Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (46)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-12-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello. The Kawasaki VN1600 Classic Nomad is indeed a solid reliable machine and is quite well built. The solid alloy wheels are a bonus as spoked wheels tend to rust so no problems with the wheels. Some may find on second-hand machines they have a front wobble (speed wobble) but knowing many other owners, this is down to the tire having a run off or is not seated correctly. A simple tire change sorts this out. There is plenty of room with the side panniers and rack and it's a nice machine to ride on. My mpg. is around 42.5 per gallon of petrol (gas)but I have had the standard exhaust removed (very heavy) and had the Vance and Hines sent over from the USA (Bagshots) so maybe this and the combination of a new air filter and power commander has an effect on fuel consumption. You receive the screen and side panniers as standard and this VN series has the pipes on each side for a more balanced look. I do find that spraying your machine with WD40 or other water retardant helps the bikes wires to become dependable in the long run. Please note that once the VN refused to turn over but do not take it to bits looking for a fault if it was working fine. Check the clutch wires on the lever (2 wires covered in a plastic shroud) as they tend to come off if not secure and can be overlooked.
- Jeff Marrin, Billingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My last bike was a 2006 Suzuki C-50, a really good bike that gave my wife and I 24,000 miles of smiles in two years. The only downside was it's buzziness at interstate speeds. In October of '07 we test rode a Nomad, after that it was a matter of time.... In Oct'08 I took my C-50 in for scheduled maintenance and left with an '06 Green/Silver Nomad. This bike is great! Smooth as silk at all speeds, the extra weight smooths out the ride and resists the push from wind gusts. There is ample room for both rider and passenger and the saddlebags have plenty of room for a weekend away.
- Tom Mayberry, Cabot, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every bike has its pros and cons. Starting with power this bike has pleanty of it you will never feel the need of a six gear on the high way you can almost cruise on fourth at 70. And what a sweet rumble. Great for long hauls the 5.3 gal tank is very convienient getting around 200 plus a tank. As far as comfort it has a nice stock seat but exceptional comfort for your passenger. A supremely comfortable seat with a thick back rest to compliment it as well as air plush suspension. The only complaint I have is that I wish my arms were an inch longer so that I wouldn't have to stretch as much. After about an hour I'm a little sore but that's not the bikes fault. My only other con is that I see other large cruisers with larger more comfortable seats. But they have to make a sacrifice with compensating with a smaller gas tank. Would I ever trade this bike in? Yes but only when the wheels fall off, this ones a keeper!!! ps. if your badge of honor paint wears out don't sell it. just re-paint it.
- Nate , Greenville , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my bike whenever I get a chance. As a member of Blue Knights XVIII (Florida Chapter), my wife and I get to ride with groups a lot. I love the bike. It's smooth, quiet on the ears and awesome on the interstate. I rode the bike from Bradenton, FL to Murphy, NC, then onto the Dragons Tail and back home. The last day we rode over 700 miles in one day. I cannot say enough about this bike, its comfort and strengths. Kawasaki hit a home run with this bike. MPG average is 40-42.
- Ken Pearson, Bradenton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-08 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first fell in love with the looks, then got on and am hooked for life. Man, what a ride. I had a Honda Ace Tourer and a Suzuki 700 Intruder before this fine machine. The Nomad will impress anyone who dares to ride it. My friends and ridin' bud who owns a fine Yamaha 1700 Road Star drove it on the way back from buying it. He said it rides better than his. He's also impressed on how it's dressed. My wife even loves it, but hates to say it.
- Larry Hill, Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in March 2007 slightly used from a dealer in Florida and took her for its first trip from Whitby to New Jersey to visit a buddy in August. I rode for 10 hours straight with stops just for gas. It was the most comfortable ride I have ever had. Propped up my backpack as a backrest (Have since put on a real backrest) and just rode. On the return trip I had to ride through heavy rain and the bike tracked as well as it did during the dry period. I can't say enough about this bike. Comfort, good looks and plenty of grunt. This bike just loves the highway!
- John, Whitby, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 11560 miles the only thing I have to say about my 07 candy cardinal red Nomad (the only change was the color) is that I can't wait to experience the next 11560 miles. I can't stay off of this thing. I have no complaints. Give the seat time to break in and it feels great. Save that $600.00 for another long ride!! Have maxed out at about 105mph and would like a little more but it is just not there. Any suggestions?
- K. Henderson, Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have driven quite a few bikes but none like this one! Big, quick and comfortable! Can it get any better?
- Tom, Brantford, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got back from a 4,000 km trip through Washington State. The bike performed beyond my expectations. Smooth, powerful and very comfortable. We did 8 hours a day riding and I have no complaints about the seat. When I purchased the bike last August I was concerned about some low RPM vibrations but after about 1,000 kms this Spring it seems to have smoothed out. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone.
- C. Bowe, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Nomad almost a year and my wife and I try to ride every weekend (or her day off). I was a Motor patrolman in Sunrise, FL for a few years and had to ride HD. I have been riding for over 45 years and this Nomad is the best bike I've ever ridden. My wife loves the large passenger seat and will actually doze off on long rides. (I kid her about installing a seat belt). I ride around town and freeway so my mileage averages 42 per mile. Still much better than my F-150 (14)mpg. Comfort, style, performance and price can't be beat.
- Paul Dodson, Lonoke, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We fondly call it The Beast. We have had it since Oct 2006. 3100 miles in fall and winter. As far as comfort, value, and looks, there is nothing better out there. My 8th bike, biggest and best so far.
- eric carlson, hillsboro, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, it's been exactly one year since I brought my Nomad home. I haven't put that many miles on it but it now has 3,000 miles on the odometer. First off, I'm still impressed with the high speed cruising with this bike. 75-90 mph is so easy. Had to drive in a downpour on the freeway once and it handled that fine. Speedometer is horribly optimistic! 10% fast. The MPG in town really is quite low. If I never make it on the freeway, I'm lucky to get 30 MPG. Out on the highway last weekend cruising 80 I got 41MPG. Took a 200 mile round trip to San Diego and made it back home, very low on fuel but made it none the less. Bike still pings and I've done a lot of adjustment to the throttle postion sensor. Check out Gadgets fixit page on TPS adjustment. Mine is the last review. Kawasaki really shoudn't have had this issue with this bike. Lots of Nomad owners have commented that with aftermarket exhausts and fuel programmers they've eliminated it. I don't think owner's should have to solve their pinging this way. I thought about changing the seat with a Mustang seat and backrest. After strapping my huge duffle bag behind me and leaning on it on this last trip I realized the seat is more comfortable if you have the ability to have a backrest so for now I'm only looking for a good quality backrest or when I take a long trip, just bring my reinforced duffle bag. It really made a big difference! The power of the bike is adequate, not fast but able to carry two with gear in great comfort and plenty of reserve power for mountain climbing. Lots on engine heat in warm weather! Not unbearable but definitely noticeable! Great when the weather is real cold! I live in southern Cal so that's not often. Overall, I'm very pleased even with the minor annoyances as I've outlined above. I get comments on how nice looking the Nomad is and I keep it spotless. I would purchase it again.
- Brad, Lakewood, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great Bike! After six months I have no serious complaints about this bike. It is fun to ride and large enough to handle long trips as well as cruises around town. Mechanically I have had no problems. At 6 foot 7, I wish there was a bike with a bigger frame, but the Nomad seemed bigger than most including the HD Road King. My mileage stays around 35-40 mpg. The only mandatory upgrade remaining is Mustang seats with a driver's back rest. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone. I get a lot of compliments, even from HD owners.
- Jon, Lindale, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-27 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Wife and I love to ride the Smokey Mountains on the weekends. The 1600 Nomad has the power to do the job, but the stock seat needs some work on comfort.
- Keith Cochran, Jacksboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-15 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this Nomad for two years now and other than a new front tire at 10,000 miles, have done nothing but oil change. Longest day trip with two up was 450 miles and the seat was ok. Get nothing but rave. If looking for a great cruiser, get the Nomad!!!
- Clifford Downs, Franklin, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-15 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to wait a little bit before I wrote a review of my second Nomad. As with the first, this bike is the best buy for the money. Overall, I'm very satisfied with performance and comfort. The odometers are never accurate but mpg doesn't seem to be much more than 36. Once again, I searched for a nice styled, equipped, and dependable cruiser subsequently without question; Kawasaki answered the bell. Ride safe !!
- namelama, Chino, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-24 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride just about every weekend with our local motorcycle club. When I'm not riding, I'm polishing my ebony ride and it always gets me rave reviews. It's the best riding motorcycle I've tested, and I have tested all the big names in my locale.
- John Durante, Ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2006 Nomad in August 06. (the green and silver one). I have owned Goldwings, Yamaha Ventures, Harley's. I am 66 years old and have been riding since my 1st Harley when I was 14. This bike is, bar-none, the best motorcycle I have ever owned. It's nearly as heavy as the Goldwing, yet I can corner this bike in ways my Goldwing never could. I was leary of it being a twin because of vibration, but I had no reason to worry. This bike is a traveler....smooth. Only downside is that the seat sucks bigtime. Put on a Corbin Solo Saddle with Pillion, and back-rest. After I put the seat on the riding position shifted back a bit. So I put on the Phat ll 4 in risers. PERFECT. Can ride all day and all night.
- Phil DuBois, Chino, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't ride this bike enough. It pains me to walk past it and not be riding it. This is one sweet ride. It has enough umph to get you moving and sure is nice on the highway. It is a definite eye pleaser and if you want to hear 'Nice bike' a lot, this bike gets that for you.
- George, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it new in 2006. I had owned many brands prior, but now I'm a Fire & Steel rider. I would highly recommend this bike.
- wildcard, Port St. Lucie , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-03 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 for the Nomad because I needed a more comfortable cruiser for riding 2-up on long day trips. At first I was nervous about the size and weight of the Nomad. Well, I have been riding the Nomad now for 600 miles and it actually handles better than the smaller cruiser I traded in. I did a lot of research and, for the price, you will not find a better cruiser package than the Nomad. I even rented a Harley for a weekend out of curiosity. Harley's have great sound but that's it, plus $$. This bike rides like a dream, is excellent taking corners and is extremely well balanced. The 1600cc engine is plenty powerful, a little on the quiet side, but I don't mind that, although I may consider pipes next year. I'm pretty sure I will own this bike for a long time to come. Well worth the price. My only comment to Kawasaki is that they should have a better color selection. Mine is black and I will most likely hire an artist to customize it.
- Jim Schultz, Attleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Upgraded from the 1999 nomad to the 2006 nomad. What a difference. I enjoyed the 99 nomad but this bike is light years ahead of that one. Cornering ability, stability and power and significantly upgraded. Have been averaging in the 41 to 44 mpg with this bike. Took this bike on a 300 mile ride one day. Rode the first 130 miles without a break. Butt was a little sore but the seat is still breaking in. Would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a long range cruiser.
- Joel, Akron, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery on Saturday and put 70 miles on the bike the first day. After not riding in 20 years this big bike was pretty intimidating. After spending 15 minutes riding around the high school parking lot near my home, I felt great. This bike is amazingly well balanced and easy to ride. I took a 20 mile ride on a country road and was careful to maintain the breaking speed on all gears. By Saturday night I felt good enough to take my wife for a ride through the neighborhood. She loved it. In fact by midnight she had ordered a set of bag inserts and top rails for my bags. I'm hooked! This bike is everything it is built up to be and more. I am signed up for a weekend safety course next month and will get my license after that. Until then I plan on tooling around the neighborhood and getting to know this bike better. This bike fits me great even at my height. I know I will add highway pegs and a luggage rack next. I can live with the stock pipes (although a little quite) and everything else looks good for now.
- Jon, Lindale, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding non stop for over 35 years. My biggest bike (my last bike) was a 99 Vulcan 800. From the day I picked up the 06, Nomad 1600 I had difficulties getting used to the floor boards (kept sticking my feet underneath) and the heal toe shifter (I found myself upshifting when coming to a stop). After a few days of getting used to the bike, I relaxed and found everything to be great. Shaft drive is new for me and I really enjoy the fact that there is no lunging when I down shift. Amazed and surprised at how nimble it really is. At almost 800lbs, I was afraid to lean the bike at corners or when making truns from a stop. It seems as if the bike wants nothing more than to lean into the turn or corner, I Love it. Handles great. Thanks to all of you who have posted here. Your comments helped me make the selection.
- Eric Darrow, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best buy in the cruiser market. Handling, power, price. For me, the seat is a "killer". Next purchase is the Russell Day-Long Saddle. When I get the Day-Long, I plan on Route 66 Chicago west. Experienced helmet buffet starting at 45 mph. Got the Edmond longer lowers and problem solved.
- Anthony Bandy Sr, Darien, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: