Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Greg Todd

Kempner, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-12-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my 2006 DR650SE the day before Thanksgiving 2006; I really had something to be thankful for. I have put over 9K miles on it; both on and off road. I have been riding for over 30 years and this has to be one of my favorites. Despite its size and weight, it handles fairly well in all types of terrain. I am currently on my third rear tire and second front. Unfortunately the weather in Central, TX is not always accommodating, but I still ride it most of the year. Although my butt goes to sleep on long distance highway trips, I wouldn't change it for any other bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick S

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently made the leap back to riding a bike. After 23 years since my last dualsport a XL 125, I went with a 2006 DR650. What a great bike. Plenty of power, easy to handle and fun in the dirt. I did my homework on-line and visiting a few dealers. Suzuki was the obvious choice and it came down to the DRZ400 or DR650. I'm happy with my DR650 and my wife seems to be sticking around. Maybe she will go for a DR200.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ben Anson

Bremerton, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After MANY years riding, I've gone from Suzuki 4 cylinder bikes (last was a Bandit 1200) to the DR. The bike performs well (no problems with 80+ on freeways) and I'm having a ball with it.<br /> And yes, I do drive 65 miles to the superior service &#038; treatment I have gotten for years from my dealer, after some negative dealings with more local dealers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen

Akron, Ohio

Reviewed on 2007-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After owning several motorcycles, I did some soul searching about what I wanted in a bike, and came up with the DR650. I've been very happy with the choice. I've put 8,000 miles on my 2003 DR650. Its been offroad a few times - great fun on the open trails and dirt roads, but geared too high for tight stuff. Mine is mostly used as a commuter - 85 miles/day. The windscreen, IMS tank, oiler, and Corbin seat are a huge transformation - well worth the investment. I did have a problem with a gasket at 3,000 miles - that set me back $500. I understand they use better gaskets now. Other than that, it's been great. The power/weight ratio is perfect for my rides, and the high seat helps in traffic. The lousy N.E. Ohio roads are no problem, and neither is cruising at 80 mph (except for the police...). The low cost also allowed me to get some good gear to extend my riding season. All in all, a great bike - I can go anywhere I want on it and not worry about scratching it up. The only difficult thing about having this bike is resisting the urge to go tearing down the median ...
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R. Brodeur

Sarasota, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-03-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My first street bike was purchased in 1970. I have had the good fortune of being able to replace my bike with a new model every two or three year since then. I have had my DR650se for a little over two years now and never before have I not wanted to trade for something different! This thing puts a smile on my face everytime. If I had to buy a new one today, it would be another DR650 !!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shannon

California City, California

Reviewed on 2006-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden this bike in all types of terrain: Mud, sand, fire roads, desert trails, and on pavement. I love it. I am getting an average of 60 mpg. I have hit 100 mph across the desert and still felt stable. Way better bike than the Yamaha that I had before. It's a bit heavy but once the suspension is dialed in, it's awesome. I have put 3150 miles on this bike in 7 months. Long highway rides can get a little uncomfortable, but hey, it's a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Muhl

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since my days on a Suzuki 185 then to the street, my god have things changed! Real suspension and just roll on torque! This bike has real power yet is nimble. It takes you out and brings you back, it's just plain fun. Wish I would have gone back to the dirt a long time ago, and yes it is great on the street as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Crowe

Papillion, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2006-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have been riding for over 30 years. Picked up the bike, and thought I turned the fuel on by putting the fuel cock down in the on position. That was the prime, and when I ran out of gas, the reserve was also empty. The dealer didn't show me the change. I have never seen a fuel cock being forward being on. Bike is great, runs fantastic, but too new to really test it out. Smoother and more power than my XR650L Honda. I think I am going to like this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

clayton powers

DeRidder, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2006-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It is a bargain priced, simple air-cooled do everything bike. Off road the handling and suspension were better than expected, but the ride is not plush off road. It gets great mpg, mostly very reliable and durable. Some fixes: The gearing is way tall-tried various sets: the 44 rear tooth is the way to go (42 stock). Street/freeway is still good, and off road much better. The bonus is it pulls the rear wheel forward putting more weight towards the rear for less knifing and better wheelieing. Drill the muffler plates thru all 4 with a 1/2" bit. Adjust pilot jet 1/2 turn out additional from stock setting. Raise needle with small washer. This will increase your low end torque which the DR is weak on. It improves top end power a little. And it still won't be loud at all, just a little louder with the same sound quality. Change the main jet to a 145 (mikuni large round) only if you modify the air box. There have been various mods on the net for this bike's air box-you can screw it up and make the bike feel lazy! If done right you will have much more tractability at low and med. revs and more power everywhere. I recommend do not remove the snorkel! Do drill two 1" holes on the top of the air box close to the front of the bike-there is space there, behind that put a row evenly spaced behind those of 1/2" holes three each; followed by four 1/4" holes. Round holes flow smoothly, the setup allows good flow without ruining air box pressure-no pressure from vacuum=poor incremental response! The sizing of the holes permits velocity of air increase to match low to mid to high rpms. Last if you insist on a slip-on, I recommend Supertrapp or FMF; this will probably require an additional 1/4 turn of the pilot, and may take a 150 main jet. DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON A JET KIT!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Varnell

Fort Jones, California

Reviewed on 2006-08-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is very nice. It totally fits the description of "Dual Purpose". I have no problem taking it anywhere. I live in an area full of logging and forest service roads. This bike is perfect for it. There are a lot of 1 lane, twisty, bumpy, and paved roads. Again, perfect for that. I get about 55 mpg overall. The stock tires are great on the pavement, and work well in the dirt (don't expect MX performance!)Not the greatest on long highway trips (buy a Goldwing!)I am VERY pleased with this bike....except....the seat is TERRIBLE!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: