‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

Stars Refinement

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tom Hughes

Roseto , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
This bike is, in my opinion, the best all around dual sport ever made. It is extremely reliable and unbelievably capable for a variety of different riding conditions. In the first year I owned this bike I put 5300 miles on it which consisted of 60/40 road and offroad. Riding in the Northeast is like riding on a stone row as we have lots of rocks that don't move and this bike handles it like candy. On the road it shines as well with plenty of torque to get around in traffic on a daily commute. More aggressive tread is needed for offroad and gearing is a bit high for tight and technical trail riding. If you are looking for a do-everything dual sport, look no further and buy this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Philip

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2008-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
This bike is great. I've had it less than a year, and I ride it to work every day, rain or shine. I've already put over 4,000 miles on it, and have only had to change the oil as far as maintenance. One weekend I rode it to Pismo Beach/Oceano dunes from Fresno (170 miles). I rode right from the road, onto the beach, and into the back of the dunes, NOT ONE CHANGE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Yuma, Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
This is the first bike I've ever owned and I could not be happier. I haven't touched a thing on the bike since I bought it a month ago. It's everything a Dual Sport is supposed to be. Good responsiveness, easy to operate, works great on or off road. I need knobbies and the gel seat. The stock seat is painful and the stock street tires are not great off-road, but lots of sandy spots out here. I also need to lower the suspension, but I've been pleasantly surprised at the stock set-up. I'm using it mostly as a commuter bike with some fun on the way home off-road and whenever I can on the weekends. For a newbie with motorcycles, I couldn't have asked for better. It is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rbk

Danielson, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
I am totally confident that my 06 DRZ 400S will take me any where I want to go for as long as I want to go..any time I want to go. After a Jet kit and replacing the stock tires with some DOT knobbies, it is like a different bike off road. On road or off the bike is a total blast. Dependability is # 1 in my book and this bike takes the prize. 6k miles my first year and not one problem with the bike. I also own an 06 DRZ 400SM, Same great bike!.......Let's RIDE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ALEX

CHULA VISTA, California

Reviewed on 2006-12-24

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
This is the first bike I have ever owned and hands down, it's too much fun to ride. I have never had any problems with my bike and after 16,000 miles, it still runs as strong as it did from day 1. It may not be the most comfortable motorcycle to ride for long distances, but it will take you there with no problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron

Guthrie, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
Very easy and simple. Not fast, not light, but everything works great and very fun to ride. Put on FMF pipe, jet kit, opened up air box, faster now, but still slow (did I mention that it is extremely fun).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill pepper

leominster, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2006-11-02

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
This is the first bike I ever rode. It is a 2005 DRZ400S and I think it is the best. I have beat on this bike from the day I picked it up and never had a problem with it. I have put on an fmf titanium stainless exhaust, small carbon fiber flushmount directionals, and more aggressive tires. I have dropped this bike a lot and had very little damage. It is very tough. I have gotten it up to 109mph and was very surprised at how well it handled. I will most likley ride it till it explodes and then I will get another. So if you really want my opinion, buy the DRZ400S or the DRZ400SM.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

greg

gresham, Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-06-18

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
Great bike for trail riding. I am not 16 any more and it had plenty of power for a 400cc. Mine is a liquid cooled and a friend as another brand that is air colled and his gets pretty hot for just trail riding and mine is cool and has no performace problems. Awesome bike. I wish they would have built this along time ago.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PMB

Oakton, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-05-28

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
Recognizing that dual-sports are by definition a tradeoff, this bike is about as dirt-worthy as one can hope for. The basics are all in place for good intermediate trail riding - solid suspension, tractable power and reasonable weight. For any kind of dirt riding a few immediate changes are needed - handlebars, brush guards, tires (I am using Dunlop D606). Also, the engine is pretty plugged up, so a few changes to improve breathing - airbox, rejet, pipe helps a lot. Overall- a great do-anything bike that just needs some quick work to be trail-worthy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

paul hicks

linden, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2006 Suzuki DR-Z400S view listing

5.0
Best dually for the green. After market pipe a must for highway speed. All and all this is the bike I wish they built 20yrs ago. I ride dirt gravel and black top, it does it all well. Some bark busters and a good slip on maybe some shorter turn signals as to not knocking 'em off in every tight woods would be a good step also. I plan to keep this ride until I'm old enough to go low and slow (i.e., cruiser). 40 isn't old. I ride a 04 model and I'm sure it will run for a long time. I feel like a kid again
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: