Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lyle Hoffman

Edgar, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love mine. It's been very dependable. Gas mileage is great. If I really, really get on it the MPG is 45. When I decide to drive it sensibly I have gotten just over 60 MPG. I'm looking at getting a 900 classic only because I'm starting to take longer trips with passengers. I've taken the 500 on overnight trips by myself over 4 hours away and was very comfortable on it. Perfect bike for a high school kid.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Surfmurf

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike seemed small for my frame but I've found it very comfortable and exceptionally easy to ride. It's a bit cumbersome in slow parking lot but has a nice balance while using the friction zone in very low speed. On the highway this can kick ass at 75 and can move me on and up to speed of traffic in no time. It also seems like the 6 speed really makes a difference on the freeway. I'm averaging over 50 MPG but even though this is a 4 gallon tank it seems to conk out until I switch the fuel valve to the reserve setting at about 115 to 135 miles. Then I basically end up adding about 2 gallons of gas. Two gallons in reserve just seems a bit excessive for me. If you want a bike that makes a lot of noise this is not the bike for you. It has a quiet almost stealth like rumble. I love it. All in all a good starter bike with the power and HP to get you going.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Petersen

Grand Island, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2009-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this last Monday. If you want a bike that can handle highway speeds without working the engine too hard and be comfortable at the same time, this bike will meet your needs. It has a solid feel and is easy to handle in slower traffic. You can run all day at 75 if you so desire. I'm not one for being on any motorcycle riding the interstate, but it will do the job. My gas mileage for highway is right at 57 MPG. If the two lane highway and city crusing is what you want in a motorcycle, this will fill the bill.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Streetsweeper

St louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2008-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
perfect starter bikeThis bike really does everything you could ask of a bike in this size and class. I get 53 or more miles per gallon. The bike is plenty fast and goes well on the highway if you obey traffic laws (if you want to ride 95 plus miles per hour for long periods of time then you probably should get something else or get the aftermarket sprocket belt drive to lower the r's). It goes from 0 to 70 plus very quickly and you can ride it all day long at 80 mph and still get 50 plus mpg. I honestly feel that if you want a good reliable bike that doesn't cost a ton this is a great choice. It is a very forgiving bike and very rider friendly so it is the perfect bike for someone just learning to ride and should prove to be very enjoyable for many years. If you get a windshield I would suggest the larger one if you get the Kawasaki one though you may want to check on a Memphis Shades or some other aftermarket one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Emil Bart

Mukwonago, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the bike new as a birthday gift for my wife. My initial impression was positive. Very good fit and finish for an entry level bike. Negatives would be the obvious tank seam, plastic chrome in abundance, and side panels that are not color matched to tank and fenders. Also, the stock seat becomes uncomfortable after 65 miles of constant riding, still looking for an aftermarket seat that will fit. The bike starts with some difficulty on extremely hot or cold days. Needs full choke for several minutes before engine won't stall when in 1st gear. Now to the positives! This bike is everything I've come to expect from Kawasaki = Great value, Excellent reliability, Nice styling, and good build quality. I just wish that the aftermarket companies would get on board so accessories would be more abundant for this nice little bike. Would definitely recommend this bike for 1st timers as well as experienced riders who live in the inner cities and need a quick handling, reliable, and suprisingly fast commuter bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jerry

jennings, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-02-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought a 2003 Vulcan 500 LTD about 6 months ago. The acelleration is surprising and the ride is very smooth. But the previous owner installed Harley mufflers and it is too loud and raspy for my taste.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Miami, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For a 500, this beauty sure knows how to go! Smooth, trouble-free joy of a ride. Easy to keep up at freeway speeds, and loads of fun! She looks snappy too! Candy apple red and lots of chrome. An all around winner at a very good price. I'd recommend one to anyone as a starter or as a lil brother to any other horse in the stable. She's a winer alright, with lot's of git up & go!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donna Shinaut

Denton, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2006-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a used 2003 Vulcan 2 months ago. It's a great bike! It keeps up just fine with my husbands Goldwing, I can get both feet flat on the ground (I'm only 5'1 with my shoes on) and can comfortably maintain highway speeds. It sits low enought that it doesn't blow around much in the wind. I've ridden smaller on/off road bikes my whole life so it took me a couple tries to get used to the increase in weight and power. The first time I popped the clutch on a gravel road the back wheel spun out from under me and left me standing in the road with just the handle bars but I got used to it quickly. I'm just upset that winter is here and I had to put it away for the year. I would recommend this bike to anyone that wants an all around great bike for not much money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

VuLcAnRiDeR

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my Vulcan 500 last February, and it has been a joy to ride. For a Lil Guy, he sure does wanna run. I have run up and down I25 from Denver to Colorado Springs on numerous occasions and I can run with the box cars all day long. The water cool is just that....cool. I will be upgrading to a Vulcan 1500 this Feb. So If you want the perfect starter bike or just one to reload your confidence, try the Vulcan 500 LTD. Easy on the eyes as it is on the pocket.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

derren lynn

martinsville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 500 LTD

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is great for me because I just learned how to ride a motorcycle 2 months ago. I love just riding out in the country for hours. It is also great on the highway for a small bike. I just wish the brackets for my saddle bags would get here. They are on back order.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: