Royal Enfield Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Royal Enfield Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Royal Enfield Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-01-15 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Classic about one month ago and recently completed the break-in oil changes. I have to put this bike into perspective before rating: It's a step back in time, so a reference has to be in such a manner. My other bike is a Suzuki with a drive shaft and plenty of modern features. On the other hand, the RE is a new mindset that pushes me into the relaxation of truly enjoying the ride. It's not very quick from start, so it takes patience to get up to speed. I get plenty o' looks from other riders, especially Harley people. I get stopped constantly by people who want to talk about my Classic. I mean from everybody - even those you would not expect to be a rider. With all the emotional hype aside, the bike is good and dependable. I had to get used to simply feeling the shifter: you don't have to shift hard at all. It was an adjustment at first because the shifting was tricky. Turns out to require only a gentle touch with a little feel. The bike is a breeze to control while steering in a parking lot or other tight spaces. I plan to take it into the mountains of NC soon and will see how it handles in curves and varying hills. I also (surprisingly) like the seat height. I see SUV drivers at eye level and see upcoming surroundings with ease. This makes me feel safe because I feel that I am more visible.
- Wayne, Lake City, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best roadstar for riding hard and riding long. Never tires and the sound of blazing guns from its engine feel like heaven... Dugg Dugg Dugg Dugg is the sound of iron pumping in your blood...
- Manish Sharma, New Delhi, India

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm at 1500 miles in 4 months, and have been riding my Electra mostly to and from work. It allows me to really enjoy my commute, and to save quite a bit on gas in the process. I've had no problems with the bike; it's a fun ride and very reliable. The only thing I'd change would be to raise the seat a bit, but at 6 foot 5, not much really matches my height.
- Robert Nix, Spring Valley, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A 1950s motorcycle still being made today. People may complain about maintenance, minor leaks, etc. Well, back in the 50s and 60s these weren't major problems, they were a reality with all brands. Owners back then didn't mind making adjustments and getting their hands dirty, it was part of ownership and brought you closer to your machine. You want the look of an old bike with modern reliability? Buy a new Triumph, and it will feel and sound like a new Honda. You want a real classic bike? Buy an old bike and restore it OR buy a brand new Royal Enfield. The amount of parts and upgrades you can do to these bikes are extensive (not expensive). And reliability is what you make it. Yes old bikes require more love, but this brings you closer to your machine. No bike I have ever owned has given me the satisfaction and joy that the Royal Enfield Bullet has. You are literally riding a piece of history when your thumping down the road on one of these. Nope, they don't perform well on highways. Those types of roads didn't exist when these motors were designed. Stick to backroads/take the scenic route and the bikes performance will shock you. They are easy to fling through corners, they handle really well, and there is quite a bit of torque on these 500cc machines. Not to mention they are very nice looking bikes. To be perfectly honest, I have had a few VERY minor issues with the bike. Some of these issues, in the hands of an incompetent owner, may trigger a negative review. But the competent owner, or should I say real motorcyclist, will buck up and fix it. And that's the beauty of them, they are so easy to fix, all you need is the shop manual and the ability to follow instructions. No need to take it to the dealer and get charged $500 for it to be hooked up to a diagnostic computer. The reality is if you want a real classic bike, which will give you the full experience, you cannot go wrong with the Royal Enfield Bullet.
- D. SmithDJ Burdette, Fremont, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just wanted to give an updated review. I've got 500 miles on the bike now and it's been pretty enjoyable and fun. No major mechanical issues except a wire that came loose and caused some frequent stops for a day or so trying to figure out why the motor kept shutting off. I was able to take care of it pretty quickly myself without having to take her into the shop....which is the wonderful thing about these bikes. They are so simple that as long as you have taken care of them and done your preventative maintenance, if anything does act up chances are it is nothing major and can be taken care of yourself pretty easily. Still, if you are looking for 75mph+ speeds, look elsewhere. You'll just tear up an Enfield in it's stock form. But for 50mph or so cruising it sure is fun!!! You will be surprised at the number of folks who stop and talk to you about it.
- Adam, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I've rated it as a 4 star just because that's what it seems to have earned so far. If my opinion changes I'll let you know. Now, I've only got 70 miles on it but I am pretty pleased. Over all workmanship seems pretty good. As good or better than several Japanese models I looked at. Sounds like a RE, and runs real smooth. Starts with the push of a button and usually on the first try with the kick starter. It's pretty comfortable all things considered. I'm a tall guy and I don't feel cramped or uncomfortable. Granted I haven't taken any long runs. I haven't had it over 50 mph yet just because I plan on breaking it in nice and slow and the roads I travel to work on are 45mph anyway. But it cruises nicely and seems to have some good bottom end. I don't think this would be a bike for someone wanting speed and intersate highway commuting and what-not but for cruising the backroads it's a good choice IMO.
- Adam, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have 240 miles on the Electra, of which the dealer rode 107 miles to test the bike. So far I am very pleased with the bike as I break it in at speeds under 50mph for the first 500 miles. In fact I love it so far. Handles like a dream, nimble as a small dirt bike, and absolutely beautiful to look at. Very vintage looks. don't buy this bike if you don't like attention. Definite eye candy. I am very excited about the prospect of riding this bike after the break-in period. I believe the Royal Enfield Bullet Electra will be in my garage for as long as I ride motorcycles. Yes, if you like to tinker with a bike, do most of your maintenance, and you consider yourself an individualist, then this might be the bike for you.
- T. Wilson, Leesburg, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-17 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because I liked the retro style. Many times when I ride the bike people always ask me questions or comment about how good the bike looks. The only problem I have had was a bad transmission - which my dealer is replacing under warranty. I have been very pleased with the bike and have taken short road trips with no problems. The engine keeps getting better as it breaks in. At this point in the break in the engine excels in the 50-65mph range on the highway. I have had up to 75mph. If you like the retro look and the feel of a torquey thumper, you will like this bike.
- BLW, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Electra X Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I watched the evolution of the Royal Enfield line for several years. I saw the inclusion of the 5-speed gearbox, general improvements in quality, and and a gigantic increase in available accessories. I finally bought an Electra becuase I liked the new engine. At first, I thought I'd made a mistake -- that I should have bought a Bonneville -- because the bike was so slow and weak. But, I took the time to break it in gently, and I found out that these bikes aren't wimpy after all, they're just tight. I installed a performance kit to let the little motor breath better. What a difference. I can keep up with traffic on any road and cruise at 70 with about one third throttle left. With every mile, I am happier with this bike. It reminds me of the roadsters of my youth, but better (things don't fall off and it doesn't bleed all over the garage floor).
- Dan Luoma, Mary Esther, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-26 2006 Royal Enfield 500 Military Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not a sport bike, but it's light and handles very well. This is not a touring bike, but it will take you just about anywhere you want to go. This is not a big, fat cruiser, but it gets nods, comments, and the thumbs-up wherever I go. The mileage is hard to beat at around 70 mpg, the styling is excellent. The quality has improved greatly over the past several years. Everything about the bike screams classic motorcycle. The bike gets a little better every time I ride it. don't be afraid to turn a wrench and care for the bike like it says in the manual. Proper run-in is extremely important and it needs a lot of TLC during these formative miles, but the end result is a solid, economical, extremely stylish motorcycle.
- Ron Brown, Eureka, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: