikes would probably beat it in a straight line. The Mean Streak deserves this category from a handling and stopping perspective, but is a littly iffy on the muscle side. But considering the cost, I can't imagine a better deal. I rode it 3000 miles to Key West and back and literally did not have a single issue. When I got home my Cobra slashdowns had arrived and after installing them the backfire was significant enough to warrant the fuel processor. I hope that may give it a little more power although many people would argue it doesn't need it. The bike will also stop on a dime, ensuring a lot more confidence in going a little faster if one so chooses. Overall I really can't say enough about Kawasaki. I was previsouly a Yamaha man but this bike has changed my outlook. And there is no need to compare it to a Harley unless you are so hell bent on buying American...the V-Rod is the only bike that MIGHT outperform and with some customization you will love the looks. And from what I can gather on reliability issues, like it or not the Japanese bikes are just better than the Harleys at half the cost. I was skeptical of the bike and am typically a harsher critic, but honestly I can't imagine being disappointed in purchasing one of these Mean Streaks. Happy riding!!!
- Cliff Crank, Ripley, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this baby in Feb 05. Changed the oil every 2000 mi. All fluids every 10,000 and have gone through 2 sets of tires and brakes-still running just like the day I got her. I rode Hardleys never again. The 95 cubic inches of this bike are what 1 less than the new Hardleys at twice the price. What Hardley ever went 42,000 without needing an engine and tranny rebuild? Thought so! I would like a bigger machine - a Warrior, VTX 1800 or a Victory which isn't much bigger at all. I live in Arizona where we ride all year. I do not get that great of gas mileage and never did. Maybe 30mpg. But at 80mph the tach is showing about 3300 rpm in 5th gear-I have ridden the sh** out of this bike with no appreciable problems whatsoever. Buy one, you'll like it!
- NoHardleys4me, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have not ridden in over 15 years and was having a hard time deciding between the V-Star 1100 with their great low price, a V-Max which I've wanted since I bought my last street bike, a 1988 700, and the MS. As my fever to have a new bike grew higher, I visited my local Kawi shop only to find they had a new ebony 06 still in the box. While they were putting it together, they let me borrow a little 150 enduro to ride on a little dirt track to see if I could still ride. Yep, just like getting back on a bike. 3 pm I pulled out of the shop and head home on my new 1600 MS. Even though I haven't ridden in forever the MS was a breeze. A little choppy on the very low end, but sweet as honey on the open road. After about 200 miles, I know I would have tired of the V Star 1000 series right away. Nice power in town and on the open road. I'm a little bit of a straight-away speed freak and the MS fills that niche. Only problem I have is the break in period has me keep it below 3 g's. But bi aside, 100 mph is no problem at a little over 4g's. The big MS dog wants to run. I'll be very happy with this bike for a long time and I got it at a great deal on it too. Wife, who doesn't ride much, found the back seat surprisingly comfy riding around town, but tired of it after about an hour. don't know if there is more bang for the buck than an MS. I would recommend the MS to anyone.
- Earl, Great Falls , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-31 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my blk/red '06 Meanie for almost a year now and am still loving the ride. The red tribal graphics on black has been a great platform to build on. With a few add ons, I have one custom looking bike without breaking the bank. It will out perform any Hardley out there and looks so much better for about half the price. Have been riding for 29 years and it just does not get any better.
- Dan, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-28 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been looking at the Mean Streak since 2004. In June I finally pulled the trigger on it. The black and red color scheme looks great. It's everything I dreamed it would be. I ride in the mountains a lot and it handles the twisties with ease. This is my first bike and although it's big, it's easy to handle.
- Richard, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3 weeks ago I went to my friend's Kawi dealership with my 2005 Vulcan 800 totally enjoying that ride, and left a couple hours later unexpectedly with my black '06 mean streak. I have a few friends with earlier models and have been intrigued with the bike for quite a while. I made the correct choice. This bike is hot. She has great road manners, looks muscular and beautiful at the same time, and makes me smile every time I'm riding her. Great bike and great price.
- rich rosenbaum, elk point, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Let me start by saying this is just a great motorcycle! I was a little worried about getting a cruiser because all my other bikes have been super sports. The Mean Sreak was the only bike for me because of the lines and looks of the bike. I wanted the aggressive look and this bike has it. Also compared to other power cruisers the mean streak is so much more comfortable. When riding this bike there is nothing on my body that aches from rider position and the braking and handling are awesome. Now I know there has been some word out about low horsepower but it is tough for me to rate due to the fact that none of the cruisers accelerate like the super sports and I have not been on the VTX1800 of Boulevard m109 to compare. I will say this though, at 1600cc this engine has more than enough power for everyday use and dragging off the lights. Great bike, I love it.
- DonO, Spencer, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Whenever I read some one gushing over their new bike, I have to chuckle. No one is going to buy a bike they don't love. Well, now I'm one of those people. I just purchased a 2006 Mean Streak. I wanted the black, but bought the red and black. Believe me this bike is much prettier in person than the pictures on the internet show. The red and black are awesome in person. The riding position is comfortable and natural. I'm short - 5'9", and I have a short inseam - 30 inches. The foot pegs are right where they should be. My feet lift off the ground and find the pegs very easily without having to reach for them. I don't have to lean forward on the bike either, which was a concern I had because of the drag handlebars. The riding position is very comfortable. This bike handles just like all the reviews tell you. It is unbelievably stable. Even though it is big, I feel a new rider could handle this bike with ease. It flows in and out of corners and around curves with a smoothness that infuses the rider with confidence. It has a great exhaust sound. The clutch and the shifter are like butter, although the shifter is positioned in a somewhat awkwardly high position that will take a little getting used to. The bike accelerates smoothly from a stop and has plenty of torque. The one criticism of this bike is that it is the slowest in the power cruiser category. Well, it still has plenty of power. If you simply must have the fastest bike around, just buy a Hayabusa and be done with it. But if you want a comfortable, powerful cruiser that doesn't look like every other cruiser out there and has many features that most other cruisers lack, you owe it to yourself to look at the Mean Streak. I think it's the sharpest cruiser going. The Mean Streak has many standard features such as fuel injection, twin disc front brakes, self-canceling turn signals, tachometer, adjustable shocks, adjustable clutch and brake levers, and, well, hopefully, you get the picture. Other power cruisers might be able to catch up with the Mean Streak, but for my money, those other cruisers just can't touch it.
- Barry, Central, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-28 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I discovered the Mean Streak last summer while visiting my local Kawasaki Dealer. Why there aren't thousands of Mean Streaks on the road is a mystery to me. Not only does the bike have great lines, it comes from the factory with Ninja spec brakes, 17-inch wheels and sport bike size radial tires. The motor makes its peak torque of 90+ ft lbs. at 2,500 rpm so short shifting is the norm. Yeah, the magazines say it doesn't have the horsepower of some of the competition but it's certainly not lacking in go. If I decide I need more oomph, it's an air box, pipe and fuel management system away. Then there's the price, decent list and the dealers are willing to deal. that's a lot of accessories or cash in your pocket vs. the offerings from Honda and Yamaha. My longest ride was 390 miles in a day without any soreness or aches, just a huge smile on my face as I blasted down the roads.
- Victor Landau, Newmarket, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-11 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Mean Streak Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Mean Streak new in August 2005 I now have 6500 miles on it. I put a Corbin touring seat on it and my wife and I can ride for hours. I put Cobra long slash cuts for a little more sound. It's not the fastest cruiser out there but has plenty of power and if the huge cruiser guys want to talk smack about quarter mile times take up to the mountain twisties and I'm serious it gets ugly; goodbye, VTX1800 and you just walk away from a Screamin' Eagle cruiser. Best bang for your buck - (CAN'T TOUCH THIS) GREAT BIKE!
- JR, seneca, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: