Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (37)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-07-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike with 5000 miles on it for $5000. I fell in love with it when I took it for a test drive down the highway real quick. At my height and weight I was concerned with the handling and power but I have no complaints there. As many have said, the seat could be better. It especially hurts my lower back on anything over an hour. It's impossible to ride at night with low beam, but the high beam doesn't seem to bother anyone so I always leave it on. I've put 8000 miles on this bike and not one problem. It has easy oil changes and is easy to clean. I even got sideswiped splitting traffic in California and the bike stayed up - $3000 in damage but I was unhurt thanks to the floorboards. I hope to ride this bike for many years to come. I've compared it to many other bikes and it is by far the best ride for the value and sometimes better than bikes double the price. I definitely recommend a light bar and a seat if you can afford it, but it doesn't really need it unless you ride every day.
- Mike Gervais, Gorham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Vulcan coming back to riding after a 20+ year absence. (Got rid of the old bikes, to help raise the kids.) First got a Ninja 500, but it got old after 6 months, with the sportbike riding position, and super light weight. Wanted something that felt more stable on the road and had more upright seating, to suit my finely aged body type. The Vulcan 900 fits the bill to a T. I have put 500 miles on it in less than a month and look forward to each ride, no matter how long or short it is. There are a lot of reviews saying how uncomfortable the original seat is, and it ain't so bad compared to the seat on the Ninja 500. You can wait for a while to get a better seat if you have to. It has plenty enough power to ride at highway speeds, but is still tame enough you don't have to worry about it getting away from you unexpectedly. It runs so smooth at low RPM's it is a pleasure to ride on city streets. It's light enough that it handles quickly (for a cruiser) but heavy enough to feel stable at highway speeds with a crosswind. Still gets an average of 50 MPG, with reg. unleaded too. Overall a great general purpose bike, for just about anyone who just wants to enjoy riding, and could care less if they ever win a race, or can go 100 MPH in first gear.
- Ikindoit, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just hit 40K last week and the bike has no problems. Have been on several long road trips the past few years, both as a single and riding 2 up. Handles highways and mountain roads with ease. Highly recommended.
- Mark, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have over 10,000 miles. I have never had a problems. Tires getting close to replacement still good tread. Starts right up. Runs great. Smooth on highway at 80 mph. Still getting 48 to 50 mpg on most tanks. Highly recommend for mid sized cruiser and get the gel seat for longer rides.
- Chuck M, Chesapeake, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '06, with 5900 miles on it. I am a 42 year old female with ABSOLUTELY NO PREVIOUS RIDING EXPERIENCE... not mini-bikes, not even a clutch drive vehicle in my past. Last fall I took a class, got my license and bought this bike within one month's time in August. Before the season was up I put over 2000 miles on it. I wanted a bike with classic styling and performance enough to keep up with my husband on his luxury tourer on highway rides. I got it. All of the men I know warned me away from such a BIG bike, but I didn't want to have to buy and sell right away. My husband told me I could get used to it if I wanted to, and I did, within a week or so. I bought the bike knowing that the two main issues were the uncomfortable seat and the fuel gauge reading empty at half full. I bought an Air Hawk seat cushion and solved that problem. The fuel gauge... it is what it is. You go about 150-180 miles and have to re-fuel. My husband's bike does about the same. It has the power to go highway speeds (up to about 85 mph) without much vibration at all. It handles really well, which is a huge deal for a brand new rider. I am hoping to get a lot more years/mileage of hassle-free riding. I love this bike!
- Kim, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-16 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 06 Classic LT blue/silver model. I brought it new in 2007. It is my first cruiser out of three other Kawasaki sport bikes. For its 900 size, the performance and comfort has to be a 5 Star' or plus. I've added exhaust, K&N cold air kit and fuel management box to make it a 6 Star-plus' rating. The only downfall is the seat. Riding time is only about 3 hours before I have to take a break. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great new or used motorcycle. Ride safe.
- Enos, Port Huron , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-23 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in Aug of 2006 and put almost 14,000 miles on in just over a year. I mostly ride double and it has never lacked power even with 2 of us. I cannot say anything bad about this bike.
- Carl, Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This 900 classic LT is my 4th bike. Yup, three Hondas and now a Vulcan. The EFI, the heel shifter, the windshield and the saddle bags are awesome for NH, either the ocean or the White Mountains need stuff for the ride. It handles just great, it seems like the weight is right, the ride is great with the wide front tire - no more worrying about steel grate bridges. The seat well, it's okay, not superb as is everything else. I got a 24 month warranty, no cost. I can't wait for the good weather above 40 degrees. PS - It is a lot less money than a HD. I ride with guys who all have bigger bikes and I can lead or follow no problem and everyone thinks the 900 is a big bike.
- Dennis, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-16 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike this year, it's a 2006 model left over. I have owned many different bikes over the years but never a cruiser. I was worried about buying a Vulcan 900cc motorcycle, nervous that it would be lacking performance, but after reading other individuals reviews I decided to buy one. After 2600 miles I must say the bike is a gem. The only part on the bike that sucks is the seat. I replaced it with a Mustang touring seat and now it's perfect. My buddy has a 2005 HD Heritage Softail and I must say I like the ergonomics of the Vulcan better.
- Paul Gilbert, Carlsbad, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-24 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I wrote a review after my first long ride. The only thing that's really changed during this past year is that me and the bike are both a year older. I finally got tired of trying to pad the stock seat and bought a Mustang touring saddle. Big improvement in comfort on a long ride. I probably should have waited until after my 12000 mile service checks to write this, but I have had no problems with the bike to date. I did find a loose lower mount screw on my wind shield bracket at around 10000 miles. I consider myself fortunate to have had nothing else go wrong - just routine maintenance. My opinion remains that this is a great machine for the money. It's not the fastest bike on the road - not the slowest either. Not the most comfortable ride on rough surfaces but not the worst. A good value for the money.
- Tom Hamrick, Warrenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-15 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd Kawasaki. Was looking for a bigger bike, but did not want to go to a 1500, so I looked at other brands. Went to get a battery for my son's ATV and was drawn to this bike. After 1 yr., I have loved every minute on it. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone out there looking.
- Mike, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-15 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I shopped around for many months wondering what to purchase. I sat on everything from Harley's, Victorys, Honda's and when I sat down on this bike I fell in love with it. I love the bike because it's not too small or too big, just right. Love It!!
- Scott Barker, Graham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-18 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an 03 Kawasaki 500LTD that I realy liked, and I traded it in in January for a red and black 06 900LT. The color of the bike grabbed me when I first saw it. The 900 performs very well in all sorts of riding conditions. My son has rode it to work when the temp was in the high 20s and it never missed a beat, (his Honda won't run in cold weather). The power band seams to be very good and it is very responsive. I love the way it rides and it is very stable. The seat is comfortable and the controls seem to be in the right position for me. A friend of mine saw mine and I let him ride it with his wife around the block. He was so impressed with it that he went out and bought a new 06 that is blue and silver.
- b t, indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-12 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2006 LT Classic 900 on a year end sale. Saved $1000 right off the list price. Best bike in its class and to boot all, the best price. I know, I look at all makes before buying. This is the fourth bike I have owned. 250 - 2002 Honda Rebel (still own), 750 - 1982 Yamaha, 1200 - 1986 Yamaha Venture, and now the 900 - 2006 Kawasaki LT Classic. Plenty of power to run with the big boys. While every bike has its good and bad points, the LT Classic is a winner. I agree, the seat is a bit hard, but most bikes are after a few hours of riding. My speedometer is off 5 MPH, (under) but hey it might save me from getting a ticket. The 900 fuel injection engine is a big plus, not to mention the good looks and stock accessories. I LOVE IT.
- ROY, Tiffin, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '06 900 LT Sept. 21. I have enjoyed every inch of the 900+ miles I have put on it. I love the 900LT! My husband came across it by chance, and I loved everything about it the minute I saw it! It sets low to the ground, and I love that you are sitting IN the bike instead of ON TOP of the bike!! It handles very well!! I went on a ride around Grand Lake in OK, with my uncle who rides a Vstrom 1600, and I was able to keep up with him around all the hills and curves - he was surprised by the bikes performance!! The 900 has enough power to get you out of the way if need be, but doesn't run away from you. The bags are very roomy! The windshield is great! I personally love the heel gear shift! Not sure why, just love it, rather than the toe shift lever. Love the floor boards too!! Only thing I found problematic is the low beam on the headlamp. It only allows about 30 ft. of good light ... very dangerous on the highway at 70 mph! I personally hit 2 carcuses because I didn't see them until I was ON them. (however, the high beam is outstanding!) I am waiting for a lightbar to come out to add on, as well as highway bars. I am just realizing what it means to own such a new bike - accesories are hard to find right off the bat. Kawasaki said a light bar will be available in Feb. of 07 @ $369.00. Kinda high if you ask me, but I guess Cobra lights work pretty good too! I love my Kawasaki Dealer! He is GREAT!! But when I called the Corporation, I was talked down to and treated as if I didn't know what I was talking about when I mentioned the problem with the low beam - even though it is a common complaint on Kawasaki owner forums. The bike is great! My local dealer is terrific! The customer service at the corp. level needs improvement!
- Chantal, Nevada, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-05 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have been looking for a midsize bike for sometime. Saw it at the Laughlin River Run..It's the Kawi 900 LT Classic. Have had it for 5 months now and 3100 miles. This is a wonderful bike. You won't skyrocket out from a stoplite, but who wants to? Great roll on power when you're cruising on the hwy, moves up to 85 effortlessly. Seating is comfortable for long rides. Living in Vegas, you need that, many times it's 100 miles before the next stop. Gas mileage up to 230 miles on a tank. Only additions make to bike are blauput speakers/j-m communications system and a gps. Would love to find some engine guard to add pegs..3 minus items, lacking tubless tires, cruise control and no self-canceling turn signels. Otherwise the perfect bike.
- Mik, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-09 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are on the market for a cruiser, the Kawasaki 900 LT is worth a look. Is everything you may want for a short trip or weekend outing with friends. Is powerful and very stable on the Hwy and back roads. The only thing I would replace on this bike is the seat.... mustang after market seats are already available for this model. Suzuki M50T similar bike but I didn't like the back rest or the shaft drive -Belt is better.
- frank, atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the 900 Classic for about 4 months now and am very pleased with it. Has great pickup for size, motor rides well and handles well. This could be a good starter bike or for the well seasoned biker that doesn't want to invest a lot of money. Accessories are not real plentiful yet but I'm sure they're coming soon. The one thing I might change would be a sixth gear, rpm's could be a little lower at faster highway speeds. I have been told that could be changed with different sized sprockets. That could be a warranty voiding issue maybe someone could comment on that. Ride safe!
- David K., Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-15 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike in 25 years and it is a great value and a lot of fun to ride. I ride it to work as much as I can and that is going on the interstate as well as in town, found it to preform very well no matter where I am. Taking it in for the first 600 mile service now when I get it back I'm off to the beach ( a 3 hour trip ) with no worry that I will have any problems.
- Dave, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAD LEARNED TO RIDE THIS PAST YEAR ON A HONDA SHADOW 600. (ALSO A GREAT BIKE) WAS KIND OF SCARED OF MOVING UP TO A LARGER BIKE BUT WITH MY HEIGHT NEEDED SOMETHING I COULD STRETCH OUT ON. WOW IS THIS THE BIKE FOR ME. NOT ONLY IS IT A SHARP LOOKING SMOOTH RIDING BIKE BUT IT HAS ALL THE ACCESSORIES I NEEDED ALREADY ON THE BIKE. ONE MILE AND I KNEW THIS WAS ONE COOL RIDE. VERY HAPPY.
- PAM MITCHELL, MORGANTOWN, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-07 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my fourth bike, and so far the biggest. I bought this with 4ooo miles on it and I've added another 40,000, so it has been with me through A LOT! Like I said, it is the biggest bike I've owned. I had a 500 Honda Custom, and a 750 Magna before this and was very pleased to get into something newer, lower, and more comfortable with a little more power. I noticed right off that the torque lacks compared to even my Honda 750, but it looks so much better! It's a great solo rider bike, but when you want to take a hot girl on the back, you definitely feel the added weight, even if it's a hot little 105 lb woman! If you plan on riding a lot with a passenger definitely go bigger. The engine worked flawlessly however for many years. Whe I hit 40,000 though I started having problems and it was like a pandoras box after that. Constant issues witht he carb and the engine and even the electrical. I've added V&H pipes, Corbin seat, lightbar, and some other little bits over the years and as far as looks this bike has it all. Lots of chrome and it sits nice and low, giving it a true cruiser look and feel. However, after about a year I started wishing I'd just gone all out and picked up a 1500. The gear spread is too narrow and you end up really working the engine after 70mph...always feels like you need to have one more gear for cruising. That being said, I have taken this on many long trips of 500 miles or more and it has never let me down until recently. I'd say this is a perfect bike for the solo rider or someone who is just getting into cruisers and wants a good machine to start out on. The price is very good for what you get and I mean 40,000 miles is a lot to put on a bike and overall it has been a pretty reliable machine.
- Razz Purcell, Reseda, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike here in the US. I love this bike because of all the accessories that you get and it came with a great price. Performance wise, there is power this 900 has. I have rode with big Harleys and Yamahas...and I can pretty much stay with them. Maneuverability is not a problem at all with this bike. I really think that I got the right bike for me.
- Mike R., Stewartstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having had the opportunity to ride short and long distances on many diffrent type of roads/highways/surfaces, I am very impressed with the Vulcan 900 LT. It cruises the highway effortlessly with lots of torque: I was in the mountains of northern New Brunswick/Maine with gear and there was no need to downshift: lots of power. It tops out at 140km/h (86 MPH), but who needs to go faster on a cruiser? The acceleration is good but not great, and maybe that's because I'm comparing it to my 1984 Honda NightHawk S. I like the belt drive, the handling is sure and nimble. The seat will test your capacity to endure pain, but after installing highway bars/pegs, it is much, and I mean "much" better. Night driving with low beam is almost scary, but the Cobra lightbar took care of that. Lately, as I slow down to a stop it has become increasingly difficult to find the low gears, sometimes having to double clutch. Wind buffering has also been an issue. The dealer assures me that they will fine tune things when the time comes. Gas mileage has been excellent, ranging from 40 to 55 m/g US depending on my speed. Also, the gas gauge reads close to Elmer when there is lots of fuel left. At 120 km/h (75PMH), a 6th gear to cruise would be nice but I'm sure that would also require some downshifting. Would I buy that same bike again? Heck yes, it does everything it should, and does it well. I wanted something that was big enough to hold its own on the highways and small enough for the insurance costs and fuel economy to be affordable. All in all, a very good bike.
- P.D. Lynch, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just reached 4000 miles and am doing a follow up review. I still love this bike. I do mostly 2 up riding with my wife and we've been very pleased. The bike runs great and cruises at highway speed easily. The only negatives I have on this bike is the seat and the harsh ride over bumps. After abut 100 miles and riding over bumps, you start to really feel it. Seat looks great but could be better and the shocks could take the bumps better. I like this bike as much now as when I purchased it in the spring. The new bike infatuation is over and now I enjoy it for what it is. A really reliable bike that I know will give me a lot of miles trouble free.
- Rick Halverson, Dodgeville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started looking for a bike a few months ago and was mainly looking at a Vulcan 750. Then Kawi came out with the 900. I looked at all the reviews online I could find. When I bought it I got the LT version because I did not want to wait a year or two for the accessories. I did the long and painful break-in BY THE BOOK. Then I opened it up a bit more. Wow. This bike has power in all gears. It has a good weight to it. I recently took the bike on a trip to Phoenix from Austin (had my first service done on the way). In Phoenix I went on a ride up in the mountains with some hard core Harley fanatic relatives. To their surprise (and a little to my own) I kept up without a problem. In the end I won respect from all but one who has Harley everything on his body. This machine corners with ease. In some reviews I read people complained about the floor boards scraping on cornering, but in reality you have to REALLY lay this bike over to do that and if you want a bike like that buy a rice rocket, this is a cruiser. I took 20 MPH turns at 30-35 with no problem at all. Now the juicy stuff. Keep in mind this is not a Harley or a Ninja. The VN 900 has great acceleration. Has plenty of power at all speeds. I like to cruise about 70-75. When passing from that speed it climbs to 85 EASILY. I had it up to 95 once but without a tachometer a rider must go by sound as to whether it is close to red lining or not. I don't think so but if I wanted a bike for racing I would have bought a Ninja. The pipes start to sound good after the first 1k miles. If I keep the speed at or under 60 I get about 55 miles per gallon or better; 70-80 right about 50. I have gotten lots of positive comments for my 900 even parked next to my dads Harley. This machine cannot be beat. Kawasaki started a great thing in 2006 by creating an instant classic. The only gripe about my bike is the seat. I wish Kawasaki made better seats for their bikes. I will definitely buy a better after market one as soon as they are available. It would be nice to have a 6th gear on my 900 but it is not mandatory. I really need an engine guard to install highway pegs on. I am also hoping for a rider back rest to come available soon.
- donn garrison, pflugerville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: