Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (77)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-06-17 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Save yourself the trouble, get a Harley. I bought this bike because I thought it would be as nice as a Softail. I was very disappointed. From the factory it felt choked, accelerated slower than my Versys 300. The windshield, at its highest setting, was too short for me and I was bombarded with turbulence. In less than a week my left floorboard was dangling off. A pin had sheared. A month later my front brake caliper fell off, I was thankful it didn't catch the spokes. After getting the caliper bolted down I went on my first long trip, 270 miles one-way. It was torturous. The stock seat was utter garbage and I ended up taking the windshield off, which was more comfortable than keeping it on. I only got 26mpg, I was disgusted in the 100 mile fuel range. On the way home my rear-cylinder's header cracked and the exhaust tube fell off. The dealership paid for half a set of Vance & Hynes. They were far better. I also bought a new intake and a DynoJet PC5, the bike was finally accelerating decently. Though my mom's Harley Street 750 was far faster. Also I was now getting around 35mpg, a drastic improvement over stock fuel mileage. Then my fuel pump went out. After that I was getting 80 miles out of a tank and never exceeding 90 mph. In December my stator went out at 4,859 miles. I was so done with that cheaply built Kawasaki garbage. I traded it, got a Harley Electra Glide. Best decision I made regarding that Vulcan.
- Chris, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are wondering if this bike is too big for you, it's not! At first I was intimitated by anything over 500ccs. After taking the MSF course, my confidence returned and I was ready to try the big metal (well, the medium metal). The Vulcan 900 inspires confidence with stable handling, excellent (but not extreme) performance, and iron-clad reliability. Unlike other reviewers, I have no issue with the seat. The only issues I have are with a lack of a tach, and the inaccurate gas gauge (good thing the low fuel light is good! I've only gone 900 miles with my Vulcan so far, and I've kept the speed below 65 mph, but gas mileage has been 56 mpg. This really is a great bike for someone coming back to the sport.
- Cliptwings, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used (5800k) this spring after 16 years of not having one. My last bike was an 84 Honda V45 Magna. I'm very pleased with the power and seating position of this bike. It feels light and is easy to handle at low speeds. It goes down the road arrow straight and is very smooth. After about 60 MPH though, there is some vibration but not unbearable. The bike should have a 6th gear for the open road. I plan on replacing the front pully on the belt drive to help with this. The bike is fuel injected so it starts nice on cooler days. I find the suspension to be much better than on the old Magna. The seat is not bad but is a little hard on my old butt on longer rides. She doesn`t have the snap of the old Magna.....but I didn`t expect it to. Oh and did I mention I love the sound of those Cobra pipes.
- Force, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The two best features are EFI, which means easy, quick starts every time at any temperature. And it has a no-fuss quiet belt drive. Even with counterbalancers some vibration finds its way through the bar grips and seat. With heat shields over the exhaust you never have to worry about exhaust discoloring. At speeds over 60 it could use an overdrive 6th gear. It looks like a bigger bike but is 100-200 pounds lighter due to liberal use of plastic covers and fenders, but they still look new after three years. Some may feel a little overtaxed riding 2-up if total weight is over 350 lbs. It is the best looking bike in its size category and is liquid cooled for quieter, longer life operation. It is easy to scrape the floorboards on aggressive corners, especially 2-up. The stock exhaust sounds better now than when new; there is no need to replace it. It is a great choice in this size category of cruiser.
- SteveK, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-20 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an overall beauty! It has plenty of power, and is comfortable with the stock seat. My legs are short, so I can stretch out without using my freeway bars. Smooth shifting, and nice pick-up. It does wind up at higher speeds, but that's ok with me. It is a soft ride at any speed. There are no vibrations at all. I can get Dunlop front and rear tires. I have 800 miles on my bike, and have never had to change the tires. They are only half worn down. I also get 56 miles to the gallon. This bike has never had any problems, except it needed a replacement horn. The original one died. But so far the bike is an overall winner in my book!
- Amymay1976, NPR, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After almost 9000 miles, I have not had any problems with this bike. The only thing, I would replace on the bike is the stock seat. I did replace both front & rear tires after about 7000 miles. This is a great bike to ride in the mountains as it is not real heavy and it is easy to maneuver.
- Mike, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this as my first bike. At 41, I'd never ridden before. The Vulcan 900 Classic is very easy to handle and has plenty of power for a first bike. It's big enough for even an experienced rider. I love mine.
- Gary, Madison, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No problems so far. Every ride is fun. Added a windshield and saddlebags. Windshield makes a big difference when riding the highways. Went on my first long distance trip to Myrtle Beach, SC last Memorial Day weekend with three other bikers - they all rode sports bikes. We camped out at Lake Gaston on Day 1. Arrived at Myrtle beach around 2ish, Day 2. Had a blast hanging out with friends! It was actually Biker Week - got the opportunity to ride a Harley, nice bikes! I rode back to Frederick on my own Day 4 - made three stops for gas, rest and refreshments. My 900 performed very well - average speeds between 75 and 80mph for most of the 1100 plus round trip. Overtaking on the highway is effortless with a slight turn of the wrist! This bike handles very well and suits my average frame. Bottom line: Great bike!
- peter, Frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-28 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I toke the bike in for 500 mile oil change and now a 3500 mile oil change. I noticed a change in the way the bike runs. It runs a lot smoother than expected. I notice it under hard take offs and high revs. I was planning on getting another bike thinking that the 900 was a small bike. It does okay. It's not the fastest but it's not the slowest. I still run stock. I don't have any after market acc. on it. I'm waitting to see if K & N will hurry and make an air filter for it. Then for Vance and Hines on the exhaust. I really don't have anything bad to say about this bike. At first I kinda bashed it for being a small bike. Now that I've seen that it can take a beating on my bad (fast) habits, I think it'll do just fine. It's a pretty good bike with a good fuel guage, beltdrive, large frame, and large fuel tank. The one thing I thought of is the stock seat that has to go. That I'll change with a mustang seat which I plan on getting in the beginning of the year. Then hopefully the exhaust as well. Then of course some chrome and a back rest for the misses. I love my 900, the only thing that I will ever trade it in for due to high mileage would proabably be the 2000 Classic. If the 900 is this much fun I could only imagine. But I'm happy for now with what I have. My last bike was a 600 Shadow VLX. It was a great starter bike then later I out grew it and went to my 900 which isn't that big of a jump. Over all, it's a great bike.
- PROSPECT, ELPASO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last ride of the '06 year was 400 miles in 42 degree fog and chill no shield - 70 miles per hot cocoa stop. Ok - I've been in fresh freeway rain twice in April '07 tires and brakes respond well and hold the road. An intermittant vibration noise will send me wrenching all the small bits to isolate it?! Right rear. Here's the newest list of goodies I am going to enjoy at least 3 times a week and weekends for hundreds of miles. The throttle grip complaint people have about it not rolling off can be remedied by removing the grip, lightly sanding inside the tube and replacing. Have a great season!
- Carolyn, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-01 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have a small amount of time with this bike but I can truly say that I love riding it. A great bike in every way. The only complaint I have is the noisy gearbox. It's very whinny at times. So I recommend an mp3 player and a good set of ear buds to anyone with this same problem. Joe Satriani does a great job of canceling out the whine without disturbing the rumble.
- MIKE, GARFIELD, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-03 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike! Was looking at moving up to a Softtail, but instead bought an VN900 LT in spring 2006 and haven't looked back. Easily hauls my big frame up hills and keeps up with bigger bikes no problem. Many are suprised it's a 900, and not a 1500 or larger as it looks and feels big on the road. All the torque I need, and very comfortable for long rides. Will be looking for aftermarket pipes this year as the bike deserves a more agressive snarl than the stock pipes give. Not worried about bothering the neighbor, as he liked my bike so much he bought one as well!!
- S Palmer, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-25 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just did a thousand mile ride this weekend and got to know the bike in a new long-range way. Overall, it performed brilliantly. Heavy rain was with me for about half of the round-trip ride from Pa to Ohio but the Classic handled it as though it were a nice sunny day. A speed of 75 mph was maintained effortlessly even going up the long mountain grades. Comfort, however, is in need of some work. I can only sit in the official position for about 15 minutes before my back, butt and legs start to ache. A backrest would likely remedy this. However, in order to get some much needed rest and comfort while driving, I often sat on the passenger seat with my feet on the passenger pegs like on a sport bike. Also, I learned to lie down on the tank like that guy in the Fastest Indian In The World movie. I engaged my cruise control and then literally rested my hands on the handlebars up near the headlight and had my stomach laying on the tank bag with my shins on the passenger pegs. I stopped at a reststop and a guy I had passed told me I looked like Superman when I blew by him! Longer passsenger pegs would help in this lie down position because I found myself constantly trying to find the sweet-spot for resting my legs. This riding position was fun and allowed my head to be way up front where I couldn't see much of the bike and I felt as though I were really flying. Whoosh! So is the seat bad? I don't know. It feels fine for drives to work (12 miles) but it may need upgraded for longer hauls (more likely, a backrest would help). MPG for the trip was in the low 40's. The only problem encountered was that the starter seems to stay on a little long after the engine kicks-in and makes a weird noise (I'll take it to the dealer to see what's up). I did a trip from Floride to Pa on a new Suzuki Hayabusa last summer and it was actually easier on my body than the Vulcan. Hmmm, maybe it's time for a standard - Honey, I really need a bike for long range cruising and I have these brochures........
- JV, Philly Burbs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Many people have asked about the performance of the 900. Here is a summary of my bike. I just added Cobra Speedster Longs, a Power Commander III, and a Thunder Mfg. Air Kit. We had the bike dyno'd before and after and measured HP at the wheel. Bottom line: before peak HP 43, after peak HP 55. The power curve is much stronger throughout the range with substantially higher HP in the mid-range. I'll be picking her up tomorrow and can't wait to ride. I heard the pipes for the first time today and all I can say is WOW. It sounds like a different bike, much more powerful and throaty. Tomorrow I'll throw on the new Mustang Seat and ride, ride, ride!
- Brian P, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-20 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Further update since my last long ride to QLD from Canberra (1500km each way). Have purchased a Mustang seat with backrest, have done two shorter trips since then and the difference is fantastic. No sore bum, lower back was great, really allows you to focus on the great trip rather than soreness, numbness, etc. haven't felt any difference after the 5000km service, but it is just a pleasure to ride around the city and on the long runs it is fantastic. Looking forward to my next long ride. Regards An Addicted VN 900 owner....
- Adrian Faccioni, Canberra, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike after learning how to ride on a Honda postie bike for a month. I had it in the locked up garage for 2 weeks before I could get my full riders license. Everytime I looked at it I always wondered if I can really ride it. My wife told me good luck to you. It looks huge for a 900 cc cruiser. After riding it for 2000 kms. I must say it is very easy to handle. It runs smooth and plenty of tourque. There's plenty of acceleration particularly in the upper gears. Even at fifth gear it's still got a lot of power. I also notice it's smoother and much faster after the break in period. But I think the best is yet to come when I reach 5,000 kms. I don't have any problems at all keeping up with bigger hogs and that goes with looks as well. It looks bigger than the Yamaha V-star 1100 side by side. A friend of mine who owns a 1600 Vulcan thought it was a 2 litre Vulcan at first glance. I can't really comment on the seat because I have nothing to compare it to. But I must say that after a long ride, 300 kms, my back started to ache. Not really sure if it was due to the seat. I will recommend this bike to anyone looking for a mid-size cruiser. For the price and what it can offer it is very hard to beat. It's top value.
- Anton, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-06 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2006 900 Classic brand new at the end of February. You cannot beat this bike for the price. I have only been riding for a couple of weeks, but I am really enjoying it thus far. It has plenty of power and is a smooth ride. Receiving a lot of compliments. I want to get a windshield soon.
- Jake, Humboldt, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-22 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am just updating my review from last year. I have since then put on about 2000 more miles. I still love riding this bike. I go everywhere I can on it. This morning I put on some cobra dragsters and they sound great. Very loud. I took off one point for quality because my bike did have an oil leak but that has been fixed so now the bike is perfect again.
- Patrick, duluth, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-24 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I agree that the Vulcan 900 Classic is a good value for the money. I wanted a larger displacement bike but could only afford the 900. I was looking for a 1100+cc bike. This was a huge upgrade from my old 1983 Honda V-45 Magna. Sort of... having not owned a V-twin before, I was not prepared for the slow acceleration and low redline of this bike. I redline every time I accelerate onto the freeway. If you push it it too far on acceleration, the bike will sputter and miss (rev limiter). The V4 Honda was very fast and I got used to speed. Of course, my friends who all own V-twins said yeah but the torque is better. If you are looking for major power then hold out for larger displacement. If you are looking for hyper speed then go for a rice rocket. If you are poor and older (50 years old) like me then smile and enjoy what the Vulcan 900 Classic has to offer. I've been riding for 25 years now and it is time for me to slow down. I do appreciate the electronic fuel injection, air/liquid cooling, rubber motor mounts and fat 180 rear tire. The styling does present itself as a larger bike than it is. The cost of insurance is also less for being under 1000cc. There are a limited number of upgrades that you can make but it is improving slowly. I am waiting for an aftermarket aircleaner assembly. I am also attempting to save up for a Mustang or Corbin seat ($400+). The stock seat is a killer on long trips. don't be alarmed about the amount of cheap fake chrome and plastic parts (fenders). Just think lighter bike. I've owned the bike for seven months and have put 6,200 mile on it so far. I ride it every day to work except in the rain. I get a standard 44 MPG which helped during the fuel crisis. For the price, I can't complain but like everyone else, you have to put some money into it to make it your own. (My wife doesn't understand why you need to buy parts for a brand new bike). Great bike for a less experienced rider or one with LESS CASH to spend.
- Robert Taniguchi, Salinas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike since July and I've put a little over 3000 miles on it. I put the Kawi backrest and saddlebags on the bike. Everything on this bike works great! Handles like a sportbike, but with the rumble of a larger cruiser. A beautiful bike. Unfortunately, I was rear-ended on November 28 by a guy in an F-150. He left a 25ft skid mark on the ground and me without a bike. Bent the frame and cracked the engine casing. I would like to suggest that if you get this bike, get the backrest. It saved me from getting hit by the guys' grill and saved my life. I'll hopefully be getting another one just like it soon. It was my first new motorcycle.
- Wk, Lorton , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike! I had a 2005 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 and just upgraded to the Vulcan 900. WOW, what a difference! The power, comfort, stability and handling are fantastic. It's better on the highway and better for a passenger. I can't wait for next spring!
- PC, Newport, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-20 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I MADE A SMART CHOICE BY PURCHASING THIS BABY. I WAS GOING TO GET A 2006 HONDA SHADOW AERO BUT IT DID NOT HAVE HALF THE FEATURES THAT THE VULCAN 900 HAD. MY VULCAN IS GREAT TO RIDE AND A EYE CATCHER. I CHOSE KAWASAKI OVER THE HONDA SHADOW AERO BECAUSE OF THE PRICE AND THE RIDE. THE AERO SEEMED A BIT SLUGGISH AND NOT AS COMFORTABLE AS THE VULCAN. GOTTA GET YOU ONE!
- MICHAEL, EL PASO, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-19 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, I know I've only had it for a short while, but this is one very nice bike! Great looks, plenty of power, handles very nicely, and feels very stable at all speeds. It's interesting to read some of the other owners problems with accessories as we seem to have the same problem here in Oz. My wife jumped on the back today and although she is terrified of bikes in general, she liked it right from the word go! Obviously, I can't really comment on reliability or fuel consumption yet, but this bike just feels right. I will let you all know how I go after a few more kilometers(or miles,in your case). My wife and I are going to cruise up to the southern end of the Great Barrier Reef in a couple of weeks, so I'll know a bit more then. Stay safe all, and enjoy your bike!
- Jimmy, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Loving the bike. Expect it will only get better as I put on the miles. Sits at a perfect height and is very comfortable, even for a beginner. Since I only got the bike in late Sept/06 there have been limits to the days I am able to ride. Looking forward to next season though. The bike is extremely easy to manage and it is great to get about 300 kms to the tank. I only wish accessories were more accessable. I have had light bar (for extra headlights), engine guard roll bars and front (fork) deflecters on order for some time. I hope they will be available in time to be ready for Daytona bike week trip.
- Chris, Woodstock, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-13 2006 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike June 1st after selling my 2002 800 Vulcan Standard. I'm very pleased with the increased power from only a 100cc larger engine. The low end torque is very pleasing for a 900, quite a bit more than my 800. It's a lot more comfortable for two, my wife gives it two thumbs up. Overall, I think Kawasaki did the right thing with the 900, increasing horsepower while keeping it light in weight and on the wallet. Thanks Kawasaki!
- Stephen, Sherwood, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: