KTM Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (38)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with KTM Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a KTM Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-11-21 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's easily the best bike I have owned. I did own a 2009 Honda 250R and the KTM has easily blown the Honda away. It's a very comfortable bike but I did find the suspension a little too soft. But with a stiffer spring, it was a lot better. As for power, it beat the Honda hands down and was just a lot easier to throw into corners and jumps. If you're thinking of buying a KTM SXF I highly recommend it, even the 2012 model is excellent -KTM forever.
- skulls, adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-14 2006 KTM 450 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2007 450 SXF but went back to the 2006. The electric start is great on the 2007 but has no back-up kicker. The 2006 seems to pull harder than the 2007. It's great all the way around.
- sugnasty, nixa, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-16 2006 KTM 625 SMC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I got the bike, I felt it was ridiculous of KTM to put such a small tank or a bike that can be comfortably ridden for long distances. I was constantly strategizing fuel fillups. But unlike one another reviewer, I did replace with a 4.5 gallon tank and it makes all the difference. Like another reviewer, I replaced pipes to up performance. Although I have very knobby tires on mine, it doesn't like soft sand but handles most other reasonable offroad situations well. I ride mine a lot on paved mountain roads and it handles perfectly. It gets great gas mileage and it's very inexpensive to maintain. It's a great bike - I love it. Note - I also have a 2004 EXC which I also love.
- bob mann, desert hot springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-29 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the KTMM for a few months now and it's by far the best bike I've ever had!! I used two have a YZF 426 and this bike makes it look like a moped :) Any one know what performance parts I can put on it?? Let me know, thanx....
- jamest2010, port talbot, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-19 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I switched from a 2 stroke motocross to the 450 EXC with no regrets! It is and feels heavier than my 2 stroke but more than makes up for it in rideability. It did take some getting used to the added weight. The engine has a wide usuable power curve that chugs right along when you should have normally down-shifted. The hydraulic clutch and magic button(electric start) round out this awesome machine. My personal advice, buy the bike for the type of riding you do. don't buy this bike for motocross or a motocross for woods riding. Been there and done that. This bike is heavier than a motocross and doesn't have the necessary suspension adjustments for the giant jumps. This bike is a rock-star on close or open trail riding with moderate jumps. Plenty of power and with the 6 speed trans allows for much easier low speed technical trails and hill climbing.
- darrhacker, Kansas City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-06 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the 06 KTM 450 EXC the last two seasons. It is my first bike and I just love it out here in the mountains. I've added an 11.5L fuel tank, a small rack and a few other KTM add-ons. This is a tall bike. If I was any shorter it would be really scary. The bike will do over 100 mph in stock form down the highway. The bike is jetted lean in stock form. Now that I'm used to the power, I want more. It's definitely not necessary, but I'm getting the JD jet kit, a FMF 4.1 exhaust system and an 11.9 compression piston. I've also tried running C14 114 octane VP racing fuel with different mix ratios. That fuel makes the bike really come alive and feel light.
- Bryan, Sparwood, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The whip is sick out of the box, no mods are needed. The only thing I added to mine was a fmf factory 4.1 silencer with a mega bomb header. I can't ride all stock. I bleed orange now. Get one.
- mike kile, mckinney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-17 2006 KTM 300 XC-W Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research before I made the decision to purchase the KTM 300 XC W. If you're a hardcore trail rider this bike is the ultimate choice. 2 stroke power coupled with a wide ratio gear box makes this bike unstoppable in almost any situation. The 300 XC W brings together a beefy package and has kept the weight to a comfortable 225lbs. Suspension is posh so I would not recommend this bike for the track, this beast belongs in the wild.
- MotoMojo.ca, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-21 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There's a reason why KTM dominates the off road market. I used to be a Honda guy until I ran into KTM 4 years back and I never see myself looking back. Once I got on this bike and fired it up using the the E-starter and then pulling in the hydraulic clutch, I was off tearing up the trails and noticed that it is literally effortless to ride. It has plenty of power and it is very controllable at the same time. The power never gets away from you like a 2 stroke could. The other thing I noticed right off the bat is you cannot feel the weight of this bike even though it weighs 250lbs. Believe it or not it feels lighter and better balanced than my old 2 stroke. It also corners extremely well. It actually conrners and tracks better than any other bike I have ridden. Long story short, I would recommend this bike to any serious west coast woods rider. Later Honda, Hello KTM!
- Jason W, Hillsboro, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2006 KTM 525 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second KTM I have ever owned and I can not believe this bike. It out performs all my others. It is very powerful and user friendly. It is often too much to handle if that is at all possible in a dirt bike. It chews up back tires like nothing at all. I can not think of one bad thing to say about this bike. I say hats off to KTM for building such awesome bikes.
- Ray, brampton

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2006 KTM 250 XC-W Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a good bike. The power is smooth. I recently switched from a 250 4 stroke and only had a few rides before addapting to this bike. I still have stock suspension and after getting used to it, like it a lot. The new brembo clutch is leaps and bounds above the magura, the brembo rarely needs servicing or leaks. Always a constant pull and feel.
- Nick Bryant, Lees Summit, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2006 KTM 250 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden them all and have mainly owned YZ250's. I decided to try the KTM and will never go back. The quality in the engineering is evident but hands down the bike tears the competition up! It's faster, better handling, more reliable, lighter, and an all around blast to ride. Great for the track, sand, trails, and desert. Whatever you like to do, it will excel.
- Cdog, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-24 2006 KTM 250 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
KTM makes the best dirt bikes available today. Every part is top of the line. Fast, light, and reliable in every way. Easy to work on, fun to ride, race, etc. An excellent choice for the 2-stroke lover. With an adjustable power valve, smaller carb, 16 bit processer, it's no match for the 450 thumpers. By far my best bike ever. Ride orange!!
- Donny, Montrose, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-03 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2006 KTM SXF 250 is a beast of a 250f! It's super strong everywhere (low, mid, and top), handles awesome, and to top it all off, it looks sweet! This bike is overall the best 250f that you can buy. The only complaint that you can propose against it is that the price is too high. It's at least 1200$ more than the other 250f's available. The only other thing is the rear spring; it's way too soft. I am about an average sized rider and without a good amount of adjusting on it, it bottomed out like crazy, mainly though landing on the flat or getting back on the gas out of a conner or accelerating off of the landing of a jump. Overall, this bike is awesome and I recommend them to everyone that asks about them.
- andrew hames, tyrone, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-20 2006 KTM 625 SMC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is absolutely amazing! The cornering abilities are second to none. I have owned various sport bikes and they could never turn like this. Zero to sixty times are impressive, but could be better with a more usable first gear. Second gear is the start of some of the best wheelies imaginable. Stand it up and start running through the rest of the gears. Once she hits the balance point it just stays there. I have touched the pegs down to the pavement on more than one occasion and the traction is great...no worries about sliding it out into a low side. My only complaint is the size of the tank. I don't get more than 70 miles out of a full tank. I have searched the internet for bigger ones to no avail. I guess one more slight annoyance is the vibration...plan on riding numb after about an hour or so. All in all, it is the most fun bike I have ever owned. With just two available in the state of Alaska, it is just too bad that more people won't get to experience the pure joy this bike offers.
- Eric Landers, Eielson Air Force Base, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-19 2006 KTM 250 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the fastest 250 I have ever ridden. I had a cr 250 and rode this and told my parents to sell the CRF and get me this bike. So I got it and my friends all have KDX 200s and I blow them away with this. It's also an awesome desert bike.
- Brandon, Las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 KTM 250 XC-W Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I JUST RECENTLY UPGRADED TO THE TTR 230 AND I AM ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE WITH IT. THE POWER DELIVERY IS VERY SMOOTH AND VERY CONTROLABLE. I HAVE NEVER RIDDEN ON A MOTOCROSS TRACK AND DOUBT I WILL SINCE I ENJOY THE TRAILS SO MUCH; THEREFORE, I CAN'T COMPARE IT TO A YZ, BUT I TRULY ENJOY EVERYTHING THIS DIRT HAS TO OFFER!
- DERICK PHARR, DALTON, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 KTM 625 SMC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After the first day of riding this little (big) wheelie machine, I understand why my European friends have been begging for me to join them in the big thumpin' street moto craze. I live in the Hollywood Hills off Mulholland Drive, with many miles of motard racetrack just off my driveway. I've raced Yamaha R6's for almost three years and a Ducati 996S for a year before that. This KTM 625 is the most fun I have ever had on a motorcycle, bar the moped ride I had at about ten years old! There is nothing more fun than absolutely FLYING past ANY super bike or super sport or almost ANYTHING on stunt road or any road in Malibu or wherever on any given Sunday! (Yes, know that was a run-on sentence...but you got my point, eh?!)And you can do it on any part of the track you like. Hopping back on my Ducati after a day on that thing and all of a sudden you can't get that bike you've spent years setting up to turn! GET ONE.
- mateo 48, los angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 KTM 625 SMC Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is ridiculous fun. It's suprisingly fast, I mean get you in trouble fast. Then it just calms right down. Stoppies n wheelies are a breeze. Geez I over shot a corner and went in the grass goin round 75, didn't even bobble accelerated right back on the tarmac. So far I can't say much bad other than, it vibrates a bit much and the seats from a dirt bike so I stand a bit to stay comfortable.
- nate, missoula, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2006 KTM 250 SX-F Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ktm 250f is the best 250f on the market. The power delivery hits so smooth. The suspension is good once you get the rider sag right. The stock seat is a little stiff at first but once you put a few hours on it it gets pretty good. Ktm's are also known for having all the extras. The renthal fat bars, black excel rims, brembo brakes, fmf exhaust, wp suspension, gold chain, hydraulic clutch. It's got it all! I haven't had any problems out of this bike! I have two of them one for a practice bike and one for a race bike.
- kelsey, purvis, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2006 KTM 640 Adventure Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently added a KTM 640 Adventure to my stable that included two KLR650's. The KTM certainly conveys the impression that it is a machine born in the dirt. It has the pedigree and the quality engineering to inspire confidence once the pavement ends. I am tall enough that my KLR's allow me to stop with both feet on the ground. The KTM adds just enough height (especially when dismounting) that it demands care. While I haven't lost control of it yet, I cringe that the time is coming when I tumble off while trying to dismount in the Kroger parking lot. While that would surely be entertaining, it wouldn't be fun. If the bike proves to be as tough and durable as my trusty KLR's I will be well-pleased. I don't think I can honestly justify the cost (over $8K) compared to ($5k) for a new KLR, but the fun factor makes it tempting to try. I am presently on vacation and my son and I will be giving the bikes a workout in the North Georgia mountains. We are eager to put it through its paces on some of our fine Forest Service Roads. Strangely, I find myself attracted to all things orange these days .... hmmmm.
- THG - 3, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2006 KTM 125 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is incredible, I have had some of the most fun in my life on this bike. It is the best bike I have ever owned out of 6 bikes!!! It is so fast and so awesome I just don't know what else to say but this bike is the best!
- jeremy, somerset, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-27 2006 KTM 450 EXC-G Racing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike recently and I have to say I'm impressed! I haven't had a bike for some time and my last bike was a 1990 KX250...I thought that was fast. This bike goes 85 with throttle to go. Bike performs great right from delivery; I think the front needs to be a little stiffer but great bike. I would want a 200 or 250 if I were going to do a lot of tight single track. However, for the desert it's great. I do find the seat very firm...Enjoy
- Ian Sceili, Queen Creek, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-18 2006 KTM 125 SX Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect out of the box. I have heard many comments about this bike and how it rides. The truth is that I have Ridden Kawis and Suzukis but I have never ridden a bike that is so comfortable and easy to ride. This bike gets a perfect 5 stars.
- NIcholas Diciuia 08, Lake Worth, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-11 2006 KTM 250 XC-W Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So last oct. I purchased an 06 250 XC-W. All I can say is WOW. What an amazing bike it is. Initialy I had alot of plug fouling problems, and I still think I might have a slight crankcase seal leak, though with jetting the plug fouling hasn't been an issue, though it still seems like something is not quite right. This is my only mechanical complaint as of yet. I have riden 3 harescramble races with it now. Terrain anywhere from sand, to grass, and rocky hardpack. So far everywhere I have gone the bike performed amazingly. Great all around bike!
- Shawn McGinnis, Walkerton, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: