Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

37 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike Gervais

Gorham, Maine

Reviewed on 2010-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this bike with 5000 miles on it for $5000. I fell in love with it when I took it for a test drive down the highway real quick. At my height and weight I was concerned with the handling and power but I have no complaints there. As many have said, the seat could be better. It especially hurts my lower back on anything over an hour. It's impossible to ride at night with low beam, but the high beam doesn't seem to bother anyone so I always leave it on. I've put 8000 miles on this bike and not one problem. It has easy oil changes and is easy to clean. I even got sideswiped splitting traffic in California and the bike stayed up - $3000 in damage but I was unhurt thanks to the floorboards. I hope to ride this bike for many years to come. I've compared it to many other bikes and it is by far the best ride for the value and sometimes better than bikes double the price. I definitely recommend a light bar and a seat if you can afford it, but it doesn't really need it unless you ride every day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ikindoit

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2009-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Vulcan coming back to riding after a 20+ year absence. (Got rid of the old bikes, to help raise the kids.) First got a Ninja 500, but it got old after 6 months, with the sportbike riding position, and super light weight. Wanted something that felt more stable on the road and had more upright seating, to suit my finely aged body type. The Vulcan 900 fits the bill to a T. I have put 500 miles on it in less than a month and look forward to each ride, no matter how long or short it is. There are a lot of reviews saying how uncomfortable the original seat is, and it ain't so bad compared to the seat on the Ninja 500. You can wait for a while to get a better seat if you have to. It has plenty enough power to ride at highway speeds, but is still tame enough you don't have to worry about it getting away from you unexpectedly. It runs so smooth at low RPM's it is a pleasure to ride on city streets. It's light enough that it handles quickly (for a cruiser) but heavy enough to feel stable at highway speeds with a crosswind. Still gets an average of 50 MPG, with reg. unleaded too. Overall a great general purpose bike, for just about anyone who just wants to enjoy riding, and could care less if they ever win a race, or can go 100 MPH in first gear.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Palm Coast, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-07-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just hit 40K last week and the bike has no problems. Have been on several long road trips the past few years, both as a single and riding 2 up. Handles highways and mountain roads with ease. Highly recommended.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck M

Chesapeake, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have over 10,000 miles. I have never had a problems. Tires getting close to replacement still good tread. Starts right up. Runs great. Smooth on highway at 80 mph. Still getting 48 to 50 mpg on most tanks. Highly recommend for mid sized cruiser and get the gel seat for longer rides.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kim

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2009-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a '06, with 5900 miles on it. I am a 42 year old female with ABSOLUTELY NO PREVIOUS RIDING EXPERIENCE... not mini-bikes, not even a clutch drive vehicle in my past. Last fall I took a class, got my license and bought this bike within one month's time in August. Before the season was up I put over 2000 miles on it. I wanted a bike with classic styling and performance enough to keep up with my husband on his luxury tourer on highway rides. I got it. All of the men I know warned me away from such a BIG bike, but I didn't want to have to buy and sell right away. My husband told me I could get used to it if I wanted to, and I did, within a week or so. I bought the bike knowing that the two main issues were the uncomfortable seat and the fuel gauge reading empty at half full. I bought an Air Hawk seat cushion and solved that problem. The fuel gauge... it is what it is. You go about 150-180 miles and have to re-fuel. My husband's bike does about the same. It has the power to go highway speeds (up to about 85 mph) without much vibration at all. It handles really well, which is a huge deal for a brand new rider. I am hoping to get a lot more years/mileage of hassle-free riding. I love this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Enos

Port Huron , Michigan

Reviewed on 2009-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have the 06 Classic LT blue/silver model. I brought it new in 2007. It is my first cruiser out of three other Kawasaki sport bikes. For its 900 size, the performance and comfort has to be a 5 Star' or plus. I've added exhaust, K&N cold air kit and fuel management box to make it a 6 Star-plus' rating. The only downfall is the seat. Riding time is only about 3 hours before I have to take a break. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great new or used motorcycle. Ride safe.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl

Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike new in Aug of 2006 and put almost 14,000 miles on in just over a year. I mostly ride double and it has never lacked power even with 2 of us. I cannot say anything bad about this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Nashua, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2008-01-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This 900 classic LT is my 4th bike. Yup, three Hondas and now a Vulcan. The EFI, the heel shifter, the windshield and the saddle bags are awesome for NH, either the ocean or the White Mountains need stuff for the ride. It handles just great, it seems like the weight is right, the ride is great with the wide front tire - no more worrying about steel grate bridges. The seat well, it's okay, not superb as is everything else. I got a 24 month warranty, no cost. I can't wait for the good weather above 40 degrees. PS - It is a lot less money than a HD. I ride with guys who all have bigger bikes and I can lead or follow no problem and everyone thinks the 900 is a big bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Gilbert

Carlsbad, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2007-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the bike this year, it's a 2006 model left over. I have owned many different bikes over the years but never a cruiser. I was worried about buying a Vulcan 900cc motorcycle, nervous that it would be lacking performance, but after reading other individuals reviews I decided to buy one. After 2600 miles I must say the bike is a gem. The only part on the bike that sucks is the seat. I replaced it with a Mustang touring seat and now it's perfect. My buddy has a 2005 HD Heritage Softail and I must say I like the ergonomics of the Vulcan better.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Hamrick

Warrenton, Missouri

Reviewed on 2007-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Last year I wrote a review after my first long ride. The only thing that's really changed during this past year is that me and the bike are both a year older. I finally got tired of trying to pad the stock seat and bought a Mustang touring saddle. Big improvement in comfort on a long ride. I probably should have waited until after my 12000 mile service checks to write this, but I have had no problems with the bike to date. I did find a loose lower mount screw on my wind shield bracket at around 10000 miles. I consider myself fortunate to have had nothing else go wrong - just routine maintenance. My opinion remains that this is a great machine for the money. It's not the fastest bike on the road - not the slowest either. Not the most comfortable ride on rough surfaces but not the worst. A good value for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 37 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: