Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

9 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Biz13

seattle

Reviewed on 2010-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my wife's bike but I rode it on the freeway home after her purchase and got a good feel for it. I ride a Dl650. The 500 was rock solid at 70 mph and very comfortable for those 60 miles. The headlight gives good coverage. The gear shifting is very smooth. The brakes are good but I don't like the position of the rear brake foot peg. I would like it higher. Power and acceleration are very good for a 500cc stock street bike. Wind protection was excellent with no buffeting at 70 mph and especially calm at head level. My wife loves the bike after just riding around the neighborhood. This will be an excellent starter bike for her. The bike is used with 5k and has a clean maintainence history - no problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russ Embich

Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike used with only 600 miles on it. I went through the break-in period (1000 miles) and then started to have some fun with it. I'm getting a consistent 59 MPG, so mileage is decent, but not breathtaking. It just went through the first service and I'm looking forward to see what the MPGs will be then. This bike is extremely flickable and it seems to take curves automatically, very easy to steer in increasingly tightening curves (can be tricky on bikes with bad geometry - i.e. cruisers). I owned a Buell M2 (1203cc) and the GS makes the M2 seem like a boat anchor by comparison...and I had fun on the M2. When I want to have fun on the twisties and on the highway, this bike is great. It has six gears which really helps on the highway. I highly recommend this bike for commuting and for just plain riding fun. It's very forgiving for beginners.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FREEQBN

Surprise, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my 2006 Suzuki GS500F for a little over a year now and I love it! I bought it with 2000 mi and it already has 25000 + mi on it. I ride to work daily and have never had any kind of problems with it. It could be a bit smoother when riding between 70 to 80 mph though. It's easy to handle and very economic (average of 58 mpg). I recommend this bike to both beginners and experience riders. Enjoy the ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

stewey

Quakertown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Had the bike for almost a year now, bought used. It's a great commuter, I get about 55-58mpg. Starts to get uncomfortable after about an hour and a half. Has some chasis vibration around 80-90 mph and definitely upgrading the tires when the stock ones are shot. Other than that, I love her like one of my kids.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RC67

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2006-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike makes it look easy! As other reviewers said, this is the best first bike and it is a real good intro into the sportbike line. Insurance is cheap especially when compared with a GSXR or SV line. OK, maybe not as sporty as them...but also not the injury rate either for a newbie!! The bike helps me to become a better rider. I have had mine for 3 months now and have 2000 miles as a daily driver to work at almost 55 mpg!! 2 up is tough though...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sean

Pompano Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I love it so much. The bikes handles great and so far I haven't had any problems with it. Compared to most the bigger bikes out there, this is one of the most comfortable because on this bike you're not leaning forward so much as with the GSX-R line. It might not be the fastest bike on the road but it will take most cars out there. I would definitely recommend this bike to any beginner and any one who is just looking to have fun on a bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Newport News, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I have had it for about 1 year now. I would not change my choice for the world; this is a very nice riding bike and a very reliable bike. It lacks a little comfort for long rides(1 hour or more) until you get used to it, and it lacks a little upper RPM performance for acceleration but I love this bike. Given the choice, I would start with this bike again. It handles like a dream and corners like any sportbike should. Very highly recommended!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Niklas Perry

Springdale, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding for a month and a half now. The GS-500F was my first bike and still is. It's very swift and good on gas and looks nice. I recommend this bike to anybody looking for their first sports bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

White Sox AT

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just started riding and bought this as my first bike. It's very forgiving and is very fun to ride! I've owned it for one month and my wife wants it! She took the class and I get to get a bigger bike. The only downside I can think of is the reduced power when riding with a passenger. There's no options on the market for this bike either. Overall a good reliable buy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 9 of 9 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: